We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Ladera Resort
Nearby Hotels
Stonefield Villa Resort(Soufriere)(Great Value!)
$428
$415
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Fond Doux Plantation & Resort(Soufriere)(Great Value!)
$215
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Anse Chastanet(Soufriere)(Great Value!)
$475
$398
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
Boucan by Hotel Chocolat(Soufriere)(Great Value!)
$521
$509
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$565
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hummingbird Beach Resort(Soufriere)(Great Value!)
$120
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$1,220
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Villa des Pitons(Soufriere)(Great Value!)
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Leisure Inn(Soufriere)
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,331)
Filter reviews
1,331 results
Traveler rating
1,002
194
62
40
33
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,002
194
62
40
33
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshilltop dream suiteheated poolparadise ridgerecommend laderagros piton suiteladera punchour honeymoonheritage suitechef nigelbeach packagest luciadasheene restaurantopen airsugar beachopen wallcap maisonvisited ladera
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
534 - 539 of 1,331 reviews
Reviewed July 2, 2014

We stayed at Ladera for our 25th anniversary. From arrival on we felt like we found a truely special place, our room which was had an open wall looking out between the Pitons was like a fantasy. (and to answer thpse who wonder...no bugs ever bothered us and the wonderful breeze added to the beauty) Champagne with a lovely handwritten note was waiting for us making us feel very welcome. The accommodations were outstanding, the staff friendly, the food superb and to top it off the owner herself popped by while we were having a cocktail to chat with us to make sure we were enjoying ourselves and gave us a few local place to visit. I would highly recommend this unique natural beauty.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 392dianem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2014

We spent time at Ladera on our Honeymoon and it was amazing. Everyone knew our name and was excited to see us when we would go to the pool, bar or a meal. The rooms were so beautiful, having a fabulous view of the Pitons. Each room has 3 walls so, one wall is completely open (but it's totally private). The only thing that stopped me from giving Ladera 5/5 was that the rooms were hot at night (no A/C, only a fan).

You need to do the all inclusive package. It's more expensive upfront but, the food at the restaurant is expensive and TOTALLY worth it. You'll save in the long run.

If you can, GO HERE. You'll never ever forget it!

Room Tip: All rooms have their own private pools but, some are bigger than others. Just check the website or call them for more information!
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mackncsu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2014

We splurged with a two night stay at Ladera for part our 10th anniversary trip. It was worth every penny and far exceeded our expectations! From the moment we arrived, we felt special and wondered aloud to each other if they had us confused with another more prominent couple. Our room was upgraded and there was champagne and a personal note from the manager. We were stunned with the amazing suite, phenomenal views of the Pitons, heated pool with waterfall, and privacy, privacy, privacy! We originally had plans to hit a few beaches and tour around, but once we saw our suite, we knew we didn't need to go anywhere.
The suites are designed for luxurious relaxation, are well thought out, and all needs anticipated. I was originally concerned with bugs, especially at night, but the consistent breezes and ceiling fans kept them away. I was also concerned about privacy, but all we heard was the wind and the frogs. We loved the open air room and had lots of fun watching the lizards and birds come and go, and listen to the sounds of the island at night. Swimming in our private pool under the stars and in a private flower garden was divine! We are nature lovers and it suited us well, although we could understand how others not used to sleeping outdoors might feel a bit exposed.
Holly, co-owner of Ladera, was at the resort and graciously greeted all of the guests at breakfast. She later offered several of us a tour of the resort. Having the insider's scoop made us appreciate Ladera even more--all of the woodwork, furniture, and art are either made on site or are bought from local families. They also have a local seamstress on site that does all of cloth work and netting around the resort. The onsite gardens also help support the restaurant with fresh fruit and produce. Ladera is not only luxurious, but is conscientious and eco-friendly as well. Love it!
The complimentary breakfast was ample and tasty and included fresh squeezed fruit juices and fresh baked pastries. We enjoyed several fabulous several dinners at Dashenee--we chatted with the chef and took his recommendations of the fresh fish and local specials, which did not disappoint. The service was a bit slow, but we were in no hurry. We are picky when we eat out and it met our very high standards.
We did make it down to the beach prior to check in, which I have to say would be the only downside if we had been staying longer. The beach itself was lovely at the base of the Pitons, the snorkeling was excellent, and the water was nice. There were not, however, any dedicated beach chairs for Ladera visitors and the ones that were available were in a crowded area frequented by snorkel tours. The shuttle to the beach was OK, but not optimal.
Overall--we feel lucky to have found Ladera and we will be back! A special place.

Saw some other reviews and feel the need to note that we purchased our stay through an online deal--clearly no second class treatment even though we didn't pay rack rates.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Elizabeth V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2014

There's no question Ladera has stunning views, and we definitely suggest taking advantage of them over dinner at the lovely restaurant but make a night of it and don't ruin an entire week! We've travelled to many 5 star resorts and the status needs to be reconsidered for this resort. The staff rarely smile, rooms are dirty and if you need anything from the front desk it seems they'll go out of their way to make it harder. The worst part was the insane prices for everything, not just food and drinks, but a $200 taxi ride to go to Castries (one way!), the lack of a complimentary shuttle from the airport (another $100 each way), $50 beach chairs (per chair!), although you can sit in dirty free chairs in a tiny corner of the beach and made to feel like a second class citizen, and this is only the beginning of the list! It wouldn't be so bad if you could walk anywhere but you can't! We literally felt trapped and wished we had gone anywhere but here, not a great way to spend a vacation, especially one that costs so much! I also wouldn't recommend the rooms if you can't handle geicos, moths, bugs crawling on you all night and the odd tarantula that you'll spot creeping around your room. We really wish someone had written this type of candid review before so we could've avoided this place. The Viceroy hotel is beautiful if you're looking to stay somewhere close and the pool is stunning and not freezing like the main pool or the plunge pools at Ladera! This is the first hotel review we've ever posted, unfortunately we were so disappointed we felt obliged to warn others.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
23  Thank Sunsandsail84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shermael C, Guest Relations Manager at Ladera Resort, responded to this reviewResponded July 5, 2014

Thank you for your comment. We were able to reach out to the Tour Operator and correct the website information. We understand that you reserved one of the smaller suites without the option of transportation. We wish that you had pointed out your other concerns to management during your stay so that we could have provided alternatives for you instead. We are surprised however by your comment about our staff, who are frequently praised for their personalized service and smiles. For the benefit of clarification, Ladera is not a beach property. Sugar Beach, a Viceroy Resort is located on the Jalousie beach, and although we provide a complimentary shuttle for our guests to and from the beach daily, we have no control over the beach chairs or services offered by the hotel there, which is clearly indicated and acknowledged by our guests during our orientation process. We offer this free shuttle as a matter of courtesy. We strive to go above and beyond and sorry that you were not able to enjoy our romantic paradise.
Regards, Shemael

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2014

We arrived to Ladera after a stay at an all inclusive resort in Antigua where we were spoiled to a much lower price.
Pros:
- wonderful views. Lovely to have direct access to nature.
- the food in restaurant was extraordinary at times, especially seafood and the chocolate mousse.
- friendly and polite staff

Cons
-the pool area is too small. Only eight sun beds available which meant that occasionally, some guests had to place their towels on the ground. Not ok, especially, considering that you have to take a shuttle to the beach and pay extra for a sun bed.
- the plunge pool in the room is just for decoration. Too cold to dip anything but your feet in.
- no TV in the room, which we really liked. However - they should be a TV room available on the property at a luxury resort. The world cup started while we were there and we had to take a 30 USD taxi to a sportsbar in town to watch the game.
- uncomfortable bed with lumpy mattress
- the last night the room was completely invaded by a bug swarm. We reported this in the reception and the bed was cleaned and sanitized. However, the sofa, chair, pool was not taken care of - there were dead bugs everywhere.
There are some improvements to be made before we can recommend this resort.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Asa I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shermael C, Guest Relations Manager at Ladera Resort, responded to this reviewResponded June 24, 2014

Thank you for your review. We are glad that you appreciated our unique location between the World Heritage Pitons and as well enjoyed the authentic cuisine offered at our Dasheene Restaurant and the friendly customer service provided by our staff.
We have since taken note of your suggestion for more sun loungers and umbrellas at the pool deck.
The shuttle service to the beach is complimentary for all of our guests, granting we have no control over the facilities or the pricing offered by Sugar Beach, the viceroy resort located on the beach.
We remain apologetic that there were bugs in your suite which is a rare occurrence but possible at this time of year. Ladera is at a high altitude, 1100 feet above sea level, which does not make it a preferred haven for bugs in general. Further, our surroundings are proactively misted daily by the best pest control agents on the island as we are mindful of the open concept of our suites.
Lastly, we wish that you were informed of our model which excludes televisions prior to your stay. Alternatively, we do provide complimentary high speed Wi-Fi internet in all of our suites.
We will continue to work tirelessly to ensure the maximum comfort of our discerning guests.
Kind regards,
Shermael

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews