We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Boucan by Hotel Chocolat
Ranked #7 of 11 Hotels in Soufriere
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 27, 2014

We went to this hotel as part of a tour chocolate decadence through sandals, it was a brilliant day out. The food was amazing! The chocolate making process was interesting and fun but me and my husband didn't get a pestle so we couldn't make the chocolate like everyone else. Thought it was a bit of a shame we didn't take home chocolate we totally made ourselves. Plus the trip is so long ours melted before we got back to our hotel! The tour guide cuthburt was great but he didn't wait for me to come back from the toilet, started the tour without me so I wandered around helplessly for a while trying to find my group! Overall a good visit but think that was only because of the food and our personal tour guide.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank girlinyellow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Judy B, Head fo Guest Relations at Boucan by Hotel Chocolat, responded to this reviewResponded May 20, 2014

All comments noted and appreciated.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (493)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

302 - 308 of 493 reviews

Reviewed April 26, 2014

I was at the Bouchan Hotel recently as part of a tour and was luck to have the guide Cuthbert explain about the chocolate making process from the bean through to how it is made into chocolate. He was an excellent guide and gave some very interesting information to us as we were making our own chocolate with him. The experience is just great and when you get to pour your own chocolate bar then that is truly fantastic. I actually have taken mine back to the UK.

Lunch that was served was delicious. Love the chocolate appearing in the savoury courses. I enjoyed the lunch and was a shame we had to move on.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amanda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Judy B, Head of Guest Relations at Boucan by Hotel Chocolat, responded to this reviewResponded May 20, 2014

Hope you eaten your single estate hand made chocolate by now?
Come and stay with us next time!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 26, 2014

From our arrival at the airport, to being driven through the Pitons to this magnificent resort, we had the best, tranquil, meditative experience one could imagine. The managers Didier and Marguarite took care of every need. Our room #11 was perfectly taken care of. The food service, waiters and ladies of service could not have been nicer, meticulous and we were able to enjoy Cuthburt and the explanations of this beautiful plantation. The staff did EVERYTHING correctly and we can't wait to return sometime in the next winter.

Room Tip: Any room on top of the estate would be preferred. However, we would happily stay in one of the small...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tedhistory
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Judy B, Head of Guest Relations at Boucan by Hotel Chocolat, responded to this reviewResponded May 20, 2014

'Tranquil and meditative' is certainly the feeling we aspire to create. So much looking forward to welcoming you back next winter.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2014

A perfect hotel for a romantic hideaway. Our luxe lodge (7) had a postcard view that you have to see to believe. Watching the sun set over the Pitons from our balcony, drinking champagne, was breathtaking. Indeed, the architecture and smart layout of the luxe lodge takes advantage of the spectacular views by day, opening up to the elements just enough to give you a genuine sense of seclusion nestled amongst a jungle slope with commanding views over tropical paradise, the open rain shower and vaulted ceilings brings that sense of the outside space inside too. By night close the shutters, relax in the netted four poster and fall asleep to the sounds of the tropics - first night does take some getting used too though even for a New Yorker! The ceiling fan should really have a faster setting for use on the still humid nights.

The amenities and guest services are great, it's laid back and informal but i like the personal touch, there is no room service so the restaurant or pool side is where we ate, again the views are spectacular, the infinity pool is great for cooling off or just staring off into the distance. The the staff are fabulous and over the course of a week it's the kind of hotel where you actually get to see individual personalities shine through, rather than the stiff regimental line up you get at more traditional resorts.

The restaurant is great, yes, there is a chocolate theme that you cannot miss but there are plenty of ways to circumvent this if chocolate isn't your thing, ask for things plain grilled etc, or, just don't stay on a cocoa plantation...

For those with kids, don't bring them, for a variety of reasons - some of which have to do with safety, i mean i wouldn't want my kids playing catch in an infinity pool with a 20ft drop into the jungle on one side, but it's less about your parental instinct for your child's safety, for which you would need another vacation to get over the potential dangers here, it's entirely to do with the atmosphere and tranquil vibe, there are no TV's for example..

It's not on the beach, you get the elevated views so it's a happy trade off seeing as there is a perfectly easy shuttle taxi that takes you down to the town of Soufriere and onto a speed boat that whisks you around to Sugar Bay. (That's the place you should stay if you bring kids).

There are a variety of activities locally, obviously the cocoa plantation stuff, but both the Soufriere experience including the Volcano trip and then also the sunset sail were great days.

Honestly, had a perfect vacation.

Room Tip: Luxe Lodges are worth the extra money, some things to experience fully you need to go the all the wa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank HJDS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Judy B, Head of Guest Relations at Boucan by Hotel Chocolat, responded to this reviewResponded May 20, 2014

And a perfect review too. Thanks very much. Like your words 'tranquil vibe'.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 18, 2014

We stayed here for the first 3 nights of our honeymoon in St Lucia.We wanted to stay at this end of the island first to do some of the activities and sight seeing, as most of the sights are located at this end of the island. We were really glad we did this and couldn't have wished for a better hotel to stay at.

The accommodation is based on a cocoa plantation 'the rabot estate' which is very unique and lovely in itself. The surroundings/grounds are beautiful with lots of different types of trees and plants. We stayed in a standard lodge (think it was no.4) and we had beautiful views of the pitons. The lodge itself was incredible and we both instantly loved it as soon as we walked in. It was like living in a luxury treehouse for our stay. We loved the openness of the lodge where the shutters could be opened right out. There was a sofa area which we sat at with the windows open and just simply took in the views and beautiful tranquil surroundings. We had two little birds that visited us regularly and a gheko. We loved this and it really did feel like you were right in the rainforest! The rooms were provided with a mini bar and we also had a complimentary bottle of bubbly, local rum and delicious cookies,high quality chocolate and nuts each day. The bed was absolutely amazing. So comfortable and large and having the mosquito net round the bed was a godsend and you felt completely protected from the bugs whilst sleeping! There was also an iPod with music you could use and a telephone to take with you round the estate in case you needed to contact reception for anything. The highlight of the room for us was the incredible open air shower! It was so big and was just so nice to shower there after a long day in the sun. The bathroom itself was also huge and well equipped with ren products, slippers, dressing gown! Top class and the room was spotlessly clean. Big thank you to our cleaner! There is even a free laundry service on offer if needed and free insect repellant! All these little extras make this place stand out above the rest!

The restaurant is in a lovely setting and it's nice to be able to look out over the amazing views of the pitons whilst eating breakfast and dinner. The food was great quality and really tasty. We were on half board basis. The breakfasts were huge!! You could pick and choose what you wanted off of it or even have the whole lot!!! Fresh fruit, warm muffins, toast, porridge, muesli, smoothies, cooked breakfast! What more could you ask for?! Although the food incorporates chocolate into most of the dishes, it wasn't too overpowering. My fave was the white chocolate infused salad dressing! Yum! All our meals were lovely and very filling. The restaurant does get busy and due to this service could be bit slow, but what's the hurry with that view!

The staff were all very polite and friendly and helped us book some excursions hassle free.

The pool/ lounger area is small but was rarely busy and although the pool was very cold it was nice and refreshing and had a lovely view. You could order food to your lounger too which was great.

We booked onto the chocolate tours (both the free tree to bean tour and then the paid for bean to bar tour). Both were really interesting and we learnt a lot. Cuthbert the guide was very informative and friendly and really is a fantastic asset to the hotel. His knowledge is overwhelming and he is very passionate about what he does which shows. We loved grafting our own cocoa tree and mixing/tasting our own chocolate! We would highly recommend these tours!

The spa was nice and I had a great chocolate massage.

All in all we had an amazing stay here, great location, fantastic accommodation, setting and food. Would love to return. Really recommend doing what we did and stay for 3-4 nights if you want a good mix of activities and relaxation as we found this worked really well spending 3 nights here then 7 near a beach on other side of the island. We did think 3-4 days was just right for us here and if were here longer may have become a bit fed up with the chocolatey food. Having said that if you book to stay for 7 nights we are sure you won't be disappointed! How could you be in such a great place with all it's perks! Thank you Boucan Hotel Chocolat for a great start to our honeymoon :0) we loved our stay!

Room Tip: We were in a standard lodge (possibly no.4 from memory).we had a great view of the pitons and would...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank amaKent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Judy B, Head of Guest Relations at Boucan by Hotel Chocolat, responded to this reviewResponded May 20, 2014

We enjoyed reading your account of your stay with us and it made us feel proud. Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2014

We had lunch at the restaurant at the Boucan Hotel. We did not stay at the hotel.

The food is of the highest quality and very very interesting with extensive use of chocolate (to be expected). The presentation is second to none and the taste follows through. We were a party of 7 and everybody was very pleased with the choices, the fish and chips with chocolate mushy peas were especially enjoyed as was the chocolate fondant.

No review would be compete without a word about the view. It is truly magical overlooking the petite Piton and the cocoa plantation.

We visited from the North of the island as part of a day trip by boat and I would recommend doing that same - not least because the return journey gave me a chance to sleep off the excellent lunch !!

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Thank Craig H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Judy B, Head of Guest Relations at Boucan by Hotel Chocolat, responded to this reviewResponded May 20, 2014

Visiting by boat is a great idea. We also have our own 2 private hotel boats, Boucanier I and II which we use to whisk our guests to beaches and coastal experiences.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2014

First, the view: it is hard not to have a gorgeous view in St. Lucia, but this open air restaurant's vistas are breathtaking.

Their focus on chocolate is never gimmicky...I was initial afraid of that. Everything was not only delicious, but inventive. They started us with bread and three dips, one of chocolate and balsamic vinegar, a butter with cocoa nibs and a pesto of nuts. We were practically fighting over crumbs to dip when the waiter brought more bread.

My wife had the gaspacho, which was bright and flavorful. I had the fishroti, which was fine, but the fish was a bit dry and the whole a touch bland for my taste. The goat cheese salad my daughter had was nice, and the chocolate vinaigrette was a nice surprise without being cloying. My son had fish and chips, which was a bit dry, also ... the fish didn't hold up well to frying, but at least it was local, and the sides were great.

They have a battle of the rum punch, British vs. French, and I tried both. I suggest you do, too.

If my review doesn't sound glowing, perhaps I'm being too nitpicky; the sum is greater that the total of the parts. We enjoyed it immensely. This is definitely worth an excursion to dine.

Stayed: April 2014
Thank Christopher L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Judy B, Head of Guests Relations at Boucan by Hotel Chocolat, responded to this reviewResponded May 20, 2014

We agree, at Boucan the sum always feels greater than the total of the parts - it's magical.
Really appreciate your kind words.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Soufriere hotels
2.7 mi away
Jade Mountain Resort
Jade Mountain Resort
#1 of 11 in Soufriere
962 reviews
0.8 mi away
Fond Doux Plantation & Resort
0.8 mi away
Sugar Beach, A Viceroy Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Ladera Resort
Ladera Resort
#2 of 11 in Soufriere
1,281 reviews
2.8 mi away
Anse Chastanet
Anse Chastanet
#5 of 11 in Soufriere
1,198 reviews
1.1 mi away
Stonefield Villa Resort
Stonefield Villa Resort
#6 of 11 in Soufriere
743 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Boucan by Hotel Chocolat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Boucan by Hotel Chocolat

Address: Rabot Estate | P.O. Box 312, Soufriere, St. Lucia
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > St. Lucia > Soufriere Quarter > Soufriere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Soufriere
#5 Family Hotel in Soufriere
#6 Romantic Hotel in Soufriere
#6 Luxury Hotel in Soufriere
Price Range: $465 - $759 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Boucan by Hotel Chocolat 4.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover plantation chic - luxury, well-being & stunning natural beauty. Situated high in the hills near Soufriere, set in rainforest & cocoa groves with stunning views of the Piton mountains. A daily transfer is provided for guests to a stunning nearby beach by Hotel Sea Launch. Guests can enjoy trail walks around the cocoa estate, cacao inspired treatments in the spa, relaxation in Club Boucan with its private infinity pool & the exclusive cacao cuisine at Boucan Restaurant & Bar, free laundry service, room additions and Tree to Bean tour. Boucan by Hotel Chocolat offer 2 types of accommodation, both with 4 poster beds, preloaded iPods & docking stations, complimentary wireless, a mini-bar & open sky rainforest showers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Boucan by Hotel Chocolat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Boucan By Hotel Chocolat St. Lucia/Soufriere

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing