We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"Luxury digs, but could use some improvements"” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Boucan by Hotel Chocolat

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Boucan by Hotel Chocolat
Ranked #5 of 12 Hotels in Soufriere
Certificate of Excellence
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
78 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“"Luxury digs, but could use some improvements"”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

First off, we stayed in just the standard lodge and it was beautiful! The room was awesome! We were always well stocked with huge fluffy towels, both shower and pool towels, the toiletries were top notch REN products. As a woman who is extremely picky with shampoo and conditioners, I never even used the stuff I brought. Nice touch with the robes and the his and her slippers. Amenities in the room were abundant with prosecco, rum punch, cookies, nuts, and chocolates. The shower was simple stunning. The rooms were very open air, so every sound could be heard by all. The rooms were supposed to be equipped with an ipod but ours didn't have one till the 3rd day of our stay. We didn't really see much of the grounds except for the cocoa tour and didn't go to the pool either. Most of the day we were off doing things. The only thing that could make this place better would be more reliable internet and faster food service. My hubby had business to attend to and couldn't for two days due to no internet. The staff didn't or wouldn't address it other than "we will look into it" Monday rolls around and we meet "Judy" at which time we inform her that we have been telling staff about no internet and she got immediately on the task of taking care of it. She was extremely helpful! Now for the food service. I do realize that it is "island time" but we had been flying all day arriving from California and as everyone knows that food service is non-existent on airlines these days so we were hungry. We arrived at the resort around 5pm, checked in and were told our "dinner time" was 8:30. Really? So we unpacked and went over at 8, and ended up being seated. But the service was sooooooo slow, the whole dinner process took minimum 2 hours. Why? It was so painful that we didn't eat dinner or lunch there for the rest of our stay. Breakfast was included and it actually came in a timely manner and was good. Another issue was the lack of water at times. Twice in the morning we had to wait for the water so we could shower. But it did come back relatively quickly so it wasn't a problem. Overall I would recommend the hotel!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Brenda F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

389 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    277
    86
    16
    7
    3
See reviews for
28
294
6
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (115)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

Hotel Chocolat seems to divide opinion on Trip. But look at their website and if you like what you see then this is what they deliver, in spades! It’s contemporary modern with a light touch. Not stuffy, not formal and no linen covers for dinner. The staff are approachable, friendly and relaxed. If you want the feel of a 5-star full-service ‘resort’ then Chocolat probably isn’t for you. This is a boutique hotel with a boutique feel.

The standard lodges are a good size and lovely while the luxe lodges offer a bit more space and a sun terrace with a better view. But having seen both, I’d recommend the standard lodges – at 30% less than the luxes, I think they are better value. I’d spend what you save on car hire – Avis local are good, we paid £40 a day for a jeep – and this allows you the freedom to explore St Lucia independently. Plus, spend on the best of the Chocolat ‘experiences’, the speedboat tour: complete with captain and guide, zip round the coast, visit Pigeon Island, moor up for lunch (you can specify where you want to eat or Chocolat provide a cool box with lunch and drinks) and take some snorkelling kit to dive off the coast into the ocean and see some amazing fish off the reefs. It’s a seriously glamorous day trip

Chocolat is clearly not on the beach but in the rainforest. This may be a concern for some. They provide daily boat transport for the short hop to Sugar Beach but there’s a problem here: the beach hotel dominates and won’t let you use its sun loungers. It’s a public beach but there are only a few lower grade sun loungers you can hire, many without cover or you’re shoved to the least best corner of the beach. Many of the beaches work like this. Best is the quiet ‘local’ beach – if you have a car, drive towards Soufriere, take the turning for Sugar Beach and turn right before you hit Martha’s Tables restaurant. Here you can do as you wish; there is shade, good snorkelling and a basic bar for a cool drink. Unfortunately this beach won’t stay like this forever – another hotel resort is in the offing. Chocolat are planning to run their own pop-up style beaches so you might want to ask them about this.

The Boucan restaurant is good. Don’t worry, everything isn’t drenched in chocolate! They have inventive ways of using the cocoa nib that tie in nicely to the fact that this is after all a revitalised cocoa plantation. You can probably eat in for 4 nights before you feel like you’re working your way through the menu. At the bar, make sure you try at least one of the potent Chairman’s Rum Punch.

Special thanks to all the staff, bar none - we will especially remember Margaret, Esna, Nyola, Didier, Judy and the superb Inalee!

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
7 Thank Dalston-calling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danville, California
Level Contributor
30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

We stayed for 4 nights in February. The view and rooms were great, and the full cocoa tour can't be beat. However, I debated between a 3 or 4 rating because (a) the grounds were nice but not the kind at which I'd want to lounge around and (b) the food at Boucan didn't live up to how fantastic it read. I opted for 4 simply because other places I'd recommend (e.g. Ladera across the street) cost a fair amount more.

If you're looking for a resort with great pool and grounds to lounge around at, this isn't it. The grounds are pretty, but you're on a cocoa plantation no where near a beach and limited lounging space. There is a medium size infinity pool with some lounge chairs around it, but we never went to it once. We used Chocolat as a home base for exploring the Pitons, rain forest, diving, etc. If you're visiting St Lucia and don't spend some quality time in the Soufriere area, shame on you - the whole area is spectacular and, other than Dominica, unique in the Caribbean. Then we went up to the north side for the usual beach experience.

Boucan was our main disappointment. As chocoholics and food lovers, the online menu was a huge draw. It reads amazing. I was really looking forward to experiencing cocoa as a savory item in some great meals, plus of course great desserts, but we ate there the first night and never returned for lunch or dinner (breakfast was included). Really just average food and the service was off the charts slow. Our best meals by far were at the other places we visited around Soufriere.

The cocoa tour however is not to be missed. Starting from the different kinds of cocoa plants, to seeing the fermentation and drying, grafting our own plant, and finally making our own chocolate bar direct from beans we ground ourselves with mortar and pestle. Fascinating and fun!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank falcon3000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkshire
Level Contributor
112 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

We stayed for 3 nights, and thoroughly enjoyed the visit to the hotel, the restaurant and this area of St Lucia ( we had 5 nights at Ti Kaye beforehand) It is adult luxury- intimate with only c 14 lodges, and a small but perfectly formed pool. We stayed in the standard lodge No. 1, and it had a great view, as well as being large, airy, relaxing and welcoming. Lovely touches like complimentary prosecco, nuts, rum punch ...in addition to usual tea and coffee. And the setting....The photos do not lie. The setting is indeed superb. We enjoyed the walks around the estate too and Judy was helpful and gave very personal attention - pointing us in the direction of a virtually deserted beach just 5 mins down the road. Hotel staff helpful and friendly- I even had walking poles made for me for my walk up Gros Piton as BA lost mine (I have left them for future guests!) I did the chocolate bean to bar tour- fun and informative if a bit overpriced. We thought the standard of cooking in the restauarant was very high so ate there all 3 nights, and enjoyed each meal - but as the menu does not change it was getting to feel a bit repetitive. Perhaps a "specials of the day" would prevent this? Service in the restaurant always efficient, but not effusive and some friendlier than others. We felt 3 nights was about the right length of time for a visit as it enabled us to do different things around Soufriere..

Room Tip: Lodge 1 had a good view and is in the standard category
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MissFussyBerkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tobago
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

Ambiance was wonderful. Open space, high ceiling, amazing view of the pitons. Despite being right next to Ladera, the view was interrupted and was breath taking. Loved the idea of cuisine based around cocoa. Fell flat on delivery of food and service. The food looked really good on the plates but the flavours were disappointing. Service was too slow, no smiles, servers uninterested and seemed untrained. Got a chance to see one of their rooms/cottage which was beautiful. Would love visit again on one of my visits, but having to think of dining elsewhere may make the option not practical.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gourmetiger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tickhill, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

We chose this hotel having enjoyed Hotel Chocolat's chocolates for many years. We spent 5 days there to celebrate our 40th wedding anniversary. A delightful experience. All the staff are so welcoming and friendly; the rooms are large, well equipped and set in beautiful grounds; the cuisine is very special in using chocolate in most of its dishes - do not be put off as this does not mean everything is coated in chocolate sauce - quite the contrary - a subtle addition of chocolate nibs adds an interesting spicy flavour to dishes. For chocoholics it's paradise - for those with a more controlled enthusiasm, it's an exciting and enlightening experience. We did the "Tree to Bar" experience, exploring the chocolate making process from beginning to the end product which included grafting our own cocoa plant (which will be cultivated on the estate and which we will be able to see on our next trip !) and making our own bar - highly recommended. The estate grows its own fruit in addition to cocoa so the fruit platter at breakfast is the loveliest freshest most flavourful fruit I have ever eaten. Slightly out of the way, though daily there is a free shuttle bus to a nearby beach. The hotel has only 14 rooms which is a positive advantage in creating a small, friendly ambiance. They made our special event very special with lovely personal touches. Loved it !!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SteveP502
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Judy B, Head of Guest Relations at Boucan by Hotel Chocolat, responded to this review, March 4, 2013
So glad your special event was well celebrated with us. The breakfast fruit platter is my favourite too!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sussex
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013 via mobile

Have stayed in literally hundreds of hotels and this has to be far the best ever experience. Great service with and informal feel. Superb food with a chocolate twist. Luxe rooms are a real treat. By far better than the anonymous beach resorts

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Graham S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Judy B, Head of Guest Relations at Boucan by Hotel Chocolat, responded to this review, March 4, 2013
True praise indeed from a well seasoned luxury traveller. Heart-felt thanks that you appreciated our approach!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Soufriere
2.7 mi away
Jade Mountain Resort
Jade Mountain Resort
#1 of 12 in Soufriere
4.5 of 5 stars 815 reviews
0.8 mi away
Fond Doux Plantation & Resort
1.1 mi away
Ladera Resort
Ladera Resort
#2 of 12 in Soufriere
4.5 of 5 stars 1,120 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Sugar Beach, A Viceroy Resort
2.8 mi away
Anse Chastanet
Anse Chastanet
#6 of 12 in Soufriere
4.5 of 5 stars 1,038 reviews
6.5 mi away
Ti Kaye Resort & Spa
Ti Kaye Resort & Spa
#1 of 1 in Anse Cochon
4.5 of 5 stars 1,436 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Boucan by Hotel Chocolat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Boucan by Hotel Chocolat

Property: Boucan by Hotel Chocolat
Address: Rabot Estate | P.O. Box 312, Soufriere, St. Lucia
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > St. Lucia > Soufriere Quarter > Soufriere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Soufriere
#4 Luxury Hotel in Soufriere
#5 Family Hotel in Soufriere
#6 Romantic Hotel in Soufriere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Boucan by Hotel Chocolat 4.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover plantation chic - luxury, well-being & stunning natural beauty. Situated high in the hills near Soufriere, set in rainforest & cocoa groves with stunning views of the Piton mountains. A daily transfer is provided for guests to a stunning nearby beach by Hotel Sea Launch. Guests can enjoy trail walks around the cocoa estate, cacao inspired treatments in the spa, relaxation in Club Boucan with its private infinity pool & the exclusive cacao cuisine at Boucan Restaurant & Bar, free laundry service, room additions and Tree to Bean tour. Boucan by Hotel Chocolat offer 2 types of accommodation, both with 4 poster beds, preloaded iPods & docking stations, complimentary wireless, a mini-bar & open sky rainforest showers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Odigeo, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your Boucan by Hotel Chocolat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Boucan By Hotel Chocolat St. Lucia/Soufriere

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing