We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Boucan Restaurant & Bar by Hotel Chocolat
Ranked #4 of 34 Restaurants in Soufriere
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Caribbean, European, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Large groups, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Perched high up between the Piton mountains, The Boucan Restaraunt is open to both residents and non residents. Boucan is The Hotel Chocolat’s own restaurant, where guests can experience Cacao Cuisine. The word “Boucan” refers to the traditional West Indian name for a cocoa drying facility. The restaurant is built on the site of the Rabot Estate’s original Boucan. Boucan is also linked to “boucaneer” or “buccaneer,” the local pirates that would smoke and dry their food to preserve it for long trips at sea. The Boucan offers a strong connection with cacao and chocolate. For over 3,000 years, cacao has been used as a savory ingredient and for 500 as a sweet ingredient. The menu explores both, with the chefs taking their inspiration from the fresh cacao growing all around the estate, together with amazing local fish and seafood, salad leaves, vegetables and plentiful fruit. However the cuisine is far from cocoa heavy. The menu often makes use of cacao as a light, subtle spice or as an infusion. The desserts make full and imaginative use of the estate cacao, with each evening meal rounded off with the day’s new chocolate creation. Boucan’s breathtaking minimalist design includes a soaring roof inspired by the shape of the cacao tree, with its branches reaching to the sky, and shaded by the lush rainforest canopy. Its high platform is a centre stage for the Big Nature views all around.Dining at the Hotel Chocolat's Boucan Restaurant, whether it be breakfast, lunch, dinner or the fabulous sundowner cocktails, is an experience to be shared and cherished.We passionately believe we are certainly offering something very different at Boucan. The dress code is smart/casual and ladies a cocktail dress is never out of place!
Coatesville, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Superb!”
Reviewed May 4, 2011

We dined at Boucan while on our honeymoon in St. Lucia in April. Food was absolutely delicious and the presentation was amazing-like artwork- you almost felt bad eating it!

I had the King fish and my husband had the Ribeye! We were offered complimentary snack (plantain chips and nuts ) as well as complimentary beverage.

The restaurant was open air and had great views of the Pitons.

The prices were reasonable. The service was a little slow but everything was worth the wait!

  • Visited April 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Dbecksterb73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

972 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    592
    229
    97
    37
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Louisville, Kentucky
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A true culinary experience.....with chocolate no less.”
Reviewed April 25, 2011

We arrived at our villa above the restaurant in Rabot Estate on Sunday afternoon and had made reservations for Monday evening. Met by a very helpful greeter, we were taken to the lounge for a complimentary cocktail. After we had enjoyed the ambiance of this newly opened establishment we were seated in the adjacent dining area. I think we counted around 36 - 40 seats available in the dining area which allowed for plenty of room for moving guests and food without bumping into anyone. Not something you will find in most restaurants in the states. The menu choices available were ample and varied allowing for a true dining experience. The citrus salad was to die for and set the stage for the rest of dinner. My wife had the steak and I chose the dorado with creamed leeks. Both were superb. Cooked just right and the use of chocolate in every dish set the tastes apart wonderfully. Dessert was equally enjoyable. The choice of wines available is more than adequate with very knowledgeable servers available should you need assistance pairing wine with your meal. We enjoyed the experience so much that we came back for another dinner later in the week. We made reservations for 9pm and the staff were as vibrant and animated as they had been for the earlier reservation. Unlike other establishments on the island there is no "service" charged here. A tip is not expected which generally causes me to be more inclined. I would have to say that Boucan is now on my must do while in St Lucia list. I spoke with the chef and he told me that the staff, both kitchen and front, were hand picked. I have to say the made some good choices. Parking is convenient and the route to the restaurant is adequately lit even with the continuation of the construction on the hotel / villa expansion.

  • Visited April 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank IslandBob79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Chocolate delights at Boucan”
Reviewed April 8, 2011

Only very recently opened (the grounds were still a bit of a building site, and the path towards the restaurant not too well lit) the Boucan restaurant is an absolute must-do when you're on st Lucia.
Part of the Hotel Chocolat chain with shops across London, the restaurant is on the estate of the Hotel Chocolat which only has a few rooms available but more to come later in the year, and literally walking distance across the road to the Ladera estate (with the famous Dasheene restaurant).

The restaurant itself is finished and very stylish and modern, black, slate, teak and chrome and could well compete with some of the better restaurants in London. Love the hole in the table for the ice bucket. The bar/lounge area was a pleasant drinks area while we were waiting for our table. Get there early (6:30) to watch the sunset with the Pitons silhouetted against the sky. There is an excellent drinks menu - lots of rum and champagne drinks on there, worth trying all.

It was a quiet night at the restaurant when we visited, which gave us the time to observe the (open) kitchen, and staff being in no rush to get tables turned.
Each dish has a creative hint of chocolate added, some with amazing effect, none overpowering though and some very subtle indeed. Before we even got started, there was bread with amazing balsamic and chocolate vinegar (available in the London shops), and cocao butter with chocolate that we could not help asking for a second helping of.
We had two starters (as it was too difficult to choose) hence we enjoyed a wonderful light cocao gazpacho as well as a delicious tuna dish even before the main entrees of kingfish and dorado, the latter with a lovely red wine and chocolate sauce. The dessert that won was definitely the 'floating pitons', a meringue in chocolate creme anglaise sauce. We literally rolled back to our hotel across the road; we will be back here!

  • Visited April 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank AmsterdamCheeseR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
63 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Keeping working, it will soon be perfect”
Reviewed March 29, 2011

The concept is interesting, to have a little bit of chocolate in every dish, and the result is excellent. The only quibble we had was with the service, not that it was bad, just that you could tell the servers were nervous and inexperienced, but that should improve with time. You want your guests to relax, therefore the servers need to also appear to be relaxed.
We loved the atmosphere and space. A nice alternative to Ladera/Dasheen, which is located directly across the road.

  • Visited March 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank vacationhoundToronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Judybuckley2011, Manager at Boucan Restaurant & Bar by Hotel Chocolat, responded to this review, March 30, 2011
Thanks for your comments, our waiting staff are newly recruited/trained, so they might appear a little nervous. We have selected our team on attitude and will rather than past waiting experience. Thanks for taking the time to write the review, we appreciate your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwell, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Excellent Food in a Spectacular Setting”
Reviewed March 26, 2011

If you are a chocolat lover, Boucan is a restaurant for you. The chefs at Boucan have creatively and subtly added chocolat to every item on the menu. Even if you are not a chocolat lover, I would highly recommend Boucan as the chocolat does not overpower the food. While we were in St. Lucia, my wife and I dined at Boucan twice. We thoroughly enjoy our meal each time. The menu is however very limited. If we have the chance to come back to St. Lucia we will definitely eat here again.

  • Visited March 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank msl74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Boucan Restaurant & Bar by Hotel Chocolat also viewed

Soufriere, Soufriere Quarter
Soufriere, Soufriere Quarter
 
Soufriere, Soufriere Quarter
 
Soufriere, Soufriere Quarter
Soufriere, Soufriere Quarter
 

Been to Boucan Restaurant & Bar by Hotel Chocolat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing