We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Small, but both beautiful and fascinating.”

Diamond Botanical Gardens
Book In Advance
More Info
$140.00*
and up
Land and Sea Adventure to Soufriere, St Lucia
Ranked #4 of 35 things to do in Soufriere
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
St. Lucia
Level Contributor
193 reviews
43 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
“Small, but both beautiful and fascinating.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2013 via mobile

Do take your specs if you need reading glasses so you can get close up to the flowers and read the wild bird descriptions.
Do take a swimming costume if you wish to bathe in the small spa bath. (There are three.) You will arrive at a fenced entrance on the right with parking opposite. You will probably be accosted by necklace salesmen as you enter or leave. Just inside the gate on your right is a window where the tickets are sold and you may then press on. You may be offered a guide but it is not really necessary as many of the plants and trees are labelled. Enjoy taking your time to examine the fine structures of the flowers. About fifty yards on you will find a series of board displays describing the types of bird found on the island. It is woth it to stop and take a little time here. It may be helpful. About a hundred yards up the track you will find a small gift shop and some changing rooms where you can for a small extra fee, bathe in some small spa baths.Beyond the spa is a splendid waterfall with a pool below - photo opportunity - as they say in the US. Turn and pass down the right fork under the beautiful canopy of trees and down to the ornamental garden. Around the fountain stop and sit and watch for humming birds. Finally you will pass through a glade of vanilla vine cocoa trees and down to the exit and round two with the necklace sellers. Well worth a trip. Open on Sundays too shutting at three.. Allow two hours if you love plants. Worth a visit.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank travelpig_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,255 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    531
    498
    188
    26
    12
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
53 reviews
40 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Amazing Gardens”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2013

This is a must visit if your are in Soufriere. The flora is one of a kind and so beautiful. You will be amazed of the colorful flowers and plants. And the waterfall showcase the mineral colors (sulfur yellow, iron orange, copper green, carbon black, calcium white, alkaline red, etc), all colors of a diamond, hence the name Diamond Waterfall. Do not by pass!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank LadyJBe10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falkirk, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Lovely little waterfall”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2013

A walk through the botanic gardens leading down about 30 steps to this lovely waterfall that gives excellent photo opportunities. Some warm water pools also beside the waterfall, excellent for getting off the rest of the mud from the sulphur springs if you've visited there beforehand.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank falkirkscottie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Citrus Heights, California
Level Contributor
100 reviews
26 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Educational”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2013

The gardens are very nice. The flowers and plants are lush. There are signs posted near the various plants, trees and flowers that explain the origin of each. There are places to sit down and just enjoy. We ran into some rain but the canopy was so dense in places that we were able to avoid getting too wet. Very nice time.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Kim B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Beautiful Stop in Sourfriere”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2013

My husband and I stayed in Rodney Bay during our trip to St. Lucia, but took a day trip and drove to Soufriere. The drive was terrifying -- through switchbacks in the rainforest -- but it was well worth it.

We stopped at the Diamond Botanical Gardens and hired a guide, Alexander The Great. He was fantastic, and I would recommend a guide, if you want a little something extra. He took our photos, showed us things we wouldn't have known to look for otherwise, and made us laugh!

The Gardens are absolutely beautiful. There is a path to walk around and many of the tropics plants and flowers are labeled on sign-posts. It's an ideal place to go for a stroll and get a taste of the local flora and fauna.

The Diamond Waterfall is stunning. Unfortunately, you can't get into it, but it's lovely to look at and take a photo. There IS a waterfall you can get into just up the road, which I absolutely recommend as well: Touraille Waterfall (it's only a couple dollars to get in, but getting into the waterfall itself is an absolute blast.)

Additionally, there are Mineral Springs you can get into to relax. We didn't have time for this, as we went to the gardens 30 minutes before they closed, but I think it would add an extra dose of relaxation for those who do have time.

Overall, the Botanical Gardens is a lovely stop in Soufriere, and I would recommend taking the time to check it out.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Alissa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Diamond Botanical Gardens also viewed

Soufriere, Soufriere Quarter
Soufriere, Soufriere Quarter
 
St. Lucia, Caribbean
Soufriere, Soufriere Quarter
 

Been to Diamond Botanical Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing