We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best view on the island” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of La Haut Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
La Haut Resort
Ranked #1 of 9 Soufriere B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
New Bern, North Carolina
Level Contributor
27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Best view on the island”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2013

I can't even begin to say enough about our stay at La Haut. We only stayed for 2 nights so we had originally booked the cheapest room option. To our pleasant surprise we were upgraded to a Superior Deluxe room on arrival. The room was very spacious and clean, and the view was spectacular. There was no A/C but it truly wasn't an issue. At night we just left the balcony doors cracked and turned the fan on, and we were very comfortable.

The real treat at La Haut, as others have pointed out, is the fantastic infinity pool. At first we were worried that it would be an issue to use it since it is technically the owner's pool, but that wasn't the case at all. I am convinced that the view from that pool is the best on the entire island. We actually talked with the owner one night at the bar before dinner for probably almost an hour and he even gave us a round of drinks on the house so we could try the Ti Punch (amazing, by the way!) He was so nice and welcoming, along with the rest of the staff. You get a level of service here that you just can't find at larger resorts.

We ate breakfast and dinner each day of our stay and both are fantastic. Drinks are also reasonably priced compared to some of the other places we ate at. We didn't need a car because we just utilized the free shuttle to the beach. Anse Chastanet is a great beach with amazing snorkeling, so definitely take advantage of this free service!

Honestly, I can't say one bad thing about our stay. The view, the property, and the people are perfect. When we make it back to the island we will be stopping at La Haut again!

Room Tip: Go for a room with a view if you can swing it. We had a superior deluxe room on the second floor and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chrissi D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Haut P, Front Office at La Haut Resort, responded to this review, July 27, 2013
Dear Chrissi D,

Thank you for sharing your feedback regarding your stay at La Haut Plantation Resort!

We are delighted to know that your short stay with us was perfect and that you enjoyed all our offerings.

Once again thank you for a great review and we look forward to hosting you again in the not too distant future.

Regards,
Cassandra Joseph
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

433 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    258
    125
    29
    14
    7
See reviews for
54
263
21
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (126)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Utica, Michigan
Level Contributor
23 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2013

We stayed in La Haut resort for 4 nights in Superior Deluxe room. We arranged the pick up from the airport through this resort and we were helped by driver - Viane. Very friendly person and on the way to the resort he did make couple of stops for us to take pictures. He gave good tips about local restaurants, places to see etc. In the room they provide a toaster, complimentary water(2 bottles), and seasonal fruits. We went in June and it is the season for mangoes. We love mangoes and we always had couple of extra mangoes in the room. Thanks to Viane. All the staffs are very friendly especially the ones that work in the restaurant.
There is another room – Cashew and I believe this room has the best view of Soufriere town in addition to the pitons. Soufriere town is about 20 minutes walk from this resort. Walking to the town should be easy because the town is down hill but coming back it is a big climb. La Haut provides shuttle to town and back. There are some local restaurants - Bryans(they have a different name for this hotel but locals call it Bryans), Petite Peak restaurant and there is a super market in the town. You will see lot of locals in the street and some might approach you asking for money, just say no and walk forward and you will be safe.
Breakfast: complimentary.
Pan cakes, Toasted bread, Egg(bacon or ham), fruits, apple / orange juice, sausages, Johny cakes, Creoles
PROS: Very friendly, peaceful place. The view of the piton is spectacular from this room. There is a balcony for the room where you can sit and relax watching the pitons. Food was good. We had complimentary breakfast. We liked the pumpkin jam and Johny cakes. We didn’t have lunch but had dinner one night, good food. Rate comes to around USD: 40-70 per person.

CONS:This property has an infinity pool and the biggest downside is the pool is located in front of the owners house. You need to walk down and enter his property to access this pool. The view from the pool is fantastic. The owner was there and he seems to be a very nice guy and we were kind of worried if he will be happy to see us in his property. He said hi and he was busy with some workers there. Another big problem with our room was washroom. It needs some major renovation. The flush tank was not working as expected. You need to flush at least 3 times and water from the main sink faucet was not coming freely. I didn't care much about it and I expected the house keeping would report it.
Final word: If you are not looking for a star facility resort but a nice friendly peaceful resort then go for this resort.

Room Tip: Go for Cashew room - that has the best view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Koshy747
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Haut P, Front Office at La Haut Resort, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
Dear Guest,

We appreciate you taking time out of your busy schedule to write your feedback regarding your stay at La Haut Plantation Resort!

It gives us great pleasure to know that you had a wonderful experience here with us and that you enjoyed all that we had to offer especially the mangoes!

The owners have no problem with guests using the infinity pool and we apologize for the minor inconvenience that you experienced during your stay.

Once again, thank you for your candid feedback and we look forward to welcoming you to our beautiful Plantation Paradise in the not too distant future.

Regards,
Cassandra Joseph
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2013

I stayed here with 2 friends in mid-June and we shared a Cashew/Premium Vista room. The room certainly does not disappoint! Spacious, romantic, with a generous patio with a view of Soufriere and the Pitons. The fresh fruit welcome basket was a nice touch and the complimentary waters were appreciated! The room was immaculate. One thing to know is that there was no AC in our room, but there was a ceiling fan and an upright fan. I slept (on a rollaway bed) right by the upright fan and had no problems, but my friends, who slept under the ceiling fan, were hot that night. Had we stayed a second night, we probably would have requested a second upright fan.
We only stayed here for one night because we were checking out the hotel on a whim. The staff at our previous hotel, Marigot Beach Club, recommended it to us and we are so glad we discovered La Haut. The view from the infinity pool was one of my favorite/most memorable sights from our entire trip.
The cost of such a great view, though, is that the location is a bit remote. We arrived in Soufriere by water taxi, and the only way to get to the hotel (it seemed) was by taxi. We did ask the locals about bussing to the hotel, but there didn't seem to be a convenient option. As an earlier reviewer stated, I imagine that had we stayed here longer, we might have felt a bit "stuck." In order to go anywhere (eg. to the Pitons), we had to take private taxis, which were not cheap. The food at the restaurant is very good -- fresh food, well-executed-- but it'd probably add up if you had to eat there every night, or else pay a taxi to take you to town.
There is a hotel shuttle that takes you to Anse Chastanet (one of our favorite beaches!), but it only leaves at 10 in the morning and then picks you up at 4:30. Since we only stayed for one night, we missed the morning shuttle. The hotel charged us $16 US to take us to the beach, so we still got to go see it.
One suggestion to the hotel is to have more frequent shuttles to the beach/city. Otherwise, I think this hotel is better suited for guests who have rented a car.
Beautiful hotel and an unbeatable view!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sus_in_LA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lahaut_Plantation, Front Office at La Haut Resort, responded to this review, July 9, 2013
Dear Guests,

Thank you for sharing your feedback regarding your stay at La Haut Plantation Resort.

We are delighted that you enjoyed your time and all our offerings at La Haut. Our aim is to provide the highest level of service in all areas to ensure a comfortable and memorable stay.

Our culinary team will be happy to know that you enjoyed all their offerings. Thank you for the recommendation about our shuttle service.

Once again thank you for your comments and we look forward to welcoming to our beautiful Plantation Paradise perhaps for a longer stay.

Regards,
Cassandra Joseph
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2013

We stayed at La Haut on our first night visiting Saint Lucia and left wishing we had booked longer. The views alone are worth the visit! After arriving late afternoon we enjoyed swimming in the main pool beside the restaurant, which has an almost infinity-pool feel to it, with a beautiful pool over looking the Pitons. The room was very clean, air conditioned and we were treated to a welcome package of fruit. In the evening we ate at the restaurant where the staff are very attentive and friendly and food was super tasty and very affordable. We had the pork and the Catch of the Day (tuna) served with local plantain mash and relish (remember prices on their menu are in EAST CARIBBEAN DOLLARS, not US!) I've got to say that the bed in our room was probably the comfiest I have ever slept in, like a giant marshmallow! They also served up the best scrambled eggs I've tasted too for breakfast, along with some local fruit juices. All in all the La Haut resort is is in a stunning location, very peaceful and serene with brilliant food and attentive staff too. Didn't disappoint and we were sad to be leaving after 1 night and wish we had seen more of Soufriere.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank hoodex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lahaut_Plantation, Front Office at La Haut Resort, responded to this review, July 9, 2013
Dear Guests,

Thank you for your positive review!

We are so delighted to read that you had a wonderful experience. With such a stunning location, our aim is to ensure that the service, accommodation, amenities and dining experience are just as impressive as the view.

Once again, thank you for your glowing review and we look forward to welcoming you to our beautiful Plantation Paradise in the not too distant future perhaps for a longer stay.

Regards,
Cassandra Joseph
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gros Islet, St. Lucia
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2013

I loved this place. The staff was really helpful and friendly. The room was beautiful and the view was to die for. The view from the infinity pool was what you see on a postcard. The service was exceptional from arrival to departure, with the staff making sure that you are settled and comfortable. I would recommend this place to anyone who want a getaway in paradise.

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank sweetiepie1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lahaut_Plantation, Front Office at La Haut Resort, responded to this review, July 9, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience regarding your recent stay at La Haut Plantation Resort.

We are delighted to know that you enjoyed all aspects of your stay from our breathtaking views to exceptional service from the staff members.

Once again thank you for your comments and recommendation. We look forward to welcoming you to our beautiful Plantation Paradise in the not too distant future.

Regards,
Cassandra Joseph
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2013 via mobile

The view here is really stunning, probably better than you would get in the most expensive hotels. The service is excellent and the rooms are huge. The location is a little out of the way but it is worth it for the views. There is a shuttle in the morning to town and the beach that picks you up at 4pm. If you wanted to go out in the evening you would have to get a cab.

The tours they offer are quite pricey and since moving elsewhere in the island I have seen them for almost half the price! I would suggest finding another way to see the sights.

Overall the experience was amazing and this place is worth it for the views alone. Would reccomend this place to anyone looking to stay on this island.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cosmicwars
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lahaut_Plantation, Front Office at La Haut Resort, responded to this review, July 9, 2013
Dear Guests,

Thank you for taking time to share your feedback regarding your experience at La Haut Plantation Resort!

We are pleased that overall you had an amazing experience and enjoyed our breathtaking views, accommodation and exceptional service from the staff.

Once again, thank you for your comments and recommendation and we hope to see you soon.

Regards,
Cassandra Joseph
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2013

This property is ideal for someone looking to connect with nature, relax or write.I enjoyed the amazing view of the Pitons as I sat on my deck catching up on emails. The aromas of fresh mangos were in the air as it is their season and every morning I was greeted with a few fresh mangos, my favorite fruit. This property is not by the beach but they do offer a shuttle to and from the beach as well as a shuttle into town. There aren't any phones in the room but the hotel will provide you with a cell phone with a small deposit required. I highly recommend La Haut as the only word I can describe it is PERFECT paradise in St Lucia. Treat yourself you're worth it.

Room Tip: If you'd like a room with a direct view of the Pitons and an amazing deck request the cashews bu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cecily1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lahaut_Plantation, Front Office at La Haut Resort, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your positive feedback and five star review regarding your recent stay at La Haut Plantation!

We are so elated that you had a wonderful stay and were satisfied with all our offerings.

Once again, thank you for your recommendation (we appreciate this) and we look forward to welcoming you again to our beautiful Plantation Paradise!

Regards,
Cassandra Joseph
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Soufriere hotels
1.5 mi away
Jade Mountain Resort
Jade Mountain Resort
#1 of 11 in Soufriere
5.0 of 5 bubbles 897 reviews
1.6 mi away
Anse Chastanet
Anse Chastanet
#6 of 11 in Soufriere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,126 reviews
1.4 mi away
Stonefield Estate Resort
Stonefield Estate Resort
#7 of 11 in Soufriere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 701 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Ladera Resort
Ladera Resort
#2 of 11 in Soufriere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,209 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hummingbird Beach Resort
Hummingbird Beach Resort
#9 of 11 in Soufriere
4.0 of 5 bubbles 261 reviews
2.5 mi away
Sugar Beach, A Viceroy Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Haut Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Haut Resort

Property: La Haut Resort
Address: PO Box 304 West Coast Road, Soufriere, St. Lucia
Location: Caribbean > St. Lucia > Soufriere Quarter > Soufriere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Soufriere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — La Haut Resort 2*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Haut or Le Haut literally means "the height" in Patois, a French dialect that is commonly spoken by St. Lucians. La Haut sits on a hill overlooking Soufriere, one of the oldest towns in St Lucia.Part of a 52-acre former coconut and cocoa estate, the main Guest House possesses a unique history. Nearly 100 years old, the main guesthouse was originally a cocoa house used for fermenting and drying cocoa beans hand-picked on the estate. In 1995, the building was converted and refurbished into a 6-room guesthouse. The nearby cottage was a former copra house where coconuts were once processed.Although the rich aroma of cocoa beans no longer wafts through the air, at La Haut you can enjoy the perfume-scented, tropical fauna or the salty breeze that blows off the Caribbean Sea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your La Haut Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Haut Plantation Hotel
La Haut Resort St. Lucia/Soufriere

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing