We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unique and well done”

Boucan Restaurant & Bar by Hotel Chocolat
Ranked #2 of 34 Restaurants in Soufriere
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Caribbean, European, International, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Local cuisine, Large groups, Romantic, Bar scene, Scenic view, Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Brunch, Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: Perched high up between the Piton mountains, The Boucan Restaraunt is open to both residents and non residents. Boucan is The Hotel Chocolat’s own restaurant, where guests can experience Cacao Cuisine. The word “Boucan” refers to the traditional West Indian name for a cocoa drying facility. The restaurant is built on the site of the Rabot Estate’s original Boucan. Boucan is also linked to “boucaneer” or “buccaneer,” the local pirates that would smoke and dry their food to preserve it for long trips at sea. The Boucan offers a strong connection with cacao and chocolate. For over 3,000 years, cacao has been used as a savory ingredient and for 500 as a sweet ingredient. The menu explores both, with the chefs taking their inspiration from the fresh cacao growing all around the estate, together with amazing local fish and seafood, salad leaves, vegetables and plentiful fruit. However the cuisine is far from cocoa heavy. The menu often makes use of cacao as a light, subtle spice or as an infusion. The desserts make full and imaginative use of the estate cacao, with each evening meal rounded off with the day’s new chocolate creation. Boucan’s breathtaking minimalist design includes a soaring roof inspired by the shape of the cacao tree, with its branches reaching to the sky, and shaded by the lush rainforest canopy. Its high platform is a centre stage for the Big Nature views all around.Dining at the Hotel Chocolat's Boucan Restaurant, whether it be breakfast, lunch, dinner or the fabulous sundowner cocktails, is an experience to be shared and cherished.We passionately believe we are certainly offering something very different at Boucan. The dress code is smart/casual and ladies a cocktail dress is never out of place!
Florida
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Unique and well done”
Reviewed October 3, 2013

Chocolate in every meal sounded good to my chocoholic wife so we gave it a shot. The place was wonderful. Clean, upscale, open air dining room with a beautiful view of the Pitons. The food was inventive and fun to experience. We loved it and will be back.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank KJneel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Judy B, Head of Guest Relations at Boucan Restaurant & Bar by Hotel Chocolat, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
Thanks - very happy with your 'inventive and fun' description, thanks!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

946 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    578
    224
    94
    34
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Romford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
68 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Superb food.”
Reviewed September 24, 2013

This was a great experience for both me and my wife she loves the hotel chocolates. And enjoyed the chocolat infused dishes that were served here.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank thrombo1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Judy B, Head of Guest Relations at Boucan Restaurant & Bar by Hotel Chocolat, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
Glad you enjoyed and thanks for your support.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Chocolate in every dish”
Reviewed September 11, 2013

The food was absolutely delicious and with chocolate in EVERY dish (although very subtle), what's not to love! Would eat here again

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank SKT005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Judy B, Head of Guest Relations at Boucan Restaurant & Bar by Hotel Chocolat, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
Thanks - It's more cocoa in every dish and with the pulp, the nibs, the cocoa butter we have a lot to work with before we even start on the chocolate.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Fl
Level Contributor
106 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Absolutely stunning!”
Reviewed September 3, 2013

Boucan provided the best meal we had during a recent trip to St Lucia. The place is just fantastic. The setting is stunning: On top of a hill, well illuminated, simple but classic, elegant decour. The staff is well trained, very attentive and go out of their way to answer your questions and make you feel welcome.
But, the star of this restaurant is the food. All the dishes we had were outstanding. I had the mushroom risotto and the duck dish. My partner had a gazpacho and a vegetarian trio inspired by the food of Trinidad. All good choices. But, probably, there were no bad choices in their menu. The Story of Chocolate, a sample dish with many different preparations of chocolate was a very good way of ending our meal.
My only complaint about Boucan? Extremely limited selection of wines by the glass.
I will make sure to go back to Boucan on my next trip to St Lucia.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TampaDocFoodie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Judy B, Head of Guest Relations at Boucan Restaurant & Bar by Hotel Chocolat, responded to this review, September 8, 2013
Thanks – ‘The Story of Chocolate’ is one of our signature desserts – starting with the clean cacao pulp sorbet through to the toasty/malty cacao nib ice cream, ending with our deep single estate chocolate ice cream in 3 delicious taste steps.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Round Lake
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“If you love chocolate! :)”
Reviewed September 3, 2013 via mobile

Came to this restaurant for my brothers birthday we highly recommend it! Excellent ...it is outside so if its humid dress light! Great service also!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank grassdagostino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Judy B, Head of Guest Realations at Boucan Restaurant & Bar by Hotel Chocolat, responded to this review, September 8, 2013
Thank you. Indeed, we are open on three sides with a high roof overhead to let the drama of the Big Nature view around us to take centre stage.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Boucan Restaurant & Bar by Hotel Chocolat also viewed

Soufriere, Soufriere Quarter
Marigot Bay, Castries Quarter
 
Soufriere, Soufriere Quarter
 

Been to Boucan Restaurant & Bar by Hotel Chocolat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing