We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A true taste of Luxury!”
Review of Ladera Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Ladera Resort
Ranked #2 of 11 Hotels in Soufriere
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 7, 2012

As soon as I arrived at the front gate and was escorted to my room I realized this was a truly different experience.

The property was simply breath taking. From the unique architecture, to the gardens, the beautiful view of the Pitons, the rooms, the staff, the dinning experience, everything was stunning!

I stayed in Room B which was a 2 bedroom villa with a pool that over looked the Ocean. What a view! The natural beauty of the room made it seem as if we were actually a part of the hillside!

The atmosphere and cuisine made the dinning experience world class. I tired pretty much everything on the menu (I'm a bit of a "opportunivore") and the mahi mahi was one of my favourite! They also took the time to explain that all of the food was produced by local farmers which I personally appreciate.

I had the rare opportunity of taking a tour of the new rooms that are currently under construction. What an experience that was seeing artists at work! It was clearly more than a job. I was blown away by how everything was completely handmade. From the exotic wood doors, bed frames to the custom carved poles, to the puzzle pieces of colourful tiles being methodically placed together. When I come back, I will definitely hope to stay in one of those rooms!

Thank you to the whole team that made my experience at Ladera welcoming and comfortable!

Room Tip: While every room is unique, they all share the same breath taking view of the Pitons and beautiful l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mike E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,275)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

698 - 704 of 1,275 reviews

Reviewed August 31, 2012

Honestly, I was very hesitant to go to Ladera based on the three wall deal, but it was the best part of our honeymoon. We spent 3 nights at Ladera and then 4 nights at Sandals. When we got to Sandals within minutes we were missing Ladera. From the exceptional views to the personal service we had an unforgettable time.

Some quick tips and shout outs:
-when getting out of the airport do not let them take your bags. It is a short walk and they expect tips.
-if you can hire Shem as your taxi driver, do it! He will provide you with a great service. He tells you the history of St. Lucia, if you want beers he will stop, he will even find you the only man on the island with a snake permit if you want one on your shoulders. He is respectful and on time.
-shout out to all the incredible people at Ladera....Melissa, Jason, Vianney, Elizabeth, and Rosemary. We also enjoyed the live bands.
-bring cards in case you like playing or it rains. Ladera does have board games just in case though!
-yes, the menu was the same for all the days and nights, however it is fresh and delicious. Plus it may encourage you to get adventurous and order something outside your comfort zone. Definitely go with the all inclusive meal plan! I also brought some bags of chips which held us over sometimes.
-as far as wildlife goes....we stayed in room W. During the day we had 2 lizard buddies and I saw a slug at the very far end of the room. Watch out for birds they will pick at your food if you leave it sitting. At night I got bit a couple times, but never in the bed. Use the bug stuff they provide you with and it's all good.
-ok so you have to take a possible ten to fifteen nauseating minute shuttle ride to the beach. Totally worth it. The view is nice. However, the drinks and food are expensive and not included in the Ladera all inclusive. Plus, you have to sit in these downgraded chairs compared to the jalouise ones, but it didn't matter.
All in all we wish we stayed at ladera longer than Sandals. Ladera will be the biggest memory from our honeymoon and it was mostly in part due to all of the people who function together as a team to make our trip incredible at the resort. Thank you Ladera!

Room Tip: Any! We had room W. There were a lot of stairs, keep the waterfall going, it prevents others from he...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Carmina14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shermael C, Guest Relations Manager at Ladera Resort, responded to this reviewResponded September 5, 2012

It was a pleasure having you stay at Ladera on your honeymoon. We aim to keep Ladera very authentic while providing a luxury service experience. Anyone who visited Ladera, was able to enjoy the view, the cuisine, the character and uniqueness of the resort, but what makes us proud about Ladera is the incredible people on the team. We appreciate you mentioning some of the stars (Melissa, Jason, Elizabeth and Rosemary).
Shermael

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2012

I must be honest and say that I was skeptical of staying at a place with only 3 walls for our honeymoon...but it was the best decision to stay at Ladera! From the grounds, to the room, to the staff - everything was excellent. First, you cannot beat the view from this resort...it was stunning! To have that "open wall" and see the Pitons every morning was simply gorgeous. We stayed in room M and it was perfect. The bed and bathroom were at the back and down a few steps (btw - the bathroom was huge), as well as a sitting area. The living room, deck and plunge pool were on the main level. The room was very clean and comfortable. It did get hot and humid, but that was what the pool is for! My one recommendation is to definitely keep the lights off at night if possible. That totally minimizes the bugs and makes for a much better stay! The resort itself has a very rustic feel, so don't go expecting your usual hotel room. You are staying in a tropical rainforest. The grounds make you feel totally relaxed and we liked the signs telling us what certain trees and flowers were. We used the gym, pool, spa and restaurant. The gym was good for what we needed, the view from the pool was amazing, the spa was a very good value with many options and the restaurant was delicious. Our first dinner there was probably one of our favorites on the island. The continental breakfast was filling and I liked the added touch of a water gun at every table in case a bird tries to take your bread! It was a little difficult to see in the restaurant at night, but it wasn't bad. Be sure to take advantage of the afternoon tea as well...it was a nice amenity. Overall the food was very good, but we did decide to venture out for a few meals because it can get expensive.
There are two beaches that the resort provides shuttle access to, which you need to sign up for in advance. We visited both, but would recommend the one at Jalousie over Anse Chastanet. Also there aren't tv's or telephones, so you can totally unplug if you want. If not, there is wifi available to aid in your planning or keeping up with the world.
Finally our complements to the staff, who we can't thank enough for making our stay so wonderful. They were kind, helpful, knowledgeable, courteous, friendly and were always happy to answer my random questions or explain how the "firefly" system worked. From the front desk, to the restaurant, the spa and grounds crew, everyone greeted us with a smile and made us feel welcome. They had recommendations, tips, and were just pleasant to talk with.
Although our honeymoon stay was short, everyone at Ladera made a lasting impression. Thank you all! We would definitely like to visit again.

Room Tip: Some rooms have the bedroom upstairs and the bathrooms downstairs, so be sure to ask!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank aynot91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shermael C, Guest Relations Manager at Ladera Resort, responded to this reviewResponded September 5, 2012

Thank you for choosing Ladera to celebrate your honeymoon! While enjoying one of the best resorts in the world, our focus remains service as the key component of the guest experience. We look forward to welcoming you back on your anniversary!
Shermael

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2012

Ladera is one of the most beautiful places close to home (from Chicago). We stayed in a suite that has one 3 sides of walls, and exposed to the gros pitons and the oceans on a mountaintop, with a plunge pool. The people are really great, the food was also very healthy and delicious, though lacking a little bit of variety... there was a good enough spread of things. Overall, it was just one of those places designed to feel like heaven on earth.

Room Tip: good place to detox from the busy world...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lollienuth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shermael C, Guest Relations Manager at Ladera Resort, responded to this reviewResponded August 31, 2012

Many thanks for your very positive feedback about your recent honeymoon at Ladera. We pride ourselves on providing great service, cuisine and amenities that help create those cherished memories for our guests. Dasheene offerings continue to depend on daily market availability as we offer fresh local cuisine and avoid importing to support our local fishermen and farmers. Our dinner menu consists of a minimum of seven appetizers, seven main courses and five specials on a daily basis that our guests can choose from. We will continue to rotate the menus as often as possible with the freshest local ingredients. On behalf of the entire team I would like to say how delighted we are that you enjoyed your stay!
Shermael

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2012

went to ladera on our honeymoon...everything about this place is amazing!! as soon as u land in the aiport and the driver picks u up....takes about an hour drive to get to ladera but the drive is beautiful and the drivers are full of great st lucia facts and tips...once u get to the hotel it is amazing....the welcome staff is super helpful and friendly and the rooms are stunning....beautiful view from the room of the pitons and ocean....lovey open wall concept and funny enough my wife and i stayed 4 nights and had abosultely no problems with bugs or mosquitoes.....everything in the room is hand carved and wooden which makes it even better.....at night u hear all the tree frogs and the stars are the brightest ive ever seen them in my life....dashene restaurant is also excellent, the food and selection are amazing as well the view from the resaurant is amazing. every staff member we interacted with from the wait staff to reception and cleaners were all great and helpful....we had a swedish massage as well and that was also very enjoyable....my wife had a bit of a cold once we got there and every time we went to the restaurant and the waiter recognised she was abit sick they would all recommend their st lucia concoction of honey, lime and cane rum which was quite good and helped her alot.....we toured soufriere and that was great the tour guide was an older st lucian man who was very knowledgable and the tour was great...we did the gros piton climb as well and the description says its tough and believe me it is tough....that was a great climb even though it was tough but really nice and again beautiful views....the restaurant even packed us a lunch to take up the mountain on our 2 hour hike so that was really great....overal this place is amazing and is worth every penny....there is nothing i would change as everything was amazing...we will defintely be back and recommend ladera as its a wonderful place to spend time...

Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
1  Thank rd1238
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shermael C, Guest Relations Manager at Ladera Resort, responded to this reviewResponded August 27, 2012

Thank you for your kind comments. Ladera is indeed a very unique property. We realize that our location, right in front of the pitons, (a UNESCO World Heritage Site) makes Ladera one of the best locations in the world. We also understand that our level of quality, service, authenticity and fine dining are key in creating the best memories for our guests.
Shermael

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2012

Going to Ladera with my fiance was our best vacation yet. When we had to leave after five nights, I felt the actual onset of tears it was SO good! We hardly needed to leave the property, other than one dinner at Boucan (yum yum); making an unexpected climb up Gros Piton; zip-lining at the nearby plantation; and of course the almost daily trips to Jalousie beach. The Gros Piton climb was "unexpected" because - while I like to consider us an adventurous couple - we didn't realize it would be a full-tilt, 4.5 hour mountain climb when we signed up for the hike. Once we survived and were in the taxi on our way back to Ladera, the resort entryway looked and felt like a sign from heaven! We couldn't be more relieved to return to our private room - private being a moot point - everything felt like a private romantic oasis and pure relaxation! Upon our arrival we were greeted with a glass of Ladera punch and refrigerated, mint-smelling hand towel from the friendly staff. Delisch! The staff's overall friendliness and kindness - drivers, servers, spa therapists, housekeepers, groundskeepers, etc. - was 100% consistent and genuine. Bugs were not bad at all, a minor (and forgettable) annoyance at worst. Wear ear plugs to dampen the nature sounds at night. Recommend eating the food options at the Tcholit Bar for some lunches and dinners, to offset high Dasheene menu prices. Get comfortable in the privacy of your room without needing much clothing. Book a deep tissue massage. Overall......Naysayers - get outta here!!!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank 132MiMa1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shermael C, Guest Relations Manager at Ladera Resort, responded to this reviewResponded August 27, 2012

We look forward to welcoming you back possibly for your wedding at Ladera. Please let me know if I can be of assistance once you have finalized the date. We are glad that you enjoyed dining at Dasheene which continues to be one of the best restaurants in the Caribbean. Service and quality in general remain our focus and we are proud to welcome guests back to our romantic paradise year after year.
Shemael

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2012

My wife and I just got back from our Honeymoon! We stayed at Ladera, and it was so awesome! First off the rooms were so cool, all of the woodwork was hand carved, tile work was beautiful (everywhere at the resort not just the room). But the view was almost Surreal! When you wake up and look out in between two mountains (The Pitons) and you can see the Caribean sea while drinking a cup of coffee! What a great way to start the day. Continental breakfast was included, which was nice, there were fresh baked pastries, granola, freshly made juices, local fruit plate, and coffee or tea. Great way to start the day, if that wasnt enough for you for breakfast, then you there is a regular breakfast menu to order from and the food was good!
The resort is very quiet during the day and the staff is excellent, they will go out of their way to make you more comfortable! We were walking to the restaurant, it was raining and a staff member just ran up to us, gave us an umbrella and disappeared! Everyone was so so nice!
In the evenings, the birds come out and it does get loud, but you are in the rainforest, so its all part of the experience. And for all you light sleepers, the resort provides ear plugs. Yes you do see a few small gecko's and other little critters, but they don't get into your business at all.
The main restaurant Dasheene... we ate here twice and loved it! Candle lit dinner with wonderful wonderful service really set the tone for an extremely tasty and romantic dinner! We went to other places on the island for dinner, but were so impressed by the first dinner we had there, decided to go back on our last night!
The bed was comfortable, not to hot to sleep at night as there is a very nice breeze that tends to come through the open air room.
The resort has its own black water mineral baths, that reminded us of tea cups pouring into eachother (very cute). It is like individual or two person hot tubs, we sat out in these in the rain and enjoyed very much.
The resort also has a beautiful Botanical garden, with all sorts of fruits and foods. Very interesting!
We loved this trip so much, we are planning on coming back for our 5 year anniversary. But like they said, you have to leave in order to come back! What a wonderful place! One last thing, the taxi driver Lloyd went out of his way to pick us up in his personal vehicle when he was already off of work, because we missed or shuttle back to Ladera due to me scuba diving at Anse Chastanet. My wife and I couldn't believe this! What wonderful people live and work in St. Lucia! We will with out a doubt be back! Thanks for an unbelievable trip, and the best a Honeymoon could be!!!

Room Tip: We were in room "S" for special! Very cool, but I don't think there is a bad room at t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Petchman5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shermael C, Guest Relations Manager at Ladera Resort, responded to this reviewResponded August 23, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with feedback about your recent stay at Ladera. We believe that service remains the most important part of the experience at the resort and we are proud to share your comments with the entire team! We are glad that you were able to appreciate our fresh local cuisine at Dasheene! Looking forward to welcoming you back again soon!
Shermael

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Soufriere
2.7 mi away
Jade Mountain Resort
Jade Mountain Resort
#1 of 11 in Soufriere
955 reviews
0.7 mi away
Sugar Beach, A Viceroy Resort
9.3 mi away
Marigot Bay Resort and Marina by Capella
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Anse Chastanet
Anse Chastanet
#5 of 11 in Soufriere
1,183 reviews
1.0 mi away
Stonefield Estate Resort
Stonefield Estate Resort
#6 of 11 in Soufriere
735 reviews
19.7 mi away
Cap Maison
Cap Maison
#2 of 5 in Cap Estate
752 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ladera Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ladera Resort

Address: Rabot Estate, Soufriere, St. Lucia
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > St. Lucia > Soufriere Quarter > Soufriere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Soufriere
#1 Spa Hotel in Soufriere
#2 Luxury Hotel in Soufriere
#3 Family Hotel in Soufriere
#7 Romantic Hotel in Soufriere
Price Range: $511 - $1,171 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Ladera Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ladera is the pioneer of the open air three-walled concept in St. Lucia and has since been distinguished by a wide range of international publications, awards and accolades from Conde Nast Traveler, Travel + Leisure, Forbes Life Caribbean Travel and Life, Brides Magazine and countless others. Ladera was once part of Rabot Estate, one of Soufriere's oldest plantations, which still borders the resort. In the late 1960's a parcel of land was sold and developed into a small cluster of condominiums and christened Dasheene, named after the thousands of large, glossy-leafed dasheen plants (also known as elephant ears) harvested on the site. In 1982 it was transformed into a unique resort and changed hands a number of times before emerging as Ladera under the current private ownership. The mission has always been to offer an unparalleled guest experience that is quintessentially Saint Lucian, one that embraces the magnificent views and offers harmony with the surrounding natural beauty and rich bounty of the island. Today, that commitment to sumptuous authenticity is evident in everything from the innovative renderings of fresh local dishes at Dasheene restaurant, to the use of Caribbean timbers, stone and tile work used in the guestrooms and public areas. Yet it shines through most effectively with warm and welcoming Saint Lucian staff. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ladera Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ladera Hotel Soufrière
Ladera Resort Soufrière
Ladera St Lucia
Ladera Resort St. Lucia/Soufriere

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing