We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Can there be too much chocolate?”

Boucan Restaurant & Bar by Hotel Chocolat
Ranked #3 of 34 Restaurants in Soufriere
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Caribbean, European, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Special occasions, Business meetings, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Perched high up between the Piton mountains, The Boucan Restaraunt is open to both residents and non residents. Boucan is The Hotel Chocolat’s own restaurant, where guests can experience Cacao Cuisine. The word “Boucan” refers to the traditional West Indian name for a cocoa drying facility. The restaurant is built on the site of the Rabot Estate’s original Boucan. Boucan is also linked to “boucaneer” or “buccaneer,” the local pirates that would smoke and dry their food to preserve it for long trips at sea. The Boucan offers a strong connection with cacao and chocolate. For over 3,000 years, cacao has been used as a savory ingredient and for 500 as a sweet ingredient. The menu explores both, with the chefs taking their inspiration from the fresh cacao growing all around the estate, together with amazing local fish and seafood, salad leaves, vegetables and plentiful fruit. However the cuisine is far from cocoa heavy. The menu often makes use of cacao as a light, subtle spice or as an infusion. The desserts make full and imaginative use of the estate cacao, with each evening meal rounded off with the day’s new chocolate creation. Boucan’s breathtaking minimalist design includes a soaring roof inspired by the shape of the cacao tree, with its branches reaching to the sky, and shaded by the lush rainforest canopy. Its high platform is a centre stage for the Big Nature views all around.Dining at the Hotel Chocolat's Boucan Restaurant, whether it be breakfast, lunch, dinner or the fabulous sundowner cocktails, is an experience to be shared and cherished.We passionately believe we are certainly offering something very different at Boucan. The dress code is smart/casual and ladies a cocktail dress is never out of place!
Reviewed March 18, 2014

excellent service, very open and nice ambience, but you have to love chocolate and sometimes it is a little much (chocolate sauce on beef tenderloin was a little much but the white chocolate vinagrette on the citrus salad was actually quite good and of course the chocolate deserts were great. They should try to do somethin with the white liquid surrounding the cacao beans in the pod (my son has decided after several trips to the islands that this is the best flavor ever!!

Thank Ronald J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Judy B, Head of Guest Relations at Boucan Restaurant & Bar by Hotel Chocolat, responded to this reviewResponded April 10, 2014

You are right, if we focussed only on chocolate, it would be too much. However we use all parts of the cocoa in our menu - the pulp is used in our fish tartare and the savoury unsweetened 'nibs' in several of our main dishes. Sounds like you selected the most chocolate-y ones on our menu. Do come back and try some of the others and also try our Cocoa Pulp Martini - using the fresh pulp your son loves.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,006)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

640 - 644 of 1,006 reviews

Reviewed March 18, 2014

Having made a dinner reservation for a specific time it appears that everyone is held in a holding pattern until other diners have finished. I'm not a fan of "table turning" but when 8pm becomes 9pm before a table is free this is a joke. Offering to take your order in the bar area is totally acceptable but given the delay, trying to offer the starters in the bar to relieve pressure is unacceptable.
Once seated, the food is of a high standard and integrates the novelty of chocolate in its various forms into most dishes....with considerable success.
The staff just don't have the mentoring and tuition to make this a great dining venue. There needs to be a concerted effort by management to improve the fluidity, timing and communication betwen front of house and the kitchen

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Bob M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Judy B, Head of Guest Relations at Boucan Restaurant & Bar by Hotel Chocolat, responded to this reviewResponded April 10, 2014

Appreciate your constructive comments and will endeavour to work on these points. Glad you enjoyed the food so much and hope you will give us another try.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2014

When my wife suggested this, I was a little leery as I am basic eater. But was rewarded and quite pleased with a great dining experience. Boucan hit the mark 3 ways. First the presentation was fabulous; servings was a work of art. Second the tastes really worked; chocolate salad chocolate steak; who would have thought? Finally, décor. The open air, simple quiet atmosphere really works. A nice tough of groovy music helped created a great dining experience.

Thank garyj622
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Judy B, Head of Guest Relations at Boucan Restaurant & Bar by Hotel Chocolat, responded to this reviewResponded April 10, 2014

We took a lot of creative risks to bring Boucan to fruition and deeply appreciate your kind words. We certainly do have something unique and original and it has all been worth it!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2014

After a wonderful Tree to Bar tour with a fine and passionate staff, lunch at Boucan, although eventually tasty, fell severely short in the service department. Yes, Ok, "Island Time", we're very familiar with it. But at an international resort of this sort and at these prices...unacceptable. Get someone in there to teach the kitchen how to get food out in a timely manner. 90 minutes from ordering to service, quite excessive.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank JPKACH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Judy B, Head of Guest Relations at Boucan Restaurant & Bar by Hotel Chocolat, responded to this reviewResponded April 10, 2014

We all agree and have made some adjustments to rectify this. Glad the quality was good at least.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2014

We were staying at LaDera resort, which is across the street, so this was a great break to the same food we had every day at Ladera's restaurant. It's interesting how they infuse chocolate into everything... definitely recommend doing the chocolate flight for dessert, it's a history lesson you can eat. :)

Thank Alison W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Judy B, Head of Guests Relations at Boucan Restaurant & Bar by Hotel Chocolat, responded to this reviewResponded April 10, 2014

Thanks, guests from our neighbour, Ladera, are always welcome.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Boucan Restaurant & Bar by Hotel Chocolat also viewed

Soufriere, Soufriere Quarter
 
Soufriere, Soufriere Quarter
Gros Islet, Gros Islet Quarter
 
Soufriere, Soufriere Quarter
Soufriere, Soufriere Quarter
 

Been to Boucan Restaurant & Bar by Hotel Chocolat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing