We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beyond Extraordinary”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Ladera Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Ladera Resort
Ranked #2 of 11 Hotels in Soufriere
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Beyond Extraordinary”
Reviewed November 13, 2013

My boyfriend and I took a trip to St. Lucia in June and we are STILL shocked we ever came back. If we could have stayed forever, we would have.

Even during rainy season, this hotel was an absolute treasure. By far the best hotel experience I have ever had. Our room was massive, the food was amazing, and the view-breathtaking at every turn.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Danielle L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,219 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    904
    183
    60
    39
    33
See reviews for
33
948
17
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (320)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New Orleans, Louisiana
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 11, 2013

My husband I stayed here for our anniversary. We were stunned at the gorgeous scenery and beautifully decorated room! Most of the woodwork in the hotel is carved locally and was almost as amazing as the views. The staff are friendly and aim to please above and beyond your expectations. We loved every minute and hope to return soon.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stacey C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 9, 2013

This resort has amazing views and great food. The only downside was that the hot tub was not working for part of the time we were there. The restaurant is excellent as well and we did not have a bad meal there.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ryan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lansing, Michigan
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed November 1, 2013

We stayed at Ladera for the last 4 days of our honeymoon and it was amazing. The views alone are worth the stay. The food is great, rooms are beautiful, and everyone is friendly and accommodating. Holly, one of the owners, was very gracious and genuinely cared about the people who were there. I would recommend this for anyone who is looking for a unique vacation spot. Thanks again Holly!
Amber and Scott O'Mara

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Amber O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kentucky
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2013

My husband took me to the Ladera Resort for our honeymoon. I didn't know we were going to St. Lucia until we got to the airport and I knew nothing of the resort until we arrived. When we arrived, we were greeted by Yvette with a refreshing ginger infused drink. She walked us around the property and we finally reached our room... my jaw dropped! The view of the Peton's from our OPEN WALL room was breathtaking. The private pool was relaxing and unlike anything I had ever seen. The handcarved poles and decor were amazing. Everything was unique and even with the open wall, you felt like you had your own little piece of the rainforest. I could not get my husband out of the partially outdoor shower. Netting wraps the bed in a whimsical way and little geckos and tiny frogs greet you at every turn. We were pleasantly surprised to also find in our room a handwritten note from the owner, Holly, welcoming us to the resort and a complimentary bottle of champagne. What a great touch!

After we took in the surroundings and pinched ourselves a few times, we headed down to dinner at the resort restaurant Dasheene. Every meal we had there was delicious! At every breakfast there were fresh squeezed fruit juices and yummy pastries, our favorite being one that resembled a crescent roll but had yummy fresh chocolate inside. Lunch was a twist on some of our back home favorites. The dinners were some of the best we had ever eaten but our favorite was on Thusday night when my husband had the filet mignon and i had the homemade mushroom ravioli (a vegetarian meal and I am definitely a meat eater) and both were so delicious we were full but could not stop eating. My husband swears it was the best steak he has ever had and he has eaten a lot of steak. Then, to follow, each night there were the most decadent desserts including fresh made homemade ice cream every night (the caramel was some of the best we've ever tasted), mousse, tiramisu, and many others. Chef Nigel definitely has cooking skills! The service was great at each meal also! A few names we can remember, Leah, Isha, Shekinah (who was extremely funny) to name a few.

While it was hard to not want to stay at the resort and take in all the scenery, Ladera offers plenty of fun activities for you to enjoy. We had the best massages we have ever had at the resort spa with Lindsey & Dexter, went on the Soufriere Experience with our tour driver Nigel and met some fun characters such as our tour guide Simon at the Botanical Gardens, and visited Sugar Beach where we met Eli the fruit man and snorkeled. There were many other offerings, horseback riding, ziplining, and a plethora of other fantastic adventures.

One of the greatest things about this resort is that EVERYONE cares about the level of service you are getting. A waiter who poured our juice in the morning asked if we had any complaints with our stay as a whole. From housekeepers to receptionists to bartenders, everyone wanted to know if you were enjoying yourself. They didn't wait for a complaint to come to them, a trait we have not yet seen in the states or any other resort/hotel we have stayed in. Everyone is friendly, down to earth, and ready to help. We definitely recommend Ladera to any couple looking for a very romantic getaway and hope to return there ourselves!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Shanel D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
86 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2013

If you're a couple visiting St Lucia, Ladera IS THE place to stay!!! We just spent 3 incredible days at Ladera and cannot stop raving about it! The open air suite was absolutely stunning, the view mind blowing. At night we'd sit in the open air lounge, in the plunge pool (overlooking the valley, Sugar Beach and the Pitons) or on the bed, listening to the incredible sounds of nature. We just witnessed the best sunsets and the most incredible mornings!

Don't expect TV's... this is a resort to get away from it all... to enjoy your other half! There is free wifi though. Holly the owner is so lovely and down to Earth! And the staff gorgeous! A special mention of Cassandra, one of the duty managers.

The only downside to it is that Ladera is just outside Soufriere so there is no choice of restaurants. (Not that we would've ventured to try the food at Soufriere!!!) The restaurant at Ladera, Dasheene, has great food, although overpriced. And renting a car was the best thing we did!! Gave us so much liberty to do what we wanted to do... and saved on a lot of money!!!

Ladera is a little slice of heaven! We didn't care much about St Lucia as a holidaying destination - but Ladera was something else!!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MarlsCass1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Binghamton, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2013

We recently returned from our stay at Ladera. it was wonderful. The staff and the locals are extremely friendly and very willing to make your stay enjoyable.
It was different staying in a hotel with only 3 walls, but we got used to it quickly.
You have to get used to little lizards running through your room night and day. And yes, there will be bugs, but not nearly as bad as I had imagined it would be.
The downside of Ladera is there is no nightlife. This is a very quiet resort. Everything shuts down around 9/930. And everything is very very expensive. There is a service fee as well as a tax. We were not aware of that before we went.
But the grounds are wonderful and the rooms were great. THe bathroom was awesome with all the great colored tiles. Our fridge was stocked every morning with sodas and water.
You are less than a mile to the sulfur springs. A must go. And a short 25 minute ride to hike the pitons. Another must do!
Finally, the views are the best I've ever scene. We are very pleased with our stay at Ladera.

Room Tip: Our room was close to the bar, so it was not as private as most. Ask for a room away from the bar!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank KimmyV1116
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shermael C, Guest Relations Manager at Ladera Resort, responded to this review, September 13, 2013
Thank you for your kind comments about service. As the first eco luxe resort on island, Ladera is proud to offer an authentic and unique St Lucian experience. For the benefit of clarification, service charge and VAT are applicable everywhere on island. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay on our beautiful island!
Shermael
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Soufriere
2.7 mi away
Jade Mountain Resort
Jade Mountain Resort
#1 of 11 in Soufriere
903 reviews
0.7 mi away
Sugar Beach, A Viceroy Resort
2.8 mi away
Anse Chastanet
Anse Chastanet
#5 of 11 in Soufriere
1,130 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.3 mi away
Capella Marigot Bay Resort and Marina
19.7 mi away
Cap Maison
Cap Maison
#2 of 4 in Cap Estate
724 reviews
16.2 mi away
East Winds
East Winds
#1 of 13 in Gros Islet
801 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ladera Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ladera Resort

Property: Ladera Resort
Address: Rabot Estate, Soufriere, St. Lucia
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > St. Lucia > Soufriere Quarter > Soufriere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Soufriere
#1 Spa Hotel in Soufriere
#2 Luxury Hotel in Soufriere
#3 Family Hotel in Soufriere
#7 Romantic Hotel in Soufriere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Ladera Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ladera is the pioneer of the open air three-walled concept in St. Lucia and has since been distinguished by a wide range of international publications, awards and accolades from Conde Nast Traveler, Travel + Leisure, Forbes Life Caribbean Travel and Life, Brides Magazine and countless others. Ladera was once part of Rabot Estate, one of Soufriere's oldest plantations, which still borders the resort. In the late 1960's a parcel of land was sold and developed into a small cluster of condominiums and christened Dasheene, named after the thousands of large, glossy-leafed dasheen plants (also known as elephant ears) harvested on the site. In 1982 it was transformed into a unique resort and changed hands a number of times before emerging as Ladera under the current private ownership. The mission has always been to offer an unparalleled guest experience that is quintessentially Saint Lucian, one that embraces the magnificent views and offers harmony with the surrounding natural beauty and rich bounty of the island. Today, that commitment to sumptuous authenticity is evident in everything from the innovative renderings of fresh local dishes at Dasheene restaurant, to the use of Caribbean timbers, stone and tile work used in the guestrooms and public areas. Yet it shines through most effectively with warm and welcoming Saint Lucian staff. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Jetsetter and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ladera Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ladera Hotel Soufrière
Ladera Resort Soufrière
Ladera St Lucia
Ladera Resort St. Lucia/Soufriere

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing