We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (913)
Filter reviews
913 results
Traveler rating
666
202
32
12
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
666
202
32
12
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the cottages cinnamon cottage african tulip hillside guava angelina cottage st lucia avocado house mango sugar beach bamboo restaurant short hike bedroom cottage outdoor shower beautiful cottage tet paul nature trail fruit trees free shuttle
Filter
Updating list...
551 - 556 of 913 reviews
Reviewed January 10, 2014

My two week stay at Fond doux resort was an absolutely heavenly experience. I could not have picked a better vacation site which truly seemed like a taste of heaven. From the breath-taking wonder of the setting in lush tropical foliage to the quality of service and healthy,tasty meals served, I could not have asked for more.
I was particulary impressed with the friendly, caring attitude of all staff who seemed ever willing to go the extra mile to ensure our stay was a memorable one. During our stay, the Island was struck by a tropical trough which produced over ten inches of rain within hours causing road closures and cancellation of Church services on Christmas Eve night in this mainly Christian community; yet even in the midst of the torrential rains, management and staff appeared at guest doors delivering dinner and assuring our comfort. This spoke volumes to myself and my husband of compassion and tenacity in action. I shall never forget those moments and will forever treasure the sprinklings of such blessings which were experienced from time to time at Fond doux. As early retirees, we have travelled extensively and recognize quality service and value for the money. Our vacation at Fond douz plantation thus far is superior and stands as our best. We selected the beautiful Cinnamon Cottage which is a short walk from the Restaurant and allows a breathtaking view of the many, many varieties of flowers and fruit trees along the path. The Friday nights presentation of cuisine and local live entertainment and get-together for guests was in our opinion outstanding. Factor in the proximity of Fond doux to the world's only drive-in volcano and waterfalls and you'll sense our elation. As historians, we were impressed with staff knowledge on the history of this resort and the courteous and professional interaction of the Owners with their guests. We definitely recommend this resort and are already making plans for a return visit later this year with other family members and friends.

Room tip: Close to Restaurant at ground elevation.
Date of stay: December 2013
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Freda L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fonddoux, Owner at Fond Doux Plantation & Resort, responded to this reviewResponded January 15, 2014

THANK YOU FOR THE INCREDIBLE REVIEW!!!
Dear Freda L,
We greatly appreciate your efforts in reporting the satisfaction you experienced during your stay at Fond Doux Holiday Plantation. It is not often that we receive a review from a guest who has experienced severe weather conditions on their vacation. Judging by your favorable comments, our staff did about as good a job as they could to make a memorable experience out of it all. All in all, while a devastating experience for the island of St. Lucia, Fond Doux Holiday Plantation fared relatively well.
Positive comments about all elements of the resort, including the cottage, food, ambience, flowers, fruits, staff, entertainment and the Managers Cocktail are all received with the highest gratitude. The Fond Doux Holiday Plantation team is always happy to receive positive and encouraging feedback, as we go above and beyond to ensure that we not only meet but exceed their overall expectations and it s quite evident we were able to do just that. It is guests like you who truly appreciate what we do here and so our efforts are not unnoticed.
We wish to thank all our guests who were on property at the time for their patience and co-operation. In the same way you have thanked us for making your stay so wonderful, we too thank you for sharing your experiences so enthusiastically with the travelling public, providing an accurate depiction of what to expect as a guest of Fond Doux Holiday Plantation. Thank you for your commitment to return and we look forward to welcoming you back to paradise.
Best Regards,
Eroline and Lyton Lamontagne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2014

Great service, perfect location and comes with a great price. Amongst natures bliss hails the Perfect Resort “Fond Doux Holiday Plantation.
Only ten to fifteen minutes away from historic sites, beaches and the town of Soufriere. Perfect location!!!!!
The meals were scrumptious, couldn’t get any better!!!. The resort has very accommodating staff that would go all out to ensure that you are comfortable at all times. Very historic resort, bliss is paradise. Fond Doux in my opinion is one of the best resorts on island!!!!
Our weekend at Fond Doux was remarkable.
I would definitely recommend Fond Doux to all travelers especially those in love with nature.

Date of stay: December 2013
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pretty l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fonddoux, Owner at Fond Doux Plantation & Resort, responded to this reviewResponded January 15, 2014

THANK YOU FOR YOUR FEEDBACK!!
Dear Pretty l,
This truly is a great review, concise and simple, it clearly states all the reasons you enjoyed your stay at Fond Doux Holiday Plantation. We are very pleased that you had the opportunity to experience our resort and that you were satisfied with the services that we offered. It is gratifying to read that in your opinion Fond Doux Holiday Plantation is one of the best resorts on the island.
Once again, thank you for choosing Fond Doux Holiday Plantation and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Thank you for your wonderful comments and business.

Best Regards,
Eroline and Lyton Lamontagne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2014

Our stay at Fond Doux was a mixed experience. On the one hand there were quite a few issues, on the other, there were a few members of staff that we would highly commend for their customer service, efficiency and friendliness, (Marsha and Catrina).

However, our first few days at the plantation were not happy ones. We felt very uncomfortable with the general attitude of the staff - in particular the restaurant and bar staff. If we requested a different table, or God forbid, a cocktail with Lunch, we were met with looks of disbelief and an attitude that said, " Really? Oh, that's a lot to ask." Surly is a good description for 70% of the
staff.

What to do? Should we have complained? Normally I would have, but it was difficult to gauge
who was in charge. Who was the restaurant manager? In fact, there were so many members of staff who all seemed to be friends that I had no idea whether a complaint would just alienate
everyone, then we'd feel even more uncomfortable for the rest of our stay.

As the days went by, the staff seemed to warm to us, and there's no denying that quite a few of them are a real credit to the plantation - very friendly. Am I contradicting myself? Well, yes really. That's what it was like. My over-all opinion is that the plantation doesn't focus on staff training,
there seems to be no over-arching or uniform culture of customer service or management structure. Had this been in place, along side the very laid back and friendly nature of the staff, it would have enhanced our experience considerably.

The plantation itself is a wonderful place. Loads of potential. Location is fabulous, providing you're happy to be a 10minute drive from the beach. Seeing all of the wonderful vegetation and flowers, and all the produce growing outside your cottage is great. It is wonderfully rustic and has
an authentic feel. It requires a bit of sprucing up in places; rustic doesn't have to mean rough around the edges.

The first part of our stay we spent in the papaya cottage. Very private and romantic, you are not overlooked by any-one. We loved the outside shower and the very comfortable four poster bed. The balcony had a comfortable day-bed and we were right next to the lovely pool area. There's a plunge-pool on your balcony and 2 sun loungers, (one of which was broken...first complaint...)

There's a fridge, kettle and filter coffee machine provided in the room. However, there was no ground coffee provided, so I requested some, and so began our first battle. My goodness, who'd
have thought it could be so difficult! It took several requests of 3 different people and 3 days to get the coffee...... asking for fresh milk at the restaurant to take back for our coffee was one of
those "Really?" moments......

We were sad to leave Papaya cottage, but had previously arranged to stay in Avacado cottage for our last 3 nights. It's lower down the plantation; we prefered the hilltop location of Papaya. Avocado has 2 bedrooms, open-plan kitchen and lounge. There is obviously no view or chance of sun-bathing on the deck as the vegetation blocks out the sun. Not a problem, just a contrast to the Hilltop cottages. There was a small pane of glass missing from one of the shower-room windows and one of the rocking chairs was broken. Another complaint...This was all taken care
of quickly by Katrina.

Generally, there are no comfortable guest seating areas on the plantation. No comfortable
seating area at the bar either - they do need some sofas there so you can sip cocktails or coffee after dinner. We'd have spent more time at the pool area sipping cocktails, but to be honest, we were initially intimidated by the staff that we didn't want to 'inconvenience' them by asking for pool service.

The chairs provided for dining are the most uncomfortable chairs I have ever sat on! They're like something from a 1970s Italian Trattoria down the Old Kent Road! The legs protrude from the seat, wedging themselves into the side of you thighs. Each meal-time I had to find 2 cushions to soften the experience.

The food- brace yourself. Breakfast was very poor. The first morning they had porridge and yoghurt, but they never appeared again. Eggs are cooked to order, which is great. (now this is where you need to speak up and ask for what you want, because the staff are really hit and miss! Marsha was the exception).

Lunch, mostly awful. Dinner, mostly awful. One night there was a lamb special which was tasty. Lobster another night which I enjoyed. By the end of our stay we decided to eat elsewhere. The bayside at Sugar beach provided very tasty food, although pricey. We also ate at Bouchan and The Great room at Sugar beach resort, (very, very pricey but worth it).

Over-all we will not be returning to Fond Doux. They need to rethink their approach to the whole venture. What a shame, because the potential is stunning.

P.S they really need a new Bar-man, he was surly and very slow. I had to ask him if he enjoyed his job - his answer was a delayed and unconvincing "yes". When one of the ladies mixed our drinks they were 100% better!

Room tip: Request a hilltop cottage - you'll love it.
Date of stay: January 2014
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ljatellesmere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fonddoux, Owner at Fond Doux Plantation & Resort, responded to this reviewResponded January 12, 2014

THANK YOU FOR YOUR FEEDBACK!!!

Dear Ljatellesmere,

We acknowledge your review of your recent stay at Fond Doux Holiday Plantation and are genuinely disappointed that you did not have the total experience of your expectations. Our apologies that you felt compelled to author the review which you have, as this is far from the standard that the majority of guests who visit Fond Doux Holiday Plantation report on this website on a very consistent and regular basis It is realized that we simply cannot please everyone - nor is Fond Doux Holiday Plantation or even St. Lucia for everyone – as has been stated by many content reviewers on this website in the past. We accept that everyone is entitled to their own opinion of what makes a good holiday however; we feel that it is necessary and worthwhile to clarify the points highlighted in your review.

• We wish to express that we are truly appreciative of your positive comments regarding some aspects of the plantation such as the location, vegetation, flowers, estate produce and the cottages.

• We were extremely surprised and confused after reading your comments about the staff. Earlier in your review you mentioned that you felt “uncomfortable with the general attitude of the staff” however, in your fourth paragraph you then proceeded to commend the staff on their warmth and friendliness. This is quite a contradiction - thank you for clarifying this in your review. It is highly unusual for us to receive negative comments such as yours and generally our guests, irrespective of their reasons for travelling, give our management team and staff high praise. We do however wish to apologize for any lapses in the service that you received from our team.

• We are blessed with a plantation and so there are numerous sitting areas such as the lounge area in the Jardin Cacao Restaurant, garden chairs in the courtyard, the pool area and the verandah of the cottages. As a green Globe certified property, part of our efforts is to support the social and cultural developments in Soufriere and St. Lucia hence we have been working along with local craftsmen who specialize in local chairs, tables, beds, etc. We do understand that it is difficult to suit everyone’s taste and comfort however; we are in the process of increasing the proportions on our dining chairs.

• We are confident that had you brought the issues highlighted in your review to our attention, we could have resolved many of your concerns. It is clearly not what we had hoped for or expected, as there was absolutely no indication of any dissatisfaction throughout your stay. We continually conduct staff training and having discussed your comments in detail, additional training efforts are being focused on service standards.

We are always deeply concerned when we receive negative reports and do our best to listen to any complaints and do whatever we can to rectify any lapses in service in order to ensure that this does not happen again.
Thank you for staying with us and hopefully you will give us another chance to prove that we can offer the “great holiday stay” which you have identified that we have the potential to provide. After all, the great majority of our guests do have a wonderful experience, and it is likely for this reason you chose to come to Fond Doux Holiday Plantation to begin with.

Best Regards,
Eroline and Lyton Lamontagne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2014

I don't know what I can say that hasn't already been said. We spent 6 divine days and nights in this slice of paradise. Everything was divine...from the staff, the food, the room, the grounds. It was totally relaxing, exactly what we needed. I was initially concerned about not being right on the beach, being a life-long "beach bum", but after one night, I didn't mind at all. The rain forest setting is so unique, lush, and beautiful. There is a daily free shuttle to Sugar Beach. From there, we were able to travel by boat to a few other more secluded beaches. Anse Chasanet and Anse Mamin provided exactly the postcard perfect beach experience we expected in St. Lucia.
We were on an all-inclusive plan and the food didn't disappoint. My husband enjoyed seafood daily and was impressed with each selection. There was good variety and we enjoyed the local choices: amazing fresh fruit and juice, morning "bake", and the cocktails! I wish I had gotten the recipe for the Coconut Punch I enjoyed every evening!
The staff was welcoming, attentive, friendly, and the best of any place we have ever stayed. Fresh flowers are everywhere...I was constantly checking to see if they were real. We planned something each day...a hike, a beach day, snorkeling;etc. in the afternoons, we relaxed by the awesome pool before dinner. We originally booked the Cinnamon cottage, but were moved to one of the hilltop rooms (Guava) upon arrival. Not sure why, but we loved the change...the climb was worth it for the serenity and views.

I would love to return to Fond Doux if we ever get the opportunity.

Room tip: As stated, the hilltop cottages are worth the climb for the views. If you're not up to it, though, the garden cottages are lush and secluded also. You really can't go wrong!
Date of stay: December 2013
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WendyO59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fonddoux, Owner at Fond Doux Plantation & Resort, responded to this reviewResponded January 15, 2014

THANK YOU FOR THE DIVINE REVIEW!!
Dear Wendy059,
We truly appreciate your enthusiastic review of your recent six day stay at Fond Doux Holiday Plantation. What is particularly refreshing in your posting is the obvious fact that you understand what a real Caribbean experience is….total relaxation in a rainforest like setting.
We are greatly appreciative of your comments about the rooms, grounds, rainforest setting, food and the staff. It is rewarding to read that you found our staff to the best of any place that you ever stayed- this is indeed a big endorsement and we thank you wholeheartedly. We are delighted to read that as an all-inclusive guest, you did enjoy our menu selections and beverages especially the Coconut Punch – Hopefully this will give you another reason for you to return so we can pass on the secret ingredients for the Coconut punch. We will be sure to pass on your encouraging feedback to the entire team as they go above and beyond to create magical experiences for all our guests.
In the event that we have a higher room category available during a guest stay, we would offer an upgrade – you must have been one of the fortunate ones.
We would love to welcome you back to paradise and thank you very much for being such great guests. Thank you for your support and encouraging feedback.
Best Regards,
Eroline and Lyton Lamontagne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2014

Fond Doux is a wonderful resort and we are so glad we went there for our first visit to St. Lucia. We booked the shuttle to pick us up at the airport and were met by Happiness - a true example of how friendly the St Luican people are, he even had Piton beer in the car for us. He provided a sight seeing trip back to the resort, highlighting many beautiful places. Once we arrived we were met by Katrina who welcomed us to this beautiful resort, had our bags delivered to our cottage while she showed us around. We had a welcome Rum Punch - best we've had.
The owners, Mr & Mrs Lamontagne were also there and were always out and about talking to the guests-for the entire week, very hands on and made everyone feel special. Katrina is a world wind - booking trips that you want to take, reminding you of the day and time of each, always available making sure you are happy and not in need of anything. Ask and you received whatever you requested.
Howard and I stayed in the Cinnamon cottage - what a wonderful cottage - very clean, airy and right in the middle of the rain forest. Fresh fruit in room, coffee, tea and a refrig. Our friend stayed next door and you wouldn't even know there was another cottage anywhere close, the foliage was just so lush.
We had the all-inclusive and everything, from each meal to the drinks were top shelf. We didn't lack for anything. Every staff member was super friendly and went out of their way to make sure we were happy.
We did a trip to Tet Paul Nature trail, the drive in volcano, Piton Falls - Happiness was our driver and he made the trip very special by explaining were we were and giving tips, little known
facts about the area.
This was a vacation that we all enjoyed and for my husband to say he wants to return is a big endorsment as he is usually onto the next new adventure.
Thank you to all the wonderful people who made our trip so special. We'll be back!!
Howard & Audrey Waillant

Room tip: If you want a view that looks over the tops of the trees - book a treetop cottage above the pool area. The climb is worth it.
Date of stay: November 2013
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Audrey W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fonddoux, Owner at Fond Doux Plantation & Resort, responded to this reviewResponded January 7, 2014

WONDERFUL, RELAXING REVIEW – MOST APPRECIATED!!

Dear Audrey and Howard,

On behalf of the entire team, we would like to say how delighted we are that we met and exceeded your expectations during your recent stay at Fond Doux Holiday Plantation.

We at Fond Doux Holiday Plantation believe in the saying “first impressions are lasting “and so we consider our drivers as ambassadors for St. Lucia and Fond Doux Holiday Plantation hence they will go above and beyond to ensure that they create memorable experiences for all guests. St. Lucians are generally known for their friendliness and hospitality, and the team at Fond Doux Holiday Plantation embodies all of these qualities. We will commend the entire team especially Katrina and Happiness for a job well done.

In a small property like ours, we do understand that it is the simple things that usually count and so we try our best to meet and interact with every guest who steps foot into our plantation paradise to ensure that everyone feels welcome and part of the Fond Doux family. We greatly appreciate all the positive light that you have shed on our plantation paradise.

This is indeed a big endorsement from your husband and our Fond Doux family would love to welcome both of you back to paradise.

Thank you once again for your support and endorsement.

Best Regards,
Eroline and Lyton Lamontagne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews