We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice quiet and relaxing dinner”
Review of Bamboo Restaurant

Bamboo Restaurant
Ranked #7 of 34 Restaurants in Soufriere
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $3 - $35
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: The Bamboo Restaurant at Fond Doux Plantation & Resort in St. Lucia offers up sumptuous Caribbean and international cuisine in beautiful, tropical environs. The restaurant offers a la carte lunch and dinner dining. Set amidst the lush gardens of the resort, diners can enjoy the truly magical ambiance of a tropical setting.
El Sobrante, California
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Nice quiet and relaxing dinner”
Reviewed July 25, 2014 via mobile

We stayed at Fond Doux during our trip and enjoyed both a dinner and lunch here. The location is beautiful and the food was good. The prices were reasonable compared to other restaurants in the area.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Linhelsobrante
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fonddoux, Owner at Bamboo Restaurant, responded to this review, August 4, 2014
THANK YOU FOR REVIEW!

Dear LinhelSobrante,

Thank you for your review. It was a pleasure hosting you at our resort.

We are thrilled to learn you enjoyed both dinner and lunch with us. We do have an excellent culinary team who works very assiduously to create great dining experiences for our guests.

Thank you for your support and for choosing Fond Doux Holiday Plantation to celebrate your special occasion. We look forward to welcoming you back to very soon.

Best Regards,
Eroline and Lyton Lamontagne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

243 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    144
    61
    31
    2
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Slovak first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“I can't wait to go back”
Reviewed July 11, 2014 via mobile

This place was so beautiful and peaceful. I loved it there. The staff were awesome and friendly the atmosphere was breathtaking. The food was great the hiking trail was a lot if fun.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Ann A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fonddoux, Owner at Bamboo Restaurant, responded to this review, August 4, 2014
THANK YOU FOR REVIEW!

Dear Ann,

Thank you for your review and for your wonderful comments about our resort, employees and cuisine.

Our team works diligently to ensure that the resort always looks beautiful and that all our guests, whether in-house or visitors feels welcomed and comfortable.

Our team members are highly trained professionals, who aim to consistently deliver excellent service. We will be sure to pass on your wonderful compliments to them.

On behalf of the entire team, we look forward to welcoming you back to our plantation paradise.

Best Regards,
Eroline and Lyton Lamontagne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great for a Weeks Stay”
Reviewed June 27, 2014

We stayed at the Fond Doux Plantation for a week and this restaurant was very good. We had several dinners planed at other places around the island, but this restaurant was just as good as most of the others we went to and it was far less expensive. There aren't a lot of cocktail choices, but they are good. And again, for the price, this place is great.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ben M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fonddoux, Owner at Bamboo Restaurant, responded to this review, July 3, 2014
THANK YOU FOR THE GREAT REVIEW!!

Dear Ben M,

We are happy that you had the opportunity to stay at our hotel and that you were pleased with our facilities, accommodation and amenities.

Our culinary team works very hard to create great dining experiences for our guests and we are delighted to read that you were indeed satisfied with our food and beverage offerings.

Once again thank you for your valuable comments and we look forward to welcoming you back.

Best Regards,

Eroline and Lyton Lamontagne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Perfect Last Dinner in St. Lucia!”
Reviewed June 25, 2014

When the locals tell you it's a good place to eat...it's a good place to eat.

Ribs, Chicken Cordon Bleu, Mango-Tomato Salad, Pumpkin Soup, Kebabs, and fresh bread. We also had frozen chocolate-y drinks for dessert. The ambiance was like a beautiful island escape in the middle of the forest- very romantic! Out of all the resorts we encountered on our stay (Anse Chastanet, Sugar Beach, Stonefield, Ladera), this was also our favorite and I would highly recommend a visit here- aside from the food. It's a working farm, locally sourced food, and it's also way undervalued. We also walked to the resort and had previously arranged for them to have a driver bring us back to our villa in Rabot Estate- they were incredibly helpful and accommodating.

The service was also some of the warmest we encountered on the island! I think we need a repeat visit!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank lizawright
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fonddoux, Manager at Bamboo Restaurant, responded to this review, July 4, 2014
THANK YOU FOR YOUR REVIEW!!

Dear Lizawright,

Thank you for your encouraging and wonderful feedback.

We are happy to read that the recommendations from the locals proved to be quite right and that you had a wonderful dining experience.

The Jardin Cacao Restaurant has a unique location , as it spans across a small stream in the heart of the plantation. It is crafted from local bamboo and tropical hardwoods with an open air layout and blends in perfectly with the tropical rainforest setting. Diners can enjoy tropical breezes and appreciate the truly undisturbed romantic ambiance . The freshest organic fruits and vegetables are harvested daily from the gardens to create local Creole masterpieces and our guests have been raving about the “plantation to plate concept”.

We are delighted to read that compared to all the other hotels/restaurants which you have visited in the area, our resort was indeed your favorite and that you would highly recommend it to persons who maybe be considering a visit.

We strive to ensure that we provide the best possible service to our guests and it is heartwarming to read that you found the team to be incredibly helpful, accommodating and the warmest service on the island.

Thank you for your support and we do look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to St. Lucia.

Best Regards,
Eroline and Lyton Lamontagne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Lucia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fall in love again...dinner for two”
Reviewed June 8, 2014

The food here is exquisite, simple local food with a touch of elegance, the best wines and mouth watering deserts...it was like experiencing our 1st date again...the ambiance made us fall in love all over again...thx Fond Doux

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Lulu F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fonddoux, Manager at Bamboo Restaurant, responded to this review, July 2, 2014
"Thank you for this lovely review”

Hello Lulu,

Thank you for your wonderful feedback following your recent dining experience at our Jardin Cacao Restaurant.

Comments like yours make us feel very proud of the service and product that we offer to our guests. We are happy to learn that we created a wonderful dining experience for you and that you enjoyed our delicious cuisine, romantic and cozy ambience and that you were able to rekindle your love with your significant other.

Thank you once again for your business and feedback. We look forward to serving you again.

Best Regards,
Eroline/Lyton Lamontagne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bamboo Restaurant also viewed

Soufriere, Soufriere Quarter
Soufriere, Soufriere Quarter
 

Been to Bamboo Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing