We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Beautiful Resort with Excellent Service” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Boucan Restaurant & Bar by Hotel Chocolat

Boucan Restaurant & Bar by Hotel Chocolat
Ranked #3 of 33 Restaurants in Soufriere
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Caribbean, European, International, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Romantic, Scenic view, Bar scene, Families with children
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: Perched high up between the Piton mountains, The Boucan Restaraunt is open to both residents and non residents. Boucan is The Hotel Chocolat’s own restaurant, where guests can experience Cacao Cuisine. The word “Boucan” refers to the traditional West Indian name for a cocoa drying facility. The restaurant is built on the site of the Rabot Estate’s original Boucan. Boucan is also linked to “boucaneer” or “buccaneer,” the local pirates that would smoke and dry their food to preserve it for long trips at sea. The Boucan offers a strong connection with cacao and chocolate. For over 3,000 years, cacao has been used as a savory ingredient and for 500 as a sweet ingredient. The menu explores both, with the chefs taking their inspiration from the fresh cacao growing all around the estate, together with amazing local fish and seafood, salad leaves, vegetables and plentiful fruit. However the cuisine is far from cocoa heavy. The menu often makes use of cacao as a light, subtle spice or as an infusion. The desserts make full and imaginative use of the estate cacao, with each evening meal rounded off with the day’s new chocolate creation. Boucan’s breathtaking minimalist design includes a soaring roof inspired by the shape of the cacao tree, with its branches reaching to the sky, and shaded by the lush rainforest canopy. Its high platform is a centre stage for the Big Nature views all around.Dining at the Hotel Chocolat's Boucan Restaurant, whether it be breakfast, lunch, dinner or the fabulous sundowner cocktails, is an experience to be shared and cherished.We passionately believe we are certainly offering something very different at Boucan. The dress code is smart/casual and ladies a cocktail dress is never out of place!
Brooklyn, New York
1 review
“A Beautiful Resort with Excellent Service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 2, 2012

My sister had her wedding here and the hotel accommodated 30 people for 3 days brilliantly.

Every person on staff was incredibly kind (even though the party got out of hand at times), professional, and helpful. Guest relations was always there to make sure everything was being handled perfectly- and it was! When we partied until 2am in the pool there was always at least 2 people there to make sure we stayed out of trouble. Every detail of our stay at the hotel and even in St. Lucia was thought out so all went super smooth.

Eating healthy was so delicious and easy! Amazing fruit platter and smoothie every morning and they have a terrific oatmeal porridge.

Hotel itself was incredible. Amazing view of the Piton, big rooms, comfortable beds, a lot of complimentary snacks. Really, I wish I were still there right now.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank ChristinaH801
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Judy B, Head of Guest Relations at Boucan Restaurant & Bar by Hotel Chocolat, responded to this review, November 5, 2012
We loved having you all to stay and so glad you enjoyed.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

935 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    570
    222
    93
    34
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
“Glad we made the walk!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2012

Stayed down the street at Ladera and was so glad we made the short walk to Boucan. Loved the modern, open air design, the sofa styled seating and the live jazz music. My wife and I went there with friends and we all shared...the local seafoods and steak fillets were perfect. Nice wine menu too!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank MariettaMax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Judy B, Head of Guest Relations at Boucan Restaurant & Bar by Hotel Chocolat, responded to this review, November 5, 2012
Thanks for your kind compliments about our ambience and cuisine. We always feel we have a responsibility to do full justice to the dramatic natural setting we are located within!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level Contributor
37 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Hotel Chocolate - a restaurant hit”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2012

A very long overdue review for an excellent meal. As Chocolate Club members staying AI at Ladera in August we couldn't resist visiting the Rabot Estate for a meal. The evening exceeded our expectations.

We started in the bar sitting on the squidgy seats with a James Bond martini and some nut nibbles then quickly moved to a table with a fantastic views of the pitons. To start I had an excellent ristotto with cocoa nibs - delish. We both had the steak as the main and it was cooked to perfection as ordered. One of the real delights of the meal was the red wine which was specifically chosen to complement the chocolate elements of the meal. I am hoping it is the same that is offered by the Chocolate Club as I want to buy some. If it is then it was offered at a very good price at the Boucan - I think a generous glass cost about $10. The puds were as exellent as the rest of the meal. Service was pleasant, friendly and efficient and rest rooms extremely stylish with Ren products.

As we left to pay our very reasonable bill (which included a 5% club discount) we briefly met the charming owner of Chocolate Club.

I was reminded to post this review because of all the coverage of Skyfall and somewhere in the back of my mind it connected with the wonderful atmosphere in the restaurant (possibly because of the martini!). I can certainly imagine James hanging out somewhere like Boucan between assignments. As you can see, I am sold on the place and will return when next lucky enough to visit St Lucia.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank geebLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Judy B, Head of Customer Relations at Boucan Restaurant & Bar by Hotel Chocolat, responded to this review, November 5, 2012
Love the James Bond link! With our British connection we take a special pride in making the best 'shaken not stirred' James Bond martini on the island, using super premium London Dry Gin no.3 with juniper flavours. The red wine you mention is our own bottled 'Chateau Chocolat' the result of our collaboration with a boutique winery in the Alentejo of Portugal, and the best match for our cacao cuisine dishes. It's available online and through our 65 boutiques in Great Britain too.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Went there twice because it was so good”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2012

Everything is great about the restaurant.. the view, the food, the drinks and service. You can't go wrong here. It was so great we went back the next night. The mushroom risotto is amazing. The magnificent Piton is a must have dessert. Only complaint is that they don't always have everything that's on their menu.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Stebbie77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Judy B, Head of Guest Relations at Boucan Restaurant & Bar by Hotel Chocolat, responded to this review, November 5, 2012
Thank you! The Magnificent Piton is our most original dessert creation and pays homage to the iconic form of the Gros Piton in dramatic soft meringue, surrounded by a sea of chocolate soup with bitter caramel drizzles and toasted flaked almonds.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Engalnd
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Nice restuarnt”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2012

The service at Boucan is great, they have clearly taken time and effort to train their lovely staff very well.

Their food is consistently of high quality, although the portions are tiny for the price! The house Portuguese red wine was recommended by our waitress and it was wonderful. The building, furniture and facilities are all very good and of a high standard..

As an evening venue in the Soufriere area it makes for a great night out and I would recommend it.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank banywhere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Judy B, Head of Customer Relations at Boucan Restaurant & Bar by Hotel Chocolat, responded to this review, October 22, 2012
Glad you enjoyed. Our Portugese vintage red is specially bottled for us under our label 'Chateau Chocolate' by a boutique winery, specially to be the best partner to our Cocoa Cuisine menu.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Boucan Restaurant & Bar by Hotel Chocolat also viewed

Soufriere, Soufriere Quarter
Marigot Bay, Castries Quarter
 
Soufriere, Soufriere Quarter
 

Been to Boucan Restaurant & Bar by Hotel Chocolat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing