We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Stonefield Villa Resort(Soufriere)(Great Value!)
$312
$303
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Anse Chastanet(Soufriere)(Great Value!)
$431
$390
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
Fond Doux Plantation & Resort(Soufriere)(Great Value!)
$275
$138
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ladera Resort(Soufriere)
$894
$320
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 17% below average rates

The price you found is 17% lower than this hotel's average rate of $386/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Boucan by Hotel Chocolat(Soufriere)(Great Value!)
$278
$230
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 11% below average rates

The price you found is 11% lower than this hotel's average rate of $258/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Hummingbird Beach Resort(Soufriere)(Great Value!)
$132
$116
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$133
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$481
$411
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Jade Mountain Resort(Soufriere)
$1,567
$1,110
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (479)
Filter reviews
479 results
Traveler rating
276
143
37
15
8
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
276
143
37
15
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscashew roomsowner's houseinfinity poolsuperior deluxe roomst luciamain buildingworking plantationstunning viewssoufriere arearental carfresh fruitanse chastanet beachmain poolmosquito netmangoplantation houseceiling fan
Filter
Updating list...
300 - 305 of 479 reviews
Reviewed June 10, 2012

wonderful place, peaceful atmosphere, friendly people. I could have stayed all time on my balcony without getting boring. a good hike to Soufriere which keeps you fit. food is excellent.

Room Tip: all rooms have good view.
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank gempean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2012

We stayed at La Haut for 3 days, at the end of May 2012. We wanted a hotel with a nice view of the pitons; and we found it! La Haut has a breathtaking view of the 2 pitons, which was better than we had expected. We stayed in the room Cashew 3, which has a palm tree you can almost reach from the balcony. The view was spectacular from the room, as well as from the restaurant. The people were very nice (seemed reserved at first, but most of them warmed up and were very friendly). If you get the pleasure of meeting Georgia, as well as the chef who works in the kitchen; they will simply make your day. Such nice people! I highly recommend you take the shuttle down to Anse Chastenet, which has the best snorkeling. Beware of sunburns; they really creep up on you when you are snorkeling in that water. The fish and corals there are quite nice. Getting around the plantation is a bit pricy if you take a taxi, so if you can catch their free shuttle that they have a few times a day, do so. The food at La Haut was amazing. Everything is so fresh; including the mangoes we got in our room everyday. If you love mangoes, make sure you go when they are in season; well worth it! Overall, the resort is a bit isolated, but if you are looking to relax, not worry about what time it is, eat great food and look at a wonderful view of soufriere and the Pitons: this is the place for you! Absolutely loved St. Lucia!

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Katia H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2012

La Haut - My wife and I traveled to St. Lucia for 6 days during the low season and spent four of them here at La Haut. The property is beautiful - it sits on the hill side overlooking the Pitons and the city of Soufriere. They have a lot of acreage you can walk around on and explore - They have their own donkeys, cows, and goats among other things.

The owners of La Haut live in a large house just off-property and are very welcoming. There are some great things to see on the property itself such as all the various fruit trees (mangos, papaya, even cashew), the plantaion architeture, and of course lots of little critters.

La Haut has their own restaurant which we ate at for breakfast every morning and dinner twice. We never had a bad meal. There is also a pool by the restaurant with a great view (there are no bad views here). If you have been looking at the photos on their website and want to enjoy the infinity pool, that is located on the owners property, not at La Haut itself - however the owner is more than happy to allow guests to come down and swim. Just ask the employees how to get there.

The rooms are very nice - we first started in room #1 which was close to the office. It had a balcony and nice view of the Pitons as well. Our toilet was broken however and so they were kind enough to offer us room #1 in the Cashew house - this sits closer to the owners house and is one of the best rooms on the property so if you can request it I would recommend this room.

No air conditioning (you'll get used to it) and be sure to sleep under the mosquito netting. The beds are some of the most comfortable we've been on during our travels and the pillows are to die for (seriously...great pillows). They will also give you fresh fruit every morning. The rooms also include kitchens, a fridge, and a safe if you have valuables.

Most employees are great here - I burned my back and they actually got me fresh aloe from a plant by the office to rub on it. My wife and I were also really curious about the cashew trees (they're amazing if you've never seen one - you'll realize why they're so expensive when you see it). If you ask they'll even demonstrate how cashews are made. Some of the employees we encountered however tended to be somewhat indifferent to our inquires, which could be frustrating at times but this was not the norm.

The main drawback was St. Lucia itself - I won't get into it much in this review, but just be warned that outside of the lodges, the people of St. Lucia will take every advantage of you they can to make money off of you. The people were very pushy and made us feel pretty uncomfortable in the city of Soufriere to the point that we stopped going into town. The attractions were little better - high cost with low return and we were even harrased at some of those. Driving is a must, but it can be a bit stressful if only because there are people all over the roads, which are narrow, and the St. Lucians have little patience for tourist drivers. Driving on the left side is not too big of an issue, but one wrong turn and you'll end up in a ditch with a broken axle.

My opinion of St Lucia overall is that if you enjoy doing activities through the lodges/plantations/resorts you stay at, you'll probably enjoy St. Lucia. If you are like my wife and I and enjoy exploring the culture and attractions on your own, you can find a much better place to go.

Room Tip: Ask for the Cashew Room - but if there is a party in the city of Soufriere below, it will be noisy.
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank dsowar007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 19, 2012

If you're looking for somewhere with the most breathtaking and somewhere to really relax, La Haut is the place for you. This is not a big foo-foo all inclusive resort with all the luxuries you think you need but really don't. However, if you want to relax and experience something beyond a commercial resort and really learn about the culture, then La Haut is the right place for you. As some of the other reviews have said you will not experience the typical expectation of most Americans when is comes to timely service in the restaurant. That being said, of the 6 restaurant my husband and I visited while on the island, this was true for all of them.

I have never experienced the kind of hospitality than that at La Haut. The owner of the Resort Joe took my Husband and I down to the city of Soufriere on a Friday night to experience the culture. One the way down to the city, two of the plantation workers drove with us and they answered all of our many questions about the island ( free of charge). The next morning, Wayne, on of the staff made a special trip up to the plantation to show us how fresh cashew that are grown on the property are roasted. The front desk staff were always helpful in suggesting things for us to do each day and provided directions.

One down side I have read in some of the other reviews is the feeling of being stranded at the resort. We did rent a car and this made it easy for us to go sight seeing around the island and not have to pay the expensive price of the tours we were able to drive directly to the attraction itself. We also met another couple at the resort and spent the day site seeing with them like old friends.The first two days, the driving was a little scary for my husband on the left side of the roads that were very narrow and had a lot of hair pin turns but, by the third day, he was a pro.

As far as the rooms themselves, if your contemplating over a lower with air conditioning or an upper without air, we had an upper without air and I would give up air conditioning any day for that view! The first day the room was a little hot because it had been closed up all day but, after that we were never bothered by the temperature and we slept with the windows open all night. The bugs were not a problem the breeze kept them away although we did use the bug net around the bed at night.

If we ever go back to St. Lucia, I would not stay anywhere else. We traveled all over the island and I didn't see another spot that stopped my heart like when I walked on to our balcony the first day.

Room Tip: Get a room in the main building upper level the view is amazing. Get a rental car the money you will save on tours will make up for it.
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kim S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 17, 2012

The property is beautiful, wonderful gardens and lovely pools (even if a little). The hghlight is clearly the infinity pool that overlooks the Pitons and the town of Soufrière. Across the property grounds, you will be always rewarded with a world class view, but from the pool it becomes even more breathtaking.

Most rooms have views over the Pitons even if there a few a little less expensive that only have a garden view- these are also quite spacious but we were lucky enough to eb upgraded to a superior room with an incredible view that you can appreciate from your porch. I strongly suggest to get the superior bedroom.

The property is split into an upper and a lower part, as in the middle there is a small farm with animals, what clearly gives this old plantation an interesting rural side.

In terms of food, it could be improved in terms of breakfast, as having so many tropical fruits in the property (eg mangos, papayas) none of these were offered to guests. I found this issue across restaurantas also, where it seems they really don't profit from ther own local fruits that tourists appreciate so much.

In terms of moving around the island, if you stay here you should ideally rent a car as public transportation (mini vans that have numbers and the signage on the windshield) are frequent but their schedules aren't exactly predictable. And in general its much better to have your own way of transportation to see all the interesting places in the island. Or you can always book some tours if you dpn't want to drive- there is plenty of offer in Soufrière or just book with La Haut reception desk.

In terms of driving distances here is my summary to the main locations:
- Vieux Fort: 40-45 minutes
- Soufriére town: 5 minutes
- Marigot Bay: 35-40 minutes
- Castries: 1 hour
- Rodney Bay: 1h20 minutes
- Micoud (La tille Falls): 1 hour

A couple of notes on the roads:
- The east coast road from Vieux Fort up to Cul de Sac is faster than the west coast even if its less scenic.
- The west coast until Marigot Bay has many sharp and blind bends, plenty of hills and requires lots of horn beeping that is highly advised. The part between Soufriére and a little after Anse La Raye is a quite winding road.
- From Marigot Bay to Castries the roads come to more flat grounds and have less turns (even if traffic gets heavier)

Best beaches in St Lucia:
1. Anse Chastanet (rough road to get there but totally worth it with good snorkelling)/ Anse Mamin (just 10 minutes walking from Anse Chastanet, slightly smaller but more isloated and quiet)
2. Anse Cochon (also a bumpy road, but the little beach is amazing and snorkelling is spot on)
3. Jalousie Beach (feels like a slice of paradise but it gets crowded specially on the visitors part!)
4. Marigot Beach - busy but beautiful
5. Reduit Beach- very scenic and nice sandy beach but pays the price of having too many resorts in the area...

Other top places to visit:
- Pitons mountains (through tougher hikes, easier ones or watch them from the sea or mountains above)
- Toraille waterfalls
- Diamond waterfalls and Botanical gardens
- La Tille waterfalls
- Castries
- Pigeon Point

Restaurant suggestions:
1. Dasheene at Ladera Resort (near Soufriére) - the best views ever, affordable value and excellent quality in terms of food and service
2. Chateau Mygo (Marigot bay) - great quality with a good price in a wonderful place
3. Beachcombers restaurant (Soufriére) - pricey but the seafood is incredibly good
4. Anse La Raye Friday night seafood party - local food very tasty with local prices

So overall St Lucia is an amazing island, with plenty of lush rainforest, nice waterfalls, sandy beaches and dramatic scenario namely the Pitons area. And the best spot to see them it's clearly La Haut, placed in a strategic high vantage position, it's a million dollar view that you will never forget!

Room Tip: Superior room with view over the Pitons
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Martinitraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews