We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gross Room / Great View”
Review of Still Beach House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Still Beach House
Ranked #4 of 8 Soufriere B&B and Inns
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Gross Room / Great View”
Reviewed January 20, 2014

After a beautiful holiday in the northern part of the island, we stayed here just for our last day/night to be closer to the airport and experience some of the South. I have stayed in hostels all over the world that I shared with 20 other perfect strangers that were more pleasant than this place. The only reason I am even giving 2 starts was because of the view. The room was dirty and came with a stray cat. We were also harassed by local teenagers banging on our window and door for about 30-45 minutes. We did NOT want a ride to the street party, but they were relentless and came back multiple times harassing us, calling us names, all 7 of them yelling and banging on our door and window. It was quite frankly scary because the security at this place did not exist. When we went to dinner that night I was scared to even leave the room for fear these kids were going to rob our room. The safe had no door so that was no help. We spent all of our time at the Hummingbird Hotel next door and next time I am in Soufriere I will spend the extra money to stay in a friendly, safe, and clean environment, such as the Hummingbird. I do not recommend this pathetic excuse for a "hotel" at all.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lindsey D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

111 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    32
    36
    21
    11
    11
See reviews for
10
66
4
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Marietta, Georgia
Level Contributor
160 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed November 12, 2013

We just returned from Soufriere and were unable to find accommodations for our college student who was arriving after us. We found this small beach house (5 rooms) for $150 a night (US). The shower ran continually and when we asked if it could be fixed we were told "no" the owner lives in Castries. It was a small efficiency room with a kitchenette and a small view of the water. The bedroom had an air conditioning unit that was somewhat effective. We were promised Room 3 in the middle when we booked but when we arrived we got room 5 at the end of the building. The only way to get there was through dark passages with a flashlight. I would not recommend this for anyone looking for a nice place to stay. It's ok if there is nothing else available but again, overpriced compared to the more upscale beach house Hummingbird right down the road.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank Shana J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Soufriere hotels

Kingston, Ont
Level Contributor
40 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed November 7, 2013

I booked the Still house via email, David Duboulay the owner was prompt and helpful. We were met on arrival, as we had rented a car, although a taxi would have been arranged for us if we so desired. The room was very clean and the king size bed very comfortable. Staff were professional an polite and the rooms cleaned regularly. We enjoyed our stay, as it was well located for diving, snorkeling, and all the sights. We had our suppers at the Hummingbird resort, we were not keen on going into town at night for meals as we were approached often for monetary donations when walking into town and did not feel comfortable with this at night. Soufriere struggles with poverty and rebuilding after hurricane Thomas, and it is very evident that tourism is a main stay in this community. All in all enjoyed our stay in the real part of St. Lucia.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Aqueouslover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Soufrière
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2013

We were not expected as they indicated that most of their bookings are done throught Expedia, therefore the service was not grand especially as it was low time. Room was good but had to request some of the basic amenities. Good location to view the sites but could only be done by day as the lighting around the guest house was inadequate at nights. Security was also inadequate as individuals were able to call at the rooms to ask for donations. (However must state thet the management did everything in their power to make our stay as comfortable as possible).

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
2 Thank Patrick S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 25, 2013

I'm sorry it's taken so long to write this review - we actually stayed here in spring 2012 so I'm having to fib about the date!

We selected this accommodation based on TA reviews, and we weren't disappointed. For us it was in an ideal location - we wanted to be in the south as we like to explore and most of the things to do seemed to be in the south. We also wanted to do a lot of diving, and the Still Beach has a dive school right next door (we were even able to collect something from our room during one dive interval). We had a fantastic view of Petit Piton from our balcony and we were able to go for a pre-breakfast swim every day. We also liked being able to walk into town - it wouldn't have suited us so well to have been at Anse Chastanet, Ladera or Jalousie, all of which really require a car or water taxi if you want to go anywhere as they are all at the end of stiff climbs.
As usual, we had also chosen a self-catering option - we have often been disappointed by our eating out experiences in the Caribbean - and this trip was sadly no exception - and on the other hand we like to experiment with local ingredients to do our own cooking.

When we first arrived our suite wasn't terribly well equipped for self-catering, but when I expressed our disappointment, this was rectified within a couple of days. David the owner said they were busy upgrading the equipment in all the rooms, so hopefully all rooms are now up to scratch.

One thing I really did enjoy was the availability/provision of fresh fruit. As the hotel is linked to the Still Plantation/Ruby Estate, fresh fruit such as bananas, plantains, papayas, guavas and even coconuts were provided free at the back of the breakfast room for guests to help themselves. This was an unexpected bonus that we didn't hesitate to take advantage of! We also asked for a tour of the Plantation during the week which was led by Thomas, who obviously enjoyed giving the tour as much as we enjoyed receiving it. We hope you'll tip well if you take this tour - apart from anything else you'll come back laden with more fruit!

The rooms themselves are well furnished and well cleaned daily by Miss Lucy, our favourite (and most hardworking I think) staff member. The bed was very comfortable. The only downside was that our bedroom was on the corner of a passageway and as the windows didn't shut properly we were sometimes disturbed by the noise of other guests returning to their rooms at night. Oh, and we had to keep on evicting an over-friendly kitten. But he was pretty cute so we didn't really mind too much.

Breakfast was included but was a bit variable depending I think on what mood the servers and cook were in that morning! For example on several occasions there was no fruit juice - which struck us as a bit odd when there was a table laden with fruit at the back of the room - a blender and less than five minutes would surely have solved the problem. Also on at least one morning they had no eggs for breakfast - how can you run out of eggs when you know you have a maximum of five rooms being occupied, and when the shops in town are 5 minutes' walk away anyway??

But all in all we were very happy with our choice of accommodation, and we wouldn't hesitate to stay there again if we went back to St Lucia.

Room Tip: I think all rooms have fantastic views of the Pitons!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hardy2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mullin,Tx. USA
1 review
Reviewed October 12, 2013

My husband and I just returned and we want to go back! It was a very relaxing and beautiful place to be. We do not prefer the resorts:we prefer to meet the local people and eat the local foods.Everyone here were so friendly and helpful.Thomas took us snorkeling with Joseph,our water taxi driver and we visitedB.Garden,Ruby Estate,and had a special local lunch.We swam every day. On Sunday we visited a very nice Baptist Church.They welcomed us with open arms. We walked to town several times to buy bottled water and snacks. We were the only hotel guests for two days so the staff were not always available to fix our meals, but we could eat in town or next door at the Hummingbird. I asked Pinky to make some banana pancakes one morning and she did. They were delicious. Lucia even made a special message on the bed with pink cattails and flowers to celebrate our special day. I was afraid the mosquitoes and sand flies would be bad,but they were no problem with our bug repellent bracelets at dusk. If you need great water power and luxurious accomodations don't come here. All we needed was AC,good bed,fridge, TV,and shower. The flowers,fruit basket,and wonderful people were a definite plus++.

Room Tip: Room #1 close to the steps
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Juliette R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 31, 2013

The Still beach house was kind enough to allow us to celebrate our quarterly staff awards dinner at their establishment.
On entrance one is captivated by this newly refurbished and lovely outdoor covered restaurant with views of the Pitons with the beachfront immediately to the front of their doorsteps. The tables were nicely set and laid with fresh flowers, around the restaurant one could see tons of pots filled with tropical plants and foliage..
We were warmly greeted by the staff and management. We enjoyed the sumptuous creole food which was served and to sum up all our staff including other diners loved the food, the ambiance and atmosphere.
The twinkling lights of some divers on a late night dive, hovered on the water and soon enough they too joined in the fun. Lovely, lovely night and dinner.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sylvia1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Soufriere hotels
1.0 mi away
Jade Mountain Resort
Jade Mountain Resort
#1 of 11 in Soufriere
929 reviews
2.6 mi away
Fond Doux Plantation & Resort
1.1 mi away
Anse Chastanet
Anse Chastanet
#6 of 11 in Soufriere
1,146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hummingbird Beach Resort
Hummingbird Beach Resort
#9 of 11 in Soufriere
266 reviews
2.1 mi away
Sugar Beach, A Viceroy Resort
0.9 mi away
Stonefield Estate Resort
Stonefield Estate Resort
#7 of 11 in Soufriere
716 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Still Beach House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Still Beach House

Property: Still Beach House
Address: Anse Chastanet Road, Soufriere, St. Lucia
Location: Caribbean > St. Lucia > Soufriere Quarter > Soufriere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Soufriere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Still Beach House 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Expedia, Hotels.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Still Beach House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Still Beach House Hotel
Still Beach House St. Lucia/Soufriere

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing