We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A view with a room”
Review of Ladera Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Ladera Resort
Ranked #2 of 11 Hotels in Soufriere
Certificate of Excellence
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“A view with a room”
Reviewed April 21, 2014

From the moment Nigel picked us up at the airport, we felt like we were in good hands. He was friendly and cheerful (we soon learned that was pretty much the norm in Saint Lucia), and told us interesting things about the island as we drove to Ladera. He also stopped at a grocery store so that we could pick up some snacks and water. When we arrived at Ladera, we were met with delicious welcome cocktails and Obi's lovely smile, to guide us to our room. Our luggage was whisked away, and we knew we were going to have an amazing time. Our friends had stayed at Ladera before and we had seen their photos, so we thought we knew what to expect. Even still, when Obi opened the door to our suite and we saw the plunge pool, and the room, and the view, we started giggling like children. Just incredible. I had told them that we were celebrating my husband's birthday that weekend, so there was a chilled bottle of sparkling wine waiting in our room for us, with a personal note - lovely touch. The refrigerator was stocked with sodas, water, and Piton beer that was restocked daily. They also provide tea, creamers, sugar, and a French press for coffee.

The entire staff at Ladera was lovely, friendly, helpful, and seemed genuinely happy to provide impeccable service. Even the drivers for our various excursions went out of their way to be informative and ensure that we had a memorable experience. Nigel, the head chef, is a wizard. Although some reviewers have noted that Dasheene is a bit pricey, we didn't think it was out of line for the level of food and service you get. We really appreciated the fact that there was a different vegetarian special every night, as well as vegetarian options on the regular menu. The complimentary continental breakfast is great - homemade granola, fresh yogurt, fruit, pastries, coffee or tea, and freshly squeezed local juices. For a small price ($7 USD) you can also order omelettes, eggs Benedict, etc., which we did a couple times (also excellent).

We did three excursions: the Soufriere Experience, a sailing & snorkeling trip, and the Tet Paul hike. The Soufriere Experience is well worth it: we toured a volcano, visited botanical gardens, soaked in a mineral bath, bathed in a waterfall, and covered ourselves in mud at the mud bath. Our skin felt incredible afterwards, and we had a much better understanding of the island and its many ecosystems. Plus we got to play around in the water and cover ourselves in mud.

The sail & snorkel trip is a MUST. The wonderful Ladera staff made it happen for us, even though the trip usually only goes on Tuesdays and Saturdays (I think?). We wanted to go on Friday and they made a call and got us on a trip for Friday. (Word to the wise: if you want to do any of the excursions, check the schedule when you arrive because some things are only available on certain days of the week: for example, the sunset cruise is only available two days a week). It was about a three-hour tour (a three-hour tour...) - an hour or so out to the snorkeling area, an hour in the water, and another hour back. Piton beer and Bob Marley the whole way. Wonderful captain and first mate. A gorgeous way to spend an afternoon. Getting out on the water is just essential if you visit Saint Lucia. The snorkeling was good, and as I was swimming back to the boat, Nigel (the captain) started feeding the Sergeant Majors, so I ended up swimming in a school of them. One of the coolest (and weirdest) sensations I've ever felt - imagine 40 or so fish, all swimming toward you with their little mouths moving.

The Tet Paul walk was ok, but it's more of a walk than a hike. The guide was interesting, but we had already heard about a lot of the flora and fauna on the Soufriere Experience tour. Still, the views were great and it was nice to get a little bit of exercise in before heading back to our plunge pool (we had no desire to do the 4-hour Piton hike).

We didn't experience any issues with bugs at all, and my husband is usually a mosquito buffet. We didn't see a single one, so maybe it just depends on the time of year. We also didn't have any issues with moths or beetles or any other flying insects in the room. We did have birds and gekkos, and a frog once, which was cool. The temperature was totally perfect, too - warm and sunny during the day (although it was a bit drizzly at times, which the locals refer to, unironically, as "liquid sunshine"), and cool and breezy at night. Also, the showers are often followed by rainbows, just adding to the mystique of the place. It rained hard late at night, which was kind of cool - how often do you get to experience the wind and rain of a storm from the comfort of your bed?

Another nice touch was the fact that the front desk provides you with a cell phone, so that you can contact them anytime, from wherever you are. It came in handy after the Soufriere Experience, when we had to call for a driver to pick us up from the mud bath (that was the one misstep the entire time we were there - usually the driver would be waiting for us when we finished an excursion, but that time we waited over half an hour, which was a bit of a drag because we were wet and I was cold and it was raining. But that only happened the once.).

Overall, Ladera is a truly special place made extra special by the fabulous staff, who go out of their way to make each day amazing.

Room Tip: Room O has a lovely view, the plunge pool gets sun in the afternoons (which is great because otherwi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Nicole N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,264 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    942
    188
    60
    40
    34
See reviews for
34
985
19
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (336)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Gainesville, Virginia
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed April 18, 2014

My wife and I just returned from a stay at Ladera and all I can say is WOW! This was such an awesome place. The view was beyond amazing and the room was spectacular. The people were so nice and knew us by name.

I only have 2 items of caution to tell you about.

#1: To eat here is expensive and there is only one restaurant. The food is good but it is not cheap. A cab ride into town is also $30 so eating there could still get expensive. Make sure you budget for food too!
#2: If you plan on renting chairs at Sugar beach be prepared to spend $$$!. They charge $100 per chair! You can rent some "not as nice" chairs for $50 but there were only 8 on the beach at that price. There are also free chairs but they are in a corner of the beach all crammed together and they are cheap and not very comfortable. You can always bring your own or just lay on the sand. The beaches are all public so nobody can tell you that you can't lay your towel down and make yourself at home. :)

Another tip I would give is to plan your tours outside of the resort and save some money. Better Than A Cab is a wonderful company and will take great care of you!

Room Tip: All rooms are great and views are good from all. Rooms that are earlier in the alphabet (rooms have...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank TJSkins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, South Carolina
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed April 18, 2014 via mobile

My husband and I have been here for a week, leaving tomorrow and I'm sad already! We honeymooned here years ago and returned for our anniversary. Can't imagine what more anyone could want. The service, and the restaurant on property, Dasheen is excellent. And the views! I wake up every morning not believing I am here; it is so breathtaking and beautiful. Celebrate your next special occasion or holiday at The Ladera. You won't regret it, I promise.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank Colaknitwit62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans, Louisiana
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 15, 2014

My husband and I just returned from 4 nights and 5 days at beautiful Ladera Resort. This is truly a 5 star resort! Ladera is nestled between the twin Piton Peaks with breathtaking views of the pitons as well as Caribbean beach. We stayed in the hilltop suite, with an open air concept ( no 4th wall), with an infinity pool that overlooked the mountains, such amazing views of sunrise and sunset!! The rooms are spacious and so much attention to detail.. The hand carved post from locals, stone wall, wood floors, king size poster bed with mosquito netting, beautiful bathroom with mosaic tiles.. So inviting and unique .. The staff at Ladera were so accommodating!! Our suite included fresh coffee and soft drinks as well as Piton beer re stocked daily.. Housekeeping service daily as well as nightly turn down service! My hubby and I so impressed that we were given a cell phone at check in to use during our stay to contact front desk, room service, etc.. All calls answered promptly and eager to assist us!! There is one restaurant at the resort .. DASHEENE.. The food is superb!! Breakfast, Lunch and Dinner menus offer the freshest food of the Island, Chef Nigel is truly a master chef.. Each night we sampled the appetizers, soups and entrees.. All delicious!! ( I am from New Orleans), and we have renowned chefs here... So I know and appreciate the execution of fine dining!! The staff at Ladera were all so friendly.. By the time I had to end my vacation, I felt as though I was leaving family.. Already missing the views and amenities that Ladera Resort had to offer.. So looking forward to returning soon!!

Room Tip: Beautiful views from Hilltop suites..
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank KelBel123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed April 12, 2014

Well, actually, lunch. The view is amazing (possibly the best from any restaurant in St. Lucia), the food was very good and the water pistols on the tables were fun. The waitstaff said they were to shoot the bugs but we didn't see any while we were there.

Room Tip: Did not stay there
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Barbara L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fairfield glade, TN
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2014

We recently stayed a week at Ladera and found it to be a wonderful experience and worthy of 5 star rating. The grounds are beautiful, the rooms charming, unique and rustic with native made furniture. (If you want the slick Miami beach chrome and white leather this may not be the place for you.) Each room has its own plunge pool which was cleaned daily. Everything was very clean and the staff was always helpful and pleasant. The restaurant breakfast included fresh fruit, granola or oatmeal, basket of pastries and fresh juice, which was plenty, but you could get a hot breakfast of eggs benedict or omelets for just $7. The dinners were expensive but delicious and made with fresh ingredients. We appreciated the live entertainment in the restaurant each night. Would definitely recommend to friends and would love to go back some day. The only thing I may warn about is there is a lot of stairs, going up to our room and to the restaurant. If you were handicapped, it may not be a good choice.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank i2g2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warkworth, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
87 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed April 7, 2014

We had heard about the Sunday brunch at Ladera so we ventured there without a reservation on a Sunday around 1pm and were pleasantly surprised. I'm not sure if there is a better view from any restaurant in St. Lucia. It was like hanging out over a cliff in a treefort....we got the table closest to the 'edge'. The buffet was $35/person and worth it. Seafood salad, pork stew, ribs, chicken, you name it. TONS of choices, all hot and delicious. The desserts were the same. Service was good, but not great. They had a local band of oldtimers playing traditional music throughout the brunch. After brunch you could wander downstairs and enjoy a cocktail with stunning views from the lounge area. The gift shop was pricey but had some cool stuff. I didn't get to investigate the cottages they have to stay in, but I would consider it on another trip. All in all, a GREAT Sunday at Ladera! Near the Sulpher Springs just mins from Soufriere.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JoeyMartin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Soufriere
2.7 mi away
Jade Mountain Resort
Jade Mountain Resort
#1 of 11 in Soufriere
944 reviews
0.7 mi away
Sugar Beach, A Viceroy Resort
9.3 mi away
Marigot Bay Resort and Marina by Capella
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Anse Chastanet
Anse Chastanet
#6 of 11 in Soufriere
1,168 reviews
16.2 mi away
East Winds
East Winds
#1 of 13 in Gros Islet
848 reviews
19.7 mi away
Cap Maison
Cap Maison
#2 of 4 in Cap Estate
743 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ladera Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ladera Resort

Property: Ladera Resort
Address: Rabot Estate, Soufriere, St. Lucia
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > St. Lucia > Soufriere Quarter > Soufriere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Soufriere
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Soufriere
#2 Luxury Hotel in Soufriere
#3 Family Hotel in Soufriere
#7 Romantic Hotel in Soufriere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Ladera Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ladera is the pioneer of the open air three-walled concept in St. Lucia and has since been distinguished by a wide range of international publications, awards and accolades from Conde Nast Traveler, Travel + Leisure, Forbes Life Caribbean Travel and Life, Brides Magazine and countless others. Ladera was once part of Rabot Estate, one of Soufriere's oldest plantations, which still borders the resort. In the late 1960's a parcel of land was sold and developed into a small cluster of condominiums and christened Dasheene, named after the thousands of large, glossy-leafed dasheen plants (also known as elephant ears) harvested on the site. In 1982 it was transformed into a unique resort and changed hands a number of times before emerging as Ladera under the current private ownership. The mission has always been to offer an unparalleled guest experience that is quintessentially Saint Lucian, one that embraces the magnificent views and offers harmony with the surrounding natural beauty and rich bounty of the island. Today, that commitment to sumptuous authenticity is evident in everything from the innovative renderings of fresh local dishes at Dasheene restaurant, to the use of Caribbean timbers, stone and tile work used in the guestrooms and public areas. Yet it shines through most effectively with warm and welcoming Saint Lucian staff. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotwire so you can book your Ladera Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ladera Hotel Soufrière
Ladera Resort Soufrière
Ladera St Lucia
Ladera Resort St. Lucia/Soufriere

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing