We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Same as Soufriere Sulfur Springs”
Review of Sulphur Springs

Sulphur Springs
Book In Advance
More Info
$75.00*
and up
Private Half-Day: Time Travelers Tour
Ranked #4 of 36 things to do in Soufriere
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: An enormous crater where boiling black water sprays hydrogen sulfide into the air.
Useful Information: Activities for older children
High River, Canada
Level Contributor
50 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Same as Soufriere Sulfur Springs”
Reviewed February 13, 2013

I have put my review under the attaction of "Soufriere Sulfer Springs". There appears to be a dupication of the same attraction by Trip Advisor. Perhaps if anyone at Trip Advisor reads this they will correct this little matter.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank imsell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,162 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    836
    801
    407
    92
    26
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
High River, Canada
Level Contributor
50 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“This is how these islands were formed.”
Reviewed February 13, 2013

We toured the drive-in volcano as part of our land and sea tour that we booked through SunLink Tours. If you take only one tour of St. Lucia take this one.

I have been to the Big Island of Hawaii, Costa Rica and Yellowstone National Park in the US so in terms of really fascinating volcanic activity there are better places in the world. However, this is the only drive-in volcano. My cousin from England, who accompanied me on this trip, had never seen any volcanic activity before so she was quite fascinated. You are no longer allowed to walk around inside the cauldron and the boiling mud. Their was an accident a year or so back that caused someone to be severely scaled so that activity has been stopped. Our offered two options - the mud baths or the volcano. Take your pick.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank imsell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Yellowstone, Only 1/100th the size”
Reviewed February 12, 2013

The Sulphur Springs are advertised as "driving through an active volcano". It's not entirely inaccurate but it is misleading. It is basically a small hillside of boiling springs with a pungent odor of hydrogen sulfide. The entire visit takes maybe 20-30 minutes and the guide offers a little insight into the culture and past volcanic eruptions. Apparently there is also a geyser that goes off but only at night during a full moon.

If you have ever been through Yellowstone National Park in the United States, you will be disappointed in this experience.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Joe S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barnstaple
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“A litte disappointing........”
Reviewed February 10, 2013

I suppose I had been spoilt having been to Rotorua in New Zealand. There the whole region is bursting with spings geysers and the like. I was expecting something similar at Sulphur Springs. Not expensive to visit but no need to take the "guided tour" You see no more than viewing from the roadside. Mud "baths" also a disappointment. A warm muddy pool of water and a bucket of mud with which to cover yourself.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank AlexBarn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caribbean
Level Contributor
96 reviews
33 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Hot stuff”
Reviewed February 9, 2013

We stayed in Rodney Bay so it was a long drive, but so scenic. It is worth it to rent a car and drive yourself so you are on your own time and you can stay as long as you like. The volcano is the only drive-in one in the world, but the sulphur springs are a wonder on their own. if you can't stand heat, then this is not for you. The water can be extremely hot and you have to immerse yourself in it. I have done this twice and both times were fun. The water was very hot this time and it took a while to get adjusted to the temperature, but once under the water, you body acclimatizes. then it is the mud smearing all over the body. it is advisable to bring swim wear and the sulphur water can be washed off. Think rustic mud spa and it really works. After about an hour, the showers feel really goos, but there are not many so it's a cowboy bath you have to take until you get to the hotel. But your skin feels so soft and smooth and your face has a glow. the price is $12.50 EC. which is a steal for nature's mud spa.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank TriniGail
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sulphur Springs also viewed

St. Lucia, Caribbean
Soufriere, Soufriere Quarter
 
Soufriere, Soufriere Quarter
 

Been to Sulphur Springs? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing