We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Get Away” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Stonefield Estate Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Stonefield Estate Resort
Ranked #8 of 12 Hotels in Soufriere
Certificate of Excellence
New York, New York, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Get Away”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2014

We spent a nice long weekend in St. Lucia for our anniversary at the Stonefield Estate Resort. The Staff was very welcoming and friendly. They had our villa setup with fresh flowers and fruit for our anniversary. As well as a beautiful card on the night table. The resort was very clean, the pool was great, and the restaurant food was delicious. Our villa was very private and you can't beat the view, we had a nice view of the Ocean and the Piton. The Spa staff was also great and very friendly. The Hotel provides free taxi service to Sugar Beach. They also provide a lot of different tour packages of the Island (at a cost), as well as pickup arrangements from the hotel to the airport. I will recommend this resort to family and friends if they are planning to stay in the West side of the island.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vanessa K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John K, Guest Relations Manager at Stonefield Estate Resort, responded to this review, February 14, 2015
Vanessa, Thanks for the shining 5 star feedback. Happy that you say you would recommend us to family and friends. It was our pleasure! See you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

665 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    468
    135
    34
    20
    8
See reviews for
46
443
3
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (140)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lake Ridge, Virginia
Level Contributor
67 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2014

This was a fantastic place to go for my wife's birthday. We stayed in one of the small villa types of rooms, which comes with a private garden/porch area that includes a small pool, a hammock and a breathtaking view of the Piton and sea. The grounds of this place are just beautiful and the layout provides the opportunity for plenty of privacy, with the ability to get out and mingle as desired.

We found having a rental car helpful, as you can save a lot of money getting to the different tourist sites yourself, and we found the locals to generally be courteous drivers. At no time did we feel in danger driving and moving around locally on our own without shelling out for an official tour.

You are a short walk away from a small public beach near a yacht club that is almost deserted, which we found a perfect place to spend some quality time together. You can also go to another hotel nearby with which Stonefield has an arrangement if you want to be in a more resort oriented environment. You are also very close to "downtown" Soufriere, so you can mingle with locals and check out some good restaurants.

The food was excellent at the onsite Mango Tree restaurant and the resort staff was incredibly nice and helpful with suggestions on places for us to check out and other places for us to dine. The manager of the restaurant is an especially nice man, and seems to enjoy his job more than anyone I have seen in a long time. With the views from the dining area, I can see why.

Upon check-in you are issued a mobile phone so you can call in to the resort if you need anything, get lost, have a question...whatever. This is an example of the small details Stonefield thinks about to make your stay pleasant. I actually forgot to mention that it was my wife's birthday except in passing to the manager at breakfast that morning, and when we got back from sightseeing they had decorated our room beautifully with flowers, written a message in petals on the blanket and left a very nice card.

The resort is locally owned, which I found to be a huge positive, as you will be staying in luxury that in no way feels like a "canned" experience. Of all the places I have been in the Caribbean, I would say St. Lucia is now my preferred destination and Stonefield was a big part of that.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank A_Tropical_Snowstorm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John K, Guest Relations Manager at Stonefield Estate Resort, responded to this review, February 14, 2015
Thank-you for taking the time to review Stonefield Estate Resort. You are right. The "canned" experience is not for everyone. Here, we are delivering an ambience that is pristine, private and wholly unique.

Look forward to speaking with you on your next trip to Stonefield.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2014

My husband and I spent 7 blissful nights in St. Lucia at Stonefield Estate Resort and they exceeded all of our expectations. The resort arranged for a taxi to pick us up at the airport and we enjoyed the ride to the resort as our driver pointed out the fishing villages, schools and other highlights along the way. (During our entire trip, everyone we met was friendly and eager to share the history of their island which made the trip even more fun and memorable.) We were greeted at Stonefield with a cold hand towel and fresh squeezed Tamarind juice and escorted to our villa.
The villa was spacious and very charming. There were fresh local flowers/plants in vases and planters around the room and little flowers had been picked and placed throughout along with “Welcome” written on the bench at the foot of the bed. The resort supplied a mosquito net around the bed to keep any biters away at night, towels for the outdoor shower as well as towels for the beach or plunge pool. They also supplied shampoo, conditioner, body bars and lotion and a hairdryer which is nice to not have to travel with. The room also has both US and EU power outlets so no converters needed. We especially enjoyed our private plunge pool and hammock on the deck outside our villa. And did I mention the view???? We had a water front/piton view and it was breathtaking. St. Lucia is by far the most gorgeous place either of us has ever been and Stonefield captures all of that beauty along with the immense charm of the island and the town of Soufriere.
Every morning we learned to look forward to our breakfast at the Mango Tree restaurant!!! The view from the restaurant is unbeatable and since it is so high in elevation, there is a fabulous breeze at all times! Even in the heat of the day, during lunchtime, we were never too hot or uncomfortable. (Everywhere we ate on the island was open air rather than a contained restaurant.) We ate a lot of our meals at the Mango Tree restaurant even though we had planned on venturing out for meals more often. The prices were not too ridiculous and their menus were wonderful!! I especially enjoyed the bounty of specialty drinks which used fresh mango! I couldn’t get enough.
Overall, our stay at Stonefield was perfection! Our room was always clean, we were able to keep it nice and cool by closing off the bathroom and closing all of the shutters in the room, the plunge pool was great to jump in and out of whenever we liked, all of the staff was helpful and friendly and the resort is located in the perfect spot to really capture the charm, natural beauty and experiences we were looking for on our honeymoon!!!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Dana H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John K, Guest Relations Manager at Stonefield Estate Resort, responded to this review, February 21, 2015
Dana,

So happy that you used the words "perfection" to describe Stonefield.

Great that we could provide you with such a memorable experience for your honeymoon. You will carry that forever.

Best Regards, and see you back at Stonefield!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2014

We went on our honeymoon there and it was perfect. We had our own private villa with a private pool overlooking a piton and the ocean....we never needed to leave the resort or Mango Tree restaurant. It doesn't get any better!!!! The entire staff was very friendly and every view was beautiful. We hope to be able to go back within the near future. Our Frangipani room was amazing!!!!!!!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Robert G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John K, Guest Relations Manager at Stonefield Estate Resort, responded to this review, February 21, 2015
Robert,

Thanks for the sparkling review.

Yes, the Frangipani room is quite stunning. Glad you were able to absorb the ambience of Stonefield on your first vacation as newlyweds!

See you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2014

My husband and I recently spent 7 nights at this resort of 16 private villas. We had a four poster king size, bed an outdoor shower, private plunge pool, and a hammock on our covered deck. I spent time every day in the hammock, reading a book, drinking a local Piton beer and staring at the views of the Caribbean sea and the Pitons. The staff was welcoming, helpful and friendly and the one restaurant, the Mango Tree, was where we ate breakfast every day. We often had a late lunch around 4:30 or 5:00 pm, the stayed for cocktails and watch the sun set. One day we walked down to Sugar Beach, which is very small. We walked back up the steep hill to the resort and only later learned there is a shuttle you can take there from the resort. We weren't told this beforehand! We rented a car for the week at the airport in Vieux Fort, and glad we did as we drove up the west side of the island to the capital, Castries, and up to Rodney Bay. The roads on the island are mostly very narrow and they are some very twisty sections, much like the road to Hana on Maui. Right hand drive cars, driving on the left side, and in the roundabouts you travel clockwise! A little bit of a challenge, but you get used to it quickly. There is very little tourism in Sourfiere, where the resort is located, but if you drive up to Castries, the capital, (where cruise ships come in) there are some duty free shops and more activity. Rodney Bay is beautiful and we ate at Spinnakers, a restaurant right on the beach and had great hamburgers. The local brewed beer, Piton, was great and we were disappointed it is not exported to the US. On our way back to the airport we went past it and up the east side of the island to the town of Dennery. There wasn't much there, but it was just nice to see some more of the island. St. Lucia could take some lessons about tourism from other islands. There are not many local items to buy (although I did find some great handmade soap from a vendor, and we bought an amazing carved wooden mask from their local famous artist, Zara, at his store in downtown Soufriere). St. Lucia is a beautiful volcanic, rain-forested island, with tourist-friendly residents who give helpful directions with a smile.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Casuarina villa. Our private plunge pool was about 4-1/2 feet deep all around. W...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Zephyr11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John K, Guest Relations Manager at Stonefield Estate Resort, responded to this review, February 21, 2015
Zephyr,

"Secluded, peaceful, amazing views". Yes. Couldn't have said it better myself!

Happy you enjoyed your stay.

Best Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2014

Had 3 nights of complete relaxation at Stonefield. The resort is low key and really peaceful. Lush with tropical plants and alive with birds you feel a million miles away from it all. Open air shower complete with friendly gecko was a surprise feature I grew to love. The private pool is small but perfectly formed and the view is heaven. Decor is colonial and the mosquito netted 4 poster was charming. Never used the kitchenette other than for coffee and cold drinks which the staff stocked really quickly on request. Five star glitz it isn't but it made for the fastest switch to holiday mode I've ever made.
Downsides are difficult. Some of the staff weren't amazingly friendly but others were so that's just like everywhere . You could get bored of the limited dinner menu quite quickly but then it is walking distance to Soufriere which is worth the effort. Breakfasts were delicious but on the small side in terms of portions. There's no beach and the shuttle beach has limited seating if you don't want to pay but to be honest with your own pool and resident hummingbird flitting about your patio I didn't need the beach, although might have missed it if stayed longer.

And then there's that view. Incredible during the day and even more so at night with the Piton surrounded by stars. A really really beautiful spot.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Stat2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John K, Guest Relations Manager at Stonefield Estate Resort, responded to this review, February 21, 2015
Dear Stat,

Thanks for the very positive review of Stonefield. You should come down to Stonefield and check-out our new menus with our new Executive Chef. There is something new almost every day. You won't be disappointed.

Cheers.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2014

I cannot say enough great things about Stonefield and the people working there. My husband and I had a private villa with our own pool (I think they all do) and an outdoor shower. We never needed the kitchenette because the people and food at The Mango Tree restaurant on-site were amazing! There is a daily shuttle down to Sugar Beach, and a $12 taxi ride to close attractions like Piton Falls, the Volcano Mud Bath, or the Fond Doux Holiday Plantation. Not to mention the pier of Soufriere itself. Please take the time to meet Alcee, the restaurant manager, as well as Mary, Lisa, Larus, Desiree, and NaTasha. We also indulged ourselves in several spa packages, in which we met Laura, Marshall, and Esther. They were so good to us. We felt like celebrities!
If you do go down to Sugar Beach, be sure to look for Solomon or his sister Benita on the right side of the beach across from Sugar Beach Resort. Solomon runs a water taxi and took us on a private tour of every beach up to Castries (the capital), and left us there for an hour to shop. We also hired him for another night for a private sunset cruise to Marigot Bay to eat at The Rainforest, which was absolutely amazing!
Stonefield will forever be one of my most favorite resorts ever! It had plenty of local feel with fantastic service. The front desk scheduled everything we needed, including the taxi to and from the airport. Plus, you just won't find a better view! Don't forget to bring your bug spray! The mosquitoes loved me!

Room Tip: The beds are really firm, but the hammock and the pool make up for it! Bring plenty of cash for adv...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Krystal H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John K, Guest Relations Manager at Stonefield Estate Resort, responded to this review, February 21, 2015
Krystal,

Happy to hear you both enjoyed your stay at our luxury boutique. We are proud that we can serve those people looking for "rustic elegance" rather than the hectic atmosphere that quite often accompanies more corporate resorts.

Thanks, and hope to see you back here at Stonefield!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Soufriere hotels
1.7 mi away
Jade Mountain Resort
Jade Mountain Resort
#1 of 12 in Soufriere
4.5 of 5 stars 830 reviews
1.0 mi away
Boucan by Hotel Chocolat
Boucan by Hotel Chocolat
#5 of 12 in Soufriere
4.5 of 5 stars 402 reviews
1.7 mi away
Fond Doux Plantation & Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Sugar Beach, A Viceroy Resort
0.8 mi away
Ladera Resort
Ladera Resort
#2 of 12 in Soufriere
4.5 of 5 stars 1,142 reviews
1.8 mi away
Anse Chastanet
Anse Chastanet
#6 of 12 in Soufriere
4.5 of 5 stars 1,058 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stonefield Estate Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stonefield Estate Resort

Property: Stonefield Estate Resort
Address: Stonefield Estate | Saint Lucia, Soufriere, St. Lucia
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > St. Lucia > Soufriere Quarter > Soufriere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Soufriere
#6 Spa Hotel in Soufriere
#6 Luxury Hotel in Soufriere
#6 Family Hotel in Soufriere
#8 Romantic Hotel in Soufriere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Stonefield Estate Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The resort is located on 27 lush acres near the rain forest and what is now a world heritage site. It is therefore secluded yet in the heart of all of St.Lucia's natural attractions like the open volcano, botanical gardens, rain forest, waterfalls, and other fine dining to enhance your experience of the island's local flavour. It captures the famous Petit Piton and Caribbean sea. Its villas have an open air design with 4 poster beds, hammocks, private garden showers and private pools. This resort was rated the number 1 resort in Soufriere by discriminating travelers - TripAdvisor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, West Indies, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, Orbitz and Jetsetter so you can book your Stonefield Estate Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stonefield Estate Villa Resort And Spa
Stonefield Estate Villa Hotel
Stonefield Estate Hotel
Stonefield Estate Resort St. Lucia/Soufriere

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing