We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“rip-off and isolated”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Ladera Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Ladera Resort
Ranked #2 of 11 Hotels in Soufriere
Certificate of Excellence
Lausanne
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“rip-off and isolated”
Reviewed January 14, 2013

The Ladera Resort is a kind of eco lodge in isolation in a wonderful location.
If you like isolation the place is surely perfect for you.
If you don't, don't go there. You will need to order a US$ 30 cab to get to the nearest restaurant (2 minutes drive) and back.
And the Ladera Resort is a master at turning isolation into a profit. You will have to pay US$ 15 per Person to access the beach and still feel like an outcast, as the beach actually belongs to another resort into which you are not allowed. Some shade is not included in the fare, and in St. Lucia, some sort of shade is often welcome.
Then, the resort restaurant Dasheen, which you will have to visit, requires at least a two course menu of US$45 or US$48 if you're not a vegetarian. Dasheen thinks of itself as the ultimate euro-caribbean food experience. Well... it is not. It is ok, but not a notch better and it is worth about half the money you will have to pay for it.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank Cosmo74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shermael C, Guest Relations Manager at Ladera Resort, responded to this review, January 15, 2013
We are surprised and disappointed to hear your recent comments. Ladera is secluded and enjoys one of the best locations in the world, right between the Pitons, a UNESCO World Heritage Site. Your comment about the beach access is inaccurate as we do not charge any fees to any guests at any time to access the beach. Instead, we do provide complimentary transportation as well as fresh towels and mineral water and access to Sugar Beach, a Viceroy resort, for our guests’ convenience. All beaches in St.Lucia are public and do not belong to any resort. We facilitate the purchase of vouchers at Sugar Beach but do not control where they decide to accommodate you. In regards to our award winning restaurant Dasheene (2012 Best restaurant in St.Lucia, Cigar Aficionado), our set menu at lunch is US$22.00 per person. Our Sunday Brunch offers a local rate of US$29.00 per person including live entertainment. Our “local Fridays” offer a-la-carte selections priced individually. The set menus rotate every couple of days and the pricing is similar to other luxury establishments who serve local fresh products. For the benefit of clarification, Ladera is walking distance from the nearest restaurant which is across the street and a US$30.00 taxi is not necessary to get there. We are sorry that you were misinformed during your recent visit and hoped that you enjoyed your trip otherwise.
Shermael
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,219 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    904
    183
    60
    39
    33
See reviews for
33
948
17
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (320)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Fort Worth, Texas
Level Contributor
122 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed January 12, 2013

I will start by saying that when my husband and I walked in our room at Ladera, I had tears in my eyes. It was just the most beautiful, paradise I have ever stayed in. I bought our trip on Jetsetter and because I got such a great deal, I did not think our room would be the best they had. Well they took us up to the Hilltop Dream Suite (X VII) and I am pretty sure it is one of the best. It was a two story one bedroom with living room and pool downstairs. And when I say pool, it was not just a little plunging pool. It had a shallower area to lay out with a swing and then a deeper portion where you could swim up and look out over the bay between the Pitons. Ladera is a magical place.
The staff were fantastic! We have been several islands in the Caribbean and service is not always friendly and often times slow. The staff at this resort work hard, always have a smile and just really seem to enjoy working there. Some of our favorite staff who really made our trip were: Tonya (sp?), Jennifer and Shekina. We enjoyed seeing them and their smiling faces every day.
In several reviews I read before going, the people said they never left the resort and I can see why! It rained quite a bit while we were there but it was so beautiful waking up to rain with our open third wall. The rain would shower with the sun out or heavy rains would come in with gusting winds but it would only last a short time. It was really beautiful. We never went indoors technically for 5 days. Everything is open, no closed in walls or doors.
We did however leave the resort because we like to be pretty active when we travel. We fished one day, went diving at Anse Chastanet one day and hiked the Gros Piton the third. We loved the cab drivers that are contracted with Ladera. Each one is like having a tour guide drive you around. They were really great and so patient and willing to make your trip that much better. Some of our favorites you can request: Michael, Charles, and Herod. It was very easy to allow the reception to arrange all transportation and activities but it does cost a bit more. It was worth it to me as I never turned my phone on while we were there and there are no phones in the room. However, if you prefer you can contact the taxi companies yourself and negotiate rates. I have also read that you can request drivers to drive you wherever you please and wait for you as you go to various sites for $20-$30 an hour which is a pretty great rate. Just an idea, we did not try this.
The ear plugs they provide may very well be necessary. My husband had no problem sleeping but to sleep through the night I had to use them a few times due to the very talkative and energetic rainforest around you! This resort is not for everyone but I don't know many people who wouldn't love it! It's a fantastic and unique resort. We just loved it!

Room Tip: Not sure, we loved our room. Remember though the larger the pool, the colder the pool!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank ftworth11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shermael C, Guest Relations Manager at Ladera Resort, responded to this review, January 14, 2013
Thank you so much for your kind comments. Looking forward to welcoming you back next year!
Shermael
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Beach, California
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 11, 2013

It was the most secluded, romantic place. Our suite was fantastic with our own plunge pool and amazing amazing view of Caribbean sea and Pitons. The staffs are very friendly and helpful. The foods are amazing as well. It was such a wonderful romantic vacation ever!!!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank daowdi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
50 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed January 10, 2013

We stayed at the Ladera Resort in St. Lucia on our honeymoon, it was fantastic. We had our our secluded unit at the end of a line of 32 suuites at the top of the ridge. The room was perched on the edge with open views down to the ocean. We had our own private plunge pool out of the view of other units. The unit was a full 97 steps from the Dining Room so the many fabulous meals of local produce, fresh fish and colorful presentations that we over indulged was worn off by the exercise of walking back to our room.
There were many activities availble to us (hiking, scuba diving, hoseback riding hlicopter tours) but we just wanted to relax and take in the views of the maginificent Pitons and the Caribbean Ocean!
A highly recommended and worthwhile get away.

Room Tip: All of the roooms were excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank JohnRBuller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shermael C, Guest Relations Manager at Ladera Resort, responded to this review, January 14, 2013
We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay at Ladera especially your meals at Dasheene, our award winning restaurant. Come back and see us soon!
Shermael
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pompano Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed January 10, 2013

I am grateful for the experience! This is an absolutely stunning scenic location; a unique private romantic get away. No clocks! No TVs. No phones. Digital detox!! Enjoy your 3-sided room (front open to view of Pitons and water); your own plunge pool and patio! Venture down to the beach - relax and/or go scuba diving from shore. Hire a local resident to take you on a private water taxi coastline tour with lunch and snorkel stop. Wow. One of our best ever, memorable vacations for my wife and me.

Room Tip: All suites. I don't think there's a "bad" room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Larry E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shermael C, Guest Relations Manager at Ladera Resort, responded to this review, January 14, 2013
We are glad to hear that your recent stay at Ladera was one of your best vacations ever! We aim to create memories for every guest, every moment of every day and thankful that you took the time to share your experience.
Shermael
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2013

My wife and I honeymooned at Ladera Nov 28-Dec 6 2012. I have never been somewhere so amazing and beautiful. It's the ultimate in luxury to have your own swimming pool in the privacy of your room with your view of the Pitons drinking a beer or smoking a cigar.

http://vimeo.com/56232530

Here is a video showing our room E. All rooms are different but they all have amazing views. I tried putting the video on the ladera facebook page, but I'm not sure if it worked...

Upon arrival we were lucky and were upgraded from a Villa Suite to a spacious Two Bedroom Villa suite with an amazing pool and a large tanning deck. The custom wood work, the bed, the shower open to the view... it's going to be tough to beat this trip (oh we'll try).

We loved the Piton beer. We loved the Soufriere Viagra (local spiced rum with actual spices in it).

The food and service at Dasheene was awesome and couldn't be any better. Elizabeth, Nielbert, Shaqeena were all very nice, but so was everyone really. Wow, the cajun oil dip they have for the bread... I've tasted some amazing flavours, had some amazing curries, fusion food etc... that Cajun Oil dip for the bread is, so far, my favourite flavour I've ever tasted. That is saying a lot, we've been to many countries and are adventurous foodies. The duck confit, amazing. Grilled Caribbean lobster, really good and we were very full. The lobster is so rich. Sunday brunch, (once a week buffet) best buffet I've ever had in my life. French, cajun, jerk, local herbs and spices, everything was just fresh. Breakfast, amazing. Coffee was awesome, I saw someone say in another review that they were upset Dasheene served local St. Lucian coffee instead of starbucks coffee. LOL, the coffee was perfect. Chef Nigel & staff outdid themselves. Overall Dasheene was the highlight of our honeymoon.

All inclusive. I didn't see much value in the all inclusive. It's pretty expensive and I'm pretty sure you'd spend less just buying all your meals and drinks (and living like a king/queen). We did 3 days of all inclusive only (7 night honeymoon) because we thought we'd try some other local spots out. I didn't know it when I booked, but that only included: Day 1 = Dinner/drinks, Day 2 = All meals/drinks, Day 3 = Breakfast and lunch only and drinks. I can see why they do it that way, you arrive on day one in time for dinner and you leave after lunch your departing day. If you go all inclusive, do it every day you are there, or none at all, otherwise it won't be worth it.

Definitely do the Market tour and Chef's class. That was really fun and highlighted in my video.

Do some shopping in Soufriere too, go to Debbie's. It's the main shopping store for tourists and it has the best prices believe it or not. Be prepared for the odd beggar though. "Birdman" is a common beggar, at least he is creative and will widdle a hummingbird out of wood for cash. The beggars (there aren't that many I'm exaggerating) do get old though.

Ladera's shop has the highest quality goods, no beggars, but the prices do match the quality. The wood work in the shop is the best on the island and it's done by the local artisan who did all the rooms. If you splurge, splurge on the Ladera wood work, I didn't see the same quality anywhere else.

Gros Piton hike, awesome, do it. The halfway point, where you view of the Pitons is the best view. The view at the top is ok, it's worth doing the whole thing just to say you did it. I kept telling my wife that anyways.

The beach. Some people maybe didn't know that Ladera isn't right on the beach (very few people), I knew that and I am so glad I went with Ladera. It's honestly really nice being high up, you get an amazing view, you get a pool in your room to cool off in. Because Ladera is so high up, it's less humid and you have a nice breeze. There are shuttles that go 3 times per day. I liked going to Jalhousie beach for the snorkeling but I wouldn't want to stay there. One thing you notice right away when you get to the beach, is that you can't even see the petite piton! You're so low and the angle of it means you can only see the gros piton from the beach. The snorkeling is freaking awesome by the way. We brought our own gear and we didn't pay to get the chair vouchers either. We brought some beach towels and did it "Australian style" and just lied on the beach beside some trees on the towel. There was shade. Didn't pay anything and it was fine.

Do the complimentary garden tour, it was fun, informative and I got some nice flower pictures.

Avoid the Boucan restaurant from Hotel Chocolat across the street. We thought we would try something different... Compared to Dasheene, the food and service does not even come close, it was a real let down and I wished we were at Dasheene every second. Awful service and they have this ridiculous notion to include chocolate with every single dish, even when chocolate doesn't add to the dish. My flavorless curry had a chocolate naan bread which didn't compliment the failed curry. Don't go there.

We enjoyed meeting the manager and even the owner of the resort was there too. It was funny watching the owner, she is so proud of everyone (rightfully so) and she was so excited to tell everyone about cool upcoming events and activities to do. Everyone has a lot of fun working at Ladera.

If you are going for an extended stay, 5-7 days and really want to try another restaurant other than Dasheene (you're crazy) we tried the Petite Peaks restaurant off the beach in Soufriere for dinner. That was a really good "Diners Drive in and Dives" type place, and it's quite a bit cheaper than Dasheene. Their Lamb Curry was really good. I've also heard Martha's Tables is good but the owner was away that week or something and it was closed.

The stars in St. Lucia, especially on the south end has zero light pollution. If you are interested in astro photography, you will not be disappointed. I did a timelapse in my video of the milky way over the piton (it's at the end of the video). Each second of video is 30 pictures, 30 second exposure. Canon T4i, 18-135mm lense, 30 sec, ISO 1600, F3.5.

If you like any of the following: sunsets, beautiful views, delicious food, great/friendly service, stars, privacy, romanticism, or a pool in your room, then you will LOVE Ladera. ;)

-Thomas + Heather

Room Tip: Request a tanning deck beside your pool. I believe the one room suite and up has a tanning deck and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
13 Thank Thomas C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shermael C, Guest Relations Manager at Ladera Resort, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
Dear Thomas and Heather
Thank you for sharing your glowing feedback following your stay at Ladera! We are gratified that you had the opportunity to experience our resort and that you left with so many memories! Of course, we look forward to seeing you next year on your first anniversary!
Shermael
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 27, 2012

My wife and I came here for our honeymoon last October. I cannot say it could have been any better. It was hard to evens age the room, but there was a lot to do in the area as well. We went down to the beach, did a sunset cruise, did some zip lining, and went to the mud baths. There is an amazing restaurant across the street called Chocolat we also loved. Very reasonably prices super high class restaurant. Back to La Dera. Every morning they serve you an amazing breakfast and make sure you get the Banana Jam. It is to die for.. Also loved the piña coladas, I never drink these drinks but he bartender killed it. Highest recommendation for a place to stay that is a true experience.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bradleyhiphop79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shermael C, Guest Relations Manager at Ladera Resort, responded to this review, January 3, 2013
Thank you for choosing Ladera when planning your honeymoon in St. Lucia! We will share your comments with the entire team especially our bartender Barley! Our banana jam is homemade daily by our pastry team and available year round. We look forward to your return visit on your first anniversary!
Shermael
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Soufriere
2.7 mi away
Jade Mountain Resort
Jade Mountain Resort
#1 of 11 in Soufriere
903 reviews
0.7 mi away
Sugar Beach, A Viceroy Resort
2.8 mi away
Anse Chastanet
Anse Chastanet
#5 of 11 in Soufriere
1,130 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.3 mi away
Capella Marigot Bay Resort and Marina
19.7 mi away
Cap Maison
Cap Maison
#2 of 4 in Cap Estate
724 reviews
16.2 mi away
East Winds
East Winds
#1 of 13 in Gros Islet
801 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ladera Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ladera Resort

Property: Ladera Resort
Address: Rabot Estate, Soufriere, St. Lucia
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > St. Lucia > Soufriere Quarter > Soufriere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Soufriere
#1 Spa Hotel in Soufriere
#2 Luxury Hotel in Soufriere
#3 Family Hotel in Soufriere
#7 Romantic Hotel in Soufriere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Ladera Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ladera is the pioneer of the open air three-walled concept in St. Lucia and has since been distinguished by a wide range of international publications, awards and accolades from Conde Nast Traveler, Travel + Leisure, Forbes Life Caribbean Travel and Life, Brides Magazine and countless others. Ladera was once part of Rabot Estate, one of Soufriere's oldest plantations, which still borders the resort. In the late 1960's a parcel of land was sold and developed into a small cluster of condominiums and christened Dasheene, named after the thousands of large, glossy-leafed dasheen plants (also known as elephant ears) harvested on the site. In 1982 it was transformed into a unique resort and changed hands a number of times before emerging as Ladera under the current private ownership. The mission has always been to offer an unparalleled guest experience that is quintessentially Saint Lucian, one that embraces the magnificent views and offers harmony with the surrounding natural beauty and rich bounty of the island. Today, that commitment to sumptuous authenticity is evident in everything from the innovative renderings of fresh local dishes at Dasheene restaurant, to the use of Caribbean timbers, stone and tile work used in the guestrooms and public areas. Yet it shines through most effectively with warm and welcoming Saint Lucian staff. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Jetsetter and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ladera Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ladera Hotel Soufrière
Ladera Resort Soufrière
Ladera St Lucia
Ladera Resort St. Lucia/Soufriere

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing