We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Fond Doux Plantation & Resort
Nearby Hotels
Stonefield Villa Resort(Soufriere)(Great Value!)
$312
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Anse Chastanet(Soufriere)(Great Value!)
$390
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
Boucan by Hotel Chocolat(Soufriere)(Great Value!)
$289
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hummingbird Beach Resort(Soufriere)(Great Value!)
$200
$150
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
La Haut Resort(Soufriere)(Great Value!)
$104
$73
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$107
$64
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$169
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$800
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$1,035
$776
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$1,110
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (873)
Filter reviews
873 results
Traveler rating
636
194
32
11
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
636
194
32
11
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe cottagescinnamon cottageafrican tuliphillside guavaangelina cottagest luciamangobamboo restaurantsugar beachshort hikebedroom cottagetet paul nature trailoutdoor showerfruit treesfree shuttlemade to order eggscocoa tree
Filter
Updating list...
701 - 706 of 873 reviews
Reviewed July 22, 2011

We recently hired the whole of Fond Doux for our wedding for 3 nights. We had a wonderful time. Our guests occupied ALL of the villas and most guests appreciated the individuality of the chalets, the friendliness of the staff, the beautiful grounds and the excellent dinner food. The owners went out of their way to give us the day we dreamed of. They succeeded. Our guests ranged from a 1 year old to a 78 year old and whilst the rouged paths make it very difficult to push a pram our 5 and 12 year old children had great fun playing in the dip pools. My advice is to choose your villa carefully as some are up steep hills so not suitable for all.

The majority of our guests thought the plantation an authentic Caribbean experience which provided an interesting contrast to the standard chain hotel. Inevitably some UK guests found the heat (there are gentle ceiling fans but no air conditioning) difficult to cope with and some of the characterful, wooden chalets were not to everyone’s standards of maintenance but in my opinion these short comings are out weighed by the many positives. I am sure the manager will be reviewing all the feedback given and taking the necessary steps to rectify matters.

Fond Doux is a family owned, tropical plantation offering accommodation to the independent traveller who wants something different. Like all forested areas there are insects, spiders, lizards and frogs all around but provided your mosquito net fits then you can sleep peacefully listening to the sounds of the forest.

The food at the buffet we arranged each night was great - varied and tasty - and the staff tried very hard to meet all of our needs. As throughout St Lucia, the service is sometimes more relaxed and haphazard than in other parts of the world. Welcome to the Caribbean!

Our villa was lovely with welcome flowers on the crisp white bed, clean bathrooms and a lovely veranda with comfy rocking chairs. The gardens are beautiful to walk around although care needs to be taken when it rains as the rough paths become slippy in places.

In summary, my husband and I love Fond Doux as nothing is fake, so you know you are in St Lucia rather than a hotel anywhere in the world. We are grateful to everyone at Fond Doux for making our wedding very special.

Room Tip: Angelina villa
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jaguarrose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fonddoux, Owner at Fond Doux Plantation & Resort, responded to this reviewResponded August 13, 2011

Good Day:
Thank you for the priviledge to host and share your wedding day. We understood the factors involved in making this important choice of location as both your husband and you have travelled extensively around the world.

We are elated when you tell our tripadvisor readers that we succeeded in executing your dream.We are dedicated and committed to enhancing and to provide best quality service and accommodations in our own authentic caribbean paradise.

We are reviewing feedback and are rectifying and upgrading all issues in order to ensure a wonderful holiday experience for all our guests without exception. As you pointed out Fonddoux Plantation is located in a tropical rainforest and therefore we continue to work with "Mother Nature".

Fonddoux Plantation is becoming synonymous with individualized and personal wedding celebrations where our staff partcipate and provide this caribbean flavor and atmosphere to a once in a lifetime dream.

Our resolve is to continue to aim even higher to excel at Fonddoux Plantation not withstanding our relaxed caribbean.Therefore we thank you once again for choosing Fonddoux and also finding the time to share this positive review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2011

I'm genuinely drawn to this place! The well placed cottages that are carefully inserted into the hillside and discreetly blend into the canopy of the trees....a most awesome way to watch the sunshine rise from the hammock on the verandah. Being an early-riser, a couple of mornings after a good sleep, I just lay in that hammock and wondered why life seems so complicated when the simple thiings that can bring joy are right there.....serenity is what I found there! .....if it was gritty in my bed the first night, it is because I walked into a room with a scattering of petals and on the bedcover some artfully arranged to say "WELCOME" and without shaking the covers slipped right in after hand-picking the petals.....guess it's my love of nature. I must say: to this place with my family I will return!

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BabbiBruce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fonddoux, Owner at Fond Doux Plantation & Resort, responded to this reviewResponded July 27, 2011

We appreciate the time taken to write your review. We are so happy you seem to have really embraced Fond Doux Holiday Plantation for what we aim to be. When you take your family we will put a reserved sign on the hammock for you! The hammock is a great place to relax but be careful as the odd lizard has been known to want to join you!

Thank you for your kind comments and hope to see you again soon.

Regards,
Eroline & Lyton Lamontagne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2011

We stayed at Fond Doux Holiday Plantation at the end of April, and loved everything about the place. We decided to stay here after reading all the reviews on trip advisor, and the reasonable price. The great reviews were spot on. The cottage, Hillside Guava, was wonderful. It was spacious, clean, and the view was amazing from the balcony. The owners (Lyton & Eroline) were very sweet and helpful. They really do make you feel welcome and go above the call of duty. Lyton would often sit down and chat with us and arrange for anything we needed. We felt right at home and had a great time. Cannot say enough wonderful things about the owners and their staff. There is a great hike to view the Pitons right on the Plantation. Awesome snorkeling too (Jalousie & Anse Chasnet) only a five-ten minute drive away. And if you wish to go to Soufriere, talk to owners or the staff. Omo took time from his day off to show us Soufriere. We met and hung out with a lot of friendly people and even had some excellent local cuisine. The restaurant on site was excellent, food was very flavorful, made with local fresh ingredients. Thought the cost was reasonable as well, in comparison to restaurants nearby. Overall a great vacation. We got to experience St. Lucia, the people, and their culture thanks to Fond Doux. Definitely recommend this place to anyone. If you want to really experience St Lucia this is the place.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank connoisseur1322
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fonddoux, Owner at Fond Doux Plantation & Resort, responded to this reviewResponded July 11, 2011

Thank you for your very kind review and comments on Fond Doux Holiday Plantation. Hillside Guava being perched above the main body of the plantation does have a lovely view for you to enjoy, day or night. The Piton trail is also a firm favourite among our guests. Very pleased to read that you took time out to see Soufriere and enjoyed the tour, we will pass your appreciation on. We do try to make Fond Doux as authentic an experience as possible and this is one of the main reasons our regular guests return. Thank you again for your review.

Best Regards,
Eroline & Lyton Lamontagne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2011

Wonderful People, laid back but good service. The old plantation is being transformed into a BEAUTIFUL Eco-type resort. The cottages jutting out of the treetops in the jungle are mostly on the sides of the mountain. There are a few cottages and a plantation house lower in the plantation as well as a wonderful restaraunt, Jardin Cocoa

Room Tip: Not on the beach but a quick trip around the corner and you are there
  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Natureboy58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fonddoux, Owner at Fond Doux Plantation & Resort, responded to this reviewResponded July 11, 2011

We appreciate your time in writing your review. We do have some great value all inclusive packages but we also have the traditional accommodation. Becoming a member of Green Globe International certainly helped put a “stamp” on what we are trying to do at Fond Doux Holiday Plantation. Our natural environment is very important to us. We hope you made use of our free shuttle bus to the beach as you are correct in saying it is only a few minutes’ drive away. Thank you for your appreciation of our staff and thank you again for the review.

Best Regards,
Eroline and Lyton Lamontagne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2011

Came here on a last-minute trip and stayed for three nights in the Bamboo Cottage. Everyone was very helpful with setting up transportation and excursions - even with last minute changes because of the weather. The staff was courteous and very eager to make my stay as comfortable as possible. Loved all the food at the restaurant - especially the local vegetables. The cottage was lovely, rustic and comfortable. Just sitting out on the porch, reading was a pleasure. As a single, female traveler I felt safe and secure. I will recommend this resort to all of my friends and coworkers, especially to the ones that like to experience authenticity and culture.

Stayed: July 2011, traveled solo
Thank Dcw66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fonddoux, Owner at Fond Doux Plantation & Resort, responded to this reviewResponded July 8, 2011

Thank you for your kind comments and time taken to write the review. Especially pleased to read that the excursions went smoothly for you, even with the rain we had the past week! Still the sun is out today and it’s another scorcher! You came at a great time of year as a lot of our fruit trees are really blooming. Chef loves this time of year for the fruit harvest. Thank you for the recommendation and thank you again for the review.

Best Regards,

Lyton & Eroline Lamontagne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews