We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“PARADISE” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bamboo Restaurant

Bamboo Restaurant
Ranked #7 of 33 Restaurants in Soufriere
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $3 - $35
Cuisines: Seafood, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Families with children, Romantic, Special occasions, Large groups, Local cuisine, Kids
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Breakfast, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Buffet, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Validated Parking, Waitstaff
Description: The Bamboo Restaurant at Fond Doux Plantation & Resort in St. Lucia offers up sumptuous Caribbean and international cuisine in beautiful, tropical environs. The restaurant offers a la carte lunch and dinner dining. Set amidst the lush gardens of the resort, diners can enjoy the truly magical ambiance of a tropical setting.
ALBERTA, CANADA
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“PARADISE”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 2, 2011

We were searching for something different and this restaurant exceeded our expectations. Ideally situated within a plantation of lush green foliage, flowers and fruit trees, the ambience is simply breathtaking and serene. Feasting on local juices and cocktails-the fruits, we were told were all from the estate; and a sumptuous dinner completed our evening. Many thanks to the restaurant and kitchen staff who treated us like queens. To the owners,please keep this restaurant and plantation simply nature filled always.

  • Visited January 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank diamond66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fonddoux, Owner at Bamboo Restaurant, responded to this review, March 24, 2011
Thank you for your review and you will be glad to hear we have no plans to change our vision of an eco-friendly and sustainable Holiday Plantation. The local fruits are harvested daily by our plantation workers and they do make the most wonderful soft fruit drinks but they also make a fantastic Daiquiri! We hope to see you again.
Best Regards,

Eroline & Lyton Lamontagne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

230 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    134
    60
    29
    2
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Slovak first
  • Any
English first
Silver Spring, Maryland
2 reviews
“A true get away from the ordinary expectations”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 2, 2011

Dinner at Jardin Cacao made my Christmas; it was a total get away from your usual restaurant setting engulfed in greenry and bamboo decor. Food was great the setting was cozy; loved the ambience.

I cant forget the ladies at the restaurant their smiles added to the holiday cheer, thanks guys, I am definitely coming back on my visit later in the year.

I loved that dasheen, I think thats what you called it.

I think my next trip I will also make use of your cottages, with you guys been so close to so many good dive sites, no point staying in the north. Thanks again Fond Doux & Jardin Cacao.

  • Visited December 2010
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Greg777_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fonddoux, Owner at Bamboo Restaurant, responded to this review, March 24, 2011
We do appreciate the time taken to write a review and thank you for your comments. We would be glad to accommodate you in one of our ten cottages. We will pass on your thanks to our staff, as always, and we hope to see you later in the year.
Best Regards,

Eroline & Lyton Lamontagne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Lucia
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best restaurant on the island”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 29, 2011

My Husband and i visited St Lucia and we stayed at Mago Hotel for one week. We visited the Fond Doux Holiday Plantation and dined at the Jardin Cocoa Restaurant for three nights. The food there was authentic, caribbean flavored and delectable. The presentation was above par and the staff there was super friendly and the service was of high standard. We regret that we had not stumbled on this restaurant earlier on during our stay as we would have dined throughout the entire week.

  • Visited September 2010
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Raven2806
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mission, Canada
Level Contributor
128 reviews
89 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“8 days of cullinary homicide”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 25, 2011

We stayed at the the Hotel that this "Restaurant" is attached to and had the misfortune of buying the all-inclucive option.
An example of the "cooking" ordered steak on a number of occations, they went to the freezer took it out throught on the grill, when delivered burned on both sides. This is a typicle experiance.
We stayed over New Years, Bev and Willma said the place would be hopping with people from other resorts, party would go on till early hours is what they said.
iIf we had known what the truth would be we would have gone to the Humming bird or another place.

  • Visited December 2010
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank tripbugbc1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami Beach
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Terrible Jardin de Cacao Restaurant”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 21, 2010

Fond Doux Estate is very lush and exotic. The grounds are gorgeous. Unfortunately, the restaurant is terrible! We were seated for dinner only to find out that the kitchen had "run out" of several appetizers, including salads. I ordered the akkra (salted cod) only to find out, one hour later, as our entrees were being served that they had run out of that also. For my entree, I selected shrimp primavera. I received chicken over penne pasta and Stroganoff sauce. My husband ordered coconut shrimp, which also came topped with Stroganoff sauce. We did not order desert. The bill was quite inexpensive around US$50 for both of us, but in the end you get what you pay for. Service was slow, food was terrible, and there were ants on the table. Eat anywhere but here.

    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GabbyMB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bamboo Restaurant also viewed

Soufriere, Soufriere Quarter
Soufriere, Soufriere Quarter
 
Soufriere, Soufriere Quarter
Soufriere, Soufriere Quarter
 

Been to Bamboo Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing