We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Official Hotel
$331
View deal
Expedia.com
$331
View deal
CheapTickets
$331
View deal
Travelocity$331
Tripadvisor$331
onlySaintlucia.com
View all 16 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (948)
Filter reviews
948 results
Traveler rating
685
179
49
23
12
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
685
179
49
23
12
Show reviews that mention
All reviews mango tree restaurant outdoor shower petit piton private pool our honeymoon st lucia sugar beach cell phone double hammock amazing views caribbean sea ocean view full kitchen free shuttle walk in closet taxi service diamond falls
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
421 - 426 of 948 reviews
Reviewed June 28, 2014

I have stayed here twice, once in June 2004 and now again in June 2014. Absolutely fell in love with the place both times. In 2004 they were just discussing the renovations which we were able to see this time around and they were worth it! We stayed in the Flamboyant Ocean View villa and we felt like royalty. The views of the Caribbean Sea and Petite Piton are magical from all over the grounds. The plant life is amazing! We had Star Fruit, Mangoes, Banana Trees, Jade Vine, Ginger Lilies, Bread Fruit trees, Hibiscus, and many others which I cannot even name just gorgeously in bloom all around our villa. Humming Birds, Lizards and Tortoises as well, which thrilled me to no end.

Our villa had a private pool and while we were expecting just a small plunge pool it turned out to be a full sized pool going down to 5 feet overlooking the sea. We LOVED it! We swam every day in private and just enjoyed ourselves. The garden shower is a major plus, wish we lived in a climate to have one at home. So relaxing and tranquil. Also, and this was a big improvement from the last time I stayed here, they have installed AC units in the bedroom of the villas. This isn't so much important for the temperature but for the mosquitoes. They put plexiglass covers over the open air portions of the bedroom now and this includes the windows, to keep the AC inside. The best part for me was that this really limited our over night exposure to the little biting buggers! We still used the mosquito netting on the bed but the last time I was here I was eaten alive. This time I went home with only two bites, so I call that a major win. Just keep the door to the bathroom closed at all times (blocking the entrance from the garden shower) and the door to the bedroom close and you really have a safe zone.

The only real issue I have is the cost of the food. Let me say this, the food in AMAZING at the Mango Tree restaurant, and breakfast is included in your stay which is awesome. But lunch and dinner get very pricey especially when you add in the taxes. We did not rent a car and admittedly did not get adventurous enough to go into town for food so we racked up quite a bill at the restaurant BUT every single meal was exceptional. I simply suggest if you are adventurous you come with a plan of places you want to eat off property or prepare to spend a good chunk of your budget on resort priced food. But those views while you're eating...just wow. We really cannot wait to go back.

One other nice thing, they give you a cell phone on check in so you can call the front desk or security easily and make local calls for dining reservations and tours. You CANNOT make international calls without adding minutes on your own dime so don't try to be sneaky :). But this was awesome since my cell phone did not work on the island. Apparently Verizon does not share cells in Saint Lucia. My husband did have service on AT&T but at a great cost. Thought this was a nice feature they added as well since my last trip.

Room tip: The Ocean View villas have an unparalleled view of the Caribbean Sea and the Petite Piton. I believe all villas have some sort of pool be it a plunge pool or regular pool. Try to look at photos of the villas online to determine the size and amenities. None of the rooms have TV and that is the best thing ever. We didn't miss it at all.
Date of stay: June 2014
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Ellie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John K, Guest Relations Manager at Stonefield Villa Resort, responded to this reviewResponded February 13, 2015

Ellie,

Yes, the private plunge pools are a nice touch to the villas. They are part of what makes Stonefield stand-out.

Looking forward to seeing you on your THIRD trip!

Best Regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2014

Stonefield Estate was the second stop on our St Lucia honeymoon excursion last December and served as a wonderful recharger between the hustle and bustle of Windjammer and Sugar Beach (both great as well!). It's tough to rank things in St Lucia based on scenery since everything is beautiful, but our villa (Jasmine) was breathtaking. Words cannot really do it justice, but picture sitting in your private villa pool or private hammock with Petit Piton towering over you, an endless blue ocean in front of you and a rainforest that makes you feel like you're living in Jurassic Park all around you. Probably the most serene, peaceful resort I have ever been to.

There is only one restaurant on the resort, called The Mango Tree, but it's great food and enough to keep things fresh without requiring you to travel off the resort. It is very close to downtown Souffriere though, so I would recommend going into town one night as we did.

We also organized two day trips through the front desk; one to hike up Gros Piton and the other to take a tour of the Sulpher Springs and Diamond Waterfall Botanical Garden. Both of which are very close to the resort. These tours ended up being a little pricier than some of the other resorts but not too significant. Part of this is due to the fact that the resort only consists of about 15-20 villas so there are not swarms of people around.

Which brings me to my next point......it feels like you are the only people on the resort, which is amazing! Couples will be scattered around throughout dinner and you may catch a glimpse of someone throughout her day but you might as well be alone in the wilderness. This only adds to the romantic feel of Stonefield.

I definitely recommend staying here for at least 3 to 4 days (or longer if you really like the isolation and want to keep the romantic juices flowing). There is wifi but no tv for anyone who can't stay away from entertainment. The one major con is that there are Mosquitos everywhere. I have never been so bitten up in my life, so remember the big spray!

Date of stay: December 2013
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
4  Thank Jeff V
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John K, Guest Relations Manager at Stonefield Villa Resort, responded to this reviewResponded February 13, 2015

"Probably the most serene, peaceful resort I have ever been to.". Thanks for the kind words. Looking forward to seeing you on your next trip to Stonefield!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2014

My husband and I had a lovely stay at Stonefield Estate. Being there during low season, they gave us a complimentary room upgrade which we much appreciated. We were in the Bamboo room and had a fantastic view of Petit Piton and the ocean. Waking up to that every morning was absolutely incredible. The room was fairly large with an outdoor shower and a comfortable bed. The balcony has several chairs for sitting and lounging as well as a hammock. The grounds are absolutely beautiful with many colorful flowers. In fact, we visited Anse Chastenet and while we only went to the beach area, our drive in seemed less impressive than the grounds at Stonefield. Perhaps the grounds are nicer once you get to the resort area at Anse Chastenet, but we felt we had made the right choice with Stonefield. Also it is very conveniently located to the town of Soufriere. It is probably walkable, though it's a very steep hill to walk up and might be dangerous at night. If you have a car, it is a very quick drive into town. All in all, would definitely recommend staying here.

Room tip: Bamboo Room has a wonderful view of Petit Piton and the ocean.
Date of stay: June 2014
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank hyena531
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John K, Guest Relations Manager at Stonefield Villa Resort, responded to this reviewResponded February 13, 2015

Happy to hear you enjoyed the complimentary upgrade. Our staff always likes to go the extra mile when it comes to the comforts of our guests.

Thank-you!.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2014

This hotel is an absolute joy. Perched on a hillside beneath the Pitons, it is a wonderfully peaceful retreat comprising 16 self-contained villas. Each is surrounded by rich, exotic and colourful vegetation with its own swimming small pool, verandah and hammock. The views through the trees and over the bourgainvillea bushes are stunning, especially as the sun goes down.
Stonefields is privately owned and has been set-up with great love and care. The staff are helpful and friendly with the restaurant and bar area - both high above the sea - expertly overseen by the delightful Mr Alcee.
The rooms are comfortable without being spectacular. There is both air con and a ceiling fan above the large four poster which is draped in a mosquito net. There is no TV anywhere on the complex but docking stations in each roof allows for music and a decent wi-fi signal. Each room has a small kitchen area and an outside shower unit. Ours was not in great repair and was a little tempremental but it was good fun, not least when a bunch of bananas fell off the tree above the area. It is the breathtaking view and the atmosphere - humming birds darted among the flowers over the pool - that are the stars here.
There is a decent, well stocked bar near the main pool, which is quite small given there is no hotel beach, close to the Mango Tree restaurant which has its own superb view. The restaurant was good and reasonably priced but we felt the menu was limited and the cooking not in the class of those at the neighbouring Ladera or Hotel Chocolat.
Breakfast again was adequate but nothing special given the local fruits and ingredients available. A number of items such as yogurt were extra while the quality of bread and rolls were average as were the eggs, often cold after the walk from the kitchens.
That said, this should not put you off this hotel. In the days we were there we ate in the Mango Tree twice, at the poolside BBQ - a highlight - and out three times. The Dasheen at Ladera was the best we experienced while at Soufriere, ten minutes away by taxi, Orlando's or the laidback, slightly more down market, Humming Bird, had a great bar, cocktails and decent creole food overseen by the splendid Joyce, a picture hanging proudly on the wall recalls the day she was honoured by the Queen. Service, however, can be slow.
There is no beach at Stonefields but the hotel runs a shuttle service to the brash US-dominated Sugar Beach resort nearby or to a bay used by locals and a 10 minute walk away - 20 minutes back as it is up a steep hill. This was virtually deserted except for a couple of yachts and those visiting the only bar/restaurant. Swimming was stunning although there is quite a pull from the currents with plenty of fish to see. Go quickly, there is a plan by a major hotel chain to develop the beach - much to the annoyance of some locals.
From the sand or the sea, you are able too to appreciate the beauty of Stonefields as only a few of the rooftops are visable, the rest perfectly merged into the hillside and dense vegetation.
There is a problem with the beaches for although they are officially 'public' the reality is that they are dominated by the hotels who appear to resent non residents. At Sugar Beach non residents are either moved to the end of the beach where the boats come in or charged ridiculous amounts for hire while at Anse Chastanet, probably the best sandy beach near Soufriere, it is dominated by hotel liungers which can't be hired and, dangerously, all others are made to feel like second class citizens.
From Sugar Beach, Anse Chastanet and the disappointing, dirty harbour at Soufriere it is possible to take a yacht or speed boat up the coast to Pigeon Island, Rodney Bay and the yachty haven on Marigot Bay - try the Capella restaurant there.
Pigeon Island, a National Park with its broken colonial buildings and fort left from the skirmishes between Britain and France is well worth a visit. There are two beaches, great walks, a gem of a local restaurant, views of Martinique as well as the crashing waves of the Atlantic on one side and the calm of the Caribbean on the other.
Either way, calm, charm, peace and friendship awaits your return to Stonefields.

Room tip: For those who find walking tough for any reason, go for the higher villas.
Date of stay: March 2014
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 980DavidW980
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John K, Guest Relations Manager at Stonefield Villa Resort, responded to this reviewResponded February 13, 2015

David,

Thanks for the thorough and complimentary review of Stonefield. And yes, privately owning something can do wonders for the ambience and uniqueness. As you say, much love and care went into the construction of Stonefield, and it's something we are proud of.

Best Regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2014

We spent a nice long weekend in St. Lucia for our anniversary at the Stonefield Estate Resort. The Staff was very welcoming and friendly. They had our villa setup with fresh flowers and fruit for our anniversary. As well as a beautiful card on the night table. The resort was very clean, the pool was great, and the restaurant food was delicious. Our villa was very private and you can't beat the view, we had a nice view of the Ocean and the Piton. The Spa staff was also great and very friendly. The Hotel provides free taxi service to Sugar Beach. They also provide a lot of different tour packages of the Island (at a cost), as well as pickup arrangements from the hotel to the airport. I will recommend this resort to family and friends if they are planning to stay in the West side of the island.

Date of stay: May 2014
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Vanessa K
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John K, Guest Relations Manager at Stonefield Villa Resort, responded to this reviewResponded February 14, 2015

Vanessa, Thanks for the shining 5 star feedback. Happy that you say you would recommend us to family and friends. It was our pleasure! See you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews