We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Inside knowledge.”

The Tree to Bar Experience at Boucan by Hotel Chocolat
Ranked #1 of 1 Food & Drink in Soufriere
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Unique to the Rabot Estate, the Tree to Bar Experience is an exclusive opportunity for guests to get up close and personal with everything to do with growing cocoa and culminates with creating their own chocolate! Guests start off with a walk through the estate groves, selecting ripe cocoa pods to cut from the tree, and ends with a hands-on trip to the Boucan kitchens where our chef will help guests make their own chocolate bar from beans that they have roasted themselves. The tour includes all the stages in between – from the seedling nursery and fermenting room,to the sun-drying station, grinding, mixing and lots of tasting!
Braintree, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Inside knowledge.”
Reviewed October 14, 2013 via mobile

A tour in two parts, both great fun.

Part one a walk through the Rabot estate, looking at the planting and rearing of the cocoa, a brief description of the various strains grown and also the co-operative planting of other trees to provide shade and produce fruit. Cuthbert was our guide and his enthusiasm for his task was evident throughout the morning, as was his enthusiasm for the way the estate treat the staff.

We stayed with Cuthbert for part two of the tour where we were joined by another group for the chocolate making, this was good fun and informative; the result was tasty even if it wasn't quite as smooth as that produce by the hotel.

As part of part one of the tour we both grafted shoots onto rootstock and we will go back to see our trees in production in the guest orchard, I recommend this tour to all keen gardeners or chocolate lovers.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrew E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

146 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    119
    19
    4
    2
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oxford
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Cocoa and Chocolate, what more do you need?”
Reviewed September 11, 2013

While staying in St Lucia I arranged a trip to The Hotel Chocolat to try their Tree to Bar Experience at the Boucan by Hotel Chocolat. Other than being poorly advertised (I heard about it through a guest at the hotel I was staying at but there were no flyers or adverts for it), the experience was fantastic. The tour guide was incredibly knowledgeable and full of life and clearly loves his job. We learned about ripe, unripe, ready to pick, how to pick cocoa beans; tasted the beans inside a ripe cocoa bean (the outer casing tastes like lychee if you're interested); put together our own cocoa tree (a mix of two strands to make a good strong one) and then made our own chocolate. The whole experience was well worth doing and while, now that I've done it, I wouldn't do it again, I do thoroughly recommend it.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank SKT005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colchester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 attraction reviews
“Bean to Bar, a fun experience”
Reviewed August 12, 2013

This was a fun experience for my daughter and I before we had lunch with our family at Boucan. There were about 12 people in our group, we all produced our own chocolate bar under the expert supervision of Cuthbert, lots of information to take in , we learnt a lot from his vast knowledge, and he was very happy to answer any questions. Thanks Cuthbert :-) . 'Bean to Bar' lasted just under an hour, it was a very enjoyable morning, although I did think a little pricey at US $55 per person.
Good Lunch afterwards at Boucan, such an amazing location.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Deb397S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great tour(s), not so great organisation”
Reviewed June 13, 2013

The tour is actually split into two, tree to bean and bean to bar. These can be taken separately or together. Cost at the time of the review was $25 USD and $55USD respectively, making the overall cost a little pricey to be honest. However if you are the sort of person that can afford to stay at this resort then it won't seem too much! Both parts of the tour were great, very informative and fun. Part of the first tour involves grafting your own cacao plant which is uniquely identified and will later be planted in their orchard, allowing you to come back in a year or two and harvest from your own tree!

The 2nd part of the tour follows immediately on from the first and involves you making your own bar of chocolate to take home. All in all a lot of fun. Thanks so much to our guide.

My only gripe was the organisation (nothing to do with the guide). We arrived on time but were kept waiting for half an hour for latecomers. After the tour we waited 20 minutes for our drink order to arrive then another half hour for the bill, only eventually arriving when we got up to walk out. A family who had arrived shortly after us were hastened out of the restaurant onto the tour only to find afterwards that they and us were then kept waiting whilst the latecomers put in their lunch orders. We weren't eating but this poor family who were then had to wait over an hour for a free table whilst all the people who couldnt be bothered to turn up on time but had been allowed to put in their lunch order were fed!
So, great tour, great guide, but cannot give it 5 stars until bouchan/rabot estate/hotel chocolat sortout the organisation.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank madforitdiver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Great, knowledgable, fun and I have a tree !!”
Reviewed June 4, 2013 via mobile

Loved this our group of six had great fun - !
Amazing tour and my own tree and chocolate bar ! Fab worth 5 stars !
Cuthbert is fabulous - from the welsh crew x

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank samdill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Tree to Bar Experience at Boucan by Hotel Chocolat also viewed

Gros Islet, Gros Islet Quarter
 
Gros Islet, Gros Islet Quarter
 

Been to The Tree to Bar Experience at Boucan by Hotel Chocolat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing