We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very personal service” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Orlando's Restaurant & Bar

Orlando's Restaurant & Bar
Reserve with OpenTable
Orlando's Restaurant & Bar is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #5 of 33 Restaurants in Soufriere
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $45 - $100
Cuisines: Caribbean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Romantic, Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Digital Payments, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Orlando's is a unique restaurant in Sorfriere. Our concept is to showcase local ingredients with an international presentation. Also to support our local farmers and vendors to maintain a standard of farm to table concept which is called Share The Love (STL). Reservations Preffered. --- We are open for lunch by reservation if you have a party of 6 or more. We are closed on Mondays and Tuesdays but if you have a party of 6 or more we are prepared to open for you.
Great Budworth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
115 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 244 helpful votes
“Very personal service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2013

We went to Orlando's for 2 reasons; 1) we'd seen TA and thought it would be worth a look and 2) we'd heard he was the former Exec Chef at Ladera, which has a good reputation. We arrived to an unusually quiet restaurant, as it turns out this was in part due to a busy lunch service. The wine and cocktail menu, although not large are well priced and have a good selection for all tastes. The menu gives three options; set menu 1, 2 or a la carte but you can pick and choose as you like really. Luckily for us Orlando came out to have a chat and talk about the menu and following this conversation he kindly said that he would make us a special tasting menu according to our likes/dislikes. We had 6 courses in all and they were all extremely good without exception. All the ingredients are bought each day from local sources and you can really taste the freshness in the food. One thing that really added to our visit was that at the beginning of every course Chef Orlando came out to explain the components/flavours in each dish and as he put it, "share the love". The meal was excellent and made all the better by the warm and friendly environment that Orlando and his staff have made. It is indeed well worthy of then #1 spot on TA that he has. We would certainly go back should we be in St. Lucia again and highly recommend others try it if you get chance.

Helpful?
3 Thank Rob B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

551 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    407
    77
    32
    18
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
2 reviews
“Yes, Orlando rules in Soufriere....and does not need a view to do so!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2013

Former Ladera Resort's Chef for 14 years, Orlando, decided to go solo not more than 3 months ago, leaving one of the best views in town, and yet, pursuing his dream of proving that love of food and cooking trumps the million dollar hillside location of his former digs. Not a dream anymore, a reality, Orlando's is one of those small gems, found in magical places like St. Lucia, that the visitor will be talking about for years.

Do not be discouraged by the location, the size, or the fact that this Restaurant is in what I assume used to be a private residence and the white cloth tables are in what should have been the patio or the garage. Reminded me of the "picadas" in Chile or the "fondas" in Mexico, yet, high end and with nothing common about the food preparation and passion for perfection.

Yes, there is a 4 and a 5 fix-prix menu, which have a rythm of their own and a balance hard to match. Plan to be there and enjoy for around 2 hours, as, in the kitchen, there is no rush to get you out (e.g. Turn tables as fast as they can for business sake) and Orlando believes in coming out of his sanctuary and visit with the crowd. There is also a menu of appetizers, mains and desserts that would not disappoint either. The wine selection is large enough to have different options for each palate, and, the price of wine is where it should be, not like other resorts in town that markup bottles up to 10 times.

The ceviche is a wonderful starter, as well as the caribbean soup from the fix menu. From the latter, the flank steak is done to perfection, yet, the way is marinated (and Orlando will gladly give you the recipe) is the key of the flavors he accomplishes. The mahi mahi is another popular choice, yet, do not shy away from the jerky pork, which was a wonderful surprise.

Only Orlando and the Ladera Management know what happened and why he left the million dollar views of the Pitons and Jaloussie, yet, he does not need anything other than his passion for food, service and his love for what he does. Thankfully, he is here, he still rules in the kitchen, and he does not need the view to do so.

Cheers!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank velascoj666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucharest, Romania
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Probably the most high end restaurant in Soufriere”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2013

In one of our days in St. Lucia we decided to give Orlando's a go for dinner.
I ordered pork chops that came with sweet potatoes, among other things, and to be honest, my taste palate did not like the combination, but it's just me. They did serve a lot of little things on the house - a virgin ginger cocktail that was very nice, the shot of gazpacho was very good, bread and a dip that tasted very nice.
My boyfriend ordered the steak, it was minuscule, but it was the most tender steak I have ever tasted (we share bites)
The desert was also minuscule and nothing special in my opinion, but my boyfriend really enjoyed it, so again it's a matter of personal taste.
Orlando came to greet us and tell us about his "Share the love" philosophy while we were dining there, that was a very nice touch, the staff was friendly and never far away.
The atmosphere was nice, and quite romantic, even tho the restaurant doesn't offer any views.

All in all, if you're looking for a 5 star experience this is the place to go, and the prices measure up so be prepared.
One main course/one desert/one soft drink per person was about 90$.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank red84ro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincolnshire
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Best in town”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2013

We ate here 3 times in a week, every visit Olando cooked us something different, nothing was to much trouble. This chef is going far, he has such a talent. The restaurent is cosy and Orlando's kitchen even cosier. You must book and you will enjoy. Having eaten my way around the world I really do rate this man.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank MrsSLincolnshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hemel Hempstead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
75 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“Slow but excellent”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 13, 2013

This restaurant which was opened a few weeks ago, by Orlando, a chef who has departed from the Ladera /Dasheen. There are 8 tables and 2 seats at the bar.

Feedback received by Karen at the Stonefield said that service was slow and that it could take two and a half hours to eat there. Behold we arrived at 08.00 and departed at 10.30.

This restaurant specialises in taster menus. Generaly of 5 courses.

The staff are charming, amusing and well practised in keeping customers calm while waiting.
Our first course arrived after one hour - a small portion of delicious soup. Subsequent courses arrived during the next hour or so. Salad - chicken - fish - plus an amazing selection of small sweet portions. All were delicious!
Despite the wait, we have to declare this to be one of the highest quality meals which we enjoyed during our holiday.

It was interesting to chat with Orlando after the meal.He agreed that the kitchen is seriously under resourced. We wish him every success.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Cedric324
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Orlando's Restaurant & Bar also viewed

Soufriere, Soufriere Quarter
Soufriere, Soufriere Quarter
 
Soufriere, Soufriere Quarter
 
Soufriere, Soufriere Quarter
Soufriere, Soufriere Quarter
 

Been to Orlando's Restaurant & Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing