We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Fond Doux Plantation & Resort(Soufriere)(Great Value!)
$152
$138
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Stonefield Villa Resort(Soufriere)(Great Value!)
$312
$303
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
La Haut Resort(Soufriere)(Great Value!)
$104
$94
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Anse Chastanet(Soufriere)(Great Value!)
$431
$390
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
Ladera Resort(Soufriere)
$894
$400
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hummingbird Beach Resort(Soufriere)(Great Value!)
$116
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$133
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$435
$411
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Jade Mountain Resort(Soufriere)
$1,567
$1,110
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (547)
Filter reviews
547 results
Traveler rating
390
116
27
11
3
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
390
116
27
11
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbar experienceluxe lodgebar tourthe beancocoa nibspetit pitonrabot estateinfinity poolst luciacocoa treesugar beachboutique hotelsunset cruisehotel's boatbeach shuttlechocolate treatscocoa pod
Filter
Updating list...
64 - 69 of 547 reviews
Reviewed July 11, 2017

We were totally wowed by this resort the minute we stepped on the property! The breathtaking mountain view of the famous Pitons stood grandly before us in the open main lobby/ restaurant area, where we were promptly welcomed by resident manager Judy! Her warm and friendly nature set the mood for the entire rest of our stay.
We were then given an informative tour of the grounds, including the gorgeous infinity pool area, where free snacks(cookies and plantain chips) and water are readily available.
Our spacious room conveniently had a mini bar/fridge as well as complimentary mineral water, coffee and treats of chocolate nib cookies, truffles and coconut chips for our enjoyment.
My very favorite feature of the room was the stone waterfall shower with an open view of the moon overhead!
We enjoyed delicious complimentary breakfasts every morning, which started with a tray of local tropical fruits like mango, pineapple, and the sweetest bananas I've ever tasted!
Breakfast specials change daily and include such items as omelette, French toast, and chocolate chip pancakes.
With chocolate being the focus of the entire resort, dinners featured the cocoa flavor in unique ways. We enjoyed bread with chocolate butter and cocoa balsamic sauce at every meal. The chocolate lava dessert was heavenly! Each entree we had was delicious and elegantly presented. The bar offered the most extensive list of specialty cocktails I have ever seen!
The hotel offers daily transport to a lovely beach via shuttle and a ride aboard the Boucaneer II, where the boat captain and crew happily shared info about their beautiful island. Our enjoyment was certainly their priority! We boarded the Bouconeer again for the sunset cruise, which offered the most amazing views of the Majestic Pitons rising straight from the beautiful Caribbean. And yes, our party experienced the "green flash", a rare phenomenon I had never heard of! The boat crew went the extra mile to create an unforgettable excursion for us.
We also enjoyed the coca production tour with Cuthbertson, whose passion for--and knowledge of--his trade is amazing! What a lot we learned from this very hands-on experience. And yes, we grafted and named our very own cocoa tree, which will be planted on the grounds for us to locate on future visits.
My husband and I have enjoyed many islands in the Caribbean, but only our Hotel Chocolate experience would earn the adjective "amazing". We miss it already! Many thanks to Judy and her excellent staff for insuring that our stay earned five stars!

  • Stayed: July 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Linda D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Judy B, Guest Relations Manager at Boucan by Hotel Chocolat, responded to this reviewResponded July 19, 2017

Thank you for such a beautiful and detailed review you managed to do so much, I am delighted that you were lucky enough to see the famous "green flash" not been witness by too many and the shout out to the boat crew for making your trips totally enjoyable. We look forward to welcoming you back some time soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2017

Hotel chocolat at Boucan has been on wish list for some time. Right from the welcome hot chocolate and salted caramel chocolate cocktail, and a chat to the owner/manager Judy, it felt perfect. Wonderful food on every occasion, with so many touches related to cocoa beans or cocoa butter but not overwhelmed by it. Friendly helpful chef even coped with us vegetarians. The infinity pool with views over the Pitons was great for morning dips or afternoon cooling off or backdrop to wonderful romantic evening meals. The basic rooms had luxury semi outdoor showers. The pool had an ultra luxury hot shower with body jets. The highlight of the trip was Cuthbert's tour of the cocoa plants and the chance to understand the grower's skill and science behi d cocoa bean growing and harvesting. All the guests could graft cocoa plants and tag them with their names and come and see them bearing fruit in 18-24 months time. We hope to get back and check on them. In the meantime we will have to make do with our local factory outlet shop in Huntingdon.

Room Tip: Basic room was good enough
  • Stayed: June 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Arun A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Judy B, Guest Relations Manager at Boucan by Hotel Chocolat, responded to this reviewResponded July 19, 2017

Delighted we made it on your wish list and you were able experience so much during your stay, Cuthbert is our cocoa legend and had quite a following, we look forward to welcoming you back to stay - you have a baby cocoa tree that needs checking on!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2017 via mobile

I was very excited to go to this restaurant, friends had told me how good it was.
My main meal was good but parts of it were cold as were my husbands, he was very disappointed with his veal the four tiny pieces of meat sat with four larger dollops of cold mash.
We did complain after the meal and I hope my complaint registered! We should really have sent it back for being cold which is just a basic rule of cookery.
The desserts were ok not mind blowing like I was hoping.
Service was good and of course the view was great.

Stayed: June 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank Jane L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Judy B, Guest Relations Manager at Boucan by Hotel Chocolat, responded to this reviewResponded July 19, 2017

Appreciate your feedback and we take all your point on board which we will certainly help improve our service from the kitchen.
Thanks for the thumbs up for the service and of course the view never fails.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2017

We stayed at the hotel for 3 nights at the start of our honeymoon. We were really excited to come to the hotel as we had heard and read such great things about it. We were greeted warmly on arrival and given a very friendly and informative induction to the hotel while we sat in the restaurant (which was fabulous and which we reviewed separately). On arrival to our Luxe Lodge everything was perfectly presented. These are big spacious lodges with big 4 poster beds with mosquito nets round them and large private open balconies with loungers, mini fridge, and a huge bathroom with rainforest shower. The views are breathtaking, the petit piton in full view ahead and nothing but tropical rainforest between you. The pool area is small but we didn't ever see it overcrowded, and the infinity pool is just great looking. The hotel is on the working cocoa estate where Hotel Chocolat grow their cocoa to use for their chocolate making, and this is an amazing concept you don't get at other hotels. You can take various walks around the estate which is fantastic. The rooms were always clean after housekeeping had been in, and any staff we saw around the grounds were always friendly and polite.
All in all the hotel has all the ingredients for a magical, perfect stay.
Unfortunately, this was all slightly tainted for us by the fact that there is absolutely no air conditioning in the hotel -anywhere! All areas of the hotel, i.e. lodges, restaurant and pool are really open, presumably to not obstruct the amazing views and to encourage a breeze and have ceiling fans. But this does little to cool you off, and by the end of our 3 nights stay we were actually glad to be leaving for another hotel as we both felt pretty close to heatstroke. Sounds dramatic, but there really is nowhere to go to cool off and if you are not used to that (and possibly even if you were) it gets to be too much after a while. The open design of the lodges means there can be no air conditioning, and yes its eco-friendly, but when you spend a good amount of money to stay there to relax, its impossible if you are overheating. We had plenty of "visitors" to the lodge, due to the open design - numerous lizards, a cockroach, mosquitoes, and a spider during our stay. This didn't massively bother us, but its worth noting there is no way to stop any of these coming into the lodge. The nights are also rather noisy from the jungle around you. The jungle sounds were actually an amazing part of the experience, as its not very often you get to sleep with those sounds around you, however again its because the lodges are so open that you hear them which brings me back to the air con issue!
All in all a very unique hotel in an amazing location, with (almost) all thats needed for a perfect hotel and perfect holiday, but sadly disappointed us in some areas.

Room Tip: Luxe lodges are higher up with private balconies so views are better.You can see the pitons and they are bigger than the standard lodges.
  • Stayed: May 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank CorunnaCM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Judy B, Guest Relations Manager at Boucan by Hotel Chocolat, responded to this reviewResponded June 23, 2017

Thank you for your review, we are looking at adding an eco friendly air conditioning unit which is solar powered to our rooms, but in the interim we do offer extra stand alone fans for those who need it.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2017

This is one of the best hotels / restaurant on the planet. The location is amazing in the middle of a cacao plantation. The Rooms are elegant beautifully decorated and generous in size. However you must try the restaurant. The breakfasts are to die for. the dinners are luxurious and relaxed. Try the cocktails and if you are lucky enough you get to sample some of the new line chocolates.

Room Tip: All the cabins are excellent.
  • Stayed: August 2016, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank AliAsad1110
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Judy B, Guest Relations Manager at Boucan by Hotel Chocolat, responded to this reviewResponded June 23, 2017

What a lovey review, deeply humbled, best hotel /restaurant on the planet we love it, thanks

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews