We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Food in a Spectacular Setting”

Boucan Restaurant & Bar by Hotel Chocolat
Ranked #3 of 34 Restaurants in Soufriere
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Caribbean, European, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Business meetings, Special occasions, Large groups
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Perched high up between the Piton mountains, The Boucan Restaraunt is open to both residents and non residents. Boucan is The Hotel Chocolat’s own restaurant, where guests can experience Cacao Cuisine. The word “Boucan” refers to the traditional West Indian name for a cocoa drying facility. The restaurant is built on the site of the Rabot Estate’s original Boucan. Boucan is also linked to “boucaneer” or “buccaneer,” the local pirates that would smoke and dry their food to preserve it for long trips at sea. The Boucan offers a strong connection with cacao and chocolate. For over 3,000 years, cacao has been used as a savory ingredient and for 500 as a sweet ingredient. The menu explores both, with the chefs taking their inspiration from the fresh cacao growing all around the estate, together with amazing local fish and seafood, salad leaves, vegetables and plentiful fruit. However the cuisine is far from cocoa heavy. The menu often makes use of cacao as a light, subtle spice or as an infusion. The desserts make full and imaginative use of the estate cacao, with each evening meal rounded off with the day’s new chocolate creation. Boucan’s breathtaking minimalist design includes a soaring roof inspired by the shape of the cacao tree, with its branches reaching to the sky, and shaded by the lush rainforest canopy. Its high platform is a centre stage for the Big Nature views all around.Dining at the Hotel Chocolat's Boucan Restaurant, whether it be breakfast, lunch, dinner or the fabulous sundowner cocktails, is an experience to be shared and cherished.We passionately believe we are certainly offering something very different at Boucan. The dress code is smart/casual and ladies a cocktail dress is never out of place!
Norwell, Massachusetts
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Excellent Food in a Spectacular Setting”
Reviewed March 26, 2011

If you are a chocolat lover, Boucan is a restaurant for you. The chefs at Boucan have creatively and subtly added chocolat to every item on the menu. Even if you are not a chocolat lover, I would highly recommend Boucan as the chocolat does not overpower the food. While we were in St. Lucia, my wife and I dined at Boucan twice. We thoroughly enjoy our meal each time. The menu is however very limited. If we have the chance to come back to St. Lucia we will definitely eat here again.

  • Visited March 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank msl74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

982 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    599
    231
    97
    38
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Timmins
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Delightful Dining”
Reviewed March 22, 2011

We just came back from a week at Les Fleurs des Pitons Villa whcih is situated across the road from Boucan. We decided to give the restaurant a try our first night in St Lucia since we didn't have dinner food and a car. We were not aware this restaurant existed so it was a pleasant surprise. We were warmly greeted and given a free cocktail, nuts and plantain to munch on. We were treated to a multi course meal that contained chocolate of some form in every dish. The presentation was very creative and artistic and the flavours matched, We enjoyed the meal so much that we were determined to go back at least once more. As it turned out we enjoyed dinner there again our last night and still not having enough asked if we could come to the restaurant for breakfast even though we were not staying there. Breakfast was a lovely presentation of chocolate granola, fresh tropical fruit, homemade bread and toppings and the option for bacon and eggs. I had chocolate tea which was more coffee like and delicious. My husband, friends and myself highly recomment this restaurant with it's excellent service, wonderful ambiance and delectable food.

  • Visited March 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank smileyTimmins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfield CT
Level 6 Contributor
113 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 178 helpful votes
“Nice option if you're staying at Ladera”
Reviewed March 17, 2011

We were staying at Ladera and decided to walk over to Boucan for dinner one night.
It is obvious the owner, chef and staff takes a lot of pride and care in the restaurant, and they are trying to do something different, so that is to be applauded.
They welcomed us with a free"opening" cocktail, and sat us at the bar before they sat us down at the table. I thought it was nice, but my husband wanted to eat and didn't like the fact we corralled into sitting at the bar area, even though said we said we would rather just sit down at the table. Also, I ordered some wine by the glass, they had a nice selection, but the size of the glass of wine was puny! I eat all over the world and have no problem paying $$ for a good glass of wine, but this was a bit silly. I brought it up with the waitress and nothing was done about it.
I liked the open air kitchen, the chef was on it, and was watching over everything with an eagle eye.
I had the crab salad, very nice and the dorado with creamed leeks, which I thought was really good.
Keep up the good work.

  • Visited March 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Sinclair36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janeka, Public Relations Manager at Boucan Restaurant & Bar by Hotel Chocolat, responded to this review, March 18, 2011
Hi Sinclair,

Thank you for your review. I am sorry to hear that your felt corralled into the bar; the servers are instructed that sitting in at the lounge before a meal is entirely the choice of the guest. If we had many people in for dinner that night it could have been possible that there was a short wait for your table and this is why you were shown to the lounge. In any case, I will bring this to the attention of our Hotel Manager.

Our wine glasses, as you may have noticed, are extremely large. A full pour in a regular wine glass will look quite skimpy in our large ones! We also prefer to pour small glasses at a time so the wines do not overheat in this tropical atmosphere. If you are still on island, and feel that you were under-served, please give me a call at the number on our listing and we can take it from there.

I'm glad to know that despite these two issues you enjoyed your experience here with us. We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Sublime”
Reviewed March 15, 2011

Subliminal seduction. If chocolate has a heaven, it is Boucan. Subtly added to each course, there is no death by chocolate here; it is alive and glorious. The cocoa/balsamic vinegar dip for bread was the just precursor for each divine course. You cannot go wrong here, just order and enjoy this dining experience with superb service in the perfect setting.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Copeshaws
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hilton Head, South Carolina
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Boucan Disappointing”
Reviewed March 13, 2011

Started out good. Appetizers were good but main entree took looong time to arrive. And when it did it was not good. Apparently our order was lost. Has to as three time to get it. When it did -- very unimpressive. Spinach lasagna had no flavor and the rib-eye was like a sandwich steak. Very disappointing, Oh well, there is always Ladera or Jalousie.

  • Visited March 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank bvanc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Judybuckley2011, Manager at Boucan Restaurant & Bar by Hotel Chocolat, responded to this review, March 30, 2011
Thanks for your frank feedback, we’ll look to see how we can improve. We hope we’ll have the opportunity to welcome you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Boucan Restaurant & Bar by Hotel Chocolat also viewed

Soufriere, Soufriere Quarter
 
Soufriere, Soufriere Quarter
Soufriere, Soufriere Quarter
 
Soufriere, Soufriere Quarter
Soufriere, Soufriere Quarter
 

Been to Boucan Restaurant & Bar by Hotel Chocolat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing