We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hands down - THE BEST!!!”

Paradise Excursions
Book In Advance
More Info
$50.00*
and up
Tet Paul Stairway Tour in St Lucia
More Info
$65.00*
and up
Rain forest and Bird watching
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Our main interest is in the full satisfactory of our clients.Paradise Excursions is the official tour for the Tet Paul nature trail {a community base and Eco tourism project}. We take great interest in preserving the natural beauty. We love to meet new friends and give them a true taste of St.Lucia.The tours that we offers are adventurous,educational and memorable. Paradise excursions provides every guest with a true taste of the island.Always ready to go the extra mile. By land or by sea enjoy island style experience.
Useful Information: Bathroom facilities
Long Beach, California
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Hands down - THE BEST!!!”
Reviewed December 20, 2011

Where do I even begin?

When it comes to vacations, my wife is an absolute champ at doing her research and finding the "hidden gems" where ever it is that we go. She found John and Paradise Excursions about a month prior to our arrival and was impressed right off the bat with how quickly and thouroughly John responded to her inquiries. John made the entire booking process extremely easy...which is what you usually don't experience when booking thru a resort. We scheduled 2 seperate excursions during our week on the island with the first one being a general tour.

Day 1 - Tet Paul
John and his Driver, Darrell, promptly arrived at our resort at the scheduled pick up time. Which is amazing considering that he had to drive all the way from Soufriere just to get us (just shy of a 2 hour drive). John was very courteous and knowledgable right from the get go. He has a very friendly and addictive personality and communicates very well. Without going into a bunch of detail, we took a tour of the southeast part of the island...hitting up the town of Soufreire, Canaries, Tet Paul Nature Trail, the sulphur springs, and the botanical gardens. Typically, that is a lot of stuff to do in one day but John made sure that we weren't being rushed and made it feel as if we had all the time in the world. I also have to throw in there that he pleasently surpised us by stopping by his mothers bakery for some snacks. I forgot the name of those fish-filled pastries but darn were they delicious!

Day 2 - Gros Piton
We were warned by other guests at the resort that the Gros Piton hike was difficult. We've done some pretty intense hikes before so we felt up to the challenge. John prepared us well by explaining the severity of the trail, how to keep your footing, amount of food and water to bring, and to not rush. It started off with a slight incline but soon gave way to a steep climb with large boulders and long steps. Combine that with a hot temperature and humidity thats off the charts - it makes for a sweat filled day! But like I said, John did not rush us and stressed safety as the overall concern. The trail itself is beautiful w/ lots of sceneic vantage points and tropical foliage. Reaching the top not only makes for a spectacular view but it also gives you that sense of accomplishment/satisfaction in knowing that you just did something that not many people will ever get the chance to do. After making the trek back down the piton, John had a creole meal setup for us under a big ol palapa. A very nice ending to such a strenuous but fun adventure.

My wife and I had such an amazing time in St. Lucia and it would not have been close to being as wonderful an experience were it not for John and Paradise Excursions. HIGHLY recommended and if we ever swing by St. Lucia again we will definately be giving John a call =)

Thank you for the memories John! (And Darrell!),

John and Tiffany

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank John Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

72 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    63
    8
    0
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Missouri City, Texas
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Paradise Excursions Just Amazing”
Reviewed October 18, 2011

Subject: Paradise Excursions
Location: Soufriere, St. Lucia, Caribbean, North America
Title: Paradise Excursion is a Must!!
ID#: 119122574

Paradise Excursion was just wonderful, you could not as for a better person to guide this Tour!!! John you Rock!!! Flexibility is an understatement when it come to John being able to accomodate our group of 17. The history of our mountain climb and seeing the fresh vegetation that we could try. That was extreamly special for our group because some of the people have never see how alot of the fruits and food they eat how it is grown, even trying chocolate in it's natural form!! WONDERFUL! We enjoyed a wondeful beach trip, and the food was exceptional.. When you visit St. Lucia...Paradise Excursion is a must!

Karlene Rose

Visited September 2011
Helpful?
Thank Karlene R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A Great Experience”
Reviewed October 10, 2011

John made this experience something we will never forget. John led us on a 2 hour climb up and then another 2 hours back down. The view from the top made it worth the effort. John was a great guide who let us move at our own pace, he was very knowledgable. We stopped at the sulpher springs on the way back to the resort. John stopped for plenty of photo ops. I would highly recommend him as a guide especially if you want the personal attention that you don't get going in a big tour group.

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
Thank Greg L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
El Monte
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“John made the Gros Piton climb the highlight of our cruise.”
Reviewed October 2, 2011

When I said I wanted to climb the Gros Piton in St. Lucia as part of our cruise itinerary, my wife was a little hesitant, but after reading other reviews, we decided to take the challenge. We contacted a private guide from the internet –John (with Paradise Excursions) who agreed to take us. In our 50’s we are in pretty good shape. I walk every day for work, and my wife is a triathlete who worksout regularly. We used the P90X workout series to help get in shape.

Starting out was quite easy with slight slopes, but at the halfway point the trail begins a steep climb. At times we were climbing over the rocks using our hands and feet. We were both soaked with sweat by the time we reached the ¾ rest bench. It was a great sense of accomplishment when we reached the top. Our time was 1 1/2 hours. Our guide (John) supported us all the way. We should have listened when he suggested that we bring 1.5 liters of water each instead of the ½ liter bottles we brought.

The way down was still challenging, but we were glad that part of the trail had steps and railings. John easily saw the tarantula hiding in the rocks. There was a Creole meal waiting for us in the thatched roof structure on our return. After this we hurried to the sulfur springs for a quick mud bath and soak to soothe aching muscles. John even took pictures of us.

Our trip to the boat was a little frantic, as we were arriving close to the boarding time, but our driver made sure we made it in time. Soaking wet, dirty, and exhausted, we arrived safely on board 15 minutes before the ship sailed. It was the highlight of our trip and worth every penny.

All of this was included in the price John quoted us; he never asked for anything more, was very knowledgeable, polite, and courteous. If you want to take any sort of tour on/around the island, contact John at Paradise Excursions for sure. He’s the local who knows it all and will treat you royally.

Visited September 2011
Helpful?
Thank Rob V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
1 review
“Should Be Number One”
Reviewed September 15, 2011

Booked a tour with John a month before our cruise ship arrived after reading his superb reviews. Communicating with him before arrival was timely and straightforward. He quoted us a great all inclusive price, and he was there waiting for us when we arrived. Our hope was to see more than we could on a group tour provided by the ship, and man did we ever. En route to Jalousie beach, John took us to: the best views from the Marne, the site where the French surrendered to British, a banana plantation, a snake handler, a trail hike through an agrarian/cultural attraction he is developing to an observation deck between the Pitons, through the drive in volcano, to a sulpher mud bath, then a buffet lunch, followed by a water taxi to the gorgeous Jalousie beach nesltled between the Pitons for a 20 min swim. I think we were able to do all this and get back to the ship with time to spare because John knew everybody personally. It felt like he was introducing you to his friends. Made us feel very safe and very welcome. Thanks John for an unforgettable adventure!

Visited August 2011
Helpful?
Thank panda609
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Paradise Excursions also viewed

Soufriere, Soufriere Quarter
Castries, Castries Quarter
 
Castries, Castries Quarter
Soufriere, Soufriere Quarter
 

Been to Paradise Excursions? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing