We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best resort ever!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Sugar Beach, A Viceroy Resort
Ranked #4 of 11 Hotels in Soufriere
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 27, 2014

Stop thinking about it, and just book it! You WILL NOT be disappointed. My wife and I had the best time at Sugar Beach. There's a ton of things to do, the staff is unbelievably friendly, and the food is excellent. I can't say enough.

If you have the option, ask to be put in a villa with either Gus or McHaile as your butlers (yes, you read that correctly)! These two guys made our trip (along with the rest of the staff) truly priceless. We would go back tomorrow.

Room Tip: We stayed in the luxury one bedroom villa. We met a couple staying in the beach bungalows and they...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Matt K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ABoersma, General Manager at Sugar Beach, A Viceroy Resort, responded to this reviewResponded February 4, 2014

Good day,
Thank you for providing us with feedback about your stay at Sugar Beach, A Viceroy Resort.
We are pleased that you had the opportunity to experience our resort and that you were appreciative and satisfied with everything that we offered, especially the service offered by our team members.
Gus and McHaile will be very happy with your comments. We will congratulate them for a job well done.
Once again, thank you for your wonderful review. We are looking forward to your return visit.
Regards,

André Boersma
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,352)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

988 - 994 of 1,352 reviews

Reviewed January 27, 2014

Due to other sporting interests, mainly Big Game Fishing, I cannot visit every year.
In the event a hotel/establishment/location is not up to reasonable standards and value for money, I do not go back. I personally love the direct flights to St. Lucia, I fly from Manchester airport.

Words cannot describe this idyllic location between 2 of the Pitons. You have to see the natural beauty with your own eyes to believe me.
This is not your standard 4/5 star hotel with a private beach, it is far better. This is more like a diverse meeting of people all residing in a small community for a week or two, to throughly enjoy themselves. All of the additional facilities I have used are excellent. All Inclusive is a must do.
Every bungalow/villa has its own plunge pool, but test it with your big toe first, please do not jump straight in, the water is freezing, you could have a coronery. The inclusive shuttle service, is a must use, in my opinion. The walk down to the pool, beach, bars etc. is OK, but to walk back, you have to be very fit the higher up your accommodation is in this totally private location. Especially after indulging in a few drinks and dinner when it is dark at night. We used to shower, change and have a glass of wine on our balcony and just wave to the driver of the minibus/shuttle and within 2 minutes he would return to collect us.
I had no fault with every meal I indulged in, breakfast, lunch, afternoon snacks and dinner. The refined dining in the Great Room you must try at least once, but I would advise booking at least the day before. I cannot find fault regarding the cleanliness, the entire staff and everything else you would normally expect whilst on a first class vacation.
For first time visitors to St. Lucia, I highly recommend a day trip round half of the Island. You leave early and visit a working plantation and have a typical St. Lucien breakfast, then you briefly visit various sites/views of interest. Approximately early lunch time you board an absolutely massive cataraman, (about 100 people on board, plenty of space) that has sails and motors, and an inclusive bar. In a fully protected bay, you can swim or snorkel whilst the excellent Bar-b Que is being prepared and cooked. You then sail/motor back to the hotels private bay, where speed boats transfer you back to the beach bar. There are other excellent day trips to explore in St. Lucia depending on your taste.
To conclude this excellent holiday, consider the following, depart by helicopter from the beach front, only a 12 minute amazing flight to the airport. A vehicle will take your main luggage to the airport and it will be waiting for you. Depending on the time of your flight, depart your accommodation in shorts and shirts, send your flying clothes on a hanger by shuttle to the Spa. When you are ready to have a shower etc. change your clothes put your shorts and shirts into your inflight bag. Have a couple of drinks and food at the beach bar and organise a shuttle to drive you down the beachfront to the helicopter pad. Then kiss St. Lucia goodbye and promise to return someday soon.

Room Tip: Even a basic bungalow/cabin will impress you, but pay what you can afford comfortably. During your f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mike W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ABoersma, General Manager at Sugar Beach, A Viceroy Resort, responded to this reviewResponded February 4, 2014

Good day,
Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts about the standards and quality of service you experienced at Sugar Beach, A Viceroy Resort.
On behalf of the entire team, I would like to say how delighted we are that we met and exceeded your high expectations in all areas.
I will communicate your feedback to the entire team; I will commend them for a job well done.
Once again, thank you for your very valuable feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back in the not too distant future.
Regards,

André Boersma
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 27, 2014

My husband and I chose Sugar Beach for our honeymoon/babymoon and we couldn't be happier!

As soon as we arrived on property we were whisked away to our Grand Luxary Villa in the 800's and greeted up Mikel, our Butler with a cool drink and a big smile. The accommodations were gorgeous (tastefully elegant), the scenery was amazing and the staff was unbelievable. Mikel and Gus, our Butlers for the week went above and beyond to make sure everything was perfect. They suggested great activities, organized our dinner reservations and transportation, and just overall took great care of us. The rest of the staff was just as accommodating and helpful. We were also so impressed with the amount of activities to do right at the resort (snorkling, paddle boarding, kayaking, sailing, and tubing). We were also really excited to see how family friendly the resort was and already are anxious to return with our family.

Bravo to Sugar Beach and it's staff! We will most certainly return for years to come!

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kristen K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ABoersma, General Manager at Sugar Beach, A Viceroy Resort, responded to this reviewResponded February 4, 2014

Good day,
Thank you for your glowing comments about your honeymoon/babymoon stay at Sugar Beach, A Viceroy Resort.
As you have pointed out, we are not only known for our stunning location, but for our services, facilities, accommodations and top-notch amenities to equal the view. We are pleased to know that your Sugar Beach experience was perfect.
We welcome the opportunity to serve you and your family again soon—especially your newest arrival!
Regards,

André Boersma
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2014

fantastic location between the pitons.great room with amazing view.facilities excellent and clean.diving could be better organised but quite reasonable.great butler who really looked after us.food good but not brilliant.star doorman in the ever cheerful Sherman.we would return

Room Tip: room 701 perfect
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank simon m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ABoersma, General Manager at Sugar Beach, A Viceroy Resort, responded to this reviewResponded February 4, 2014

Good day,
Thank you for your encouraging comments about your recent stay at Sugar Beach, A Viceroy Resort.
On behalf of the entire team, I would like to say how delighted we are that we met and exceeded your expectations in all areas.
We are committed to making your holiday experience fulfilling and memorable by providing first class services and amenities. I am glad that this was the case for you.
Thank you for your glowing comments about Sherman. He is indeed a valuable member of our team and a clear favorite with guests.
Once again, thank you for your valuable feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back in the not too distant future
Best regards,

André Boersma
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 19, 2014 via mobile

Our stay at Sugar Beach exceeded our expectations!!
Upon our arrival we were taken to our beachfront bungalow which was an upgrade that we very much appreciated! We had booked a luxury villa and were so pleased with our upgrade, it is by far the best spot on the resort! We were greeted with drinks and champagne by our butlers, Mackenzie and Fabian who were absolutely fantastic!!!
Our bungalow was breathtaking, the room and the view were like nothing we have ever experienced. Paradise! We had our own private front terrace with a plunge pool and a patio on the beach with lounge chairs and a hammock facing the pitons and ocean.
The breathtaking view could be seen from our bed as well as from the whole room. The layout was so well thought out as was everything about the resort. Amazing! Much effort was put into this resort from the friendly staff to the exmpaciably clean grounds and facilities.
The food was excellent as well. We tried the bayside for dinner and lunch and had dinner at the Great room twice. We also really enjoyed the sushi at the Cane bar. Yum!
The beach was perfect with very comfortable chairs and the pool was also enjoyable with extremely comfortable lounge chairs and beds. The staff was always quick to serve us and lay out our towels.
Our butlers were so great, we really appreciated all their help and suggestions. They always had the right answers to anything we asked and gave us a cell pjone to call them with.
Our driver heavy D, who we had hired through the resort to pick us up from the airport was so friendly as well. He also ended up driving us to the volcano hot springs, jade mountain for dinner and back to the airport for our departure. He made us feel really comfortable!
This resort is really 5 star, they think of everything to make your experience one that you will truly remember.
We researched many resorts before deciding on the Viceroy and we couldn't have been happier with our choice, it was the most amazing honeymoon. We
definitely will be back!

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AnastasiaT85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ABoersma, General Manager at Sugar Beach, A Viceroy Resort, responded to this reviewResponded February 4, 2014

Good day,
Thank you for taking the time to express your satisfaction about your honeymoon experience at Sugar Beach, A Viceroy Resort.
We are delighted to hear that you were pleased with every aspect of your stay. We strive to serve our guests with the best and highest quality amenities, accommodations, and facilities to ensure a great stay. We will congratulate our team members for adding the special touches to make your honeymoon memorable for all the right reasons. .
Once again, thank you for your glowing comments and business. We are looking forward to your return visit in the not too distant future, perhaps even for a first anniversary celebration.
Best regards,

André Boersma
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 19, 2014

We have just come back from a week at Sugar Beach and we loved it. We had a luxury villa which was huge and very comfortable. There is a choice of two restaurants and several bars and the service was great in them all. The Bayside restaurant is more relaxed and casual whereas the Great Room is quite formal but the food in both was really good.

The overall quality of the resort is excellent, very well designed and well maintained throughout. The beach is beautiful.

When we first arrived we were a bit worried about being reliant on the shuttle service but actually we never waited longer than about a minute so it was fine. We also walked up the very steep hill to our villa and it only took around 10-15 minutes so if you want exercise that is a perfectly feasible option as long as you are pretty fit.

The staff throughout were fantastic and overall the service was a good as we have received anywhere.

The spa deserves a special mention, it is beautiful and the couples massage followed by a dip in the outdoor hot pool was amazing.

One point to be aware of - the outdoor showers at the villas are not properly screened. I was rather taken aback to see the occupant of the next villa walk past in clear view while I was in the shower and we could also see the shower belonging to the villa on the other side from our plunge pool.

Overall a great week and we will certainly be going back.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Linda M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ABoersma, General Manager at Sugar Beach, A Viceroy Resort, responded to this reviewResponded January 23, 2014

Good day,
Thank you for taking the time to comment on your stay at Sugar Beach, A Viceroy Resort.
We are very happy to hear that you had a wonderful experience and that everything was perfect and to your satisfaction.
We are currently working on ways to fix the privacy issue you have highlighted with the outdoor shower by introducing better screening. I am sorry if you were embarrassed in any way.
Once again, thank you for your comments and business. We are looking forward to your return visit.

Regards,
André Boersma
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 17, 2014 via mobile

If not a guest you can still visit beach. Park in geust carpark and walk down. We got cheeky lift back up by internal taxi. Beach between pitons is great with sand and views. Snorkel on right good but crowded.

Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Traveleroutdoors
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ABoersma, General Manager at Sugar Beach, A Viceroy Resort, responded to this reviewResponded February 4, 2014

Good day,
Thank you for your comments about your day visit to Sugar Beach.
We are pleased that you had the opportunity to visit our resort and that you enjoyed snorkeling in Anse des Pitons.
Our shuttle drivers are very pleasant in the manner in which they deliver service to our resident and non-residents guests. While generally we reserve this service for our resident guests, I am happy they were able to oblige you with a trip up the hill. Once again, thank you for visiting Sugar Beach, A Viceroy Resort. We are looking forward to your return visit--perhaps as a resident guest next time.
Best regards,

André Boersma
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Soufriere
2.7 mi away
Jade Mountain Resort
Jade Mountain Resort
#1 of 11 in Soufriere
968 reviews
0.7 mi away
Ladera Resort
Ladera Resort
#2 of 11 in Soufriere
1,287 reviews
2.8 mi away
Anse Chastanet
Anse Chastanet
#5 of 11 in Soufriere
1,200 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.8 mi away
Marigot Bay Resort and Marina by Capella
20.2 mi away
Cap Maison
Cap Maison
#2 of 5 in Cap Estate
761 reviews
1.2 mi away
Stonefield Villa Resort
Stonefield Villa Resort
#7 of 11 in Soufriere
746 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sugar Beach, A Viceroy Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sugar Beach, A Viceroy Resort

Address: Sugar Beach, Val des Pitons, Soufriere, St. Lucia
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > St. Lucia > Soufriere Quarter > Soufriere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Soufriere
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Soufriere
#2 Family Hotel in Soufriere
#3 Luxury Hotel in Soufriere
#3 Spa Hotel in Soufriere
#4 Romantic Hotel in Soufriere
Price Range: $501 - $2,854 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Sugar Beach, A Viceroy Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sugar Beach, A Viceroy Resort is set amidst more than 100 acres of tropical rainforest on the island's scenic Caribbean coast. Embraced by St Lucia's majestic World Heritage-listed Pitons, the resort's 96 Luxury Sugar Mill Rooms, Cottages, Villas and Luxury Beachfront Bungalows boast elegant styling, private plunge pool, four poster bed, luxurious Egyptian cotton linens, every possible modern amenity, and personalised butler service. Two stunning white sand beaches, beautiful Rainforest Spa with tree house treatment rooms, full PADI dive facility, and superb waterfront dining ensure the ultimate vacation experience with space enough for honeymooners and families alike. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Sugar Beach, A Viceroy Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jalousie Plantation Hotel Soufrière
Jalousie Plantation Soufrière
Jalousie Plantation St Lucia
Jalousie Hilton
Sugar Beach, A Viceroy Resort St. Lucia/Soufriere

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing