We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Stonefield Villa Resort(Soufriere)(Great Value!)
$312
$303
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Fond Doux Plantation & Resort(Soufriere)(Great Value!)
$275
$138
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 13% below average rates

The price you found is 13% lower than this hotel's average rate of $158/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Ladera Resort(Soufriere)
$354
$320
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 19% below average rates

The price you found is 19% lower than this hotel's average rate of $396/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$435
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hummingbird Beach Resort(Soufriere)(Great Value!)
$132
$120
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Boucan by Hotel Chocolat(Soufriere)(Great Value!)
$278
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$133
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Jade Mountain Resort(Soufriere)
$1,567
$1,110
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Anse Chastanet(Soufriere)(Great Value!)
onlySaintLucia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
Reviews (479)
Filter reviews
479 results
Traveler rating
276
143
37
15
8
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
276
143
37
15
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscashew roomsowner's houseinfinity poolsuperior deluxe roomst luciamain buildingworking plantationstunning viewssoufriere arearental carfresh fruitanse chastanet beachmain poolmosquito netmangoplantation houseceiling fan
Filter
Updating list...
370 - 375 of 479 reviews
Reviewed July 4, 2010

I recently stayed at this hotel in Soufriere just to get away from Castries.

This was an excellent choice, a small property with a very personalized setting and friendly staff.

The surroundings were clean and well kept with a breathtaking view of the ocean and the majestic pitons.

The rooms were clean and spacious with a very comfortable bed. I slept like a baby in the cool mountain breeze at night.

The food was delicious especially the fish and cutty.

I would most definately recommend this hotel to anyone who really wants to get away from it all and just relax and enjoy a peaceful moment with friends or family. Overall a great stay! :-)

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Zefton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2010

Stayed at this Resort recently for a weekend getaway and had the most enjoyable time. The food is fantastic and the staff is very friendly and accommodating.

We had enough time to relax as the property offer you a very relaxing atmosphere, with a lovely pool.

I would recommend this hotel for a place to relax and enjoy fine moments with love ones.

I certainly look forward to my next vacation at La Haut.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank eanry_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2010

We chose this location for our wedding based on a previous visit in 2009. The wedding coordinator was very helpful and accomodating and was able to create the perfect setting for our outdoor wedding which actually exceeded my expectations.
Although the ceremony started an hour late due to light rain showers, we were rewarded with beautiful rainbows which lasted the duration of the ceremony. It was perfect! I walked down an aisle of multicoloured Bougainvillea petals. We took photos on the lawn area and the owners' residence which had breathtaking views of the Pitons.
The dining area was decorated with lovely tropical flowers and the tables were decorated with bougainvillea petals and candles, the head table had additional decorative stones and orchids on the bride's and groom's glasses. The cake was a lovely one tier chocolate cake with white icing decorated with natural orchids.
We had approximately 40 guests and we were comfortably seated in the 3rd deck/balcony.
The food was delicious! We had a buffet menu of green tossed salad, fettuccini alfredo, fried rice, croquettes, red beans, grilled mahi mahi and chicken scallopini. I even had seconds! The chocolate fudge cake with icecream dessert was a perfect end to a scrumptious meal.
The honeymoon room was out of this world! Flowers greeted us at the door and petals lined a path to the king sized bed which was laid out with even more colourful petals and glass stones spelling out "best wishes". At the bedside table was a bottle of wine in ice, the stems of the glasses were decorated with orchids, even the lamps too were decorated with flowers. The room was awesome!! The balcony opened out to a breathtaking view of the pitons.
La Haut totally exceeded my expectations, our guests were very satisfied with the service and we are still getting compliments about the wedding!
What an awesome way to start a life together. Thank You La Haut!!

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Happy_brideJoseph
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2010

We stayed at La Haut Plantation for our honeymoon at the end of May 2010. We booked their Honeymoon Package and stayed in Cashew 3.
The view from our room was breathtaking! The staff, from Christopher, the cab driver who picked us up at the airport, to the office staff, Glenda, Cindy, etc. to the restaurant staff and housekeeping, to Dennis the shuttle driver were all wonderful! They treated us like family!
We were not looking for a packed resort full of party-goers and lacking personality. We wanted a small, authentic and friendly experience. And La Haut offers that!
Were there bugs in the room? Yeah, sometimes. But what do you expect when you are on a tropical island with open air rooms? We slept with our double patio doors wide open to let in the ocean breeze and used the mosquito net to protect us! One night, when I ran out of bug spray, one of the girls in the office even loaned me her special "St. Lucian" bug repellant (it's basically Vaseline with Citronella and it works like a charm - you can get it at the local grocery store there).
Was the service slow in the restaurant? Not once. BUT - do keep in mind that "Island Time" is very different from American time! Relax, enjoy the scenery, and have fun! The food was wonderful - Mango, Passion Fruit or Tamarind Juice fresh squeezed for breakfast. Fish and local specialties for dinner. And if you can't be there for breakfast because of an early excursion, they'll even pack you a lunch. We met the chef, and La Haut has the BEST PUMPKIN SOUP IN SOUFRIERE! (Believe me, I tried it at every restaurant!)
The staff was also extremely helpful in booking our tours and our transportation. They even made special arrangements for us to do a tour on a day that it was not usually offered.
Our package included the Soufriere Tour - Sulphur Spring, Diamond Falls & Mineral Baths, and Botanical Garden. We also went on the Tree Top Adventure Zip Line Tour in Dennery, went Deep Sea Fishing and to the market in Castries, and went to the beach at Anse Chastenet for snorkeling and scuba diving, and the beach at Jalousie for swimming, more snoreling and lunch,a couples massage on our deck overlooking the ocean, Soufriere and the Pitons, and on a sunset cruise. I would highly recommend all of these! The only thing we didn't get to do was go to the Fish Fry at Anse La Raye.
The grounds are gorgeous with fresh fruit trees growing everywhere. And even the people who do the grounds work were friendly - they even used a machete to open up a coconut for us!
The infinity pool at the Plantation owners home is unbelievable, and the owners are so friendly. She even came out to talk to us and took some photos for us!
Bottom line: we will go back, probably for our 1 year anniversary. If you want a real experience and you don't want a million people around and you like it when people know your name...stay at La Haut!
Thanks a milion for helping us start our marriage in paradise!!!!

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JABailey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 11, 2010

Do NOT stay at this hotel. I would never stay at La Haut ever again. The hotel is really rundown and cockroaches appeared in my bedroom each of the 5 nights I was there. When I complained the only thing they did to correct the problem was hand me a can of bug spray and say it was normal. The service at breakfast was horrible – rude attitudes from the servers when they were asked for even the littlest thing like an additional glass of ice water. Their website is misleading – yes there are 2 pools but one of them (the infinity pool) is the owner’s personal pool and located about a half mile away and can only be used by hotel guests during the week days from 8am – 4pm with permission of the hotel staff. No effort was made by anyone on the hotel staff to alleviate our frustrations with an offer of a discounted rate or additional amenities. I was very disappointed. Not even the breathtaking views could entice me to stay at La Haut again.

My suggestion is avoid La Haut altogether and have a really splendid stay at Inn on the Bay with courteous hosts, a delicious breakfast, and another beautiful view about 30 minutes to the North in Marigot Bay. Hope this helps!

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jnh2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lahaut_Plantation, Manager at La Haut Resort, responded to this reviewResponded June 14, 2010

We wish to apologize profoundly for the inconvenience during your stay.

Due to the intense change in climate, from severe drought to rain, we were faced with the increase in mosquitoes and insects. Rest assured that we have taken and continue to take extreme measures in treating our rooms and surroundings to control these insects. We have also addressed our staff issues and continue to strive to provide that true island authentic experience.

We appreciate guests feedback as it assists us in identifying guests' needs and areas to improve on to provide maximum guest satisfaction.

Regards, Shanna Whitfield - Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews