We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great view, Great rooms - excellent place to take some time out”
Review of La Haut Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
La Haut Resort
Ranked #1 of 9 Soufriere B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 9, 2013

I liked this place, and it is so beautiful I should have loved it. I didn't. There are so many positives - the rooms are spacious and clean and quite pleasant for just hanging out - either inside our out on the balcony looking at the Pitons (yep, view is pretty spectacular). The grounds are lovely and the dining was excellent too. The continental breakfast is healthy and plentiful (maybe could have used more fresh fruits and less carbs???) I ate all my dinners at La Haut as well and enjoyed almost everything (especially the Fisherman's catch!). The staff were friendly and helpful, and yet...I still can't give it an excellent ranking. I guess it was in the little things. The information on tours/excursions was not updated in the room and if you travel over a weekend, the boutique seemed to be always closed. It was a little more difficult than I would have liked to figure out what kinds of trips you could plan from the hotel. The infinity pool is pretty lovely, but there isn't much space around it to relax. If there are other people there, you kind of feel like you are intruding. My biggest complaint is not really the hotel's fault: location. I like being able to walk into town and while this was possible (20 min down a very steep hill or 30 min for a very steep climb coming back) it wasn't terribly convenient. There is a shuttle that goes to town at set times but it is still somewhat limiting. For example - no shuttle in the evenings for dinner (and $13 USD taxi one way just to go down the hill). If you don't have a rental car, you can feel a little...stuck. That said, it is truly beautiful place to be stuck. I spent more time at the resort than I usually would and hey - to be honest, what is wrong with that?

Room Tip: Go for the rooms with balconies!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LittleFishHalifax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lahaut_Plantation, Front Office at La Haut Resort, responded to this reviewResponded June 24, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking time and making the effort to write your review regarding your recent stay at La Haut Plantation!

We would like to apologize for the minor service niggles that you experienced and your comments have been shared with our team to ensure that we improve in all areas of service.

Once again, thank you for your valuable comments and we hope that we get an opportunity to host you again in the distant future.



Regards,
Cassandra Joseph

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (449)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

236 - 242 of 449 reviews

Reviewed June 6, 2013

We are staying for two night, midweek. La Haut is famous for the view from the property of The Pitons, and it is unparalleled, but the real best asset this property has is its people. Everyone - from the owners who enquired about our comfort during a chance meeting while we were walking, to the groundskeeper who picked a fresh mango and showed us what a cashew fruit looked like, to the housekeeper who stopped her work for a moment to indulge us and take a silly picture - has been friendly and welcoming.

The room we are in is spacious and very comfortable, with a microwave, mini fridge and electric kettle for tea or coffee which they provide. Fresh tropical fruits and water awaited us. The room and clean, ample bath were strewn with flowers, a lovely extra touch of hospitality. No AC, but a large ceiling fan, floor fan and the ocean breeze that makes its way past the private balcony and though the french doors are more than enough to keep you comfortable. The

Room Tip: Seems to be a view from any room, but spring for the premium vista rooms if you can.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ZeeM845
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Haut P, Front Office at La Haut Resort, responded to this reviewResponded June 14, 2013

Dear ZeeM845,

Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay at La Haut Plantation!

We are so delighted that you enjoyed every aspect of your stay, which reflects in this five star review.

Once again, thank you and we look forward to hosting you in the near future.

Regards,
Cassandra Joseph

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 23, 2013

The Soufriere area has the natural beauty that inspired our visit. The Pitons are exceptionally beautiful when seen from the La Haut Resort property, the landscaped gardens include a wide variety of local trees and flowers that attract hummingbirds, our room in the plantation house was spacious and clean, the bed was very comfortable, the washroom included a tiled shower, and the balcony was shaded all day. The daily breakfast in the restaurant included fresh fruit and juice often from trees on the property, and the chef talked with us personally to create an egg-free vegetarian breakfast recipe that was simply delicious, as were the other vegetarian options offered for lunch and dinner. La Haut has truly lovely people on staff, in the office, the concierge, and in the restaurant, as well as the housekeepers, the gardeners, the drivers – we met many of the people who create a welcoming and genuinely Caribbean experience at La Haut. We highly recommend La Haut Resort and are looking forward to our next visit.

Room Tip: Upstairs rooms have better views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LeslieQ365
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lahaut_Plantation, Front Office at La Haut Resort, responded to this reviewResponded June 14, 2013

Dear LeslieQ365,

Thank you for your wonderful review following your recent holiday at La Haut Plantation!

We are so ecstatic that you had an awesome stay with us! We are glad that you enjoyed our accommodations, the services provided by our team, our vegetarian dining options and the tranquil, lush environment.

Thank you for the recommendation and we look forward to welcoming you again to our beautiful Plantation Paradise!

Regards,
Cassandra Joseph

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 21, 2013

La Haut is the type of place to stay when you want to be away from the hustle and bustle of a resort community and you're an independent traveler. The resort is not within walking distance of any conveniences so renting a car or hiring a taxi is a must. On the other hand, you are rewarded with seclusion and a peaceful environment.
We stayed during the first week of May and had a premium view room and the view did not disappoint. The bed was very comfortable and the room was clean. Unfortunately, we did have mosquitoes and the mosquito net over the bed didn't provide enough protection during the night. We ended up having to close the doors and windows to keep the bugs out and rely on the ceiling and floor fans for any type of circulation. I knew there wasn't any A/C but I was hoping we'd have been able to leave the windows open for some type of breeze. Other countries we've visited have had mini in-room A/C units that mount on a wall and are much less involved than standard A/C systems. This could be something for La Haut to consider for some of its premium rooms.
The food at Delice restaurant which is on the hotel grounds was tasty and well prepared. The breakfast that is included with the stay includes a variety of pastries, pancakes, yogurt, fruits, and made to order eggs or meat sides.
The best part of staying at La Haut is the infinity pool located on the residence grounds.
The staff was pleasant, but upon our arrival things felt slightly confusing and we were offered little to no explanation of the plantation amenities, surrounding activities, or other travel tips that might come in handy for a first time visitor. Fortunately, I had prepared ahead of time and had already arranged activities through other companies, but this sort of thing would be helpful for a first time visitor who may not be quite as prepared.

Room Tip: If you have problems walking, you might ask for a room that is nearest to the restaurant or the offi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Melissa H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lahaut_Plantation, Front Office at La Haut Resort, responded to this reviewResponded May 23, 2013

Good day Melissa,

Thank you for sharing your feedback about your recent holiday at La Haut Plantation!

We are happy to read that you generally enjoyed your time and thank you for the positive comments on room, pool, our restaurant and ambiance.

Thank you for the recommendation about the mini a/c units in the room.

We apologize for the minor inconveniences with regards to the mosquito netting not fitting properly around your bed and for the office staff not providing adequate information upon your arrival.

Once again, thank you for choosing La Haut and we look forward to welcoming you in the near future.

Regards,
Cassandra Joseph

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2013

We chose La Haut through the internet, and found it a delightful experience. The room was fine, the service was excellent, and the staff was friendly and helpful. We stayed for 5 nights, and found it just the kind of relaxing, low key week we had hoped for.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Theodore G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Haut P, Front Office at La Haut Resort, responded to this reviewResponded May 6, 2013

Dear Theodore G,

Thank you for your short and sweet review regarding your stay at La Haut Resort!

We are glad that we met your expectations and that you had a great stay.

Once again thank and we look forward to hosting you sometime in the near future.

Regards,
Cassandra Joseph

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 18, 2013

Stayed here alone for one night on business. Was welcomed with a free drink. Room was very clean and decorated with purple tropical flower petals. Bed was comfortable and adorned with a mosquito net (although there was no need that night). I slept with the balcony doors open to the ocean. View was breathtaking. Staff found me a local cocoa pod since I had never seen one before. They were very welcoming and accommodating. I wanted to go down to the beach in the morning and they gave me a ride down and offered to pick me up when I wanted, but I was able to walk the mile back up from the beach along the winding mountainside road. The restaurant was reasonably priced and had good local food. I needed a ride to the UVF airport in the south and they arranged to have one of their staff drive me for about $80USD. Would highly recommend.

Room Tip: I stayed in Room 3 at the end of the main building and it was near where the farm animals are kept...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kenersonje9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Haut P, Front Office at La Haut Resort, responded to this reviewResponded April 22, 2013

Dear Kenersonje9,

Thank you for providing your feedback about your experience with us at La Haut Resort!

We appreciate your positive comments and recommendation.

We hope that we have another opportunity to host you again, perhaps for a longer stay.

Regards,
Cassandra Joseph

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 18, 2013

Stunning location and the views are superb especially from the infinity pool. The rooms vary in comfort but all are full of character and clean. The staff are exceptionally friendly and always willing to help. Easy access to Soufriere and the beach, a wonderful to place to stay for a few days or a week.

Room Tip: Not all rooms have aircon, but the others have fans and are generally so big aircon is not needed...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dot72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Haut P, Front Office at La Haut Resort, responded to this reviewResponded April 22, 2013

Dear Dot72

Thank you for your review following your stay at La Haut Resort!

We are glad that you enjoyed your stay especially the view and the services offered by the staff.

Once again thank you and we look forward to welcoming you in the near future.

Regards,
Cassandra Joseph

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Soufriere hotels
1.5 mi away
Jade Mountain Resort
Jade Mountain Resort
#1 of 11 in Soufriere
955 reviews
2.9 mi away
Fond Doux Plantation & Resort
1.4 mi away
Stonefield Estate Resort
Stonefield Estate Resort
#6 of 11 in Soufriere
736 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Ladera Resort
Ladera Resort
#2 of 11 in Soufriere
1,275 reviews
1.6 mi away
Anse Chastanet
Anse Chastanet
#5 of 11 in Soufriere
1,184 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hummingbird Beach Resort
Hummingbird Beach Resort
#9 of 11 in Soufriere
269 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Haut Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Haut Resort

Address: PO Box 304 West Coast Road, Soufriere, St. Lucia
Location: Caribbean > St. Lucia > Soufriere Quarter > Soufriere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Soufriere
Price Range: $122 - $240 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — La Haut Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Haut or Le Haut literally means "the height" in Patois, a French dialect that is commonly spoken by St. Lucians. La Haut sits on a hill overlooking Soufriere, one of the oldest towns in St Lucia.Part of a 52-acre former coconut and cocoa estate, the main Guest House possesses a unique history. Nearly 100 years old, the main guesthouse was originally a cocoa house used for fermenting and drying cocoa beans hand-picked on the estate. In 1995, the building was converted and refurbished into a 6-room guesthouse. The nearby cottage was a former copra house where coconuts were once processed.Although the rich aroma of cocoa beans no longer wafts through the air, at La Haut you can enjoy the perfume-scented, tropical fauna or the salty breeze that blows off the Caribbean Sea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your La Haut Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Haut Plantation Hotel
La Haut Resort St. Lucia/Soufriere

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing