We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Creole weekend.”
Review of La Haut Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
La Haut Resort
Ranked #1 of 9 Soufriere B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 21, 2013

Had a wonderful time at the hotel for the creole weekend, the breakfast was very enjoyable the rooms were very clean, the view of the pitons and the town of Soufriere was breathtaking, from my room I thought I could touch the pitons as they were so close. I will go back there as it will very memorable, would recommend anyone to this place, a remarkable place to stay.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Brendag53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lahaut_Plantation, Front Office at La Haut Resort, responded to this reviewResponded December 18, 2013

Dear Brendag53,

Thank you for your comments regarding your stay at La Haut Plantation Resort!

We are pleased that we exceeded your expectations.

Once again, thank you for your valuable comments and recommendation. We look forward to welcoming you again.



Regards,

Cassandra Joseph

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (451)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

215 - 221 of 451 reviews

Reviewed November 11, 2013 via mobile

Our plane was 3 hours late getting in from the states and we were unable to find the facilities we had booked in the dark. We were able to get a room for the night at La Haut. We had a beautiful suite for the night. The next morning we were thrilled with the view of the Pitons and after walking the grounds enjoyed an excellent breakfast. Wished we could have stayed longer.

Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Michele M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lahaut_Plantation, Front Office at La Haut Resort, responded to this reviewResponded November 18, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review regarding your recent stay at La Haut Plantation Resort!

We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and breakfast.

Once again thank you for your business and comments and we look forward to welcoming you in the not too distant future perhaps for a longer stay.

Regards,
Cassandra Joseph

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2013

Stayed as a solo traveler for five nights in mid-october, 2013. Bypassed external sites (such as hotels.com or bookings.com) and contacted La Haut directly through their website--was able to book their "Fall Fab" special-upgraded room, breakfast, dinner, and Soufriere experience tour all at a great, off-season rate.

Staff communication via email was fantastic before the trip began. Upon arrival, was on a first-name basis with the helpful staff. Staff helped me arrange airport transportation from the airport (UVF) and a Gros Piton hike (extras-not included in package). Transportation is expensive in St. Lucia--but as a solo traveler staying only in Soufriere a rental car was unnecessary.

Views from my second story "Deluxe Cocoa" room were stunningly spectacular. Slept with my balcony doors open every night, and woke up to views of the Pitons. Rooms come with mosquito nets over the beds, which was useful. Fresh fruit delivered to the room each morning by the staff. There is NO alarm clock in the room-so plan on using an app on your cell phone (if you have service--coming from the states I did not) or bringing your own clock. TV was not working in my room--but given the landscape I had plenty to look at.

La Haut has two pools, one being an infinity pool that overlooks the town of Soufriere and the Pitons. Exactly what I pictured sitting on the edge of the world would look like. Breath-takingly stunning.

Traveling in the off-peak season is recommended if you like your privacy--I had the place to myself for a 1.5 days of my stay.

Ate at the on-site restaurant. Tried something new every night. Lots of the fresh fruits/veggies are grown on-site which is neat. Yes, service isn't as fast as the chain restaurants here in the states-but I enjoyed the downtime between appetizer--dinner--dessert..Everything was being prepared fresh and from scratch. Sat back and enjoyed the views.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank sp174604
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lahaut_Plantation, Front Office at La Haut Resort, responded to this reviewResponded November 10, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your detailed review regarding your recent stay at La Haut Plantation Resort!

Thank you especially for your great comments about our staff, service and accommodations. We are certain other TripAdvisor users will find your review useful when planning their own vacation.

Once again, thank you and we look forward to welcoming you again to La Haut Plantation Resort in the not too distant future.

Regards,
Cassandra Joseph

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2013

I stayed the Journen Kweyol Weekend and Loved It!!! Will definitely go again!!! Love the view, with the Pitons so close. We got to see the donkeys work the cane machine. The creole breakfast was fantastic!!! My family and I will definitely be back.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gilliane969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lahaut_Plantation, Front Office at La Haut Resort, responded to this reviewResponded November 10, 2013

Dear Gilliane969,

Thank you for your review and staying with us.

Your comments are great and appreciated.

Once again, thank you and we look forward to welcoming you and your family again.

Regards,
Cassandra Joseph

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2013

My husband and I spent 5 nights at La Haut in mid October. The views of the sea and Pitons were fabulous, especially from the infinity pool but also from our veranda. All the staff were extremely friendly and helpful, suggesting various things to do. They also offer a free shuttle service into town and to the beach which is great for those without a vehicle. The breakfast included was plentiful and varied every day. We also enjoyed a few dinners at La Haut restaurant which were also very good. We had a really relaxing time and look forward to returning one day. Would recommend getting a vehicle for at least one or two days to tour the Soufriere area.

Room Tip: Would recommend staying in an upper floor unit or the cottage for the best veranda views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 834PaulaM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lahaut_Plantation, Front Office at La Haut Resort, responded to this reviewResponded November 10, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for a lovely review!

We are glad that you enjoyed all aspects of your stay.

Once again, thank you for choosing La Haut Plantation Resort and we look forward to welcoming you and your husband back soon.

Regards,
Cassandra Joseph

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2013

Just spent a really superb couple of days here at the end of a week-long trip to St Lucia.
We were in a two storey cottage and couldn't fault the cleanliness, decor and view!
Only (very) minor gripes were that the wireless internet was never working properly and we could have done with a filter coffee machine in the kitchen.
Breakfasts were not great but I suspect this was because the hotel was so quiet out of season - which meant we got both of the pools to ourselves!!
It's a really good base from which to explore Soufriere, Chastanet etc. although having your own car is definitely a plus if you want to do this.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alistairv2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lahaut_Plantation, Front Office at La Haut Resort, responded to this reviewResponded November 10, 2013

Dear Alistair V,

Thank you for sharing your comments regarding your stay at La Haut Plantation Resort!

We are pleased to know that you enjoyed all our offerings and we apologize for the minor inconveniences that you experienced during your stay.

Once again thank you for choosing La Haut Plantation Resort and St Lucia as your vacation destination. We look forward to hosting you again in the not too distant future.

Regards,
Cassandra Joseph

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2013

I was able to stay only one night and would love to return to La Haut and Soufriere. My room was beautiful, the cow wandering past my balcony was charming, the dinner and breakfast tasted good to me (perhaps I'm not as discerning as some guests, but I liked it and I didn't find it that expensive), and the view from my balcony, well it doesn't get any better. As it was August, things were perhaps a little quiet, but I'm certain they upgraded me to a better room than I'd reserved, so overall, I have to say I was very pleased with my stay here.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vacation-Vancouver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lahaut_Plantation, Front Office at La Haut Resort, responded to this reviewResponded September 3, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your comments regarding your recent stay at La Haut Plantation Resort! We are very pleased with your positive feedback.

Once again thank you for choosing La Haut Plantation Resort and St Lucia as your vacation destination. We look forward to hosting you again perhaps for a longer stay.


Regards,
Cassandra Joseph

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Soufriere
1.5 mi away
Jade Mountain Resort
Jade Mountain Resort
#1 of 11 in Soufriere
968 reviews
2.9 mi away
Fond Doux Plantation & Resort
1.4 mi away
Stonefield Villa Resort
Stonefield Villa Resort
#7 of 11 in Soufriere
746 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hummingbird Beach Resort
Hummingbird Beach Resort
#9 of 11 in Soufriere
274 reviews
4.4 mi away
Ti Kaye Resort & Spa
Ti Kaye Resort & Spa
#1 of 1 in Anse Cochon
1,529 reviews
1.6 mi away
Anse Chastanet
Anse Chastanet
#5 of 11 in Soufriere
1,200 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Haut Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Haut Resort

Address: PO Box 304 West Coast Road, Soufriere, St. Lucia
Location: Caribbean > St. Lucia > Soufriere Quarter > Soufriere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Soufriere
Price Range: $116 - $240 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — La Haut Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Haut or Le Haut literally means "the height" in Patois, a French dialect that is commonly spoken by St. Lucians. La Haut sits on a hill overlooking Soufriere, one of the oldest towns in St Lucia.Part of a 52-acre former coconut and cocoa estate, the main Guest House possesses a unique history. Nearly 100 years old, the main guesthouse was originally a cocoa house used for fermenting and drying cocoa beans hand-picked on the estate. In 1995, the building was converted and refurbished into a 6-room guesthouse. The nearby cottage was a former copra house where coconuts were once processed.Although the rich aroma of cocoa beans no longer wafts through the air, at La Haut you can enjoy the perfume-scented, tropical fauna or the salty breeze that blows off the Caribbean Sea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity and Hotwire so you can book your La Haut Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Haut Plantation Hotel
La Haut Resort St. Lucia/Soufriere

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing