We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Boucan by Hotel Chocolat
Nearby Hotels
Anse Chastanet(Soufriere)(Great Value!)
$390
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
Stonefield Villa Resort(Soufriere)(Great Value!)
$312
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Fond Doux Plantation & Resort(Soufriere)(Great Value!)
$275
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Leisure Inn(Soufriere)(Great Value!)
$85
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$800
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hummingbird Beach Resort(Soufriere)(Great Value!)
$200
$150
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$1,035
$776
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$1,110
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Villa des Pitons(Soufriere)(Great Value!)
$99
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (535)
Filter reviews
535 results
Traveler rating
381
114
26
11
3
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
381
114
26
11
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbar experienceluxe lodgebar tourthe beancocoa nibspetit pitonrabot estateinfinity poolguest relations managerst luciasugar beachcocoa treeboutique hotelchocolate treatssunset cruisehotel's boatbeach shuttle
Filter
Updating list...
476 - 481 of 535 reviews
Reviewed April 28, 2012

Just back from a week staying at Hotel Chocolat and would wholeheartedly recommend it. Possibly the most relaxing week of our lives, the quality of the accommodation, the food and the service was oustanding.
We upgraded to a Luxe pod which was well worth it. They're extremely spacious with great views - very comfortable bed and the most fantastic open air shower. The balcony was a lovely spot for a pre-dinner drink. The semi-outdoor design takes a little getting used to - the wildlife is noisy and you will inevitably get a few uninvited guests - but that's part of the charm.
The infinity pool is sublime with great views of the Pitons. The hotel was very quiet while we were staying meaning that most days we had it to ourselves, although the restaurant was much busier with guests from other hotels.
The food is outstanding. We had a slight concern the inclusion of cacao in every dish might be a bit of a gimmck but the food was very good and some of the dishes outstanding. Breakfast is included and very good, with lots of fantastic local fresh fruit. Service was always very willing and enthusiastic, although sometimes got a touch chaotic when the restaurant was busy. Wine and cocktails are expensive and if you're signing bills for your room make sure there are no errors.
We took part in several of the experiences. Definitely go out on the boat Boucaneer, which is great fun with a super crew. The tree to bean tour which gives you an insight into how Hotel Chocolat sources its chocolate is also fascinating. We wouldn't bother with the Soufriere Experience tour - if you want to visit the Sulphur Springs you can walk there - while the Gros Piton hike is very challenging and only for the very fit. The major drawback of the site is its nowhere near the beach, but there's a free shuttle to the Jalousie beach which takes about 15 mins and is well worth spending time on, it's a lovely beach and if you subtly give the staff $20 they'll let you have one of the most comfortable sunbeds you'll ever sit on.
The nicest thing about the Hotel is all the little touches which you just wouldn't get at the sort of large resort-style hotels which abound in St Lucia. You're treated as real people, and things like a free massage (which was amazing), a phone call the day before we arrived to see if we had any questions, and free chocolate in the room every day really make a difference. It's not cheap but I've come back to a marketing email from HC saying they've cut their room rates by 30% - not great if you've already booked but another good reason to go if you haven't!

Room Tip: Spend the extra for a Luxe pod - they're well worth it
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank NushNushandBooBoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Judy B, Guest Relations Manager at Boucan by Hotel Chocolat, responded to this reviewResponded April 30, 2012

Thanks for your detailed review and glad you had a lovely time. Thanks also for specially mentioning 'Boucaneer' our hotel speedboat and the crew.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 27, 2012

We had never heard of Hotel Chocolat until we read reviews on Trip Advisor. It was an amazing experience. We stayed in a 450 sq. foot lodge and it was lovely. The view of the Petit Piton was spectacular & we are still talking about the food at Boucan. The staff was wonderful. We did the climb up Gros Piton, which was AMAZING! The chocolate tour/making chocolate is very cool! The only thing I would suggest, is that they do not have food to snack on during non-dining hours.

Room Tip: Luxe rooms have better views.
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BrandiM994
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Judy B, Public Relations Manager at Boucan by Hotel Chocolat, responded to this reviewResponded April 30, 2012

Delighted your enjoyed your stay with us so much and congratulations on your successful ascent of Gros Piton.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2012

Arrived back in England today, having spent a week in Luxe Pod 7, which had amazing views of the pitons. And what a fantastic week.
Transfer from the airport took about 45minutes.
Luxe pods are superb, and definitely worth the extra cash over the regular pods. Room was huge, with a balcony larger than some hotel rooms, and a shower which would have held six if that's your idea of a holiday! Bed was large and very comfortable, and all the fittings have been very stylishly done. The hotel is in a rainforest region though, and unsurprisingly there were tree frogs and insects making noises all night, but please don't complain about this, as its blatantly obvious this will be the case. The only true road around the island, was, however, a little closer and noisier than we had expected. But again, nothing to spoil the holiday.
We had breakfast and dinner every day at the hotel. We had initially expected to go elsewhere to eat, at least one evening. However, the food in the restaurant was absolutely superb - beautifully cooked and presented, and very good value too, considering where we were. The food does have a cocoa influence, but was not 'everything chocolate' - and indeed, those who like their chocolate dark and strong, may find some of the desserts a little 'milky' for their liking.
All the staff at the hotel were fabulous. Just the right amount of friendliness, and attentiveness, without making themselves just 'too much', which can happen in some hotels.
Judy and Phil - who run the Rabot Estate - were wonderful, and literally invited us in to their home for a cup of tea and a chat!
Thomas, a guide, took us on a couple of walks around the estate, sharing with us his excellent knowledge of the plants, and the island in general. Not to mention showing us some absolutely amazing views. We also went on a trip to the botanical gardens, and the 'Tet Paul trail' - which doesn't get mentioned much, but was brilliant, with views literally 360° around the area, including down on to Petit Piton. We also walked to the sulphur springs - a nice 20 minute walk away.
Best of all, though, was grafting our own cocoa tree seedling, and making our own chocolate from cocoa nibs, with the hotel's own 'bean to bar' experience.
The rest of the time was spent sitting by the fabulous pool, with it's amazing Piton backdrop.
Apparently there are not only plans for a chocolate factory - bringing much needed money into the local population, but also for a further hotel, elsewhere on the estate in the future. We are already using these as an excuse to plan a return visit in the future.
This is a very unique and special hotel, made extra special by the passion and care of all those involved in it.

Room Tip: Go for a Luxe pod - they all have fabulous views.
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Spenceleys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Judy B, Guest Relations Manager at Boucan by Hotel Chocolat, responded to this reviewResponded April 13, 2012

Thanks so much for your kind and detailed review which will be very useful for prospective guests.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2012

We wish it could have been longer. Wonderful location over looking the Petit Piton, fabulous meals and such caring staff. We were impressed by the ethical way the company works by employing so many local staff who were excellently trained. Also that the planation is organic. If you looking for the usual type hotel this is not for you, we loved the small size and the individual attention. The lux pods were very comfortable with fan, four poster bed with a well fitted mosquito net, and they thoughtfully provided mosquito repellent and ear-plugs to help sleep as sometimes the wildlife was noisy, (it was also noisy when we stayed at Marigot Bay). I didn't get bitten here which is unusual for me. Though now I appreciate why God made mosquitoes, to pollenate the cocoa trees. The tree to chocolate bar tour is great fun. We also enjoyed the walk up the mountain with Thomas and the sunset cruse with cocktails and food served by Edward. Snorkling at beach was good, though be prepared to pay for the sun beds and don't touch the rocks when snorkling because of coral fire which looks like seaweed. The best way to travel is by boat as the roads are very windy.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Cherry2548
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Judy B, Guest Relations Manager at Boucan by Hotel Chocolat, responded to this reviewResponded April 13, 2012

Thanks for the comments about our training and development.

We are striving to reach a more evolved level of service which is discrete and intuitive and less intrusive and robotic. Your comments will certainly help us on our way!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 23, 2012

Hotel Chocolat is great! We staid in a luxe pod. The food was amazing. Creative cocktails. Best wine list in all of st. lucia. Room modern but still works with nature (amazing partial indoor outdoor shower). I loved our balcony and view of the pitons. Do the chocolate plantation tour. You get to graft your own coca tree!

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Miranda32185
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Judy B, Guest Relations Manager at Boucan by Hotel Chocolat, responded to this reviewResponded March 27, 2012

Thanks for your review and delighted you appreciated the balance we a trying to achieve between nature and responsible luxury.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews