We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful place”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sugar Beach, A Viceroy Resort
Ranked #6 of 11 Hotels in Soufriere
Certificate of Excellence
Horsham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Beautiful place”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2013

This hotel is truely beautiful and in my opinion the nicest in St Lucia. The service and the manager were very welcoming, however there were a few downsides which we didn't mind too much but others may find annoying.

1. The buggy service to taxi you between room and other facilities is very slow but they did say that they were investing in new vechiles at the time.
2. The food is limited if staying for more than 5 nights and can work expensive. Again they were in process of building a third restaurant.
3. Come night time the place is covered with little frogs which mean that you can't fully enjoy being outside at night time and the sound can prove to be a little annoying. Maybe it was the time of year we went but worth askign about when booking.

This place is ideal for couples wanting to get away and spend some quality time together.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RonnieB862
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ABoersma, General Manager at Sugar Beach, A Viceroy Resort, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
Good day,
Thank you for taking the time to post your review about Sugar Beach, A Viceroy Resort.
We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your holiday with the exception of the concerns that you have highlighted.
It is disappointing to learn that you had to wait long for the shuttles. This is very unusual and a rare concern from our guest. We now have a fleet of brightly coloured tuk-tuks, Polaris jeeps and a few mini-buses ensuring our guests are safely transported around the property.
I am surprised to hear that you think that our food options are limited. Our lunch and dinner menus change every two days. We also provide lunch and dinner specials that change daily and incorporate what is fresh in the market that morning. In addition, a different menu is served at the Cane Bar, in the Bayside Bar and on the beach.
Regarding the tiny tree frogs and their noisy nocturnal “singing", the island’s tropical climate makes it the perfect habitat for these little amphibians. They are not harmful and only stay outside in the bushes. We do keep a supply of earplugs for our more noise sensitive guests, but most people enjoy the night chorus from the rainforest.
Thank you once again for your review and we hope to welcome you back to Sugar Beach in the not too distant future.
Regards,

André Boersma
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,191 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    889
    197
    60
    28
    17
See reviews for
219
814
7
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (432)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cincinnati
Level Contributor
58 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2013

We just returned from a week at Sugar Beach. St. Lucia is breathtaking and Sugar Beach is beautiful. We stayed in Villa 709 we had amazing views and great sunsets. Anisha was our main Butler and did a fantastic job unpacking for us and making sure we had dinner reservations. We traveled with our teenage son and daughter. They loved the snorkeling off the beach at the hotel, sailing, snuba, kayaking and tubing. Every other day we left the hotel in the am so we could have the afternoon at the beach or our pool villa. We hiked the Gros Piton with our guide Barney. It was an amazing hike, but even for fit athlete's it's challenging due to the rocks on the hike and steepness of the 2619 Ft Piton. Be sure to have a backpack with water. We also went to La Soufriere Volcano. The sulfur was smelly, but there was some activity. We enjoyed the mud baths, but get there before 10:30 or go at sunset to avoid cruise ship crowds. We were advised that the cruise ship big crowd days were Tuesdays and Thursday when we where visiting, ask and plan around. We also went on a fun sunset cruise one night arranged by Sugar Beach and saw over 200 bottle nose dolphins. It was one of the most amazing things we have seen and the back drop of St Lucia was beautiful. We all four had spa treatments at Sugar Beach. The spa location and set up are very unique and service was excellent. We liked that they had special treatments for teens. Our last night we had dinner at Jade Mountain. The service and food at Jade Mountain were amazing. Our water taxi ride home was magical with millions of stars in the sky.
I am giving Sugar Beach 5 stars because the location is amazing. Our villa was very bright and all our bed's very comfortable. Our breakfasts were very good. Over all the service at the hotel was good, especially the water sports area and Caroline at the beach. The dinner in the Great Rooms on two occasions were very special and good service. We ordered room service and they came on time. We never had to wait for our drivers to pick us up at our villa.
Our vacation was one we will never forget. Sugar Beach and St. Lucia will always be a special place for our family.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mkini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ABoersma, General Manager at Sugar Beach, A Viceroy Resort, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
Good day,
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback about your vacation experience at Sugar Beach, A Viceroy Resort.
We are passionate about the services that we deliver to our guests and work hard to ensure that we render the best possible service all the time. The amenities, accommodations, facilities, and experiences that we create for our guests are top-notch and we are glad that you share the same sentiments.
We are particularly pleased that you enjoyed our food and beverage offerings. Our beach server Caroline and the culinary team will be delighted with your comments. I will be sure to share your review with them and commend them for a job well done
Thank you once again for your comments and business. We hope to you and your family will consider a return visit soon.
Regards,

André Boersma
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
35 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2013

I stayed at Sugar Beach on my Honeymoon in June 2012. My husband and I stayed at Ladera for a few days and then moved down to Sugar beach for a few days as well. We did a ton of research in St. Lucia before our Honeymoon and had a very difficult time deciding on where to stay. Let's just say we knew we made the right decision when we showed up to Sugar Beach! This hotel is absolutely amazing!! I've described it to friends as it's like living in a pottery barn magazine while your there. Everything is white and tan and so chic. The staff is so friendly! At the beach, you literally just raise a flag and the staff come to you and bring whatever you need. This beach is really one of the nicest in St. Lucia and it's easy to get to other areas of the island. This is the perfect place to have a balance of quiet and relaxation, but also having things to do. We knew we didn't want a sandals, but also didn't want something boring and sleepy. This is a perfect mix! They have a cool bar area and things to do at night, but nothing as intense as a sandals. This is a very classy resort and you will not be disappointed. When I"m stressed out,I think back to this visit!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jfrazie6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ABoersma, General Manager at Sugar Beach, A Viceroy Resort, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
Good day,
Thank you for taking the time to write about your honeymoon experience at Sugar Beach, A Viceroy Resort.
We are pleased to hear that you felt you made the right decision to honeymoon at our resort and that we helped to create a perfect and memorable experience for you and your new spouse.
We have made a number of enhancements since you last stayed with us in June last year, not least of which was the complete redesign of our swimming pool. We have also introduced the new Terrace breakfast restaurant.
Perhaps these additional features couple with the wonderful honeymoon memories you have, might entice you back for a first anniversary visit.
Once again, thank you for your review. We hope to see you again soon.
Regards,

André Boersma
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
34 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 31, 2013

Having read the comments on here and also a very good article by Alex Polizzi in the Daily Telegraph (http://www.telegraph.co.uk/travel/hotels/9780009/Sugar-Beach-St-Lucia-where-life-is-sweet-yet-rather-slow.html, we were really looking forward to our much needed holiday in the sun.

We were very lucky to get upgraded to a Luxury Villa which was massive, with a plunge pool and terrace that we didn't venture to the beach. The view to the sea was spectacular. I am sure that we will be hard pushed to beat that on any other holiday. The staff were amazing. Always smiling and keen to make sure that you were having a great time. You have to use the buggy's to get around and the guys that drives those were the best. We found the breakfast buffet ok, unlike a few comments on here. We tended to go down at 9.30am so we could skip lunch and we only had a delay in being served one day out of seven. The Wi-Fi signal was always on and very strong if you want to check your emails etc.

OK now the other half of the review. This holiday was not cheap, we can afford it and wanted a treat. But please make sure you go fully inclusive. We were only half board with breakfast. The food standard was poor and to be honest, a rip off. We had a Caesar Salad as a starter on the first night, which was 5 lettuce leaves, some Parmesan cheese and 2 croutons for $14. We had a pizza then the next day that was so crisp it would have snapped if you used a fork, one third of the pizza was not even covered in tomato sauce, that was $16. The piece de resistance was a dessert called something like Caramel Nut Sandwich. It was 2 cookies with a half melted scoop of ice cream, yours for $9.

We went on one 'Sunset Cruise' for $70 dollars each. It was on a catamaran with guests from other hotels. It had extremely loud music blaring out that everyone migrated to the front of the boat. We don't drink and so the choice was a Sprite or Water. The 'food' was a fruit cocktail stick, a chicken thigh and a finger cheese sandwich. It was a real waste of money.

We wanted to get out and eat at Boucan (10 minute drive away - see my review of that, it was amazing). The Butler said it would cost us $40!!!!. When we questioned it the next day, he then said he could find someone to do it for $30. The driver was great but really that much for a 10 minute drive there and back.

Every time we went to the beach, there were towels on all the beds that had the parasols on them. We saw people doing it before they went to breakfast. The staff need to be on top of this.

The final issue is the building work that was 2 villas away from us. It started at 7.30am !!! Come on, this is a holiday resort and I don't want to wake up to the sound of an angle grinder. I asked 3 members of staff about it and they said 'oh you cant hear it inside the villa', and 'they work 8-6pm Monday to Friday'. Sorry this was incorrect. We were woken up at 8am on the Sunday to not 1 but 2 drills going. We know that we had an upgrade to this amazing villa but I think at least a note from the Manager apologising for the noise would have gone a long way.

A minor point. Take a DVD for rainy moments as their library of DVD's is very very old.

So overall and I have given a lot of thought to this review, I would not go back whilst the building work is on, and I would go fully inclusive as well.

Room Tip: At this moment in time, ask to be far away from the building work so probably rooms/villas numbered...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BostonsMum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ABoersma, General Manager at Sugar Beach, A Viceroy Resort, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
Good day,
Thank you for your comments about your recent stay at Sugar Beach, A Viceroy Resort.
We are committed to providing our guests with the highest level of service and it is satisfying to know that you enjoyed our hotel facilities, accommodations, and amenities.
I am sorry that you felt that our prices for food, in particular, were high and the food quality was disappointing. Majority of our guests are pleased with the quality of the dishes we serve and prices charged for meals. I will certainly pass on your feedback to our food and beverage team to ensure the quality and presentation of our food offering are always maintained.
We are glad that you appreciated the room upgrade. I would like to apologize for the inconvenience caused by the noise from the work taking place in the residences. These villas are privately owned homes being built at the very far end of our resort and we work closely with the Sugar Beach Residences project team and ask them to make every effort to keep the noise level to a minimum. It appears that the noise level was higher than usual when you stayed with us, and for that, I am truly sorry.
Thank you once again for taking the time and making the effort to write this extensive review. We hope you will consider a return visit in the not too distant future.
Regards,

André Boersma
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 29, 2013

I stayed at the sugar beach for a week and it was our first time to St Lucía. Having spent the last 4 years going East to thenMaldives we decided to have a Caribbean holiday as the flight is shorter and the weather promised to be better! ( maldives at Christmas ? Rain rain rain!!!).
I loved the fact we were taken directly to our villa with no,silly reception " fruit punch" and credit card details and guided tour when you are so jet lagged all you want to do is sleeeeeeep!
The villla was, well "wow" prob one of the most spacious and beautifully designed " Ralph Lauren x Caribbean cottage. It was lovely to hang out in and if we didn't have a child who wanted to meet other kids I would have stayed here the entire week. sugar beach feels more like a private villa with hotel facilities so suits anyone who loves privacy and doesn't want to mix with guests( me I am afraid to say!!!)
Downsides ...terrible mosquito and sandfly bites everyday so take protection!!!! Bad in the villa and the beach.
Breakfast buffet a bit 3 star sad buffet but great a la carte ...hotel needs to get this better and if you go at peak time 8-8.30 the service is terrible. Go before or after and the staff can cope
Surly staff on the beach and room service....please look happy even if you aren't !!!?!
Maid often forgot to clean cups in room and leave the free water...sloppy.
Snorkling after the maldives pretty poor the house reef is mediocre and usually full of cruise ship visitors so forget it.
Upsides
Free water sports (!apart from a few )
Beautiful cabanas by the pool to chill in with English plug!!
Internet amazing signal even on the beach!
Food a bit hit and miss but beach BBQ excellent and the fresh fish very good. Kids menu generous and well cooked room service def hit or miss - needs to be improved and too restrictive a menu.
Massage in spa excellent ( Maria thank you)
Having beed to many 5 star resorts all over the Caribbean and maldives this one had the best accommodation by far . So nice not to be squashed in a room with a 10 year old!! The villa was outstanding and butler pretty good.
Praise has to go to the shuttle guys who never stop smiling as they ferry us back and forth to the main areas and beach ( although I started walking after day 3!!)
All in all I would say pretty good...better than Carlisle bay Antigua for sure! And the best bit was the accommodation 6 out of 5 ! You really couldn't get any better our villa and plunge pool was like a private rental.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kate H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ABoersma, General Manager at Sugar Beach, A Viceroy Resort, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
Good day,
Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback following your recent stay at Sugar Beach, A Viceroy Resort.
We are glad to hear that you were pleased with your check in experience and that you appreciated and recognized top-notch quality of our accommodations. We are happy that you and your family found your stay very comfortable.
I am sorry that the mosquitoes and sandflies impacted your stay. The island’s tropical climate means that it is the perfect habitat for these pests. We do have a comprehensive pest control system, however, some of our guests prove to be particularly alluring to them. We always advise guests to carry repellant with them just in case.
We are continuing to review our service standards in the areas where you found disappointing service to ensure that real improvements are made. I would like to take the opportunity to apologise for the lapses you encountered.
Thank you once again for your comments and your business. We look forward to welcoming you back to Sugar Beach.
Regards,

André Boersma
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
White Plains, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 28, 2013

Sugar Beach is a generic Caribbean resort with lots of attitude and nothing special to offer. We found the staff to be condescending and unhelpful, especially the maitress d' at the restaurant, who treated paying customers with disdain. Service is exceedingly slow, with more than a half hour passing between order and the arrival of food. The beach area is busy and chaotic. I saw one mom and her child go out on a kayak and struggle badly to return in the wind. To my astonishment, no one at the beach area seemed to notice or care, and they flailed in the waves offshore for a half hour before finally struggling back. The two-star experience here doesn't match the five-star attitude.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank WilliamBF5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ABoersma, General Manager at Sugar Beach, A Viceroy Resort, responded to this review, April 1, 2013
Good day,
Thank you for your comments. Reviews such as yours help us to improve our service standards and better focus our training efforts in areas where we are falling short.
Having said then, it is highly unusual for us to receive reviews such as yours. Our team members are usually very eager to help and fulfill our guests’ needs and requests. I am sorry that they appeared to be condescending and unhelpful.
Our water sports team always keeps an eye out for our guests that are on the water having fun. We have a small speedboat on standby for when guests get into challenges swimming too far from shore, or with kayaks or hobiecats. We have had no such reports about guests struggling to get back to shore with no assistance and I am confident that if the guests concerned had been in trouble, they would have expressed their own dissatisfaction with our team.
Your comments about our restaurant staff and food and beverage service are well-taken and will be discussed with the relevant department heads with a view to improving standards where required.
Once again, thank you for your comments and business. I am sorry that you did not enjoy your time with us. I do hope that you might consider a return visit so that we can share first hand improvements made in the light of your concerns.
Regards,

André Boersma
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Siesta Key, Florida
Level Contributor
255 reviews
108 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 217 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 26, 2013

We did the split 5 days at Jade and 5 here - the properties are very different and glad we went to both. One thing to note is that after the 1st week of Feb kids vacations start, and there are a fair amount of young children at the resort. There is plenty for them to do, they do take some of the ambiance away at times. This is nothing to the resort just something to note.

The food is excellent, we had great meals at the Great room and did a beach dinner one night too. Service is also good(though the butlers here have no clue compared to Jade). The facilities are top notch and even though the beach sand is imported we liked it. The spa is a real treasure - do not miss it!

My one complaint and why I gave it 4 vs 5 stars, was that we were moved in the middle of our stay - 1st we were in the construction and then moved(from 300s to 900s). If we had been upgraded, it would have been ok, but it was a lateral move and it was a hassle.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mdbasile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ABoersma, General Manager at Sugar Beach, A Viceroy Resort, responded to this review, April 1, 2013
Good day,
Thank you for taking the time to comment about your recent stay at Sugar Beach, A viceroy Resort. We truly appreciate your glowing feedback about our beautiful location and quality of food in the Great Room restaurant.
We are also glad that on the whole you had a wonderful time with the exception of having to move room half way through your stay. I would like to take the opportunity to apologise for the inconvenience caused. Regarding our butler service, this is an area where we are investing more time and effort into training. We understand this is a very important part of our service and we are working hard to ensure our butlers enhance the stays for our guests and that the best possible service is delivered at all times.
Once again, thank you for your comments and business. We hope to welcome you back again soon.
Regards,

André Boersma
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Soufriere
2.7 mi away
Jade Mountain Resort
Jade Mountain Resort
#1 of 11 in Soufriere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 903 reviews
0.7 mi away
Ladera Resort
Ladera Resort
#2 of 11 in Soufriere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,221 reviews
9.8 mi away
Capella Marigot Bay Resort and Marina
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Anse Chastanet
Anse Chastanet
#5 of 11 in Soufriere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,130 reviews
20.2 mi away
Cap Maison
Cap Maison
#2 of 4 in Cap Estate
4.5 of 5 bubbles 724 reviews
19.4 mi away
The Landings St. Lucia
The Landings St. Lucia
#2 of 13 in Gros Islet
4.5 of 5 bubbles 854 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sugar Beach, A Viceroy Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sugar Beach, A Viceroy Resort

Property: Sugar Beach, A Viceroy Resort
Address: Sugar Beach, Val des Pitons, Soufriere, St. Lucia
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > St. Lucia > Soufriere Quarter > Soufriere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Soufriere
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Soufriere
#4 Spa Hotel in Soufriere
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Soufriere
#4 Romantic Hotel in Soufriere
#5 Luxury Hotel in Soufriere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sugar Beach, A Viceroy Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sugar Beach, A Viceroy Resort is set amidst more than 100 acres of tropical rainforest on the island's scenic Caribbean coast. Embraced by St Lucia's majestic World Heritage-listed Pitons, the resort's 78 Luxury Sugar Mill Rooms, Villas and Luxury Beachfront Bungalows boast elegant styling, private plunge pool, four poster bed, luxurious Egyptian cotton linens, every possible modern amenity, and personalised butler service. A stunning white sand beach, beautiful Rainforest Spa with tree house treatment rooms, full PADI dive facility, and superb waterfront dining ensure the ultimate vacation experience with space enough for honeymooners and families alike. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, West Indies, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Jetsetter, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sugar Beach, A Viceroy Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jalousie Plantation Hotel Soufrière
Jalousie Plantation Soufrière
Jalousie Plantation St Lucia
Jalousie Hilton
Sugar Beach, A Viceroy Resort St. Lucia/Soufriere

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing