We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fine cuisine outside of resorts”

Orlando's Restaurant & Bar
Reserve with OpenTable
Orlando's Restaurant & Bar is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #5 of 34 Restaurants in Soufriere
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $45 - $100
Cuisines: Caribbean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Digital Payments, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Orlando's is a unique restaurant in Sorfriere. Our concept is to showcase local ingredients with an international presentation. Also to support our local farmers and vendors to maintain a standard of farm to table concept which is called Share The Love (STL). Reservations Preffered. --- We are open for lunch by reservation if you have a party of 6 or more. We are closed on Mondays and Tuesdays but if you have a party of 6 or more we are prepared to open for you.
Vienna, Austria
Level Contributor
26 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Fine cuisine outside of resorts”
Reviewed March 12, 2014

Orlando's is the place to find creative kitchen based on local traditions outside of the hotel around Soufriere. The menu is well composed playing with Creole elements and the staff acts very professional and helpful. If you enjoy alternatives don't miss to go there.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Werner H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando S, Owner at Orlando's Restaurant & Bar, responded to this review, March 15, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post your comments , we at Orlando's are pleased you enjoyed your visit and look forward to seeing to again when you are next in St Lucia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

560 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    416
    77
    32
    18
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta
Level Contributor
25 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Local cuisine sincere staff”
Reviewed March 10, 2014

The place was clean, and the staff was kind, but the food wasn't good. They were sincere and tried to be creative. The Mahi was good and presented nicely, but everything else was not so good.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank wildrice311
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando S, Owner at Orlando's Restaurant & Bar, responded to this review, March 15, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to comment , I am sorry you did not enjoy your reecent visit, we are only a small establishment and do occasionally have issues which we constantly work on . I do hope you will visit us again when you return to St Lucia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
92 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Dashed Expectations”
Reviewed March 10, 2014 via mobile

When we noted that Orlando's was rated #2 in Souffriere by TA reviewers, and even having read the mixed reviews, we were eager to try the downtown, more local, hot spot. Our experience was disappointing, from our seating in the "patio" (a narrow covered passageway to the rest rooms with three, very close, tables for two), to "we have no limes" for our drinks, to our selected wines not being available, and to the "trying too hard to be creative" mahi-mahi and the very odd "tuna risotto". We applaud the effort of the owner who was the former chef at St. Lucian resort, but would urge that he step back and take a hard look. Hopefully, we just had a bit of bad luck and our experience was not truly representative of the typical night at Orlando's.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
5 Thank AnnisquamAdventurer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando S, Owner at Orlando's Restaurant & Bar, responded to this review, March 15, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post your comments. Being a small establishment on a small island does occasionally mean there are hiccoughs in the continuity of supplies beyond our control and I apologise for this. We are constantly working on this issue and hope you will visit us again when next in St Lucia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
69 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Relaxed and fairly tasty”
Reviewed March 7, 2014 via mobile

I must admit, we were a bit nervous about going to Orlando's. The recent reviews on here swing from ecstatic to horrified.

Let's get the elephant in the room out of the way first; yes, the portion size is small. Saying that, the amount of food on the tasting menus is well judged. We had dinner after not eating since breakfast and we were well sated. That's with me being someone with a big appetite.

Now the food. We had the slightly more expensive fixed menu ($65 a head I think).

We startedoff with a nice gazpacho soup amuse bouche ... tasty.

Our starter was a seafood soup. It was a cream soup with a distinct fish flavour but no actual seafood pieces. Ok flavour but a bit disappointed.

We then had a pickled herring cerviche. Very, very nice.

Next up was a mahi mahi risotto. Nice flavour but the risotto could have had a creamier texture for me (was a bit starchy).

We then had bbq king fish. Very nice flavour again and well cooked (firm but moist).

Finally, we had a flaming dessert that frankly reminded me of advocaat at Christmas. It was OK but didn't really match the rest of the meal for me.

On balance, the food was pretty good and tasty ... hence the title of this review.

Lastly, the staff were very nice with some good banter and Titus the barman did a turn at singing. Orlando came out and said hello to each and every customer, which was a nice touch.

A wee note about the price ... it was actually very reasonable in comparison to other St Lucian restaurants.

I'd recommend eating here if you're in the area.

Helpful?
Thank JimmyMcFatboyfat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando S, Owner at Orlando's Restaurant & Bar, responded to this review, March 27, 2014
Thank you for your comments, I liked your phrase " the elephant in the room " and would like to say that my taster menus are Ti Manje , literally small food in the local creole. A la Carte portions are larger.
I hope you will visit us again when you are next in St Lucia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Go here! So good”
Reviewed March 6, 2014

We had an amazing dinner at Orlando's. Great food, wine, drinks, desert, everything. Felt very welcome.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Elizabeth L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Orlando's Restaurant & Bar also viewed

Soufriere, Soufriere Quarter
Soufriere, Soufriere Quarter
 
Soufriere, Soufriere Quarter
 
Soufriere, Soufriere Quarter
Soufriere, Soufriere Quarter
 

Been to Orlando's Restaurant & Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing