We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pure luxury” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Boucan by Hotel Chocolat

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Boucan by Hotel Chocolat
Ranked #6 of 11 Hotels in Soufriere
Certificate of Excellence
cornwall
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Pure luxury”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 4, 2013

We stayed here for three nights in November. The hotel is beautiful. We stayed in a lux lodge. The room was pure luxury. Kept spotlessly clean and tidy,huge comfortable bed, Incredible views from the balcony and the shower is something else. Like standing in a torrential rain shower but hotter !! The restaurant has a lovely setting and atmosphere. The food is brilliant and the staff cannot do enough for you. The staff really are a credit to this hotel. Will defiantly return

Room Tip: Pay the extra for a lux lodge. The views alone are worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kernowtravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Judy B, Head of Guest Relations at Boucan by Hotel Chocolat, responded to this review, December 20, 2013
Thanks for the great description of our Luxe rooms, complete with 'torrential rain' showers, we are quite proud of them.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

450 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    321
    95
    23
    8
    3
See reviews for
37
337
8
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (128)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ericeira
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 2, 2013

Well to start this incredible journey I would like to give a special thank you the Hotel Manager Bernabe it was absolutely overwhelming and professional, she went above and beyond to explain us how the Cocoa was processed and the different Cocoa trees locations.

A MUST IN ST. LUCIA
The Boucan Restaurant it's a must to visit in St. Lucia, anyone that is passionate about good food, to start it's location is breath taken, with the Pitons just in front for you to dream away... the staff and I specially would like to mention Danalee and Chavez for their genuine hospitality and professionalism, they just made the difference. We had a tasting menu paired with Chocolate... A Chocolate journey, just out of this world, I would like to excel the Chicken Liver Parfait 65% Cocoa... The Chocolate Tasting plate definitely a wonderful sensation to your mind and soul, also the wine list is very well build with top world wines by the glass for you to make the perfect experience.

I will be back, while I stay in this beautiful island with amazing people.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OscarCorreia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Judy B, Head of Guest Relations at Boucan by Hotel Chocolat, responded to this review, December 20, 2013
Really appreciate your kind words about Bernabe, our Hotel Manager, Danalee and Chavez. Very glad you enjoyed your stay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 1, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at the beautiful Hotel Chocolat recently for a week. It is a unique small hotel with only 14 lodges in lush tropical vegetation on an old cocoa plantation with stunning views over the Petit Piton. Our luxe lodge had a comfy large bed, huge balcony and a great rain shower. The staff could not have been friendlier and breakfasts were delicious as were the cocktails and wine. The hotel runs a beach shuttle every morning down to Soufrieres and on the fab (new) Hotel Chocolat boat (lovely crew) to Sugar Beach where the snorkelling is highly recommended. Also near the hotel are nature trails (Tet Paul is a must) and the volcano and mud sulphur springs - you can walk to these places. Really recommend the hotel's chocolate tour with Cuthbert (enthusiastic and hugely knowledgeable about cocoa). Sundowner cocktails at the nearby Laderra make a great setting. All in all we really enjoyed our week at the Hotel Chocolat. We have been to other places in the Caribbean but we found the locals in Saint Lucia the friendliest bunch! The hotel should promote their new boat more as it is a great asset.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank wanderlustukLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Judy B, Head of Guest Relations at Boucan by Hotel Chocolat, responded to this review, December 20, 2013
Thanks for mentioning our fab new boat (our pop up beach club!) and the lovely crew. Agree we should promote it more!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 23, 2013

We stayed one night, 11/20, after spending the week at Sandals. This was the anniversary of my husband proposing to me so we wanted to make our last night on the island special and it surely was. The hotel is absolutely beautiful and quaint. Dinner was by far the best we had on the island. We enjoyed our facials at the spa which was different from any facial we have ever had. It isn't a large hotel and it's very intimate so if you're looking to enjoy a bit of heaven away from the crowds, this is the place. We will be back!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MDub1and2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Judy B, Head of Guest Relations at Boucan by Hotel Chocolat, responded to this review, December 4, 2013
Glad you enjoyed and looking forward to your return visit. Our on-site spa is something we are very proud of and consistently gets great feedback, thanks.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
47 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2013

We had lunch at this restaurant during a weekend in Soufriere and it was great. We really enjoyed the use of local cocoa thorugout the menu. The view is absolutely stunning and every course was just delightful! Our only disappointment is not being able to purchase the wonderful chocolates that Hotel Chocolat is known for. Great spot in Soufriere!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Seashelltraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Judy B, Head of Guest Relations at Boucan by Hotel Chocolat, responded to this review, November 17, 2013
We'll settle for 'every course just delightful' and 'view is absolutely stunning' - thank you very much indeed. We would like to stock more of our Hotel Chocolat creations in our little gift shop but focus more on things we make on the estate. We are currently building a chocolate factory on the estate so will have a larger local-made range when this is running.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, New York, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2013

My fiance and I stayed here on our engagement trip and it was truly the best resort I have ever stayed at. The resort had a nice, intimate feel to it, the views are breathtaking, and the pool was amazing. The service was fantastic - everyone was lovely. We are serious foodies and the food here was by far the best of any of the resorts in Soufriere (we tried a number of the others and nothing compared). The beach is exquisite and just a short trip by shuttle from the resort. We went on a lovely tour of the estate to see the cocoa growing and also went on one of their snorkeling trips. Hopefully we will be back soon!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lec2107
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Judy B, Head of Guest Relations at Boucan by Hotel Chocolat, responded to this review, November 17, 2013
Very pleased you enjoyed your stay so much. Thanks for highlighting in your review our beautiful pool, the beach access and the warmth of our lovely team - really appreciated. Come back and see us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wadhurst
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2013

We booked on the Chocolate Tasting Club week at the end of September and it was a marvellous seven days. The food was particularly memorable, just one gorgeous meal after another (we paid for it by gaining several pounds over the week!). We were in one of the Luxe lodges and saw many amazing sunsets from the balcony. The staff were all friendly and helpful and made all the excursions and activities a delight. The agronomist, Cuthbert, was a real enthusiast and made the Tree to Bar so interesting. I think the best part of the holiday was learning about the growing and making of chocolate and the way in which Hotel Chocolat's "engaged ethics" programme is being implemented. Certainly one of the best holidays we have had.

Room Tip: The Luxe lodges are a bit of a climb from the restaurant and pool - good exercise after the lovely f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sheena C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Judy B, Head of Guest Relations at Boucan by Hotel Chocolat, responded to this review, November 17, 2013
One of the aims of Boucan is to offer guests a balance of hedonism and learning experiences. Sounds like you achieved this and, thanks for lovely comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Soufriere
2.7 mi away
Jade Mountain Resort
Jade Mountain Resort
#1 of 11 in Soufriere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 895 reviews
0.7 mi away
Sugar Beach, A Viceroy Resort
1.1 mi away
Ladera Resort
Ladera Resort
#2 of 11 in Soufriere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,206 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Anse Chastanet
Anse Chastanet
#5 of 11 in Soufriere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,125 reviews
19.6 mi away
Cap Maison
Cap Maison
#2 of 4 in Cap Estate
4.5 of 5 bubbles 712 reviews
9.3 mi away
Capella Marigot Bay Resort and Marina
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Boucan by Hotel Chocolat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Boucan by Hotel Chocolat

Property: Boucan by Hotel Chocolat
Address: Rabot Estate | P.O. Box 312, Soufriere, St. Lucia
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > St. Lucia > Soufriere Quarter > Soufriere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Soufriere
#5 Luxury Hotel in Soufriere
#5 Family Hotel in Soufriere
#6 Romantic Hotel in Soufriere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Boucan by Hotel Chocolat 4.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover plantation chic - luxury, well-being & stunning natural beauty. Situated high in the hills near Soufriere, set in rainforest & cocoa groves with stunning views of the Piton mountains. A daily transfer is provided for guests to a stunning nearby beach by Hotel Sea Launch. Guests can enjoy trail walks around the cocoa estate, cacao inspired treatments in the spa, relaxation in Club Boucan with its private infinity pool & the exclusive cacao cuisine at Boucan Restaurant & Bar, free laundry service, room additions and Tree to Bean tour. Boucan by Hotel Chocolat offer 2 types of accommodation, both with 4 poster beds, preloaded iPods & docking stations, complimentary wireless, a mini-bar & open sky rainforest showers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your Boucan by Hotel Chocolat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Boucan By Hotel Chocolat St. Lucia/Soufriere

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing