We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“One of the most beautiful and peaceful places we have been...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Stonefield Estate Resort
Ranked #8 of 11 Hotels in Soufriere
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
220 reviews
105 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 438 helpful votes
“One of the most beautiful and peaceful places we have been...”
Reviewed January 7, 2006

If you want all the peace, privacy and accommodation that go with a private villa rental but also the amenities of a small boutique hotel this is your place. Based totally on Trip Advisor reviews I selected Stonefield for our vacation between Christmas and New Years. While I sometimes think one can "research" a trip too much and lose some of the magic of discovering a new place...it is really important that you understand the type of property you are booking. We had previously stayed at Windjammer Landing and Jalousie so I was clear on what I did not want (these resorts are both fine just not what I wanted for this trip). Stonefield has about 19 (I think) villas of various sizes etc, and I worked with Denalia in the reservation office to select one. She was very helpful.I took one without pool called Flamboyant because it looked like a very private location without much possibility of noise. They have now added pools to most all of the villas and this one will be considered one of the most expensive. The pool is so beautiful and really gives the illusion of an infinity pool as you look out at the sea. The views are incredible. The process of selecting the villa is a little confusing because it is hard to figure out locations etc. We took the "Escape Package" which included airport transfers (very prompt) massages (with Sandra excellent) taxes etc. All staff at the hotel were helpful, polite and efficient..always a pleasant greeting when you encountered them. Ate every dinner in the Mango Tree and food was good, yes service can be slow but where are you going and "Belkiss" will always be checking on your table. Although she is a server she also has such a great personality that she gets to know everyone. I liked the hotel because it is small enough to be quiet and feel at home but management and staff do not hover. They are there if you need them but not intrusive. The couple of times we needed something fixed in the villa it was done promptly with a smile.Many honeymooners and families this week and all guests were friendly but respectful of each other's privacy. With the openair nature of the villas (there are screens) if you had very loud party types in the villas close to you could be a problem but Stonefield does not seem to draw a crowd like that. Highly recommend Stonefield for honeymooners or anyone else seeking a vacation to relax and feel like you are in another world. Took the free shuttle to Jalousie beach..you can get towels there and spend the day..they pick up at 3:30pm. Great beach there. We did not like the food at Jalousie and found a tiny place next door called "Bang" where a bunch of people hang out when not on their yachts and while it looked sort of run down the food was very good and reasonable compared to Jalousie. Also took shuttle to Soufriere for some basic supplies the first day and apart from that would not find anything interesting in that town. Got more rain than expected for the "dry" season and can get a little boring if weather does not cooperate. Taxi fares very high and for anyone that feels comfortable driving (winding roads and left side of road) I would highly recommend a car rental to really be able to explore the island. Most of the mega resorts and duty free shopping and cruise crowds are in the northern part of the island and with the road situation etc. you want to be sure to locate on the end of the island that suits your vacation goals. The south is definitely the quiet end with more atmosphere. Every guest I spoke with just loved it there and no matter what villa they were in thought the views were great. It is obviously a very well run hotel and Mr. Brown is doing an excellent job. If you chose Stonefield odds are it will exceed your expectations..it did for us!

Helpful?
17 Thank gene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

710 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    501
    146
    35
    20
    8
See reviews for
49
480
4
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (157)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Memphis, Tennessee
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed January 4, 2006

My two friends and I visited Stonefield Villas on November 21-28, 2005. It was our first visit to St. Lucia and won’t be our last! We are already discussing a return trip to St. Lucia for the Jazz Festival. Overall, we thought St. Lucia was an incredibly, beautiful island. There are no words to accurately describe the island or its people. St. Lucia provided the perfect opportunity to escape from our busy lives and the chance to relax. After researching various properties in St. Lucia, I chose Stonefield because of its size and the positive reviews I read on Trip Advisor. I was anxious to find out whether the resort lived up to its reputation. I’m pleased to report that we had a great vacation at Stonefield. The staff was extremely professional and able to answer all of our questions – no matter how strange or crazy! It was also a pleasure to meet Mr. Brown and the staff at Stonefield and stay at a place that is family-owned and operated. It was obvious to us that the staff take a great deal of pride in their work and try to make sure guests enjoy their experience at Stonefield and in St. Lucia. I travel a great deal and it’s rare that I meet the management staff unless it’s to report a problem.

Of the tours we did, I think our group enjoyed the Manager’s Tour most because we got a chance to see different parts of St. Lucia. Also, Albert was a great driver and pointed out points of interest to us as we traveled from Soufriere to Pigeon Island. We were able to take some really beautiful photos of St. Lucia. Also, the trips to the botanical gardens and sulfur springs were interesting. We had a knowledgeable guide at the botanical gardens who gave us a great deal of information on St Lucia.

We ate meals in various places around Soufriere including Ladera and Hummingbird Resorts. However, we enjoyed the meals and time spent at the Mango Tree Restaurant the most. The food and scenery at Mango Tree were great. The staff was always really friendly and made sure that we had a good time. Belkiss and Malysius provided excellent service, drinks, and introduced one of my friends to tamarind juice. She is still trying to find tamarind juice in the States! We spent many evenings relaxing by the pool staring up at the sky after dinners at Mango Tree. It was time spent that we won’t forget anytime soon.

The accommodations at Stonefield were spacious, clean, and well-maintained. Marilyn who cleaned our villa was very friendly and made sure our villa was always clean. On our next visit, to Stonefield we’ll choose a place with a pool. One of the great things about the villas is how open they are to the surroundings. It takes a minute to get used to the sounds of birds, bugs, and the lizards after living in a large city. However, I can’t imagine staying in a place that doesn’t take advantage of the beauty of St. Lucia.

A couple of other places that we really enjoyed were Camillas and Pirates Cove Restaurants in Soufriere, the Caribelle Batik Shop, shopping in the market in Castries for souvenirs, and stopping by Zakas to check out the masks.

I think it’s important when planning a vacation to read as much as possible about the place and various types of properties. If you are looking for relaxing, beautiful surroundings and a small well-managed resort, then Stonefield is an excellent choice.

  • Stayed November 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
16 Thank TThomas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloomfield, New Jersey
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2006

We returned recently from our honeymoon at Stonefield Villas. We absolutely loved every minute. It was the most peaceful, private, beautiful place, a perfect setting for a honeymoon or romantic getaway. We stayed in the Frangipani Villa and it was just wonderful. The view was panoramic and far beyond your imagination. You see the jungle,mountains, and ocean all in one view. Also the Villa had a VERY LARGE fantastic private pool. We would have never left if we didn't have to eat at some point!! I was told not all villas were quite as private as ours, so would ask if it is important to you. Also they are all layed out a bit different, and have different size pools, so look at the diagrams on their website and ask questions. We were very concerned about the mosquitos, but were pleasantly surprised to find they were hardly noticed. A little bug spray at night if you are sensitive, otherwise no real problems.(we were there early Dec. 2005.)
We enjoyed the food at the Mango Tree restaurant, we got the breakfast/dinner meal plan and felt it was a great choice and very worth it. The dinners were fantastic and interesting. Everything was very fresh and there were creative deserts each evening. The Stonefield staff was very kind in general. We particularly felt the Dinner staff was exceptional, especially a waitress by the name of Belkiss. We did venture out for lunch one day, down the raod to a restaurant called Marths's Tables. This was a great little local place with terrific food, and lot's of it. The owners wre very friendly and made you feel right at home.
We had the honeymoon package and took advantage of the activities included. We enjoyed the Sunset Cruise very much, we actually saw the most amazing sunset of our lives that night. We ventured out on Friday night to the "fish fry", this was not as good as we expected. I wouldn't reccomend it, it was much smaller than I imagined, the choices were limited, and none of it was worth the 40 minute bumpy, twisty car ride there!! We took trips out to the volcano, waterfalls, botanical garden, and rainforest. All were worth it and very beautiful. The shopping in Souffrie is very limited, do not expect much, and when near the waterfront expect to be approached by beggars. You are able to go to the grocery store, bank, and pick up some small souveniers. There is a great artist down the road from Stonefield named ZAKA, he carves and hand paints fantastic masks, we did alot of Christmas shopping there. he is truly an artist and his creations are worth every penny.

All in All, Stonefield was amazing, St Lucia is gorgeous, we can't wait to go back!!!!!!!!!!!

Helpful?
11 Thank Michele C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed January 1, 2006

Just returned from a family vacation for a week at Stonefield Estate Villa Resort. 5 of us stayed in the Plantation House which was a wonderful house, comfortable, excellent pool/patio, large kitchen and spatious bedrooms. We found St. Lucia to be an excellent place to relax for a week with a nice mix of activities and relaxation. The snorkeling is not excellent compared to elsewhere in the Caribbean but we enjoyed taking a water taxi to snorkeling sites and Castries. Stonefield is close to a nice beach (Jalousie) as well as walking distance to Soufriere, botanical garden, etc.

Our only complaint about the vacation was the cost of food and transportation around the island. The food is extremely overpriced and not that spectacular. Of all of the places that we ate, the Mango Tree at Stonefield probably had the best food - this was a surprise since it seemed to be overlooked by our guidebooks.

  • Stayed December 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed December 3, 2005

We just got back from St.Lucia and had a wonderful ten days at Stonefield Estate. The views are awe-inspiring-we had our own large pool(complimentary upgrade)in a extremely spacious villa(Plantation House) overlooking the Petit Piton and the Caribbean Sea. The pool was surrounded by mango,banana, coconut, and papaya trees with hanging fruit which the staff would sometimes cut down for us. They are finishing up adding pools onto most of the villas at the estate, which is spread out over a hillside.
The staff was helpful and friendly and were very good with our children(10 and 8 years old). The restaurant is called the Mango Tree and it is quite delicious(probably the best in the area-even better than the higher-priced Dasheene Restaurant at nearby Ladera Resort). The menu was different every night for a week, then repeats. The restaurant also overlooked the sea and the mountain and had a nice open-air ambiance with occasional live music. The breakfast were very good compared to nearby restaurants-try the Mango Tree Breakfast Basket(Warm Creole Bread served with assorted local jams).
The resort offered shuttles to the nearby Jalousie Beach, which was small, but beautiful. We got complimentary snorkeling gear from Jalousie and enjoyed the reef at the base of the Petit Piton. Stonefield is near several natural attractions(mineral hot springs and drive-in volcano are two we visited) and close(not really reasonable walking distance) to the town of Soufriere. We rented a jeep for the week and drove thru the town several times-could be tricky because of narrow streets and parked cars, but the town has a market for basic supplies. They will drive you to the town for a small fee to get supplies if you don't rent a vehicle.
Stonefield is a great family-owned resort and is a wonderful choice for those who are seeking island hospitality instead of all-inclusive megaresorts.

  • Stayed November 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank StephanieBrad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed September 12, 2005

We chose Stonefield Estate for our wedding on June 25. To put it simply, we could not have made a better choice.

From our arrival until our departure, our stay at Stonefield was characterized by an unbroken string of excellence from the staff and contractors brought in to handle various parts of the wedding. The resort’s staff (especially the admirable Vienne) whisked us into town to shop when we needed supplies, set up a private barbecue for the guests two nights before the wedding, and did a number of other wonderful services. They had a true love of their country and were happy to share it with us. It was excellence with warmth.

Our villa – with a sea view – was terrific. Breezes and the occasional bursts of rain kept it cool much of the time, even in June. The villa itself was clean and roomy, with ample space for lounging and a delightful deck with hammock. The outdoor shower was also delightful. The Piton staring down at us every morning, through sun and cloud, was an extra treat.

The Mango Tree restaurant was A+. The breakfasts were delicious and filling. The papaya preserves were our favorite. The dinners were scrumptious – be they seafood, chicken or beef. The service was warm and friendly, and the servers at the Mango Tree were exceedingly friendly and patient as we decided between the many scrumptious offerings, or dawdled over drinks and dinner and dessert. (Service did slow at times when the restaurant was very crowded, but that’s often the price that one pays for the excellent work in a small kitchen. I say have another Chairman’s Reserve rum and relax.)

Stonefield does not have a beach, but shuttles to the nearby Jalousie are frequent. It’s a terrific beach. The resort also has many tours and excursions; the ones taken by our guests and ourselves were all wonderful. Guests are sung to sleep by tree frogs and birds. It’s delightful.

Planning a wedding is never easy; unless you do it at Stonefield. We can honestly say that we had absolutely no hassles at all. Everything was taken care of by our wedding coordinator Shanna and the staff. All of the promised parts of the package we bought – from the welcome champagne and meal in the villa to the massages to the actual ceremony – were not only delivered, but were excellent. We were taken in one stop for the legal niceties and bothered with little else until we signed the register. How often can a couple say that their wedding – with 25 guests – was so uncomplicated that bride and groom were sipping drinks or lounging relaxedly in the pool until 90 minutes or so before the ceremony?

The wedding itself was fabulous. Everything from the floral arch to the guitarist to the arrangement of the space was superlative. Our photographer was also terrific – coaxing great pictures out of us with minimum fuss and then handing us a CD-ROM with his handiwork before he left.

The reception was delightful. I highly recommend the shak shak band – it’s a combination of African, folk and Cajun music that is spirited, beautiful and yet not overpowering. Most of our guests were delighted with it.

We had a wedding that we will never forget. Stonefield made it unforgettable. A++++

  • Stayed June 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
16 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed September 9, 2005

We had an amazing honeymoon at Stonefield! We read all of the reviews on trip advisor before settling on Stonefield, and we were glad we did! We were constantly told that it was the rainy season, but the weather never stopped us from doing anything that we wanted to do! It was sunny every day. I would rain for like 10 minutes, and then the sun would be out for the rest of the day. It was absolutely beautiful! And we were even able to go on my 1st year teacher's salary!
Our only problems the whole time we were there were with National Car Rental. Whatever you do, do not rent from National Car Rental. I returned the car with one Extremely Small 3 inch scratch, and I was told that it would not cost me more than $100 (which I thought would be a ridiculous amount anyway), but they instead charged me $180. After calling them and e-mailing them multiple times, they finally gave me $60 back.
Everybody with the exception of National Car Rental treated us really well on the island. We had an incredible time at Stonefield. We couldn't have asked for a better view of the Pitons. We loved waking up looking at the Mountains. Everybody there was nice and helpful to us. But, if you're looking to rent a car, and I would recommend exploring the island, just DO NOT rent from National.

  • Stayed July 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Soufriere
1.7 mi away
Jade Mountain Resort
Jade Mountain Resort
#1 of 11 in Soufriere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 919 reviews
1.8 mi away
Anse Chastanet
Anse Chastanet
#5 of 11 in Soufriere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,139 reviews
1.2 mi away
Sugar Beach, A Viceroy Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Ladera Resort
Ladera Resort
#2 of 11 in Soufriere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,238 reviews
19.1 mi away
Cap Maison
Cap Maison
#2 of 4 in Cap Estate
4.5 of 5 bubbles 732 reviews
8.6 mi away
Marigot Bay Resort and Marina by Capella
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stonefield Estate Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stonefield Estate Resort

Property: Stonefield Estate Resort
Address: Stonefield Estate | Saint Lucia, Soufriere, St. Lucia
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > St. Lucia > Soufriere Quarter > Soufriere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Soufriere
#6 Luxury Hotel in Soufriere
#6 Spa Hotel in Soufriere
#6 Family Hotel in Soufriere
#8 Romantic Hotel in Soufriere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Stonefield Estate Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The resort is located on 27 lush acres near the rain forest and what is now a world heritage site. It is therefore secluded yet in the heart of all of St.Lucia's natural attractions like the open volcano, botanical gardens, rain forest, waterfalls, and other fine dining to enhance your experience of the island's local flavour. It captures the famous Petit Piton and Caribbean sea. Its villas have an open air design with 4 poster beds, hammocks, private garden showers and private pools. This resort was rated the number 1 resort in Soufriere by discriminating travelers - TripAdvisor. Please note that all guests at Stonefield must be 18 and over. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, West Indies, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Stonefield Estate Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stonefield Estate Villa Resort And Spa
Stonefield Estate Villa Hotel
Stonefield Estate Hotel
Stonefield Estate Resort St. Lucia/Soufriere

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing