We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent stay in St Lucia”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sugar Beach, A Viceroy Resort
Ranked #5 of 11 Hotels in Soufriere
Certificate of Excellence
Lancaster, PA
Level Contributor
700 reviews
123 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 523 helpful votes
“Excellent stay in St Lucia”
Reviewed February 12, 2014

We started our week in St Lucia with a 3 night stay here in a Sugar Mill room. Our 1st impression was the rooms were so much larger than depicted. We did not use the bathtub and so would have preferred a sofa or something else useable---given that it had a quite nice outside heated plunge pool. Pools and beach were all first class though we were a little disappointed in the menu at the BaySide restaurant. Also we did not think all rooms had the Butler service--but they do. We really did not need them so it made us a little awkward to have available etc. If we were only staying at the beach this would be quite nice...but if you want to see the island then the extreme travel up and down the hills is quite tiresome. It was so much more relaxed driving on the north side near Rodney Bay.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank IrishFan-80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ABoersma, General Manager at Sugar Beach, A Viceroy Resort, responded to this review, February 20, 2014
Good day,
Thank you for your comments following your stay at Sugar Beach, A Viceroy Resort.
We are pleased to hear that your expectations were exceeded in almost every area. All our accommodations are up to luxury standards and include a plunge pool and butler service. The two major differences are the size and locations of the accommodations. Thank you for highlighting how impressed you were with the space provided by the Luxury Sugar Mill Rooms.
Had you made us aware of your preference for a sofa, our housekeeping team would have gladly placed a small sofa, or easy chair, in your room.
I have to agree with you that it is easier to drive on the Northern tip of the island compared to the South where it is hilly with many curves. We offer our guests the option of taking either a water or land taxi for most of their journeys. The water taxi is more convenient and takes much less time to your location—and you get to avoid the twists and turns of the road.
Once again, thank you for your comments and business. We are looking forward to welcoming you back to Sugar Beach, A Viceroy Resort.
Regards,

André Boersma
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,237 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    925
    201
    65
    29
    17
See reviews for
225
849
9
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (439)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ann Arbor, Michigan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed February 8, 2014

Breathtaking views, amazing service (thank you Swamen, Alex and Mosiah) and wonderful accommodations. Fantastic snorkeling in the marine reserve just off the beach. Our room was beautiful, I slept like a baby in our unbelievably comfortable bed. Don't miss dinner in the Great Room- so delicious. We cannot wait to go back!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank hijenjean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ABoersma, General Manager at Sugar Beach, A Viceroy Resort, responded to this review, February 16, 2014
Good day,
Thank you for taking the time to comment on your stay at Sugar Beach, A Viceroy Resort.
We are pleased to know that Sugar Beach provided an overall wonderful experience for you and that you enjoyed everything that we offered, especially our accommodation and food and beverage offerings.
Once again, thank you for your comments and business. We would welcome the opportunity to serve you again.
Regards,

André Boersma
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey
Level Contributor
29 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed February 8, 2014

This is a beautifully presented hotel in a dramatic setting.

Our welcome could have been warmer - the butler was apparently otherwise engaged, so we were greeted by a receptionist who was clearly also busy - our welcome and show round the villa were rushed; we were tired after our journey and just couldn't take in everything she was throwing at us. It is probably the first time we've visited a Caribbean hotel (and we have visited many) when we were not even offered a welcome drink. It took us nearly a day to get over the non-welcome!

We were staying at the same time as a corporate group of 40/50 people (probably about a third of the total number of guests at the time). It is inevitable with such a group that they will enjoy themselves and that there will be more than the average amount of noise. However, on a couple of occasions during our stay the group had music playing - this really was quite distracting and inconsiderate to other guests. One of the corporate guests was in an adjoining room and one evening had a party on their deck until late in the evening. We called for the duty manager to get the noise reduced, but there was no noticeable improvement. we presume that she did not wish to upset the hotel's corporate client. Frankly, individual guests and corporate groups don't mix and the hotel should consider either putting the groups in a separate area or allocating different dates for the two types of guest.

Our room, set high up at the top of the resort, was excellent. Less good was the rotten wooden fencing around the deck area and the shabby deck itself which was in need of a repaint.

This is not a huge resort, so it should have been possible for the general manager to have some visibility; we never saw or met him, not even at the manager's cocktail party!

The vast majority of the staff were extremely pleasant and many of them addressed us by our names after only 1 or 2 days.

The food was not outstanding - the ambience in the Great Room was good, but the desserts chef needs to learn how not to murder things such as tiramisu, mousse cake and millefeuille - disasters rather than desserts!

Room Tip: villas high up are worth it - we certainly wouldn't have wanted a beachfront bungalow with peopl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank SurreyFarmer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ABoersma, General Manager at Sugar Beach, A Viceroy Resort, responded to this review, February 16, 2014
Good day,
Thank you for taking the time to comment on your stay at Sugar Beach, A Viceroy Resort.
I would like to apologize for the disappointments and inconveniences that you have highlighted.
Your concerns have been discussed with the relevant department heads to ensure that we are doing everything correctly on our end. Unfortunately, I was on a business trip while you were at the resort, otherwise I would have been more than happy to have addressed your concerns personally.
Our resident manager, Georg Unseld was acting general manager in my absence. I am sorry if he did not have the opportunity to speak with you about your concerns so that we could have made things right while you were on property
Once again, thank you for your feedback and business. We look forward to welcoming you back to Sugar Beach, A Viceroy Resort to share firsthand the improvements made in light of your concerns.

Regards,

André Boersma
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed February 4, 2014 via mobile

The resort is wonderful. Food and drink and service can not be beat by anywhere I've been. Heavy D's taxi service pulls it altogether. Heavy knows the island and is one of the nicest people you will ever meet. He will take you anywhere and can save you a fortune compared to hotel prices. The volcano mud baths cost $6.00 not the $170.00 the hotel wants. His number is 1-758-488-7014. Tell him Andy and Rhonda sent you!

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
6 Thank Rhonda c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ABoersma, General Manager at Sugar Beach, A Viceroy Resort, responded to this review, February 10, 2014
Good day,
Thank you for taking the time to provide us with feedback regarding your stay at Sugar Beach, A Viceroy Resort.
I am also pleased to hear that Heavy D provided excellent service you and I will be sure to pass on your glowing comments.
Thanks also for your comments about the Sulphur Springs. As you can imagine, there is a world of difference between a taxi ride to the volcano and the Sulphur Seduction treatment offered by the Rainforest Spa. For one, you are escorted by a trained therapist and visit locations other than the sulphur springs following your mud bath. You also return to the property for light refreshments and a back massage in one of the treehouse treatment rooms. This is one of our most popular and successful tours.
Having said that, Sugar Beach is all about providing options and for those who simply want to have a mud bath, paying a taxi and the local entrance fee might prove a better option for them.
Once again, thank you for your comments and business. We look forward to serving you again soon.
Regards,

André Boersma
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 4, 2014 via mobile

My husband and I visited Sugar beach and had the best time of our 15 years togeather. When we arrived we were greeted by our butler Fabian with fresh drinks and cold towels. Our beach bungalow was amazing with a pool that can be heated.

The resort is beautiful with white sand beach and lovely restaurants to an amazing rainforest spa. Our butlers fabian and markenzie made our stay one we will never forget they made everything possible with a smile. On the night of my wife's birthday they had our room decorated with flowers and champagne (thank you again fabian and markenzie.)

We will most certainly return to this resort.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank smithk730
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ABoersma, General Manager at Sugar Beach, A Viceroy Resort, responded to this review, February 10, 2014
Good day,
Thank you for taking the time to comment on your stay at Sugar Beach, A Viceroy Resort.
We appreciate your positive comments highlighting the high quality service that you received from our friendly and professional team members, especially your butlers Fabian and Mackenzie. They will be delighted with your feedback.
We aim to offer amenities and services that are captivating and inspiring to our guests and to ensure that their needs are not only met but exceeded. I am happy to hear that Sugar Beach, A Viceroy Resort provided a first-class experience for you.
Once again, thank you for your comments and business. We look forward to your return visit in the not too distant future.
Regards,

André Boersma
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed February 3, 2014

overall a very good destination - you cant go wrong. I personally preferred the overall experience to Jade Mountain. Food was great and I really liked /the Ipad use in the rooms. Great site for snorkelling but mind the visitors from other hotels.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank EnglishMango
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ABoersma, General Manager at Sugar Beach, A Viceroy Resort, responded to this review, February 10, 2014
Good day,
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback regarding your stay at Sugar Beach, A Viceroy Resort.
We’re happy to know that you enjoyed every aspect of your stay. We are particularly pleased that you appreciated our culinary offerings and the personal touch of technology in your accommodation.
I would like to apologize for the crowd that you were faced with at our snorkeling site. We had an unusual influx of cruise ship visitors during the period that you stayed with us.
Once again, thank you for your comments and business. We look forward to your return visit in the not too distant future.
Regards,

André Boersma
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Virginia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 2, 2014

I don't believe our wedding would have been half as beautiful or as flawless if it weren't for our incredible wedding coordinator, Marcus Joseph. Everything was arranged perfectly and Marcus worked within our budget to design the perfect wedding. I hope this review reaches him since my husband and I are so thankful for his work in making our wedding better than we even imagined it could be.
Last year, my then fiancé and I visited St Lucia and stayed in a neighboring resort. We visited Jalousie beach for a day of snorkeling and met Marcus while we were walking around Sugar Beach. He took us to all the wedding locations and we fell in love with the gorgeous views from the Sunset Deck, but we thought it would be outside of our price range. After emailing with Marcus later, we worked it out so that we could have the ceremony at Sugar Beach but still stay at another hotel nearby. The day of the wedding was planned out wonderfully, and from the early morning until the evening Marcus's calming presence and undivided attention ensured that everything ran smoothly. Marcus also arranged for a photographer, Luke, who did an incredible job and left us with perfect photos that captured the sweetest and most inspiring moments of the day. Our guests have described the location as one of the most romantic settings they've seen, and everyone had an amazing experience at the beach and the ceremony. (Although we didn't have a chance to stay at Sugar Beach, the resort is immaculate and offers some of the best views of the Pitons on the island.)
Thank you again to the amazing staff at Sugar Beach, especially Marcus and Luke, for both creating and sharing our dream wedding with us and leaving us with these memories of the best day of our lives. It's difficult to put into words how much your positive energy and support meant to us throughout this entire process. Thank you!!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ABoersma, General Manager at Sugar Beach, A Viceroy Resort, responded to this review, February 10, 2014
Good day,
Thank you for your overwhelming and moving feedback about your wedding at Sugar Beach, A Viceroy Resort.
We are elated that Marcus provided extraordinary service from your first encounter with him. Marcus is great at what he does and it is gratifying to hear that he made your dream wedding a reality by providing a very high level of service, care and attention to detail. Rest assured Marcus is a close follower of Trip Advisor and really appreciated your comments. . We will also pass on your comments to Luke.
Once again, thank you for your positive and encouraging feedback and business. We would welcome the opportunity to serve you again as a resident guest, perhaps for your first wedding anniversary.
Regards,

André Boersma
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Soufriere
2.7 mi away
Jade Mountain Resort
Jade Mountain Resort
#1 of 11 in Soufriere
927 reviews
9.8 mi away
Capella Marigot Bay Resort and Marina
0.7 mi away
Ladera Resort
Ladera Resort
#2 of 11 in Soufriere
1,240 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Anse Chastanet
Anse Chastanet
#6 of 11 in Soufriere
1,146 reviews
19.3 mi away
The Landings St. Lucia
The Landings St. Lucia
#2 of 13 in Gros Islet
883 reviews
20.2 mi away
Cap Maison
Cap Maison
#2 of 4 in Cap Estate
737 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sugar Beach, A Viceroy Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sugar Beach, A Viceroy Resort

Property: Sugar Beach, A Viceroy Resort
Address: Sugar Beach, Val des Pitons, Soufriere, St. Lucia
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > St. Lucia > Soufriere Quarter > Soufriere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Soufriere
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Soufriere
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Soufriere
#3 Spa Hotel in Soufriere
#4 Romantic Hotel in Soufriere
#4 Luxury Hotel in Soufriere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sugar Beach, A Viceroy Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sugar Beach, A Viceroy Resort is set amidst more than 100 acres of tropical rainforest on the island's scenic Caribbean coast. Embraced by St Lucia's majestic World Heritage-listed Pitons, the resort's 78 Luxury Sugar Mill Rooms, Villas and Luxury Beachfront Bungalows boast elegant styling, private plunge pool, four poster bed, luxurious Egyptian cotton linens, every possible modern amenity, and personalised butler service. A stunning white sand beach, beautiful Rainforest Spa with tree house treatment rooms, full PADI dive facility, and superb waterfront dining ensure the ultimate vacation experience with space enough for honeymooners and families alike. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, West Indies, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Priceline so you can book your Sugar Beach, A Viceroy Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jalousie Plantation Hotel Soufrière
Jalousie Plantation Soufrière
Jalousie Plantation St Lucia
Jalousie Hilton
Sugar Beach, A Viceroy Resort St. Lucia/Soufriere

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing