We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Boucan by Hotel Chocolat
Nearby Hotels
Anse Chastanet(Soufriere)(Great Value!)
$390
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
Stonefield Villa Resort(Soufriere)(Great Value!)
$312
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Fond Doux Plantation & Resort(Soufriere)(Great Value!)
$275
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hummingbird Beach Resort(Soufriere)(Great Value!)
$200
$150
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
La Haut Resort(Soufriere)(Great Value!)
$104
$73
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$107
$64
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$169
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$800
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$1,035
$776
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$1,313
$1,110
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (535)
Filter reviews
535 results
Traveler rating
381
114
26
11
3
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
381
114
26
11
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbar experienceluxe lodgebar tourthe beancocoa nibspetit pitonrabot estateinfinity poolguest relations managerst luciasugar beachcocoa treeboutique hotelchocolate treatssunset cruisehotel's boatbeach shuttle
Filter
Updating list...
398 - 403 of 535 reviews
Reviewed September 2, 2013

We chose Hotel Chocolat based on the prior reviews and were not disappointed! We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and were sad to leave after 5 beautiful days there! Whilst there, my fiancé proposed to me and the staff at Hotel Chocolat went the extra mile to help him prepare everything. Judy, the director, even upgraded us to the Luxe Lodge for the 2 nights after we got engaged. We are truly grateful for all that they did to make our stay memorable!

Hotel:
The hotel is set in a cocoa plantation, away from the beach and higher up on the hill. This meant that we got a great view of Petit Piton in the day and a very cool breeze at night. We felt extremely welcomed from the moment we arrived and got a great feel of St Lucian hospitality from everyone at the hotel.

Staff:
The directors, Judy and her husband, were extremely professional and went out of their way to accomodate our requests. The staff were all so friendly and genuine, and made us feel right at home in Hotel Chocolat! They were attentive but not intrusive, and always ready to help with a smile. When we were there, the hotel was not at full occupancy and we were able to get to know some of the staff better. Through our conversations, they were really open to sharing about their lives and wanted to learn more about ours as well. However, at times when we wanted more privacy, the staff knew to give us more space.

Room:
We stayed in both the regular Lodge and the Luxe Lodge, for 2 nights each. Both rooms were great, with the Luxe Lodge being larger and newer. As has been mentioned in previous reviews, the wifi signal is really weak in the Luxe Lodge. This was a pity as we would have loved to lounge in the balcony of the Luxe Lodge and surf the internet at the same time. Then again, it was no big deal as we were really there to disconnect with the world. The complimentary rum punch, cookies and chocolate was a delight to have and we usually had it for a bit of afternoon tea between meals.

The rooms had a colonial vibe to them. A stronger fan would have been nice as it did get stuffy at times. Also, insect repellent for the rooms would be a nice addition. Otherwise, we loved the rooms and the mosquito net used was extremely effective.

Food:
The food at Boucan Restaurant was fantastic! We couldn't fault it, although we would have appreciated having more St Lucian fare on the menu though. We spoke to one of the staff about that and they offered to set aside some of the staff's dinner for us the next day. It was really delicious as well, and well worth the try!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Esther_gkj11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Judy B, Head of Guest Relations at Boucan by Hotel Chocolat, responded to this reviewResponded September 8, 2013

Such a detailed and delightful review, thanks indeed.
We were honored to play a part in this momentous stage in your life together and wish you much happiness.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2013

Our honeymoon was a Caribbean adventure, spanning four islands and almost a month of travel. We stayed at two hotels in Soufreire, St Lucia- Hotel Chocolat & Sugar Beach. Of all of our travels, Boucan by Hotel Chocolat was by far the nicest hotel and our best stay. The food was magical, the views were breathtaking, the eco-lodge aspect was something I could respect and the service of the staff was impeccable. You don't need more than 3-4 nights here and definitely take the two chocolate tours, tree to bean & bean to bar. If you want to go to the beach while staying here they offer a shuttle, they also have boat trips around the island and various other day activities. The infinity pool was the perfect size and always the perfect temperature. My only complaint, it is located in the rainforest so nature is loud at night. I solved this by napping every day around 3pm since I dislike ear plugs.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Shannon B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Judy B, Head of Guest Relations at Boucan by Hotel Chocolat, responded to this reviewResponded September 8, 2013

So pleased that you rated us top in your Caribbean honeymoon adventure and that you noticed so many of the things we consider to be important too – thank you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2013 via mobile

If the title doesn't do it justice, than let me just explain how amazing this place is! We came here to eat at the restaurant and we had never had a better meal, ever!!!! Every part of dinner was unreal and perfection!!!! This is a great date night place or a place to go for romance and a perfect meal.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ashley0323
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Judy B, Head of Guest Relations at Boucan by Hotel Chocolat, responded to this reviewResponded August 26, 2013

Giving our guests an amazing and unique experience is what we are about, so delighted we hit the spot for you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2013

Stayed here in March and had a great time. The couple that run the hotel are lovely people and really looked after us during our stay even taking a group of us across the island by their speed boat so we could see a different part of the island.
The chocolate does get a bit much after a couple of days - but you can ask for items without cocoa!
Note that the rooms are open plan and there are slates in the floor so we had a few large bugs/lizards in our room which was interesting...!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MissLondon1884
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Judy B, Head of Guest Relations at Boucan by Hotel Chocolat, responded to this reviewResponded August 19, 2013

We agree - our hotel boat Boucanier 1 (soon to be joined by our new boat Boucanier 2) is a fabulous way to spend a day by the sea.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2013

We just got back last night from our beautiful vacation at Hotel Chocolat. And trying to describe this place to my friends/coworkers has been such a challenge. It's just magical!

First off, it's worth noting that this was the second resort on the leg of our St. Lucia vacation. The first part was spent at Sandals La Toc, where we were guests at a friends' wedding. And, holy contrast! This place was a much needed respite from the "SPRING BREAK" and cheesiness from Sandals. Even though we were only here for 2 days, we wished we'd have booked a longer stay here. It was our vacation, after our vacation. And oh boy. It was one of the nicest places we've ever stayed at.

The pace here is slow, relaxed and truly luxurious. The staff are kind and thoughtful. It's like living in a quiet, relaxing tropical oasis. But with chocolate! And cocktails! And the most beautiful views. My husband and I fell in love with this hotel. Every single interaction and moment was nothing but relaxing and luxurious. I agree that this place is definitely for nature lovers. People who are scared of spiders probably shouldn't stay here; as the wildlife is in full-swing. We loved it! I seriously felt like Snow White, with birds following me around everywhere I went.

I had a cocoa facial that smelled amazing and left me feeling relaxed and rejuvenated. We ate 5 meals at the restaurant, finding new things to love after each course. There was a complimentary bottle of wine waiting for us in our room. The bed was comfortable. The views were amazing. We sprung for one of the "luxe lodges" and were very happy we did so. It wasn't as far away from the restaurant as some reviewers have suggested. And it was so private. And quiet. And TRULY romantic. We had the best time.

Room Tip: We LOVED staying in the Luxe Lodge. It felt like living in the most luxurious tree house ever created.
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Daytripper628
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Judy B, Head of Guest Relations at Boucan by Hotel Chocolat, responded to this reviewResponded August 19, 2013

We loved the Snow White image and the way you described your experience with us. Thanks you and do come back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews