We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spectacular”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Stonefield Estate Resort
Ranked #7 of 11 Hotels in Soufriere
Certificate of Excellence
Florence, South Carolina
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Spectacular”
Reviewed April 29, 2012

We just got back from a week at Stonefield. All of the other reviews raving about the views, the accommodations, the service, the overall ambience have it right. There’s not much I can add. This place is wonderful. I will, however, add a few comments to help other travelers. First, we stayed in the Frangipani villa. It’s listed as a “Majestic Piton Ocean View” on their website. The adjective “majestic” does not come close to describing the view. It is beyond stunning. Additionally, it has air-conditioning. That may not be needed at all times, but after climbing back up from Malgretoute Beach or Martha’s Tables restaurant, it’s nice to have a modern amenity like AC. If you are thinking about booking at Stonefield, you should already know that there is no TV and no wi-fi in the rooms. Honestly, my wife missed the TV a little, and I missed the Internet a little, but by day 3, we pretty much forgot all about it. Tip: have your taxi driver stop at the supermarket, or at least the liquor store, near the airport before taking you to your villa.

Breakfast at the Mango Tree (the hotel restaurant) was very, very good, and included in the price of the room. We only had lunch at the hotel once, and it was good, but the walk down the hill to Martha’s Tables was well worth the effort for a fantastic meal. Tip: GO TO MARTHA’S TABLES. We had most of our dinners at the Mango Tree, and were generally happy with all of them. The food is good, but a little under-seasoned for our tastes. We were expecting something a little spicier, based on our island expectations. The service at the Mango Tree is super, with the right amount of attentiveness without being overbearing, and lots of smiles. The $19 house wine is fine for a daily dinner. Overall, we were more pleased with the Mango Tree than with the much more expensive Dasheene.

While my wife enjoyed her time in the hotel spa, I went into Soufriere (a 15 minute walk) to watch the Champions League Semifinal soccer match at the local pub, Skipper’s. That’s my version of a spa. Cheap beer, great food, very passionate soccer fans (evenly divided between Chelsea and Barca). I was the only white guy in the pub, but I was made to feel very welcome, although I’m guessing that buying a round of beers for my table-mates helped. The walk to Soufriere is not bad, but it would be better if the hotel offered a more frequent (or on-demand) shuttle. Tip: GO TO SKIPPER’S IN SOUFRIERE.

Concerning beaches, the hotel provides shuttles to Jalousie Resort beach, which is another stunning place. The downside is that since you are not staying at the Jalousie Resort, you can’t use their chairs. There are some free but less luxurious chairs available at one end of the beach, but since that’s the end with the good snorkeling, that’s where we would have been anyway. Tip: find someplace else to go on days that cruise ships are visiting the island, because snorkeling there is a popular cruise activity, and it gets crowded.

Note: there are a few great things within walking distance (Soufriere, Martha’s Tables, Malgretoute Beach), but these are very steep hills that you will be walking. It’s not an easy stroll to go anywhere. Taxis to anyplace are expensive ($46 round trip to Anse Chastenet, $24 round trip to dinner at Ladera, $190 round trip to Rodney Bay, which was most definitely not worth the trip).

There are a lot of other activities to do on Saint Lucia. Pick the activities that interest you, or do nothing at all. Either way, you will love your time at Stonefield Villas.

Room Tip: Frangipani Villa - view beyond majestic, and it has AC
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Tom B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

716 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    507
    146
    35
    20
    8
See reviews for
50
485
4
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (161)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Stafford VA
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2012

We knew we made the right choice as soon as we left the airport. As Sandals was organizing their cattle call to bus everyone to their resorts, my wife and I were whisked away in our own private taxi. The experience just got better from there. Stonefield Resort villas are absolutely amazing. Because of the private nature of the villas you feel like you're all alone in your own house. The private pool and outdoor shower were fantastic and the service superb. Each evening while we were away (dinner at Stonefield, dinner at another resort or even on the sunset cruise) staff came in and provided turn down service. All of the staff members at reception, the spa, and at the Mango Tree were great. They had the right balance of friendliness without being overbearing. The Mango Tree meals were excellent whether in our villa or at the restaurant. This was our first vacation to the Caribbean. Still not sure if we're beach people but we would definitely come back to enjoy Stonefield resort again!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JerryLStaffordVA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 19, 2012

We spent 8 nights at Stonefield for our honeymoon. It was a dream! We got to know so many of the employees of the resort very well- they were all so friendly! And they made us feel very special. My sister and her husband recommended the resort, and we see why!

The resort's manager, as well as the front desk team and beverage manager, helped us to plan great excursions and outings to the island's many delicious restaurants. After trying so many, however, Mango Tree at Stonefield is still our favorite. :)

Something about the service at Stonefield is so personal, so friendly, that we felt like it was our home- and a beautiful one at that! We stayed in the Orchid Villa, and although it wasn't ocean view, we could see the beautiful Petit Piton and the part of the ocean in the distance. We definitely had the private honeymoon suite in paradise that we had envisioned. We really couldn't believe how nice it was.

Another note- the food and drinks at Stonefield, even the mini bar, had great value. We ate breakfast and lunch at Mango Tree basically every day. It was so delicious, from their coconut pancakes to the fresh fish roti (island-style wrap), even the sausages that they have specially made by a local butcher were fabulous! Also, you can't miss the Plantation BBQ with local entertainment on Thursdays- I ate fire!

I know I'm gushing, but we are just so happy with this place! I will say, it is an open air resort, so you have to sleep with mosquito netting, which the staff puts on for you with turn down service. Also, there are no tvs or wifi in the suites. We preferred this, but you should understand the type of place that it is- Rest, relaxation, romance, great views, privacy, and fabulous atmosphere & food.

Room Tip: Orchid for couples :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hayley J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 16, 2012

What an amazing property! The villas were extremely comfortable and well appointed. In addition to private villa pools, they have a full kitchen, electrical outlets for 220/110, iPod dock, outdoor shower and the best views of the Pitons on the island. The staff was extremely friendly and helpful. The food at the "Mango Tree" restaurant was delicious with great service. Many other guests from other resorts come to this restaurant for the outdoor dining experience!

Room Tip: There's not a bad villa on the property! Most are 1-2 bedrooms but they do offer a 4-5 bedroom v...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Don G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york
2 reviews
Reviewed April 13, 2012

After much research into a quiet, secluded spot for our Honeymoon, one where we could have our very own villa, we found Stonefield. We could not have been happier with our choice!! We stayed in the Frangipani villa - was absolutely amazing. The views were incredible, the privacy was just what we hoped for, and the management and staff at the resort were extremely welcoming and accomodating. It really was the perfect honeymoon spot, I highly recommend!! We also used Christopher Taxi Service for our transfer to and from airport. This was a private transfer, and a bit less expensive than what the hotel provided. Highly recommend both this resort and Christopher Taxi Service!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lo m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
33 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed April 6, 2012

tMy husband and I did a great deal of research for our trip to St. Lucia and decided Stonefield was perfect for us and it did not disappoint. Location at the South end of the island with fabulous views, smaller more intimate resort, privacy of villas were all great features. We had requested the Hibiscus villa and absolutely loved it. Complete seclusion with amazing view of ocean and partial view of the petit piton. It was tucked away with the rainforest on one side. Not all of the villas afforded quite as much privacy but they all looked quite nice. Mango Tree Restaurant: beautiful views with seating overlooking ocean and Petit Piton. Excellent selection for breakfasts. Fresh baked creole buns with homemade jams - yum! Stonefield favourite on fresh baked baguette - my favourite! Only had a couple of lunches/dinners here but recommendations are; flying fish salad, cod fritters, lamb and for lunch - the burger (yes, really - it was delicious!). The Thurs night bbq was fun and we enjoyed the entertainment, but thought the food was nothing special ($55 per person) - would have preferred ordering from the regular menu. Staff: all wonderful, but have to mention SherryAnn in particular. She has a fabulous smile and laugh. We really enjoyed getting to know her during the week - Desiree and Valna (from reception) were sweet as well. As much as we enjoyed relaxing at our villa, we wanted to explore St. Lucia so we rented a car for the week. Nothing really is within walking distance so we highly recommend getting a car if you want to get out and about - there really is a lot worth seeing on the island. The people of St. Lucia are genuine, friendly and helpful too. Sure some will try and sell you trinkets or tour services, but they are not pushy about it. Meeting locals and talking to them in town and all over the island was one of the highlights of our trip. You do not get that experience staying in your resort. Not the easiest driving but cab rides can add up quickly. Will be writing separate reviews on these, but recommendations include: Tet Paul Trail, snorkelling at Anse Chastanet, mud bath at Sulphur Springs, coctails at Ladera (view!) followed by an amazing dinner at Boucan, Gees Bon Mange Restaurant (Soufriere), Sandy Beach (Vieux Fort) with lunch at Island Breeze (right on beach), Torille Waterfalls (Micoud) - swimming alone under the falls and talking to Celi, owner of property. We also enjoyed diving at Fairyland & Superman`s flight with Chester (Action Adventure Divers at Hummingbird resort) and a trip to the North end of the Island where we hiked Pigeon Island and then swam at Reduit beach. Disappoitments; Anse la Raye fish fry - no music or dancing during lent and much smaller scale then normal. Paid $140 round trip for water taxi (much better then driving) and $20 each for mediocre meal. Hummingbird restaurant for lunch - very difficult to get service and then took ages to get drinkséfood after re-ordering second time. Overall, fabulous vacation at a wonderul resort on a beautiful island. Would definitely return (especially since we ran out of time to do Gros Piton hike!)

Room Tip: Hibiscus: complete seclusion, fantastic ocean view, partial petit piton view, large plunge pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hunster25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
38 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed April 2, 2012

You must love this place. Excellent bungalows, each with own small swimming pool, very nice and colourful restaurant (you can get e.g. banana bread as your breakfast), stuff is smiling. There are two negatives - it's not on the beach, which you may expect when you go to Santa Lucia, but please note that no others bungalows are directly on the beach. Also, it's quite separated, so you need own car or a taxi, but otherwise, it's beatiful place you will remember for a long time. Very romantic as well.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Milos K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Soufriere
1.7 mi away
Jade Mountain Resort
Jade Mountain Resort
#1 of 11 in Soufriere
927 reviews
1.2 mi away
Sugar Beach, A Viceroy Resort
1.0 mi away
Ladera Resort
Ladera Resort
#2 of 11 in Soufriere
1,240 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Anse Chastanet
Anse Chastanet
#6 of 11 in Soufriere
1,146 reviews
19.1 mi away
Cap Maison
Cap Maison
#2 of 4 in Cap Estate
737 reviews
5.7 mi away
Ti Kaye Resort & Spa
Ti Kaye Resort & Spa
#1 of 1 in Anse Cochon
1,506 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stonefield Estate Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stonefield Estate Resort

Property: Stonefield Estate Resort
Address: Stonefield Estate | Saint Lucia, Soufriere, St. Lucia
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > St. Lucia > Soufriere Quarter > Soufriere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Soufriere
#5 Spa Hotel in Soufriere
#6 Family Hotel in Soufriere
#6 Luxury Hotel in Soufriere
#8 Romantic Hotel in Soufriere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Stonefield Estate Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The resort is located on 27 lush acres near the rain forest and what is now a world heritage site. It is therefore secluded yet in the heart of all of St.Lucia's natural attractions like the open volcano, botanical gardens, rain forest, waterfalls, and other fine dining to enhance your experience of the island's local flavour. It captures the famous Petit Piton and Caribbean sea. Its villas have an open air design with 4 poster beds, hammocks, private garden showers and private pools. This resort was rated the number 1 resort in Soufriere by discriminating travelers - TripAdvisor. Please note that all guests at Stonefield must be 18 and over. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with West Indies, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Priceline so you can book your Stonefield Estate Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stonefield Estate Villa Resort And Spa
Stonefield Estate Villa Hotel
Stonefield Estate Hotel
Stonefield Estate Resort St. Lucia/Soufriere

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing