We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“La Haut Plantation Heaven On Earth”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of La Haut Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
La Haut Resort
Ranked #1 of 8 Soufriere B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“La Haut Plantation Heaven On Earth”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2013

This property is ideal for someone looking to connect with nature, relax or write.I enjoyed the amazing view of the Pitons as I sat on my deck catching up on emails. The aromas of fresh mangos were in the air as it is their season and every morning I was greeted with a few fresh mangos, my favorite fruit. This property is not by the beach but they do offer a shuttle to and from the beach as well as a shuttle into town. There aren't any phones in the room but the hotel will provide you with a cell phone with a small deposit required. I highly recommend La Haut as the only word I can describe it is PERFECT paradise in St Lucia. Treat yourself you're worth it.

Room Tip: If you'd like a room with a direct view of the Pitons and an amazing deck request the cashews bu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cecily1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lahaut_Plantation, Front Office at La Haut Resort, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your positive feedback and five star review regarding your recent stay at La Haut Plantation!

We are so elated that you had a wonderful stay and were satisfied with all our offerings.

Once again, thank you for your recommendation (we appreciate this) and we look forward to welcoming you again to our beautiful Plantation Paradise!

Regards,
Cassandra Joseph
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

436 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    258
    127
    30
    14
    7
See reviews for
54
265
21
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (127)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Halifax
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2013

I liked this place, and it is so beautiful I should have loved it. I didn't. There are so many positives - the rooms are spacious and clean and quite pleasant for just hanging out - either inside our out on the balcony looking at the Pitons (yep, view is pretty spectacular). The grounds are lovely and the dining was excellent too. The continental breakfast is healthy and plentiful (maybe could have used more fresh fruits and less carbs???) I ate all my dinners at La Haut as well and enjoyed almost everything (especially the Fisherman's catch!). The staff were friendly and helpful, and yet...I still can't give it an excellent ranking. I guess it was in the little things. The information on tours/excursions was not updated in the room and if you travel over a weekend, the boutique seemed to be always closed. It was a little more difficult than I would have liked to figure out what kinds of trips you could plan from the hotel. The infinity pool is pretty lovely, but there isn't much space around it to relax. If there are other people there, you kind of feel like you are intruding. My biggest complaint is not really the hotel's fault: location. I like being able to walk into town and while this was possible (20 min down a very steep hill or 30 min for a very steep climb coming back) it wasn't terribly convenient. There is a shuttle that goes to town at set times but it is still somewhat limiting. For example - no shuttle in the evenings for dinner (and $13 USD taxi one way just to go down the hill). If you don't have a rental car, you can feel a little...stuck. That said, it is truly beautiful place to be stuck. I spent more time at the resort than I usually would and hey - to be honest, what is wrong with that?

Room Tip: Go for the rooms with balconies!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LittleFishHalifax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lahaut_Plantation, Front Office at La Haut Resort, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking time and making the effort to write your review regarding your recent stay at La Haut Plantation!

We would like to apologize for the minor service niggles that you experienced and your comments have been shared with our team to ensure that we improve in all areas of service.

Once again, thank you for your valuable comments and we hope that we get an opportunity to host you again in the distant future.



Regards,
Cassandra Joseph
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
59 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 6, 2013

We are staying for two night, midweek. La Haut is famous for the view from the property of The Pitons, and it is unparalleled, but the real best asset this property has is its people. Everyone - from the owners who enquired about our comfort during a chance meeting while we were walking, to the groundskeeper who picked a fresh mango and showed us what a cashew fruit looked like, to the housekeeper who stopped her work for a moment to indulge us and take a silly picture - has been friendly and welcoming.

The room we are in is spacious and very comfortable, with a microwave, mini fridge and electric kettle for tea or coffee which they provide. Fresh tropical fruits and water awaited us. The room and clean, ample bath were strewn with flowers, a lovely extra touch of hospitality. No AC, but a large ceiling fan, floor fan and the ocean breeze that makes its way past the private balcony and though the french doors are more than enough to keep you comfortable. The

Room Tip: Seems to be a view from any room, but spring for the premium vista rooms if you can.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ZeeM845
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Haut P, Front Office at La Haut Resort, responded to this review, June 14, 2013
Dear ZeeM845,

Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay at La Haut Plantation!

We are so delighted that you enjoyed every aspect of your stay, which reflects in this five star review.

Once again, thank you and we look forward to hosting you in the near future.

Regards,
Cassandra Joseph
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chapel Hill, North Carolina
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 23, 2013

The Soufriere area has the natural beauty that inspired our visit. The Pitons are exceptionally beautiful when seen from the La Haut Resort property, the landscaped gardens include a wide variety of local trees and flowers that attract hummingbirds, our room in the plantation house was spacious and clean, the bed was very comfortable, the washroom included a tiled shower, and the balcony was shaded all day. The daily breakfast in the restaurant included fresh fruit and juice often from trees on the property, and the chef talked with us personally to create an egg-free vegetarian breakfast recipe that was simply delicious, as were the other vegetarian options offered for lunch and dinner. La Haut has truly lovely people on staff, in the office, the concierge, and in the restaurant, as well as the housekeepers, the gardeners, the drivers – we met many of the people who create a welcoming and genuinely Caribbean experience at La Haut. We highly recommend La Haut Resort and are looking forward to our next visit.

Room Tip: Upstairs rooms have better views
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LeslieQ365
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lahaut_Plantation, Front Office at La Haut Resort, responded to this review, June 14, 2013
Dear LeslieQ365,

Thank you for your wonderful review following your recent holiday at La Haut Plantation!

We are so ecstatic that you had an awesome stay with us! We are glad that you enjoyed our accommodations, the services provided by our team, our vegetarian dining options and the tranquil, lush environment.

Thank you for the recommendation and we look forward to welcoming you again to our beautiful Plantation Paradise!

Regards,
Cassandra Joseph
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 21, 2013

La Haut is the type of place to stay when you want to be away from the hustle and bustle of a resort community and you're an independent traveler. The resort is not within walking distance of any conveniences so renting a car or hiring a taxi is a must. On the other hand, you are rewarded with seclusion and a peaceful environment.
We stayed during the first week of May and had a premium view room and the view did not disappoint. The bed was very comfortable and the room was clean. Unfortunately, we did have mosquitoes and the mosquito net over the bed didn't provide enough protection during the night. We ended up having to close the doors and windows to keep the bugs out and rely on the ceiling and floor fans for any type of circulation. I knew there wasn't any A/C but I was hoping we'd have been able to leave the windows open for some type of breeze. Other countries we've visited have had mini in-room A/C units that mount on a wall and are much less involved than standard A/C systems. This could be something for La Haut to consider for some of its premium rooms.
The food at Delice restaurant which is on the hotel grounds was tasty and well prepared. The breakfast that is included with the stay includes a variety of pastries, pancakes, yogurt, fruits, and made to order eggs or meat sides.
The best part of staying at La Haut is the infinity pool located on the residence grounds.
The staff was pleasant, but upon our arrival things felt slightly confusing and we were offered little to no explanation of the plantation amenities, surrounding activities, or other travel tips that might come in handy for a first time visitor. Fortunately, I had prepared ahead of time and had already arranged activities through other companies, but this sort of thing would be helpful for a first time visitor who may not be quite as prepared.

Room Tip: If you have problems walking, you might ask for a room that is nearest to the restaurant or the offi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Melissa H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lahaut_Plantation, Front Office at La Haut Resort, responded to this review, May 23, 2013
Good day Melissa,

Thank you for sharing your feedback about your recent holiday at La Haut Plantation!

We are happy to read that you generally enjoyed your time and thank you for the positive comments on room, pool, our restaurant and ambiance.

Thank you for the recommendation about the mini a/c units in the room.

We apologize for the minor inconveniences with regards to the mosquito netting not fitting properly around your bed and for the office staff not providing adequate information upon your arrival.

Once again, thank you for choosing La Haut and we look forward to welcoming you in the near future.

Regards,
Cassandra Joseph
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2013

We chose La Haut through the internet, and found it a delightful experience. The room was fine, the service was excellent, and the staff was friendly and helpful. We stayed for 5 nights, and found it just the kind of relaxing, low key week we had hoped for.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Theodore G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Haut P, Front Office at La Haut Resort, responded to this review, May 6, 2013
Dear Theodore G,

Thank you for your short and sweet review regarding your stay at La Haut Resort!

We are glad that we met your expectations and that you had a great stay.

Once again thank and we look forward to hosting you sometime in the near future.

Regards,
Cassandra Joseph
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Levant, Maine
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 18, 2013

Stayed here alone for one night on business. Was welcomed with a free drink. Room was very clean and decorated with purple tropical flower petals. Bed was comfortable and adorned with a mosquito net (although there was no need that night). I slept with the balcony doors open to the ocean. View was breathtaking. Staff found me a local cocoa pod since I had never seen one before. They were very welcoming and accommodating. I wanted to go down to the beach in the morning and they gave me a ride down and offered to pick me up when I wanted, but I was able to walk the mile back up from the beach along the winding mountainside road. The restaurant was reasonably priced and had good local food. I needed a ride to the UVF airport in the south and they arranged to have one of their staff drive me for about $80USD. Would highly recommend.

Room Tip: I stayed in Room 3 at the end of the main building and it was near where the farm animals are kept...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kenersonje9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Haut P, Front Office at La Haut Resort, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Dear Kenersonje9,

Thank you for providing your feedback about your experience with us at La Haut Resort!

We appreciate your positive comments and recommendation.

We hope that we have another opportunity to host you again, perhaps for a longer stay.

Regards,
Cassandra Joseph
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Soufriere hotels
1.5 mi away
Jade Mountain Resort
Jade Mountain Resort
#1 of 11 in Soufriere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 903 reviews
1.6 mi away
Anse Chastanet
Anse Chastanet
#5 of 11 in Soufriere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,130 reviews
2.1 mi away
Ladera Resort
Ladera Resort
#2 of 11 in Soufriere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,219 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Stonefield Estate Resort
Stonefield Estate Resort
#7 of 11 in Soufriere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 707 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hummingbird Beach Resort
Hummingbird Beach Resort
#9 of 11 in Soufriere
4.0 of 5 bubbles 263 reviews
2.5 mi away
Sugar Beach, A Viceroy Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Haut Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Haut Resort

Property: La Haut Resort
Address: PO Box 304 West Coast Road, Soufriere, St. Lucia
Location: Caribbean > St. Lucia > Soufriere Quarter > Soufriere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Soufriere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — La Haut Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Haut or Le Haut literally means "the height" in Patois, a French dialect that is commonly spoken by St. Lucians. La Haut sits on a hill overlooking Soufriere, one of the oldest towns in St Lucia.Part of a 52-acre former coconut and cocoa estate, the main Guest House possesses a unique history. Nearly 100 years old, the main guesthouse was originally a cocoa house used for fermenting and drying cocoa beans hand-picked on the estate. In 1995, the building was converted and refurbished into a 6-room guesthouse. The nearby cottage was a former copra house where coconuts were once processed.Although the rich aroma of cocoa beans no longer wafts through the air, at La Haut you can enjoy the perfume-scented, tropical fauna or the salty breeze that blows off the Caribbean Sea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Expedia, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your La Haut Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Haut Plantation Hotel
La Haut Resort St. Lucia/Soufriere

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing