We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful rooms, great food but poor table service ps expensive”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sugar Beach, A Viceroy Resort
Ranked #6 of 11 Hotels in Soufriere
Certificate of Excellence
UK
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Beautiful rooms, great food but poor table service ps expensive”
Reviewed June 9, 2014

We stayed there for one night while sailing down the coastline, it's a great location and fantastic rooms. The food was stunning grilled tuna to perfection however the service was very erratic, every person received their meals at different times to the point that some people had finished their mains and others had not even received their starters?

That aside the rest of the staff were amazing but be prepared to pay 10$ for a bottle of water.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dominic_Traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ABoersma, General Manager at Sugar Beach, A Viceroy Resort, responded to this review, June 22, 2014
Good day,
Thank you for taking the time to comment on your recent visit to Sugar Beach, A Viceroy Resort.
We are pleased that you enjoyed our accommodation and food quality, however disappointed that you experienced slow service during meal times. I would like to apologize for the inconvenience caused. This is an area where we are continually reviewing our service standards to ensure that the best possible service is rendered to our guests at all times.
The price you have quoted is for imported Pana Water. In the pricing of imported items such as this, we are forced to factor in the cost of shipping to St Lucia and the taxes and duties we have to pay to bring them to the hotel. Guests have a choice to have natural spring or house water which we do not charge for.
Once again, thank you for your feedback. We hope to welcome you back soon, hopefully for a longer stay next time.
Regards,

André Boersma
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,219 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    912
    198
    63
    29
    17
See reviews for
221
837
9
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (437)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 9, 2014

The staff was so helpful and so kind . The location was perfect. We haven't been treated so nicely , we dare to say that the staff spoiled us. Also because we were honeymooners the hotel upgraded our villa , to one had view to the piton and the sea!!!
The only thing ,that nearly disappointed us, was that because a big group of New York's corporate arrived, the hotel canceled some of the regular events such as the friday's beach barbecue .. But when we expressed our disappointment , they did their best... It was our best holiday experience !!!!!!!

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Roukas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ABoersma, General Manager at Sugar Beach, A Viceroy Resort, responded to this review, June 22, 2014
Good day,
Thank you for your glowing comments about your honeymoon stay at Sugar Beach, A Viceroy Resort.
I would like to apologize for the disappointment that you have highlighted with the rescheduling of the Friday night barbeque dinner.
We are pleased to hear that apart from the disappointment highlighted, you have a wonderful stay.
Once again, thank you for your comments and business. We hope to welcome you back in the not too distant future.
Regards,

André Boersma
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basel
Level Contributor
307 reviews
112 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 151 helpful votes
Reviewed June 8, 2014

We chose Sugar Beach for our 25th anniversary and were not disappointed. We looked at all the room possibilities and decided we would rather be closer to all the restaurants, pool and beach than have to rely on the tuk tuks for transport. Again, we felt we had chosen well, the Superior Luxury Sugar Mill Room had a very comfortable four poster white bed, dressing room with huge closet, bathroom with a pedestal bath and large shower room, gated courtyard garden with jacuzzi plunge pool as well as a shady roof area with loungers, sofa, table and chairs, planes and ceiling fan and lights. The fridge was well-stocked with complimentary free soft drinks and beers (two per day) and the butler brought a bucket of ice each evening. We got into a routine of spending a day out - at the beach, short excursion, etc. - then showering and relaxing here with a rum and coke, made from the complimentary bottle of rum, before dinner.

Breakfast on the Terrace was very good every day with a huge choice, excelling on Easter Sunday with special dishes and chocolate Easter Eggs. The view from here over the gardens and the bay is beautiful.

Two butlers were there for our service but this was perhaps the one area that did not live up to standards. We had some trouble with excursions - for instance reserving the Saturday morning visit to the Soufriere market then no boat turning up - and though our senior butler had said he would check the arrangement, he did not get back to us - this happened on a couple of occasions. Should say we didn't miss out on any of the excursions - for the Soufriere market the hotel organised a water taxi and sent the hotel Sugar Daddy launch to pick us up.

Otherwise service everywhere was excellent.

On our anniversary a bottle of chilled champagne and platter of tropical fruits was waiting for us when we returned from the beach.

Though the beach is not exclusive, very few non-hotel visitors seemed to make their way to it. The only really sensible way to arrive is by boat, the road being very steep and not in the greatest condition.

Beach service was very good - clean towels always available, plus a flag system for attracting an attendant for drinks, snacks, etc.

We couldn't have chosen better for this special occasion.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank herebedragons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ABoersma, General Manager at Sugar Beach, A Viceroy Resort, responded to this review, June 13, 2014
Good day,
Thank you for taking the time to comment on your 25th anniversary stay at Sugar Beach, A Viceroy Resort.
I would like to apologize for the confusion that you experienced with your various tour arrangements. Our butlers are usually on point with making all guest arrangements. It is unfortunate that you did not get to experience our usual high level of service in that area. We are continuing to review our service standards in this area to ensure that there is not a repeat of what you have described.
We are pleased to note that apart from the disappointment you highlighted, your anniversary stay was memorable for all the right reasons.
Once again, thank you for your comments and business. We are looking forward to your return visit in the not too distant future.
Regards,

André Boersma
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cranberry Township, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed June 5, 2014

Just returned from this property where we enjoyed several days of breathtaking views, a relaxing and quiet beach, outstanding pool area and accommodations many levels above my wildest expectations. Customer service here is no doubt 5 stars . . . very welcoming, wonderful people. Meals, though expensive, were delicious and extremely flavorful. This is one of those places you have to see to appreciate all of its' beauty. It is well worth the travel and expense.

Room Tip: I heard from one of the "tuck-tuck" drivers that the clusters with the best views are the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Our_Turn103
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ABoersma, General Manager at Sugar Beach, A Viceroy Resort, responded to this review, June 13, 2014
Good day,
Thank you for taking the time to comment on your stay at Sugar Beach, A Viceroy Resort.
Top notch amenities and 5 star service is the perfect recipe for a relaxing and memorable stay. We are very happy to know that we exceeded your expectations in every area.
Once again, thank you for your wonderful comments and business. We are looking forward to your return visit.
Regards,

André Boersma
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed June 1, 2014

Pros: Great venue with beautiful architecture and unique finishes. Awesome location between the iconic Pitons that is screensaver worthy.

Cons: Non-consistent service from restaurant staff - more often than not was poor (long waits for food with no explanation or apology, not refilling drinks, etc). High cost not justified by poor service. Lots of bugs (flys in the outdoor eating areas) and constant smell of insecticide.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Alex M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ABoersma, General Manager at Sugar Beach, A Viceroy Resort, responded to this review, June 10, 2014
Good day,
Thank you for your comments about your recent stay at Sugar Beach, A Viceroy Resort.
We are sorry to hear of the service experience that you have highlighted as our staff are always eager to please our guests..
Your comments will be shared with the relevant department heads and their staff to ensure that our guests are always happy with every aspect of the service we offer. Again, I would like to apologize for the inconvenience caused.
We trust that apart from the issues that you have mentioned, you had an enjoyable stay.
We are looking forward to your return visit to share firsthand the improvements made in light of your concerns.
Regards,

André Boersma
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
76 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed June 1, 2014

Probably the best hotel ever! The main pool is fab and then you have your own pool as well! The suites/villas are stunning with amazing views from your own terrace. Restaurants were superb as well and a fabulous modern bar too. What more could you want?

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Luckyd78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ABoersma, General Manager at Sugar Beach, A Viceroy Resort, responded to this review, June 10, 2014
Good day,
Thank you for your wonderful comments about your stay at Sugar Beach, A Viceroy Resort.
Comments like yours make us feel very proud of the service and product that we offer to our guests. We are glad that we created a great holiday experience for you and that we exceeded your expectations on all counts.
Once again, thank you for your comment and business. We are looking forward to your return visit.
Regards,

André Boersma
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marlborough, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 1, 2014

I had a fantastic stay at Sugar Beach, staying in the 300's beautiful views, my own pool to cool off or a short 4 min walk to the beach. The staff at sugar beach made my stay here, many laughs had, always smiling made me feel so welcome. Not usually one for naming names but a special thanks to Super C, Lawrencia & Kershama. Only downside for me was not enough Local food on the menu's.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jamesolivercrook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ABoersma, General Manager at Sugar Beach, A Viceroy Resort, responded to this review, June 10, 2014
Good day,

Thank you for your glowing comments and valuable feedback about your stay at Sugar Beach, A Viceroy Resort.

We are happy to know that you enjoyed our facilities and everything that we offered. The individuals mentioned will be praised for a job well done.

Thank you also for your comments about the lack of local options on the menus. I will be sure to share your feedback with our culinary team.

Once again, thank you for your comments and business. We are looking forward to your return visit.

Regards,

André Boersma
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Soufriere
2.7 mi away
Jade Mountain Resort
Jade Mountain Resort
#1 of 11 in Soufriere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 919 reviews
0.7 mi away
Ladera Resort
Ladera Resort
#2 of 11 in Soufriere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,238 reviews
9.8 mi away
Marigot Bay Resort and Marina by Capella
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Anse Chastanet
Anse Chastanet
#5 of 11 in Soufriere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,139 reviews
20.2 mi away
Cap Maison
Cap Maison
#2 of 4 in Cap Estate
4.5 of 5 bubbles 732 reviews
19.3 mi away
The Landings St. Lucia
The Landings St. Lucia
#2 of 12 in Gros Islet
4.5 of 5 bubbles 868 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sugar Beach, A Viceroy Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sugar Beach, A Viceroy Resort

Property: Sugar Beach, A Viceroy Resort
Address: Sugar Beach, Val des Pitons, Soufriere, St. Lucia
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > St. Lucia > Soufriere Quarter > Soufriere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Soufriere
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Soufriere
#4 Romantic Hotel in Soufriere
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Soufriere
#4 Spa Hotel in Soufriere
#5 Luxury Hotel in Soufriere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sugar Beach, A Viceroy Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sugar Beach, A Viceroy Resort is set amidst more than 100 acres of tropical rainforest on the island's scenic Caribbean coast. Embraced by St Lucia's majestic World Heritage-listed Pitons, the resort's 78 Luxury Sugar Mill Rooms, Villas and Luxury Beachfront Bungalows boast elegant styling, private plunge pool, four poster bed, luxurious Egyptian cotton linens, every possible modern amenity, and personalised butler service. A stunning white sand beach, beautiful Rainforest Spa with tree house treatment rooms, full PADI dive facility, and superb waterfront dining ensure the ultimate vacation experience with space enough for honeymooners and families alike. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, West Indies, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Sugar Beach, A Viceroy Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jalousie Plantation Hotel Soufrière
Jalousie Plantation Soufrière
Jalousie Plantation St Lucia
Jalousie Hilton
Sugar Beach, A Viceroy Resort St. Lucia/Soufriere

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing