We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Boucan by Hotel Chocolat
Nearby Hotels
Fond Doux Plantation & Resort(Soufriere)(Great Value!)
$215
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Stonefield Villa Resort(Soufriere)(Great Value!)
$428
$415
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Anse Chastanet(Soufriere)(Great Value!)
$475
$398
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
$680
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$566
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hummingbird Beach Resort(Soufriere)(Great Value!)
$120
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$1,220
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Villa des Pitons(Soufriere)(Great Value!)
$120
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Leisure Inn(Soufriere)
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (532)
Filter reviews
532 results
Traveler rating
378
114
26
11
3
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
378
114
26
11
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbar experienceluxe lodgebar tourthe beancocoa nibspetit pitonrabot estateinfinity poolguest relations managerst luciasugar beachcocoa treeboutique hotelchocolate treatssunset cruisehotel's boatbeach shuttle
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
462 - 467 of 532 reviews
Reviewed October 15, 2012

This was the most amazing hotel and worth every penny. Everything about this hotel feels new, clean, and extremely high quality: the linens, bath products, furniture, and rooms. We stayed in a luxury pod and it was absolutely incredible. The bathroom alone is bigger than most NY apartments. The outdoor shower is awesome and the toiletries are generous and smell very good. They even provide an extremely high-powered, nice hair dryer.

I absolutely loved not having a TV. They provided an ipod in the room with 672 songs on it, which were awesome to put on random and listen to while we lounged in the chaise lounge chairs on the deck with drinks and our books, or watched the sunset. The views were absolutely breathtaking. Also, I had no problems with mosquitoes at all. The mosquito netting around the bed was very effective and easy to use.

The restaurant is ridiculously good as well. They give you bread with chocolate butter and a chocolate dipping sauce to start your meal. How can you not love that? The chocolate in the food is understated and high quality so you really don't get tired of it. And the breakfast is the best ever - high quality food and plentiful portions.

My only complaints are:
- the boat was out of service while we were there, and I really wanted to do one of the boat excursions.
- there were mistakes on our bills multiple times. After leaving dinner we had things on our bill that we did not order twice, and at checkout they had charged us for taking things from the mini bar that we did not take. However, after pointing out the mistakes they quickly fixed it. I would just make sure to review your bills.
- I understand it was rainy season while we were there, but it rained a lot, which, in the open floor plans of the lodges, made everything feel wet all the time. Also, the grounds are extremely slippery when wet - many of the stone walkways and the wooden steps leading up to the main restaurant/check in area become dangerously slippery when wet. Considering it is in a rain forest and often wet, this is a potentially dangerous combination.

Overally I absolutely loved this resort and would highly recommend it. It can get a bit expensive, but it's a perfect place to reconnect with your significant other.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank doubleheel16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Judy B, Head of Customer Relations at Boucan by Hotel Chocolat, responded to this reviewResponded November 5, 2012

What a lovely review, thank you! Please come back and see us again and we will ensure our boat is out of the boat yard.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2012

We stayed at Hotel Chocolat in St Lucia a few months ago and had the most amazing, relaxing time. It was the perfect retreat for a week in paradise away from London and we could not have asked for more.

We stayed in one of the new pods, which was just amazing, so comfortable and luxurious with such a big, comfy bed and lovely bathroom which had an outdoor shower.

All the staff are very helpful & smiley and nothing is too much trouble - they even brought buckets of fresh aloe vera when I overdid it in the sun one day!

We ate in Boucan most nights, the food was incredible as were the amazing breakfasts - gorgeous fresh fruit and bread.

I couldn't recommend this hotel more - we have been telling all our friends about it.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Virginia H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Judy B, Head of Guest Relations at Boucan by Hotel Chocolat, responded to this reviewResponded October 8, 2012

Thanks for the appreciation of the unique atmosphere at Boucan. So sorry the food didn't hit the spot for you but unsure which dish it was - we do a satay but it is with chicken! The yellowfin is with cacao pesto, which we always aim to serve 'just seared'.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2012

Small (14 rooms), chic & contemporary hotel that has benn finished to the highest standard. The build quality, fixture & fittings are beautifull with many lovely & funky finishing touches to the place, in the room complimentry bottle of rum punch, nuts and cholcolate in little kiln jars, Ren bathroom products, fluffy towels, lovely sheets, welcome coctail upon arrival. Restaurant/bar is open air, with an amazing view of the Pitons. Food was excellant and the presentation amazing, but I wonder if staying there for more than a couple of nights or so, if you would begin to tire of cocoa nibbs in all the food? Small but beautiful infinity pool downstairs which is very relaxing and again has the view of the Piton. Rooms are dotted around the small gardens/rain forest, and are wooden 'chalet' type buildings. Room was of a good size, but felt a little enclosed as they were quite dark, due to wooden shutters for windows, and hence no views. Large bathroom, but toilet was in the bathroom, and not separated off. Shower is an indoor/outdoor rain shower, but as open air, in the evenings with the lights on, attracted mosquitos. The same thing also, with the window shutters, as even if closed still plenty of gaps for the mozzies to get in, and gaps in the floorboards too for them...This was my only and biggest complaint, and was seriously worried i would get eaten to death by them, you have to sleep under a mosquito net, and as only a fan (no air con) it was very hot in the room, day or night. I like the idea of 'close to nature' and the sound of the frogs at night was lovely, but given that there will always be mosquitos in the Caribbean I found it quite strange they have gone down this route with so many access points for the little critters!
Also, skip going to Jalouise Plantation beach, they make you stay at the very far end on an unattractive bit of beach away from their guests, and make you feel like a 3rd class citizen! Do like we did and combine it as a 2 centre holiday, great for a couple of nights to explore the beautifull rain forest. Stunning views, lovely hotel and attentive staff.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 44travelguru44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Judy B, Guest Relations Manager at Boucan by Hotel Chocolat, responded to this reviewResponded September 4, 2012

Thanks for your lovely and very detailed review. You raise a few questions which we would like to reply to.
- Do guests become weary of our menu after a few days? Certainly doesn’t seem to be the case, helped by the fact that the cacao element is achieved subtly and differently with each of our dishes
- Mosquitos? They are in the tropics and the best way to ensure a good night’s sleep is with a good mosquito net around your bed. Ours are custom made and engineered in obsessive detail to fit around our large 4 poster beds.
- Beach? We have our hotel powerboat and recommend this as the best way of experiencing the amazing seascapes around us, visiting secluded local beaches, looking for dolphins and enjoying the offshore breezes.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2012

Now, we didn't stay here, but we came to do the 'tree to bar' experience. Basically you have a tour of some of the cocoa plantation and the nursery, then actually make a bar of chocolate with your own hands :-). Tour guide excellent, fascinating experience, making chocolate fun, views of Pitons to die for. Not busy as its low season. They allowed us to use pool. We had breakfast and lunch either side of the tour and OMG wow. Very good food, all with a cocoa twist :-)

The hotel itself looks awesome too. Only opened 18m ago.

They seem to invest a lot in the community too

Must go see

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Marmafluke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Judy B, Guest Relations Manager at Boucan by Hotel Chocolat, responded to this reviewResponded September 4, 2012

The ‘Tree to Bar’ is our signature experience, taking you from cocoa groves to cocoa beans to making your own chocolate, with lunch in between. It is very popular so best book ahead.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2012

We went on the two chocolate tours tree to bean and bean to bar. My wife, and two children aged 3 and 7 took part. They are all fans of the brand in the uk and the thought of local tasting was appealing.
The tree to bean was conducted by Cuthbert who has so much passion and is a credit to the organisation. We planted a plant and can come back and see it growing in the future. The children were kept interested. The cost for both tours is $65 us for adults, children under three free and other children half price.
We made a bar of chocolate in the second part of the tour which was education and fun. Well worh a visit. The restaurant looked very clean and appealing and has a lovely view, It is very relaxing. Look forward to revisiting in the future. My wife said it was the best tour should had been on and that was a credit to Cuthbert.
We wish you continued success.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank JOHN1747
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Judy B, Guest Relations Manager at Boucan by Hotel Chocolat, responded to this reviewResponded August 2, 2012

Cuthbert was very pleased with your lovely feedback about our Tree to Bar Experience. The agricultural side of growing cocoa is fascinating, especially when we can link all the stages ending with your own bar of single estate chocolate. Glad you and your children enjoyed it.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews