We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Chocolate Feast” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Boucan Restaurant & Bar by Hotel Chocolat

Boucan Restaurant & Bar by Hotel Chocolat
Ranked #3 of 33 Restaurants in Soufriere
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Caribbean, European, International, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Scenic view, Bar scene, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Breakfast, Brunch, Lunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: Perched high up between the Piton mountains, The Boucan Restaraunt is open to both residents and non residents. Boucan is The Hotel Chocolat’s own restaurant, where guests can experience Cacao Cuisine. The word “Boucan” refers to the traditional West Indian name for a cocoa drying facility. The restaurant is built on the site of the Rabot Estate’s original Boucan. Boucan is also linked to “boucaneer” or “buccaneer,” the local pirates that would smoke and dry their food to preserve it for long trips at sea. The Boucan offers a strong connection with cacao and chocolate. For over 3,000 years, cacao has been used as a savory ingredient and for 500 as a sweet ingredient. The menu explores both, with the chefs taking their inspiration from the fresh cacao growing all around the estate, together with amazing local fish and seafood, salad leaves, vegetables and plentiful fruit. However the cuisine is far from cocoa heavy. The menu often makes use of cacao as a light, subtle spice or as an infusion. The desserts make full and imaginative use of the estate cacao, with each evening meal rounded off with the day’s new chocolate creation. Boucan’s breathtaking minimalist design includes a soaring roof inspired by the shape of the cacao tree, with its branches reaching to the sky, and shaded by the lush rainforest canopy. Its high platform is a centre stage for the Big Nature views all around.Dining at the Hotel Chocolat's Boucan Restaurant, whether it be breakfast, lunch, dinner or the fabulous sundowner cocktails, is an experience to be shared and cherished.We passionately believe we are certainly offering something very different at Boucan. The dress code is smart/casual and ladies a cocktail dress is never out of place!
Orange County CA
Level Contributor
55 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“A Chocolate Feast”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2013

Upon arrival to Hotel Chocolat we started with the “Tree-To-Bar” Experience which lead us through the estate groves to pick the perfect cocoa pod to create our very own chocolate bar. The tour includes all the stages of creating chocolate from visiting the seedling nursery, fermenting room and sun-drying station to grinding, mixing and lots of tasting! We had an amazing time learning how to pick cacao and transform it into our own chocolate bars. I gained a new found appreciation for chocolate.

Midway through the tour, we grafted a tree and put our names on a tag attached. When we come back to St. Lucia, we can see our tree all grown and can even get a chocolate bar when it begins producing cacao. The second half of the tour is when you get to make your own chocolate bar. We started with a mortar and pestle that had been heated in an oven and began grinding the cacao beans while learning the art of chocolate making. We added in cocoa butter to smooth the texture of our chocolate and sugar to help with the bitterness of the straight cacao and after some serious hard work, we had chocolate!

After the tour was over we made our way over to Boucan for dinner. The restaurant incorporates cocoa into most of the menu items and the entire dining experience, from putting cocoa grinders next to salt and pepper shakers to creating menu items like Lightly Curried Coconut & Cacao Chicken, Tomato, Chilli & Cacao Ravioli. For our meal we went with the Crisp Cacao Goat’s Cheese and Aberdeen Angus Prime Beef with Dark Chocolate Port Wine Sauce. We also had to try the Cacoa Bellini and the Cacao Martini, both were fabulous. Boucan’s union of food and agricultural development, specifically its devotion to all things cocoa, is part of a budding movement across the Caribbean.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank topaz309
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Judy B, Head of Guest Relations at Boucan Restaurant & Bar by Hotel Chocolat, responded to this review, August 19, 2013
Really appreciated your comment: ‘Boucan’s union of food and agricultural development, particularly its devotion to all things cocoa..’. For us it is all about joining together the two worlds of sophisticated consumer and cocoa agriculture with sustainable benefits for both sides.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

935 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    570
    222
    93
    34
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Delicious!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2013

My husband and I ate here twice during our stay in St. Lucia. The food was... well, fantastic!

The theme of the menu put me off at first and I thought it might be a little hokey, "chocolate in every course?" but I didn't realize how subtle it was. I had pork tenderloin with cacao and mint rub and mashed potatoes. Holy... it was to die for. We tried to get reservations multiple times throughout the week but every time it was full (mostly on our part, we would think about going elsewhere then try Chocolat as a last ditch effort... yeah, didn't work.)

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Kathleep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Judy B, Head Of Guest Relations at Boucan Restaurant & Bar by Hotel Chocolat, responded to this review, August 19, 2013
It’s true that some diners approach our ‘cacao cuisine’ menu with a feeling of trepidation but, as you say, it’s all very subtle! The pork tenderloin with cacao and mint rub is very popular.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
31 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Creative and tasty spin on dinner”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2013

After three days in St. Lucia, dinner at Boucan was the best meal yet. As soon as you walk in you're greeted with an amazing, panoramic view of the Petit Piton. The dining space has an open layout and is very sophisticated. They served an amuse bouche of coconut curry soup as well as bread with three different chocolate infused dipping sauces: pesto, butter and what was basically a chocolate ganache- all so delicious! For dinner, I had the duck confit with orange glaze and white chocolate garlic mashed potatoes. I know it sounds a bit strange but the flavors blended so well together! The duck was succulent and extremely flavorful. For dessert, you must go with the molten lava cake- dark and decadent. The salted caramel gelatin is a bit weird. All in all a great success. Attentive service and a creative take on dining.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Lauren R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Judy B, Head of Guest Relations at Boucan Restaurant & Bar by Hotel Chocolat, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
Thank you, we are a little obsessed about cacao as a savoury ingredient! The view is certainly panoramic, you are right.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parkland, Florida, United States
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Delicious!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2013

Loved the culinary concept of cacao infused in nearly every course. Everything was fresh and local. Staff was friendly and attentive. Open for breakfast, lunch and dinner. If you are staying at the hotel, I strongly suggest you try each meal there at least once.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Nini6485
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Judy B, Head of Guest Relations at Boucan Restaurant & Bar by Hotel Chocolat, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
It's not just the ingredients which are local, our chef team is 100% local and very talented. Thanks for the review and please do come and dine with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
League City, Texas
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“BBQ BLISS”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2013

My husband and I visited Boucan during our honeymoon from a recommendation from our taxi driver (Peter D - BEST DRIVER ON THE ISLAND!!!!) We actually went on their BBQ buffet night and were presently surprised! We loved all of the BBQ choices and the white chocolate salad dressing was amazing!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank kelleymae09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Judy B, Head of Guest Relations at Boucan Restaurant & Bar by Hotel Chocolat, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
One evening each week we put on our Barbecue spectacular, with a wide range of Boucan specialities to try - glad you enjoyed.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Boucan Restaurant & Bar by Hotel Chocolat also viewed

Soufriere, Soufriere Quarter
Marigot Bay, Castries Quarter
 
Soufriere, Soufriere Quarter
 

Been to Boucan Restaurant & Bar by Hotel Chocolat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing