We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Peace of Heaven”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Still Beach House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Still Beach House
Ranked #5 of 8 Soufriere B&B and Inns
Winston Salem
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Peace of Heaven”
Reviewed March 12, 2014

This is a very special property. Located right on the public beach, with lotsa friendly locals. The owner/staff all helpful and friendly and very welcoming/inviting atmosphere. I must mention two very helpful staff members, Lucia, housekeeping and David, transportation. They were always eager to help and give advice on any concern and need, truly exceptional attitude and service from these two professionals.

Room Tip: the view from room 2 was exceptionally great., plus a darling kitty in the mornings.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anflyatjuno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

111 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    32
    36
    21
    11
    11
See reviews for
10
66
4
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dundas
1 review
Reviewed March 11, 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for 5 days. Our experience was most enjoyable. The room and facilities were very clean. The management and staff professional and friendly. The view is truly beautiful, we stayed in room #1. We saw the Piton, waterfront, beach and enjoyed the sound of the waves coming in. The lunch buffet was generous and tasty. Everyone was helpful. Short walk to town, everyone says a greeting. The continental breakfast was fresh fruit , homemade bread and coffee, delicious.
We thank everyone for their kindness and hospitality. Look forward to another stay.

Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Lorraine H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Maine
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed February 24, 2014

On an island where almost everything is ridiculously overpriced, the Still Beach House is a great value. You'll enjoy it if you educate yourself about the location and area. It's not the place for you if you're the kind of traveler that prefers all-inclusive resorts hidden away from the local culture.

We stayed in one of the suites. We didn't need the size the suite offers, it's just what was available to us last-minute due to our flights being canceled twice due to weather. The suite was huge with a bedroom, full bath, well appointed kitchen and a second bed in the living area. Everything was clean and in good shape. A portion of bathroom appeared to have been recently remodeled. The materials used in the remodel were top-notch, the quality of the workmanship poor at best. Be aware that the bathroom walls do not go all the way to the ceiling in the bedroom, so what happens in there is essentially happening in the bedroom. This may not be the case in all rooms but it was in ours.

While the Still does have wifi available, to get a decent signal you'll most likely need to go downstairs to the restaurant area.

The Still has a large patio restaurant area. We only ate breakfast there. The continental breakfasts are small with one (?!) small cup of coffee or fresh squeezed juice, some fresh local fruit and dry white toast. The fruit was delicious and changes daily even if the portions were small. We chose to make coffee in the room so the single-cup serving at breakfast wasn't a big deal.

The views from the balcony were incredible day and night. The hotel faces south towards Petit Piton. I enjoyed feeding the birds on our balcony, but be forewarned they will fly into your room and eat your bananas if you leave the sliding door open.

There's some good snorkeling right off the beach at the hotel.

Everywhere you go in Soufriere you'll encounter someone trying to sell you something. You'll also encounter people just flat out asking you for money. Some are begging, but most are not necessarily begging, more like a sense of entitlement. Children in bicycles will pedal up to you and say "give me a dollar, I can hear the coins jingling in your pocket." Or some of the local teens will climb the cliff wall next to the Still and jump off into the water. If they see you watching them jump as you enjoy the sun from The Still's patio/restaurant/deck area they will approach you and demand money since they feel they were entertaining you. The staff at The Still does not appear to discourage this behavior.

People around town are very friendly but don't be surprised if you quickly lose patience dealing with the constant barrage of guys wanting to provide water taxi service or guide you to the local attractions. They hustle to earn their money since the tourist season is relatively short. The beaches are public so many of these guys hover on the beach just below The Still or next door at Hummingbird. Some of them will venture up onto the patio area @ The Still, they are generally harmless but their persistence over the course of a few days can wear on your patience.

We have read reviews here on Trip Advisor about Thomas. We did meet him briefly but he wasn't around for most of our stay. Maybe if he had been there some of these other guys would have stayed away?

The primary purpose of our trip was scuba diving. If you're diving with Chester @ Action Adventure Divers, the Still is the perfect place to stay.

Room Tip: The suites are nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RufusInPortland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sleaford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 22, 2014

Clean, simple and peaceful. The most breathtaking view we could ever have wished for. This property is so close to the sea that you can hear the waves crashing on the shore, a truly soothing sound. Although there is dinner served in the restaurant we only ate there once as there is no atmosphere; we did however appreciate this as it was so quiet in the evenings and easy to get a good night's rest. Try Martha's place (on the road to Piton's waterfall)...food excellent and reasonably priced. Still beach is superb but anse chastanet is an even lovelier beach worth taking the hike for!!
What a great find this place is...couldn't believe my luck every time I sat on the balcony :) :)

Room Tip: Room 1 is next to stairs so there is a little noise as people pass (there is a window to the side as...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Janet E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Cruz, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed February 8, 2014

My wife and I spent our first week in St Lucia at Still Beach and we enjoyed it as a relatively inexpensive place to explore the Pitons/Soufriere area from. David the owner was quick to reply to our email reservation requests. While the rooms are not a four or five-star experience, they are clean and spacious and had really nice views of the Pitons across the Bay. We stayed in Room 4 which has a full kitchen. The only real alternative is spending two to ten times more per night to stay at the higher end places, which may only be worth it if you can afford to burn that kind of cash.

Still Beach is conveniently located on the edge of Soufriere, so it was pretty quiet for being so near town, but the beach still had a lively local flavor at times, with fisherman, visiting and local boats at anchor, and boys playing soccer and occasionally hawking trinkets and water taxi rides. One of the most appealing aspects of this Hotel is Thomas, a local guide and self-taught botanist who was always helpful in setting up a water taxi ride, or a guided trip to the mountains or the plantation owned by the hotel owner David. Thomas knew much about the local flora and such, and he knew most everyone in town. He was very kind and informative without being pushy. We highly recommend his services, which were usually very reasonable or even sometimes complimentary.

We used it as base to get to the local beaches and sights from. We walked to town and to Orlando's restaurant. The only less than glowing aspect of our stay was the noted absence of a dedicated Hotel Front Desk & Manager to assist with check-in, orientation, guest services and questions, etc. We got to meet the owner David in town, by chance, and he seemed to be a very nice guy, and we liked the laid-back style of the place. He even made sure we had breakfast food and bottle of rum in the room waiting for us! But we had several questions and minor requests about the restaurant hours, electrical converters, AC and such, but it was never quite clear which of nice employees working there were the appropriate ones to ask, so some questions and requests went unanswered for awhile. Thomas luckily was always there and eager to help us out. If he is not the Manger, he should be!

The food and drinks at the restaurant were great...we had both breakfast and dinner there twice...great views and nice laid-back service. If you want the pool and the higher end fixtures and honeymoon luxuries, this may not be your destination, but if you want the best value on the island, this is it!

Room Tip: Room 4 had a kitchen; all rooms appear to have good Piton views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PalmyraDan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed February 4, 2014

After reading multiple reviews and waffling back and forth, we decided to give Still Beach House a try. While there were many positive sides of our stay, ultimately, we were disappointed.

Initially owner, David, was incredibly and prompt and helpful by email, and was even willing to hold a reservation without a credit card on file. When we got there, we found our room simple but nice. Attention was paid to details like fresh cut flowers and baskets of fresh fruit replenished daily. And, as written in other reviews, the view could not be beat- a gorgeous, unobstructed view of Petite Piton met us on our private balcony.

Overall, the staff were very warm and helpful. Whenever we had a question or concern, they did their best to assist or accommodate. (An example, even though cocoa tea wasn't on the menu, they found the ingredients to make it for us to try. They also helped us with directions to local attractions.)

The final pro of Still Beach House (and Humming Bird Hotel) is location. Located directly off the main road and on the beach, it's the best of both worlds. While Soufriere beach is not amazing, the hotel is just off a small road that heads up hill and over to Anse Chastenate and Anses Mamim, GORGEOUS beaches. Sugar Beach is less than 2 miles South, in the opposite direction.

Major Con: The one part of this stay we did not expect, was the lack of interest on the part of the owner in what I'd describe as overall upkeep. Our largest concern during the stay was the lack of hot or even warm water. Staying four nights, we had 2 room temperature showers, and the rest were ice cold. (I volunteered in multiple developing countries and am used to bucket showers, solar showers, and electric showers. These were ice showers.) When we expressed our concern to staff, they were friendly enough but communicated they did not have control over the upkeep of the solar power heaters. The owner visited the hotel every afternoon, but did make any visible effort to fix the problem. The hotel was also without working internet for a third of our stay and the restaurant ran out of most dinner options on a regular basis. Because we never saw David before we squared away our bill, we emailed to explain the situation and asked that he reduce our bill. He conveniently never wrote back and charged us the full amount.

We camp, have lived in various other countries, and generally enjoy being adventurous and "roughing it," but when we spend over $100 per night on a hotel, we do not expect to have to "rough" something as basic as a warm shower. With the chance to redo our Soufriere experience, we would have stayed next door at the Hummingbird (which was lovely).

If you are looking for a generally decent place to stay that doesn't break your budget and you don't mind inconsistent basic amenities- this is probably "still" a good bet. If you'd like to return home from a day of adventuring with at least a luke warm shower, pay the extra $15 a night to stay at Humming Bird. :)

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Gl0bal_Adventurer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 4, 2014

This place was awesome because it was just a little beach house with five rooms along the beach with a beautiful view of the pitons. It has two rooms & three suites (has a kitchenette). We were in room five and were on the end, which probably had the most obstructed view of all of them but it was still a pretty good view.
We had seen mixed reviews on trip advisor but still decided to give it a shot. As my boss says, some people want five star service on a white castle budget. I think some people were expecting to go to this $150/night almost guesthouse and be at a five star resort. We really liked this place! It was very chill & low key & everyone there was so nice. Sorry for the delayed review!

Room Tip: Ask for room 3. It's a suite and probably has the best view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisa_7_S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Soufriere hotels
1.0 mi away
Jade Mountain Resort
Jade Mountain Resort
#1 of 11 in Soufriere
903 reviews
2.6 mi away
Fond Doux Plantation & Resort
1.1 mi away
Anse Chastanet
Anse Chastanet
#5 of 11 in Soufriere
1,130 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hummingbird Beach Resort
Hummingbird Beach Resort
#9 of 11 in Soufriere
263 reviews
2.1 mi away
Sugar Beach, A Viceroy Resort
0.9 mi away
Stonefield Estate Resort
Stonefield Estate Resort
#7 of 11 in Soufriere
706 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Still Beach House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Still Beach House

Property: Still Beach House
Address: Anse Chastanet Road, Soufriere, St. Lucia
Location: Caribbean > St. Lucia > Soufriere Quarter > Soufriere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Soufriere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Still Beach House 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Still Beach House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Still Beach House Hotel
Still Beach House St. Lucia/Soufriere

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing