We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Awesome Views”
Review of La Haut Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
La Haut Resort
Ranked #1 of 8 Soufriere B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Bedfordshire
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Awesome Views”
Reviewed July 13, 2010

This small hotel is out of the way of the not too appealing Soufriere town and wow what a view from the Premium Vista rooms. The Pitons, the town and the carribean sea!! The room was very large and clean, reasonably well equipped, it did lack phone link to the reception which I feel would have just improved things a tiny bit.
The staff are helpfull and always courteous.
A concrete jungle with non stop parties it is not, but if you are looking for peace and charm this is the place to go. Mangoes eaten off the tree outside your door!! Amazing.
Food was limited but tasty and well served in a restraunt with views accross to the Volcano.
A car may be necesary if you are very independent and able to deal with the extremely twisty , steep and rough roads, but we used the service offered by Christophers taxi's and were extremely happy with this.
The hotel can organise trips and excursions for you which we did take advantage of.
In all this is the holiday we wanted and the hotel and staff delivered.
Thanks to all at La Haut.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GAPBedfordshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

440 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    259
    129
    31
    14
    7
See reviews for
56
267
21
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (128)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Montreal
1 review
Reviewed July 4, 2010

I recently stayed at this hotel in Soufriere just to get away from Castries.

This was an excellent choice, a small property with a very personalized setting and friendly staff.

The surroundings were clean and well kept with a breathtaking view of the ocean and the majestic pitons.

The rooms were clean and spacious with a very comfortable bed. I slept like a baby in the cool mountain breeze at night.

The food was delicious especially the fish and cutty.

I would most definately recommend this hotel to anyone who really wants to get away from it all and just relax and enjoy a peaceful moment with friends or family. Overall a great stay! :-)

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Zefton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Castries, St. Lucia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 2, 2010

Stayed at this Resort recently for a weekend getaway and had the most enjoyable time. The food is fantastic and the staff is very friendly and accommodating.

We had enough time to relax as the property offer you a very relaxing atmosphere, with a lovely pool.

I would recommend this hotel for a place to relax and enjoy fine moments with love ones.

I certainly look forward to my next vacation at La Haut.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank eanry_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Castries, St. Lucia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 11, 2010

We chose this location for our wedding based on a previous visit in 2009. The wedding coordinator was very helpful and accomodating and was able to create the perfect setting for our outdoor wedding which actually exceeded my expectations.
Although the ceremony started an hour late due to light rain showers, we were rewarded with beautiful rainbows which lasted the duration of the ceremony. It was perfect! I walked down an aisle of multicoloured Bougainvillea petals. We took photos on the lawn area and the owners' residence which had breathtaking views of the Pitons.
The dining area was decorated with lovely tropical flowers and the tables were decorated with bougainvillea petals and candles, the head table had additional decorative stones and orchids on the bride's and groom's glasses. The cake was a lovely one tier chocolate cake with white icing decorated with natural orchids.
We had approximately 40 guests and we were comfortably seated in the 3rd deck/balcony.
The food was delicious! We had a buffet menu of green tossed salad, fettuccini alfredo, fried rice, croquettes, red beans, grilled mahi mahi and chicken scallopini. I even had seconds! The chocolate fudge cake with icecream dessert was a perfect end to a scrumptious meal.
The honeymoon room was out of this world! Flowers greeted us at the door and petals lined a path to the king sized bed which was laid out with even more colourful petals and glass stones spelling out "best wishes". At the bedside table was a bottle of wine in ice, the stems of the glasses were decorated with orchids, even the lamps too were decorated with flowers. The room was awesome!! The balcony opened out to a breathtaking view of the pitons.
La Haut totally exceeded my expectations, our guests were very satisfied with the service and we are still getting compliments about the wedding!
What an awesome way to start a life together. Thank You La Haut!!

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Happy_brideJoseph
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
McKinney, Texas
Level Contributor
1 review
Reviewed June 8, 2010

We stayed at La Haut Plantation for our honeymoon at the end of May 2010. We booked their Honeymoon Package and stayed in Cashew 3.
The view from our room was breathtaking! The staff, from Christopher, the cab driver who picked us up at the airport, to the office staff, Glenda, Cindy, etc. to the restaurant staff and housekeeping, to Dennis the shuttle driver were all wonderful! They treated us like family!
We were not looking for a packed resort full of party-goers and lacking personality. We wanted a small, authentic and friendly experience. And La Haut offers that!
Were there bugs in the room? Yeah, sometimes. But what do you expect when you are on a tropical island with open air rooms? We slept with our double patio doors wide open to let in the ocean breeze and used the mosquito net to protect us! One night, when I ran out of bug spray, one of the girls in the office even loaned me her special "St. Lucian" bug repellant (it's basically Vaseline with Citronella and it works like a charm - you can get it at the local grocery store there).
Was the service slow in the restaurant? Not once. BUT - do keep in mind that "Island Time" is very different from American time! Relax, enjoy the scenery, and have fun! The food was wonderful - Mango, Passion Fruit or Tamarind Juice fresh squeezed for breakfast. Fish and local specialties for dinner. And if you can't be there for breakfast because of an early excursion, they'll even pack you a lunch. We met the chef, and La Haut has the BEST PUMPKIN SOUP IN SOUFRIERE! (Believe me, I tried it at every restaurant!)
The staff was also extremely helpful in booking our tours and our transportation. They even made special arrangements for us to do a tour on a day that it was not usually offered.
Our package included the Soufriere Tour - Sulphur Spring, Diamond Falls & Mineral Baths, and Botanical Garden. We also went on the Tree Top Adventure Zip Line Tour in Dennery, went Deep Sea Fishing and to the market in Castries, and went to the beach at Anse Chastenet for snorkeling and scuba diving, and the beach at Jalousie for swimming, more snoreling and lunch,a couples massage on our deck overlooking the ocean, Soufriere and the Pitons, and on a sunset cruise. I would highly recommend all of these! The only thing we didn't get to do was go to the Fish Fry at Anse La Raye.
The grounds are gorgeous with fresh fruit trees growing everywhere. And even the people who do the grounds work were friendly - they even used a machete to open up a coconut for us!
The infinity pool at the Plantation owners home is unbelievable, and the owners are so friendly. She even came out to talk to us and took some photos for us!
Bottom line: we will go back, probably for our 1 year anniversary. If you want a real experience and you don't want a million people around and you like it when people know your name...stay at La Haut!
Thanks a milion for helping us start our marriage in paradise!!!!

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JABailey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 11, 2010

Do NOT stay at this hotel. I would never stay at La Haut ever again. The hotel is really rundown and cockroaches appeared in my bedroom each of the 5 nights I was there. When I complained the only thing they did to correct the problem was hand me a can of bug spray and say it was normal. The service at breakfast was horrible – rude attitudes from the servers when they were asked for even the littlest thing like an additional glass of ice water. Their website is misleading – yes there are 2 pools but one of them (the infinity pool) is the owner’s personal pool and located about a half mile away and can only be used by hotel guests during the week days from 8am – 4pm with permission of the hotel staff. No effort was made by anyone on the hotel staff to alleviate our frustrations with an offer of a discounted rate or additional amenities. I was very disappointed. Not even the breathtaking views could entice me to stay at La Haut again.

My suggestion is avoid La Haut altogether and have a really splendid stay at Inn on the Bay with courteous hosts, a delicious breakfast, and another beautiful view about 30 minutes to the North in Marigot Bay. Hope this helps!

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jnh2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lahaut_Plantation, Manager at La Haut Resort, responded to this review, June 14, 2010
We wish to apologize profoundly for the inconvenience during your stay.

Due to the intense change in climate, from severe drought to rain, we were faced with the increase in mosquitoes and insects. Rest assured that we have taken and continue to take extreme measures in treating our rooms and surroundings to control these insects. We have also addressed our staff issues and continue to strive to provide that true island authentic experience.

We appreciate guests feedback as it assists us in identifying guests' needs and areas to improve on to provide maximum guest satisfaction.

Regards, Shanna Whitfield - Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
2 reviews
Reviewed April 7, 2010

We have just had a 9 day honeymoon at La Haut and thoroughly recommend it. La Haut is a homely, friendly resort with breathtaking views of the Pitons, Soufriere town and the sea from the restaurant terrace and from the accommodation. The rooms are very spacious, well-maintained and the maid service is excellent. The staff were always very helpful and provided delicious food, even arranging a special menu for my vegan diet. The best thing about the service was that it was not only professional but also very personable and we enjoyed getting to know several members of staff during our stay. Cindy, Kim and Glenda at the reception desk deserve a special mention as do Sheena, Josephine, Sharleen and Hannah in the restaurant. Tiffany and Sophie kept our room immaculate throughout our stay and the drivers, Dennis,Christopher and Bernard provided very efficient and friendly service. We recommend this great resort/guest house to anyone who wishes to enjoy a real caribbean holiday rather than staying in a characterless resort. Full marks!!

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank valeriaSW17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaHautResort, public relations manager at La Haut Resort, responded to this review, April 10, 2010
Thanks so much for such a personalized review! This means a lot to us and the staff at La Haut Resort. Congrats again on your wedding & honelymoon. We wish you a lifetime of wedding bliss! :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Soufriere hotels
1.5 mi away
Jade Mountain Resort
Jade Mountain Resort
#1 of 11 in Soufriere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 919 reviews
1.6 mi away
Anse Chastanet
Anse Chastanet
#5 of 11 in Soufriere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,139 reviews
2.1 mi away
Ladera Resort
Ladera Resort
#2 of 11 in Soufriere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,238 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Stonefield Estate Resort
Stonefield Estate Resort
#8 of 11 in Soufriere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 710 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hummingbird Beach Resort
Hummingbird Beach Resort
#9 of 11 in Soufriere
4.0 of 5 bubbles 265 reviews
2.5 mi away
Sugar Beach, A Viceroy Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Haut Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Haut Resort

Property: La Haut Resort
Address: PO Box 304 West Coast Road, Soufriere, St. Lucia
Location: Caribbean > St. Lucia > Soufriere Quarter > Soufriere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Soufriere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — La Haut Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Haut or Le Haut literally means "the height" in Patois, a French dialect that is commonly spoken by St. Lucians. La Haut sits on a hill overlooking Soufriere, one of the oldest towns in St Lucia.Part of a 52-acre former coconut and cocoa estate, the main Guest House possesses a unique history. Nearly 100 years old, the main guesthouse was originally a cocoa house used for fermenting and drying cocoa beans hand-picked on the estate. In 1995, the building was converted and refurbished into a 6-room guesthouse. The nearby cottage was a former copra house where coconuts were once processed.Although the rich aroma of cocoa beans no longer wafts through the air, at La Haut you can enjoy the perfume-scented, tropical fauna or the salty breeze that blows off the Caribbean Sea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and Cheap Tickets so you can book your La Haut Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Haut Plantation Hotel
La Haut Resort St. Lucia/Soufriere

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing