We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beatiful settings, but could do with some improvements” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ladera Resort

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Ladera Resort
Ranked #2 of 11 Hotels in Soufriere
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Beatiful settings, but could do with some improvements”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2014

We arrived to Ladera after a stay at an all inclusive resort in Antigua where we were spoiled to a much lower price.
Pros:
- wonderful views. Lovely to have direct access to nature.
- the food in restaurant was extraordinary at times, especially seafood and the chocolate mousse.
- friendly and polite staff

Cons
-the pool area is too small. Only eight sun beds available which meant that occasionally, some guests had to place their towels on the ground. Not ok, especially, considering that you have to take a shuttle to the beach and pay extra for a sun bed.
- the plunge pool in the room is just for decoration. Too cold to dip anything but your feet in.
- no TV in the room, which we really liked. However - they should be a TV room available on the property at a luxury resort. The world cup started while we were there and we had to take a 30 USD taxi to a sportsbar in town to watch the game.
- uncomfortable bed with lumpy mattress
- the last night the room was completely invaded by a bug swarm. We reported this in the reception and the bed was cleaned and sanitized. However, the sofa, chair, pool was not taken care of - there were dead bugs everywhere.
There are some improvements to be made before we can recommend this resort.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Asa I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shermael C, Guest Relations Manager at Ladera Resort, responded to this review, June 24, 2014
Thank you for your review. We are glad that you appreciated our unique location between the World Heritage Pitons and as well enjoyed the authentic cuisine offered at our Dasheene Restaurant and the friendly customer service provided by our staff.
We have since taken note of your suggestion for more sun loungers and umbrellas at the pool deck.
The shuttle service to the beach is complimentary for all of our guests, granting we have no control over the facilities or the pricing offered by Sugar Beach, the viceroy resort located on the beach.
We remain apologetic that there were bugs in your suite which is a rare occurrence but possible at this time of year. Ladera is at a high altitude, 1100 feet above sea level, which does not make it a preferred haven for bugs in general. Further, our surroundings are proactively misted daily by the best pest control agents on the island as we are mindful of the open concept of our suites.
Lastly, we wish that you were informed of our model which excludes televisions prior to your stay. Alternatively, we do provide complimentary high speed Wi-Fi internet in all of our suites.
We will continue to work tirelessly to ensure the maximum comfort of our discerning guests.
Kind regards,
Shermael
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,209 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    897
    183
    57
    39
    33
See reviews for
32
939
17
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (316)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Washington Township, New Jersey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 21, 2014

I'd like to start by saying we spent our Honeymoon between Cap Maison and Ladera as part of a Peak to Beach package. Ladera seemed amazing online and through some videos on you tube. The view from the Pitons on arrival are breath-taking and without a doubt picture worthy. The room we stayed in had lizards roaming around when we got there which wasn't a big deal but you must be prepared for that. Frogs also enter the rooms at night as well so again, make sure you are used to camping and are comfortable with such surroundings. We often felt ourselves getting bitten in the middle of the night in the bed. That part bothered us and kept us up at times. Hence the title of this review. I complained and asked the staff the next day if there was a room with a bedroom that was more closed off than the hillside suite we had. They responded saying an equivalent room to ours was not available.

Yes you stay at a place with an amazing view and a pretty good restaurant. However the rest is a bit below a 5 star standard. I'm sorry but it just is and especially coming from Cap Maison where we felt like we were in paradise. Our bedroom door was broken and didn't get fixed till the last day so we kept it closed with a chair. You have to do this we realized to keep the lizards out during the day. When they did fix the door I came back to the room to see pieces of wood all over the floor from the repair job. Plus our pool was dirty and had a broken floor drain cover. The staff for the most part is friendly but fell short of the level at Cap Maison. We asked for desert to be delivered to our room one night and the local band asked us to dance with them. Lovely we thought! However we told the Ladera staff we would be back at the room in 10-15 minutes. When we did get back and the desert was delivered the lady was rude and said she had to come a couple times. I just shook my head, its our honeymoon..let us enjoy. We must add that Jennifer and Elizabeth are sweethearts and we will always remember how lovely they were to us. We are big wine people and were excited for the wine cellar. It is just a room with wine on the right side with a small table for dining. Dinner in the cellar is all they offered but outside our meal plan so we chose to eat outside at Dasheen every night. Don;t expect wine tasting or anything more. Dasheen for lunch and dinner is superb. The flavors are very eclectic and presentation is top notch. Cap Maison has them beat for breakfast we realized but not a big deal. If you stay here on an all exclusive package make sure you check out right before you step foot off the resorts property. I'm serious. I checked out prior to breakfast to be pro-active being we had a tight schedule to get to the airport. Spot check your bill for items that should be included in your package and furthermore do not order a thing after checking out. My wife and I decided to have a few mimosas while waiting for our car to take us to the airport to fly home which was the end of our honeymoon. Part of our package was all drinks included. When we got up to leave they dropped us a bill and said it must be paid out of pocket. Just shy of $100 for a couple mimosas. That disappointed us but also left us leaving on a sour note. We had just been laughing and talking with the staff and recapping our stay. Ladera still has yet to get back to me on that after our post stay email exchange. In hind sight we wished we stayed at Cap the entire time.

I wrote this review because the amount of money I spent to stay here and wanted to give other honeymooners an honest insight into the value from our perspective. Everyone is different. Don't get us wrong, there is a buzz in the air when you are at Ladera, it just fell short of my expectations with the dollars it cost per day.

Room Tip: Choose a room that has an enclosed bedroom with air conditioning.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank maizer22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shermael C, Guest Relations Manager at Ladera Resort, responded to this review, June 24, 2014
Thank you for your feedback following your stay with us. We are glad that you chose to experience our popular Peak to Beach Package but saddened that you were unable to appreciate our “experiential” and unique concept.
The purpose of this package is to offer two totally distinctive luxury resort experiences on the island. Both Cap Maison and Ladera have been successful for many years offering this package which has been enhanced overtime.
We will be sure to share your lovely comments with Jennifer and Elizabeth. We apologize for any concerns you experienced during your stay and will regard them as opportunities to maximize service levels in the future.
Regards, Shermael
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucester, Virginia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2014

Although Ladera had gorgeous views, if you book through Expedia, you are treated like a second class citizen. You get the worst room(smallest), and are not included in the complimentary breakfast deal. This was not on their website or mentioned through expedia we were told when we arrived. The cost of breakfast was almost 60 dollars a day for a biscuit and some juice, a little ridiculous! When the issue was brought up to the "manager" she was very rude and condescending. The food on the resort was just ok, go across the street to the plantation or to Orlando's for a better experience. Probably will not stay there again and will not recommend to others. Stay at Sugar beach for a better time...

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank zphyr94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VPMarketingLadera, Guest Relations Manager at Ladera Resort, responded to this review, June 20, 2014
Thank you for your comment. We will follow up with our duty manager and do apologize if she did not make you feel welcome. Your comment is not typical of our service at Ladera and taken seriously. We are sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your stay in one of our superior rooms. You are correct, this room category is our entry room, available on all sites and are smaller than all suites. We do have different suite options available on Expedia that are more spacious depending on your choice at the time of booking. Again I am really sorry that our manager on duty was not able to solve your issues during your stay at your convinience. We will definitly look into the breakfast situation as there are in fact some packages with breakfast included and some without. We will make sure that in the future it is well indicated.
King regards, Shemael
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2014 via mobile

The entire staff was great. The owner was engaging and very hands on. Shawn did an excellent job taking care of us and he worked very hard so that we could have a great time. Much appreciated all around. Would go back in a minute.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Anthony L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middletown, New Jersey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 16, 2014

We wanted a short stay for a mini honeymoon. We were between this hotel and Jade, but decided to stay here. We looked at the reviews and most seemed pleasant. However, soon after our arrival, we quickly realized that the negative reviews on this place were correct. Come here if you enjoy camping. Literally. The first day it was enjoyable because it was different and had a nice view. But after a day here, you start to go crazy. From the bug infested pool, to the dirty room, to the community pool with no towels or service. We came here to relax, but didn't expect to be bored! With lizards, bugs, and frogs singing all night, including the extreme heat, made for some very unpleasant sleepless nights. The food was just ok. And then I booked a couples massage. They told us to be down at the spa 5 minutes before our appt. However, when we got there, they told us we couldn't do a couples massage in the facility, but would have to do it in our room. Then when we asked to do that they told us it would take too long to setup? Really? We stay at five star hotels all the time…and this was no where close to that. Overall, an extremely poor country and extremely poor trip:-(

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
17 Thank Wendy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VPMarketingLadera, Guest Relations Manager at Ladera Resort, responded to this review, June 18, 2014
It is quite a surprise to read your first review on Trip advisor. Any concern about our guests experience is reported at Ladera and corrected as quickly as possible, therefore we carefully reviewed our records. While we cannot identify you ,we find it disheartening how you described
the overall experience, Most concerning are your efforts to undermine the genuine local staff, St Lucia being a poor country (?) and your negative remarks about the local population in general,
We are quite surprised that Trip advisor would publish such reports and a first review that attacks in a discriminatiory way our people and country. We welcome honest feedback but will not endorse discrimination!
Shermael
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fountain Hills, Arizona
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2014

We sailed to Soufriere, St. Lucia recently. Having been to St. Lucia before, one of our "MUST DO's" is eating at the Ladera restaurant. Ladera, is nestled in-between both of the Pitons and has one of the most beautiful sunset views I have ever seen. It is an open air Restaurant, with three acceding levels. As you go higher, the views become even more spectacular! If you are not staying at the Resort, ask one of the helpful staff to call you a cab. The drive is only a few minutes away from the main property, and the cab drivers tend to wait outside the restaurant until you are finished eating.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mike and Marie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunderland
Level Contributor
86 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 6, 2014

Wow amazing place! A lovely getaway with breathtaking views, wonderful staff & fabulous food. If you want to relax and completely chill out then this is a great place to stay.

The unique style of the resort with the rooms open to the elements giving great views of the Pitons and the Caribbean Sea is a real bonus. Showering in the open air really gives a great sense of freedom, you may have to share with the odd small frog or gecko but they soon disappear. The room we stayed in was lovely and set across two floors with the bedroom upstairs, the downstairs having a comfy sofa, table & chairs for in-room dining and a fridge stocked daily with water, sprite & coca-cola and six Piton beers (2 for each night of your stay). The plunge pool was great to have and looked good but was rather cold.

We didn't experience any bugs or flies which was a real plus point, the rooms do have insect repellant & after bite sprays provided but we didn't have to use these.

The Dasheene Restaurant food on the lunch time & particularly on the evening was out of this world, the balance of fresh ingredients and flavours produced by Nigel the head chef are amazing and worth every single dollar. The entertainment and live bands were all really good and enhanced the Caribbean experience. The service from the staff was also impeccable throughout our stay, nothing was any trouble and ALL the staff were pleasant and attentive, right down to the gardeners, cleaners etc.

Most of the island tours are close to the Ladera resort and are fairly expensive but with not much to do at Ladera I would advise taking one or two.

Couldn't fault anything with the resort and would happily return.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank sund01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Soufriere
2.2 mi away
Jade Mountain Resort
Jade Mountain Resort
#1 of 11 in Soufriere
5.0 of 5 bubbles 897 reviews
0.6 mi away
Sugar Beach, A Viceroy Resort
2.2 mi away
Anse Chastanet
Anse Chastanet
#6 of 11 in Soufriere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,126 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.4 mi away
Capella Marigot Bay Resort and Marina
19.9 mi away
Cap Maison
Cap Maison
#2 of 4 in Cap Estate
4.5 of 5 bubbles 716 reviews
17.0 mi away
East Winds
East Winds
#1 of 13 in Gros Islet
5.0 of 5 bubbles 796 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ladera Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ladera Resort

Property: Ladera Resort
Address: Rabot Estate, Soufriere, St. Lucia
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > St. Lucia > Soufriere Quarter > Soufriere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Soufriere
#1 Spa Hotel in Soufriere
#2 Luxury Hotel in Soufriere
#3 Family Hotel in Soufriere
#7 Romantic Hotel in Soufriere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Ladera Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ladera is the pioneer of the open air three-walled concept in St. Lucia and has since been distinguished by a wide range of international publications, awards and accolades from Conde Nast Traveler, Travel + Leisure, Forbes Life Caribbean Travel and Life, Brides Magazine and countless others. Ladera was once part of Rabot Estate, one of Soufriere's oldest plantations, which still borders the resort. In the late 1960's a parcel of land was sold and developed into a small cluster of condominiums and christened Dasheene, named after the thousands of large, glossy-leafed dasheen plants (also known as elephant ears) harvested on the site. In 1982 it was transformed into a unique resort and changed hands a number of times before emerging as Ladera under the current private ownership. The mission has always been to offer an unparalleled guest experience that is quintessentially Saint Lucian, one that embraces the magnificent views and offers harmony with the surrounding natural beauty and rich bounty of the island. Today, that commitment to sumptuous authenticity is evident in everything from the innovative renderings of fresh local dishes at Dasheene restaurant, to the use of Caribbean timbers, stone and tile work used in the guestrooms and public areas. Yet it shines through most effectively with warm and welcoming Saint Lucian staff. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, HotelsClick, Jetsetter and Reservation Counter so you can book your Ladera Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ladera Hotel Soufrière
Ladera Resort Soufrière
Ladera St Lucia
Ladera Resort St. Lucia/Soufriere

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing