We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“lovely views and relaxing stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of La Haut Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
La Haut Resort
Ranked #1 of 8 Soufriere B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Doral, Florida
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“lovely views and relaxing stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2012

the villa was beautiful and relaxing. we really enjoyed our stay

Room Tip: villas are private and romantic
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ayo f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

437 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    258
    128
    30
    14
    7
See reviews for
54
266
21
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (127)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
52 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2012

We stayed at La Haut Plantation for three nights in May of this year. We couldn't have asked God for better weather, more beautiful views of such an incredible island landscape, or the inn for more courteous staff. We did, however, experience a good bit of discomfort during our stay, and being fair I will address that along with the good points.

We arrived at the modest gate of the property, and were directed to the reception office. Yvette checked us in, and escorted the various members of our party to our rooms. My wife and I had booked the Premium Vista rooms for about $250USD/night, and were escorted to our room, Cashew #2, which does indeed have a premium vista. It does not have A/C though, which is normal in the Caribbean but just be aware because it can get hot. I would recommend Cashew #1 or #3 since the balcony on #2 has walls on either side and does not get good airflow all the time. The room was decorated nicely with indigenous flora presented throughout the room upon arrival. The staff would even furnish guests' rooms with fresh local fruit daily, including mangoes (from the trees outside), papaya (from the tree outside), cashews, bananas, and I even got sour-sop (so good chilled). Underneath the rooms though, elevated on the hillside, there was a lot of construction activity during the day with workers working on the owner's personal home, which is located on the same property as the inn (about 50 yards from my room). The bed in the room was truly comfortable. The showers always had warm water.

The owner's home is where the honeymoon suite is located, as well as the infinity pool. The infinity pool is open to guests only during business hours. An aviary and kennel are also maintained in this area. The aviary is located between the owner's house and the Cashew rooms and makes the area smell strongly of bird feces. The kennel is for guard dogs and is located at the owner's house. The dogs barked for continuously and loudly for hours every night we were there, and if you're in the honeymoon suite (like my relatives were) it is especially loud. We saw the owner several times, either driving in his Range Rover, or briefly making an appearance near the office or restaurant, but we never had the pleasure of meeting or speaking with him.

I must say it was a little disconcerting to see so much activity being done on the owner's abode while there was so much work that could have been being done on the La Haut. There were innumerable cosmetic upgrades that needed to be done on the property (i.e. needed new paint throughout the restaurant, replacement furniture for the old, broken farm equipment and garbage in some of the hillside areas). There were also a good deal of animals on the property, which made it feel like a farm at times. The donkeys' pen was next to the uphill rooms, the aforementioned bird pen, dogs, etc. It would have been fine if that's what we expected and it was disclosed in the advertisements, but we were expecting something else given La Haut's image.

On a more positive note, the staff were consistently kind and accommodating from the office staff, to the bar/restaurant servers, all the way to night security. The bar made great drinks, and even brought some to me and my wife in the pool. The several meals we had at the restaurant were quite tasty, and when we decided to go into Soufriere town to eat the staff were gracious enough to make recommendations. A word of advice: don't try the Ballawoo fish...trust me. Do try any number of satisfying special local Creole combinations.The property, of course, was beautiful as many pictures tell, and I would say that its natural beauty is La Haut's chief strength and support. It is really a unique place.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank gsimerson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fair Lawn, New Jersey
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2012

We stayed at La Haut for 4 nights in early July. It was everything we expected it to be. We were upgraded to Cashew1. As others had said, the room was large, with high, vaulted ceilings, and the deck was magnificent. It had comfortable, soft-cushioned chairs and a small table, and probably could have fit 20 people. We never tired of the magnificent view, with vegetation all around, a palm tree within touching distance, and a Piton view that would be tough to beat.

First thing each morning, we could see the Pitons through the glass doors leading to the deck without even leaving our beds. Although we got maybe an hour of sun during our four night stay, watching the different cloud patterns playing off the Pitons was not a bad consolation prize. We disagree with those complaining about the distance between the Cashew rooms and the restaurant. If you can handle a 5 minute uphill walk, you shouldn't have a problem.

As nice as the view was from our room, it was even better from the restaurant, with magnificent foliage all around. Drinking tamarand, cherry and mango juice on successive days, all home grown, was a real treat. It was also fun seeing the three donkeys by the fence, having a goat suddenly looking you in the eye, and watching the geckos scatter about near our room. There were more workers than guests during this off season, which was another advantage. Everyone was accomodating. The only reason we didn't give it a 5 rating is because of little inconveniences, like an in-room safe that didn't work properly, or a multitude of tiny ants that invaded our kitchen counter when a bit of fruit juice got on it, or the fruit plate that wasn't delivered to the room every day as expected.

Last, and best, was the Infiniti pool. It alone was worth the price of the stay. The owner was very gracious, since it's his private pool, and having the chance for my wife and I to spend time swimming (without any others around as if it were our own pool) and taking in the view gave us a taste of what those who are subjects of "Lifestyles of the Rich and Famous" must feel. It can't be described -- It must be experienced.

Robert and Leah

Room Tip: One word - Cashew
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank plaza613
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Compton, California, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2012

We enjoyed out time here so much. We even extended out stay a few days because we were doubtful we would find better. We were right. Forget the all inclusive Coconut Bay Resort, this place is far better.
On arriving we kicked it with the owner. He bought us a couple rounds of drinks and we shared stories for a few hours. We appropriated his hospitality and opening up his personal pool during the week days. The pool is beautiful overlooking Soufriere.
The only thing to note is that we stayed in June and the mosquitoes were vicious. More so than any other place on the island we stayed. Even though the accommodation included a mosquito net, those little buggers some how found their way inside.

I would recommend La Haut to have mosquito repellent incenses or something similar in the room.

We have recommend this place to others planning their trip to St. Lucia.

P.S.
Something else to note, is the location is not walkable distance to Soufriere.
And.... the bar makes a great tea ponche.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bokerfest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2012

wonderful place, peaceful atmosphere, friendly people. I could have stayed all time on my balcony without getting boring. a good hike to Soufriere which keeps you fit. food is excellent.

Room Tip: all rooms have good view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank gempean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 8, 2012

We stayed at La Haut for 3 days, at the end of May 2012. We wanted a hotel with a nice view of the pitons; and we found it! La Haut has a breathtaking view of the 2 pitons, which was better than we had expected. We stayed in the room Cashew 3, which has a palm tree you can almost reach from the balcony. The view was spectacular from the room, as well as from the restaurant. The people were very nice (seemed reserved at first, but most of them warmed up and were very friendly). If you get the pleasure of meeting Georgia, as well as the chef who works in the kitchen; they will simply make your day. Such nice people! I highly recommend you take the shuttle down to Anse Chastenet, which has the best snorkeling. Beware of sunburns; they really creep up on you when you are snorkeling in that water. The fish and corals there are quite nice. Getting around the plantation is a bit pricy if you take a taxi, so if you can catch their free shuttle that they have a few times a day, do so. The food at La Haut was amazing. Everything is so fresh; including the mangoes we got in our room everyday. If you love mangoes, make sure you go when they are in season; well worth it! Overall, the resort is a bit isolated, but if you are looking to relax, not worry about what time it is, eat great food and look at a wonderful view of soufriere and the Pitons: this is the place for you! Absolutely loved St. Lucia!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Katia H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, NM
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2012

La Haut - My wife and I traveled to St. Lucia for 6 days during the low season and spent four of them here at La Haut. The property is beautiful - it sits on the hill side overlooking the Pitons and the city of Soufriere. They have a lot of acreage you can walk around on and explore - They have their own donkeys, cows, and goats among other things.

The owners of La Haut live in a large house just off-property and are very welcoming. There are some great things to see on the property itself such as all the various fruit trees (mangos, papaya, even cashew), the plantaion architeture, and of course lots of little critters.

La Haut has their own restaurant which we ate at for breakfast every morning and dinner twice. We never had a bad meal. There is also a pool by the restaurant with a great view (there are no bad views here). If you have been looking at the photos on their website and want to enjoy the infinity pool, that is located on the owners property, not at La Haut itself - however the owner is more than happy to allow guests to come down and swim. Just ask the employees how to get there.

The rooms are very nice - we first started in room #1 which was close to the office. It had a balcony and nice view of the Pitons as well. Our toilet was broken however and so they were kind enough to offer us room #1 in the Cashew house - this sits closer to the owners house and is one of the best rooms on the property so if you can request it I would recommend this room.

No air conditioning (you'll get used to it) and be sure to sleep under the mosquito netting. The beds are some of the most comfortable we've been on during our travels and the pillows are to die for (seriously...great pillows). They will also give you fresh fruit every morning. The rooms also include kitchens, a fridge, and a safe if you have valuables.

Most employees are great here - I burned my back and they actually got me fresh aloe from a plant by the office to rub on it. My wife and I were also really curious about the cashew trees (they're amazing if you've never seen one - you'll realize why they're so expensive when you see it). If you ask they'll even demonstrate how cashews are made. Some of the employees we encountered however tended to be somewhat indifferent to our inquires, which could be frustrating at times but this was not the norm.

The main drawback was St. Lucia itself - I won't get into it much in this review, but just be warned that outside of the lodges, the people of St. Lucia will take every advantage of you they can to make money off of you. The people were very pushy and made us feel pretty uncomfortable in the city of Soufriere to the point that we stopped going into town. The attractions were little better - high cost with low return and we were even harrased at some of those. Driving is a must, but it can be a bit stressful if only because there are people all over the roads, which are narrow, and the St. Lucians have little patience for tourist drivers. Driving on the left side is not too big of an issue, but one wrong turn and you'll end up in a ditch with a broken axle.

My opinion of St Lucia overall is that if you enjoy doing activities through the lodges/plantations/resorts you stay at, you'll probably enjoy St. Lucia. If you are like my wife and I and enjoy exploring the culture and attractions on your own, you can find a much better place to go.

Room Tip: Ask for the Cashew Room - but if there is a party in the city of Soufriere below, it will be noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank dsowar007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Soufriere hotels
1.5 mi away
Jade Mountain Resort
Jade Mountain Resort
#1 of 11 in Soufriere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 906 reviews
1.6 mi away
Anse Chastanet
Anse Chastanet
#5 of 11 in Soufriere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,132 reviews
2.1 mi away
Ladera Resort
Ladera Resort
#2 of 11 in Soufriere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,222 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Stonefield Estate Resort
Stonefield Estate Resort
#8 of 11 in Soufriere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 707 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hummingbird Beach Resort
Hummingbird Beach Resort
#9 of 11 in Soufriere
4.0 of 5 bubbles 263 reviews
2.5 mi away
Sugar Beach, A Viceroy Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Haut Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Haut Resort

Property: La Haut Resort
Address: PO Box 304 West Coast Road, Soufriere, St. Lucia
Location: Caribbean > St. Lucia > Soufriere Quarter > Soufriere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Soufriere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — La Haut Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Haut or Le Haut literally means "the height" in Patois, a French dialect that is commonly spoken by St. Lucians. La Haut sits on a hill overlooking Soufriere, one of the oldest towns in St Lucia.Part of a 52-acre former coconut and cocoa estate, the main Guest House possesses a unique history. Nearly 100 years old, the main guesthouse was originally a cocoa house used for fermenting and drying cocoa beans hand-picked on the estate. In 1995, the building was converted and refurbished into a 6-room guesthouse. The nearby cottage was a former copra house where coconuts were once processed.Although the rich aroma of cocoa beans no longer wafts through the air, at La Haut you can enjoy the perfume-scented, tropical fauna or the salty breeze that blows off the Caribbean Sea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your La Haut Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Haut Plantation Hotel
La Haut Resort St. Lucia/Soufriere

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing