We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a lovely visit!”
Review of Crystals St Lucia

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Soufriere
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Crystals St Lucia
Ranked #8 of 11 Hotels in Soufriere
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 3, 2014

My husband and I just returned from a week's visit at Crystals, and what an unforgettable experience it was! Jessica, Monica & Martin went out of their way to be helpful and accommodating. Truly sweet, sweet people! We stayed at Papaya & had the opportunity to visit a couple of the other cottages. All are exotic, unique & beautiful. The deck & outdoor shower made Papaya the perfect choice for us. With the kitchen set-up, we were able to make a couple of our suppers & pack up picnic lunches for our day trips. We also participated in a couple of dinners hosted by Monica & Martin. Simply delicious--I really recommend doing this! Also, the breakfast each day was delicious & fortifying for our island exploration.

One of the truly memorable Crystal experiences was the evening social time. We had the opportunity to visit with travelers from Holland, France, England, Germany & fellow Minnesotans (escaping our nasty Minnesota winter!). This was such a nice touch that we haven't experienced on our other Caribbean travels. Watch out, tho, Martin's rum punch carries quite a punch!! Loved it!

We rented our car with Andrew Chitolie through the Crystals recommendation, and that went off without a hitch. Also the price was very reasonable and included pick-up & drop-off at the airport, trips which would have cost $140 on its own.

Having explored other areas of St. Lucia, we were very happy that we settled in the Soufriere area & absolutely thrilled that we chose the Crystals. It was a vacation well-earned for us & everyone at Crystals made it absolutely wonderful. A heartfelt hank you to Jessica, Monica, Martin & staff!

Room Tip: I don't think you could go wrong with any room you choose!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Julieza13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crystals-Soufriere, Front Office Manager at Crystals St Lucia, responded to this reviewResponded March 5, 2014

What a pleasure to have you here with us at Crystals and delighted you enjoyed your stay with us.

papaya is one of the most popular cottages with views to die for as you well know, the outside shower is a nice quirky feature, happy to hear you enjoyed it.

I hope one day you will come back and visit .

Thank you for staying with us and that you took the time to send in a review and wonderful photos

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (442)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

197 - 203 of 442 reviews

Reviewed February 9, 2014

We just returned from a magical vacation at Crystals in gorgeous St Lucia! First of all, I obsessively research before I choose a place to stay, and I am more than thrilled we chose Crystals! We are "off the beaten path" types, and not at all people who would be happy in a polished, luxury type of cookie cutter resort. We were looking for a place that was unique and we got more than we bargained for! We choose to stay in the Callabash treehouse, and the pictures do not do it justice! The place drips with romance and you can immediately tell that much care was taken to make it unique and ultimately very private. The views of the Pitons are beyond compare, and the gorgeous tree coming through the balcony really gives the feeling of being in a treehouse! Even though it rained quite a bit during our stay, we didn't really mind hanging out in our cottage and enjoying the views and the abundant nature surrounding us! Martin, Monica, and Jessica, our host family, are wonderful, kind people, and make every effort possible to make sure you enjoy your time with them. We definitely felt like we were guests in their home, and we left feeling like we had made new friends! Happy hour is a wonderful time to visit with Martin and Monica, and make sure you have dinner there if it is available! The bar area is so cool, and feels like the Swiss Family Robinson treehouse!! Now, with that said, keep in mind you are in the jungle, there are bugs, the road is a little rough, water is precious so therefore water pressure is at a minimum. There are quirks here and there, but for us, it was all part of the charm and very much what I would expect from a somewhat off the grid jungle oasis. If these sorts of quirks are going to ruin your trip, I would suggest looking elsewhere. However, what you do get at Crystals is a beyond compare experience hosted by kind, honest people in a magical mountain oasis! Oh and you also get yummy breakfasts brought to your room, not to mention it is so safe and well hidden we never locked our door, even when we left! A few tips about the area, watch out for hustlers, we got hit hard. Haha, totally our ignorance, and a lesson well learned! The beach in Anse Chastanet is the closest beautiful beach to Crystals, and not a bad drive with a 4x4. Also, make sure to eat at Martha's Tables, Divine Delitz, and Hummingbird! One last note on food, we were a bit shocked at the costs of things, being accustomed to cheap eats in places like Costa Rica. Be prepared to spend more than you think, and always ask how much things cost before you order! I highly recommend Crystals, and hope we can return again someday!! Thanks again!!

Room Tip: The Callabash is amazing!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank mamabee222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crystals-Soufriere, Front Office Manager at Crystals St Lucia, responded to this reviewResponded February 27, 2014

Thank you for your e-mail and we are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us at Crystals.
I have to agree while you were here we did get your share of rain, it is nice and dry now.
Rain however is a blessing to us here and it fills up our water tanks and waters our garden so long as it is at night hahah.
Pleasure to have you both and hope to see you back here to enjoy our hospitality.
Thank you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 7, 2014

My wife and I visited St. Lucia in December, 2013 (review is a touch late, I agree) and stayed at Crystals.

First off, Crystals is very unique and not necessarily for everyone. If you want a "I want to be pampered, I don't want to get dirty, I don't want to touch anything that is in the country but want to be in the country" type hotel, then this is NOT for you, at all.

But, if you want something that has a great location which allows you a great home base for exploring that part of the island, has beautiful rooms and views, and a very friendly staff (starting at the top with Martin/Monica all the way down), then this is for you. We absolutely loved it. It was our first time in St. Lucia and the uniqueness of it and the friendliness and helpfulness of the staff made it above all the rest.

Lots has been said on this forum, so I won't rehash anything regarding specifics. Also, my wife wrote a very detailed review with pictures on our blog:

http://aroundtheworldinbabydays.com/2014/01/09/166/

Overall, if you are looking to stay in that part of the island (Soufrierre, which, let's be honest, is the most scenic), and you do not want to stay at a giant or way too expensive resort, you should definitely stay here.

Room Tip: Calabash...That's the best one.
See more room tips
Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
3  Thank Riley J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crystals-Soufriere, Front Office Manager at Crystals St Lucia, responded to this reviewResponded February 28, 2014

Thank you for your very positive and kind review, we are happy you enjoyed your stay with us at Crystals and understand the uniqueness of our property as you mentioned not for everyone but there again we are not looking to capture everyone just people who are looking for a different type of accommodation.

Hope you will come back and visit us again and see our new expansion of our restaurant, looking good and of course amazing piton views

Blessings to you both from all of us here at Crystals

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 1, 2014

Crystals is, in one word, amazing. Jessica, Martin and Monica make you feel like you are a part of their family and assist you in finding great deals and secret, interesting spots around Sourfriere. The accommodations are exceptionally beautiful, interesting and tasteful and the price is right. Complimentary happy hour rum punch in a tree house bar where Martin, a musician sets the mood with really great music. Monica makes a delicious dinner (4 courses at 45 USD a person with wine!) and Jessica really made my boyfriend and my trip special by showing us around, helping us out and having an all around really positive spirit. Also got an awesome couples massage from Kendall (also reasonably priced) DO NOT PASS THIS PLACE UP!!

Room Tip: We had sugar cane which is one of the more normal rooms (2 floors with a spectacular, unbeatable vie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Rkibble
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crystals-Soufriere, Front Office Manager at Crystals St Lucia, responded to this reviewResponded February 28, 2014

Thank you and thank you for your most positive review great to hear you enjoyed Crystals.

I have to say our dinner nights are quite the success we try to use only what we grow on our property and of course fresh fish or meats and as you know we are big on vegetarian foods.

Hope you will come back ad visit us again i soon

wishing you both a great year.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 29, 2014

This is my third visit to the wonderful place that is Crystals! I was lucky enough to visit over New Year! It is as beautiful as always! I enjoyed a fabulous meal chatting with people from all over the world in the lovely restaurant ! I also danced around on New Year's Eve ! What could be better.
As always Monica and Martin are the best hosts ever! I miss the lovely atmosphere and sense of fun that is Crystals! See you again soon.
Next time I hope to see the lovely new villa. The photos look fabulous!

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank redhouse_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crystals-Soufriere, Front Office Manager at Crystals St Lucia, responded to this reviewResponded February 28, 2014

I thank you for the time to put in a review for us at Crystals and a positive one, I hope you both will come back and visit us again soon and enjoy what we have to offer here
take care and Blessings to you both

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 17, 2014

We had the pleasure to spend a night at Crystals on the 8th of January. The journey began as we traveled up the long windy bumpy mountain road to Crystals. Crystals was perched on top of the mountain making for amazing views of the island. We were greeted upon arrival by Monica and her daughter. They were both so kind and made sure that every accommodation was met. The views from the rooms were miraculous and overlooked the famous Pitons. The room itself was very clean and comfortable. Additionally, the room was open which allowed for a nice breeze giving the true island feel. At night, Monica had dinner for the guests in the restaurant on the property; you must try the Rum Punch! Monica provided a great atmosphere and was a wonderful host. We will definitely be returning soon!

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Michael P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crystals-Soufriere, Front Office Manager at Crystals St Lucia, responded to this reviewResponded February 28, 2014

Thank you for your kind comments so well appreciated indeed I do hope you will come back again and visit us here at Crystals.

We have just put in some wonderful gardens with a large variety of flowers and fruit trees so next time you visit I hope this will bring you pleasure

Tank you again from all of us here at Crystals

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 16, 2014

We just got back from St Lucia yesterday and are already missing it. A bit over priced for what you can get with other options in the area. We also stayed at another property in Soufriere for a few days. The road into Crystals is pretty rough. You will have to get a driver to the town of Soufriere or to the nearby Beaches. Expect to pay $55 for a round trip driver to and from ANSE CHASTNET BEACH. Breakfast was fair, but we would have liked if they gave us juice. There is fruit growing everywhere around the property. How can they not offer juice with breakfast? The best thing about breakfast was the Coconut Pancakes. Stop in town before you come up to make sure you get provisions. None are available onsite with the exception of happy hour. The restaurant is only open at the owners discretion. We were told it would be $40 per person but it was not served on any of the days that we were there. It is nice that all of the rooms include plunge pools but they are very cold due to not getting enough Sun. There are no locks on any of the doors. We had a boat trip planned during the week but it was cancelled the morning of our trip. Bummer! Very poor lighting in Calabash. The stove and tv did not work. We chose Crystals because of the excellent recommendation in Lonely Planet. Overall, we thought our experience was ok but would probably not return to the property. The staff were all very nice and friendly. The rooms are very unique and memorable.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank itenerantsurf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crystals-Soufriere, Front Office Manager at Crystals St Lucia, responded to this reviewResponded January 17, 2014

Thank you for your interesting review.

shame you did not know how to work the TV or Stove, the stove is Gas and you have to light it with a match like all the stoves on property?

The t.v you have to put it on with a remote and then press the 2nd remote to put on the cable, all Guests are usually shown this on arrival, as well this is indicated in the in house directory placed on the coffee table, but the stove one would have thought that was simple, thank you for pointing this out, we will indicate this as well to our Guests.

We do have dinner a few evenings a week however you were only on property a 2 nights and not on a dinner night and you never made any reservations, we had dinner the day before you arrived and the day after, being a small property we do not do dinner every night unless reservations are made this is indicated in several reviews and on our website plus on the bottom of every e-mail,( restaurant open on reservations only)
If you had made reservation you could have had dinner.

Breakfast

delivered to your cottage daily at any time you like

we provide in your cottage a selection of 3 different tea, coffee, at breakfast you get a large selection of fruit, bakes, coconut pancakes, eggs, fresh bread homemade jam, cheese,all complimentary. Fresh juice by the jug is on request.
I have to say breakfast is complimentary

our rates are extremely competitive that is why we got the award for being the best Value for quality and price in St Lucia, from the lonely planet and the Sunday Times travel mag, of course you can get an inexpensive guest house with no private pool or kitchen or view for less.

The private pool
would have been a bit cold as while you were here it was raining for the week so every pool would be cold, rather unfortunate i know

The cancellation of the sailing tour unfortunately had nothing to do with Crystals it is independent of Crystals, rather a shame I agree as this tour is wonderful, but such is life one takes what life brings, plus with the rain I think you would not have enjoyed it.

Happy to hear you found our accommodation unique and hope you enjoyed taking photos while you were on our Island.

You will find St Lucia destination a bit more expensive then other Islands as the Caribbean is in general, hope you will return one day as money comes and goes, you might find Crystals bit more than in your usual budget but honestly compared with other hotels of similar quality we are not.

Ops,sorry we forgot to give you a key to be honest no one hardy uses a key here and we are so used to having repeat Guests who never ask for a key that it must have slipped our minds, to mention the key is behind the door on a key ring, in fact I am not quite sure when anyone quite locked a door?
we never lock doors here, our office, bar , the owners home , all open its very very safe, nice to know still in this world we have a small safe haven.(however if you would have asked you would have been given one straight away).

We have never had an issue here but I can imagine coming from North Carolina it must be quite different.

Wishing you both Blessings for 2014 from all the Management and staff at Crystals.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Soufriere hotels
1.5 mi away
Jade Mountain Resort
Jade Mountain Resort
#1 of 11 in Soufriere
972 reviews
3.1 mi away
Fond Doux Plantation & Resort
2.3 mi away
Boucan by Hotel Chocolat
Boucan by Hotel Chocolat
#7 of 11 in Soufriere
495 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Stonefield Villa Resort
Stonefield Villa Resort
#6 of 11 in Soufriere
747 reviews
1.6 mi away
Anse Chastanet
Anse Chastanet
#5 of 11 in Soufriere
1,203 reviews
2.3 mi away
Ladera Resort
Ladera Resort
#2 of 11 in Soufriere
1,289 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crystals St Lucia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crystals St Lucia

Address: Colombette Drive, Soufriere, St. Lucia
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > St. Lucia > Soufriere Quarter > Soufriere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Soufriere
#4 Family Hotel in Soufriere
#6 Spa Hotel in Soufriere
Price Range: $185 - $400 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Crystals is a one of a kind Tree House property with a cluster of unique cottages and villas built into the trees. It is nestled away in the hillside of Soufriere with most spectacular views of the piton mountains, ocean and the picturesque town of Soufriere. Crystals is not an all inclusive resort. Here, you can take advantage of your own BBQ and full kitchen, or enjoy a wonderful feast at our Treetop Restaurant. Private chefs are also available. Our one of a kind cottages and villas are equipped with air conditioning and stylishly furnished with 4 poster king size beds, art from around the world, private pools and offer amazing, panoramic views of the ocean, the majestic Gros and Petit Piton and the drive-in volcano. Visit Crystals soon and allow yourself a moment to relax in a hammock and enjoy the peace and tranquillity of your lush surroundings, or get pampered with a full body massage in the privacy of your own cottage. Then join us every night for complimentary cocktails at our tree-top bar and dance the night away to the rhythms of a local band. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Crystals Hotel Soufrière
Crystals St Lucia St. Lucia/Soufriere

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing