We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great snorkeling” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Anse Mamin

Anse Mamin
Ranked #2 of 34 things to do in Soufriere
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: An old sugar plantation with a knot of bike trails along the estate.
Florida
Level Contributor
84 reviews
40 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
“Great snorkeling”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 2, 2013

Lovely beach but not quite as ‘deserted’ as other reviewers stated. This is part of Anse Chastanet resort, and you’re not allowed to use the beach chairs even if you pay money for them- hotel policy. I thought this was kind of odd, since you can rent chairs at Anse Chastanet's main beach just down the road. But we still had a great time. Ordered a sangria and beer from the bar which were good. There is shade on the right and left side if you don’t have beach umbrellas.
The snorkeling was fantastic. On the right, next to the tall rock outcrop, we saw snake eels, flying gurnards, rockfish, sponges, and garden eels towards the middle of the beach. To the left, closer to where the dirt pathway is, it was like swimming in an aquarium. There were large schools of fish along with grouper, flounder, shrimp, and lobster. Overall it was a great beach trip, though I wish we could have rented beach chairs because eventually the sand flies start nipping at you.
A couple of the locals actually got in an argument on the beach (all beaches are public so locals can come and go and do whatever they want); the fight was over a bag of conch shells one of them had. I was a little disheartened that they’re even allowed to hunt conch here still as most of this area is designated a marine park. One of them was also eyeing up our stuff on the beach while we were out snorkeling and it made me a little worried.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank threelittlefish856
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

346 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    245
    80
    17
    4
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, UK
Level Contributor
29 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Great setting but the aggressive welcome spoilt it”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 30, 2013

This beach and the inland walk were highly recommended to us and the setting certainly matched our expectations. The beach is small but perfectly formed and has been cared for by the local hotel. It backs on to a wonderful valley that is now used mainly for biking (run by the same hotel) and hiking. The hike was good and quite straightforward with the odd steep bit but no scrabbling. It is topped off by some of the best views of the Pitons we could find (certainly matches the Ladera sunset).

However, the attitude of some of the hotel staff was hostile and they did what they could to prevent us climbing it at all insisting only hotel guests had any right to enter the area. This may be true but to be sneered at for enquiring drove us to challenge this and after 10 minutes of debate they admitted their policy was to provide a free guide to show you where the hiking trail begins. So don't let the unfriendly staff put you off and try this gem of a trail.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Michael M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“beautiful”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 27, 2013

connected right to anse chastenet where we stayed. more intimate and burgers on the beach. rock formations for a great setting. and you can go for a short hike from here.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank meghan h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Park, Pennsylvania, United States
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Beach Day”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 14, 2013 via mobile

Favorite beach so far on St Lucia having been to Sandy Beach, Ti Kaye village, and Sugar Beach.. The only downside is having to drive through Soufriere to get there. Lots of snorkleing, shade, parking, and swimming. Will try again tomorrow..hoping to find an easier way through soufriere.

Helpful?
Thank Michele M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerset, United Kingdom
1 review
“Arrive by boat,for your mountain biking trip&arrive in paradise!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 14, 2013 via mobile

Mountain biking with a wow factor.arriving by boat!almost secluded beech,with black sand which gets hot&the beech has a hammock about30yards from the sea.
The Jungle biking provides a great nature trail in the plantation behind the beach with a few tracks to follow.
For lunch The Jungle burger meal which is included in the price with fries is amazing.sit in the hammock with a piton lager&your in paradise!!
My only negative point would be for the trip to be made longer as snorkelling is available as well.
If this trip doesn't wet ur appetite I don't know what will!!
Go jungle biking !!yeah mon

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Junglesaint
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Anse Mamin also viewed

Soufriere, Soufriere Quarter
Soufriere, Soufriere Quarter
 
St. Lucia, Caribbean
 

Been to Anse Mamin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing