We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spectacular”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sugar Beach, A Viceroy Resort
Ranked #4 of 11 Hotels in Soufriere
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 2, 2013

Everything about this trip for us was perfect. Let's start with the natural beauty of the setting. It's spectacular. Nothing matches this location. A soft white beach nestled between dramatic mountains. The little things that separate this resort from others include its natural beauty, intimate size, calm water, lack of crowds, and lush surroundings. The thatched umbrellas were easy to acquire in the morning. When you turn your back to the Sea, you aren't facing a multi-level hotel building. This really gives the resort a feeling of unique seclusion. This resort is meticulously clean. It is the culmination of little details like no garbage cans in sight that adds to the wonderful experience. The attendants were terrific. The food was outstanding. The accommodations couldn't be better. So many resorts have blocky, drape-filled, wild-colored, wicker-filled rooms. Not here. White, clean, beautifully designed and spacious. If it weren't for the jaw-droppingly beautiful beach we would have spent more time in the room. We had no trouble with the grounds transportation (see photo). If you are looking for the Caribbean Sea to have that light blue/turquoise color, this beach doesn't have it. Apparently due to the island being volcanic, it has darker sand (except that they have imported white sand for the beach here) and therefore is a darker blue, but still crystal clear. Our butler, Montgomery, went well beyond our expectations in serving us. I had asked him upon our arrival, if would be able to acquire a soursop fruit for us. Unfortunately, the season for that fruit was over, but by the end of our trip, he had personally gotten one (from his mother!) and left it in our room for us. What a great guy! Thanks Montgomery! And we'll be back!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank williamandrea2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ABoersma, General Manager at Sugar Beach, A Viceroy Resort, responded to this reviewResponded March 10, 2013

Good day,
Thank you for your glowing comments about your recent stay at Sugar Beach, A Viceroy Resort.
I will be sure to share your review with the rest of the team and congratulate them for a job well done—especially Montgomery who clearly provided those extra special touches that enhanced your stay for all the right reasons.
Once again, thank you for taking the time to write this review. We look forward to seeing you again at Sugar Beach.
Regards,

André Boersma
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,430)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,260 - 1,266 of 1,430 reviews

Reviewed March 1, 2013

Just returned from 9 days at this hotel.

Its a fantastic resort with very good service as a whole we stayed in a Grand Luxury Villa in the 800's which is the highest part of the resort. The butler service was exceptional we didnt take advantage of the unpacking service but every other request we made they met from dinner reservations to arranging a small group of us to go horse riding via water taxi and much more inbetween!
The room itself is fantastic and you have a LOT of space for 2 people the cleaning and turndown service are also exceptional.

All the staff are very friendly and engage in conversations its a very happy place!

Food wise breakfast was quite good but I'd say this was the only time service slipped slightly compared to the other restaurants at the hotel - If you are wanting a quick breakfast for a timed pick up make sure you tell everyone or breakfast can easilly take an hour sometimes this is fine but others it seems drawn out.
I'm almost going to contradict myself now by saying the evening meal in the great room is too quick!
We quite like a relaxing meal and enjoy a bottle of wine with the meal sometimes the main course arrived within on a few minutes of the starter being finished.
The quality of the food in the great room is fantastic we ate there 6 times during our stay the variety on the daily menu is perfect. I have no complaints at all over the food in any way shape or form but you do need to let the chef deliver the dish how he wants to there were a couple on the next table complaining about their pork being tough but they had asked for it to be VERY well cooked mine was medium and you could cut it with a spoon!
We are quite a foody couple and enjoy Michelin star dining and the great room does deliver high quality food.
If I was to complain about any aspect of the great room it would be that the dress code wasnt enforced enough in my opinion, we like to dress up for dinner as did 99% of the other diners so to see a couple of people in T-Shirts they didn't really fit in. that only happened on 1 evening.

The Bayside was a more relaxed restaurant with a more relaxed menu but great food still and a fantastic clay oven.

We stayed on a B&B basis rather than all inclusive based on what other guests told us there was next to no difference in what we paid in the end although we did enjoy a few fine wines and champagne.

The pool area is a fantastic place to be and quite quiet again service around the pool is great and the lunch menu at the poolside is just right.

The bars around the hotel are very nice but I feel the cane bar & late night bar are under used again the service is exceptional and the staff are good fun.

Water taxi's are the best way to get around the island we also chartered a bigger boat for an excursion to see the island and visit the capital we also did a days deep sea fishing.

In summary a fantastic resort & hotel

Room Tip: Go for the best your budget will stretch to and dont worry about the distance from the pool etc
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jeremy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ABoersma, General Manager at Sugar Beach, A Viceroy Resort, responded to this reviewResponded March 3, 2013

Good day,
Thank you for taking the time and letting us know about your holiday at Sugar Beach, A Viceroy Resort.
Our main concern is to ensure that the experiences we create for our guests are first class. We are delighted to hear that you really enjoyed our resort, especially the culinary offerings in the Great room. The food and beverage team will be delighted with your comments.
Thanks also for your comments about the service in The Terrace. We are working improving service in this area and have embarked on an intensive training programme for the team, which should yield real benefits.
Regarding the dress code for the Great Room restaurant, we try our best not to enforce the code and not make exceptions. However, occasionally situations arise where we have to bend the rules a little to accommodate individuals such as the resort owner or VIPs who may have forgotten to pack a collared shirt.
Once again, thank you for your comments and business and we look forward to welcoming you back in the not too distant future.
Regards,

André Boersma
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2013

The location of this resort is absolutely breathtaking. There are fragrant flowers every where you look. Standing on the beach & looking up at the Titan mountain literally takes your breath away! It is so picturesque. I could stand in the water & never get tired of taking in the beauty of the mountain. Great beach! Ocean was calm, however, a bit rocky. The villa we stayed had a butler who offered to unpack us, however, didn't do much more. The villa itself was spectacular & very spacious with a private pool. Truly lovely! The resort gives you a phone,so you can call butler or for a golf cart to transport you to beach, restaurant, spa, etc. The spa was amazing! ! Wonderful couples massage in an amazing bungalow with outdoor hot tub & plunge pool.The food was great! The resort is very quiet & relaxing, a perfect couples getaway or honeymoon spot.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lisa C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ABoersma, General Manager at Sugar Beach, A Viceroy Resort, responded to this reviewResponded March 10, 2013

Good day,

We truly appreciate you taking the time to post your comments about your stay at Sugar Beach.

I am happy that we exceeded your expectations and that you had a wonderful time in your luxury villa. Sugar Beach has the most beautiful location and it is always gratifying when our guests appreciate the magic of the place as much as we do.
We agree with you that the Rainforest Spa is truly amazing and I am glad that you had the opportunity to experience this peaceful and relaxing facility.
Thank you once again for posting your feedback. We hope to see you again soon.
Regards,

André Boersma
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2013

Stayed at Sugar Beach for 9 days in Feb 2013. Truly wonderful hotel. Staff were attentive and friendly. Food was excellent. Excellent swimming pool, lovely beach, good snorkelling. We stayed in a villa at the top of the hill with its own small swimming pool. Long walk back from the beach but wonderfully private. Hotel gives you little phones and whenever you want to go back to your room you just ring for a buggy which appears in minutes! saves the long walk up the hill. Rainforest spa was great. Had marvellous massage. Don't bother hiring a car - roads are very steep and winding - takes hours to get anywhere - much quicker and more fun to get a water taxi. We would certainly return to this hotel.

Room Tip: Villas on the beach are a good idea if you have children as it is a long walk up the hill. But vill...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank 75caroline
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ABoersma, General Manager at Sugar Beach, A Viceroy Resort, responded to this reviewResponded March 3, 2013

Good day,
Thank you for your glowing comments about Sugar Beach, A Viceroy Resort.
We are happy to hear that you really enjoyed your holiday with us. We try to offer our guests nothing but the best quality in all areas, from our accommodation and facilities, to the services we offer. Our team is always ready to serve in a professional and friendly manner. They will be happy to hear your comments.

Once again, thank you for your comments and we look forward to serving you again in the not too distant future.

Regards,
André Boersma
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2013 via mobile

Don't even bother visiting as a day or evening guest. This hotel does nor understand hospitality. Came from hotel Chocolat for the day and landed with a bump!! Willing to pay 50 dollars each for a sun bed and dine in restaurant but were moved on like second class citizens.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Graham S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ABoersma, General Manager at Sugar Beach, A Viceroy Resort, responded to this reviewResponded March 3, 2013

Good day,
I am disappointed to learn of the experience that you have described. This is not the manner in which we treat non-resident guests visiting the resort. We always try to give non-resident guests the same experience as our resident guests but it appears this was not the case on this occasion.
On behalf of the entire team, I would like to apologize for the inconvenience caused to you and the fact you were made to feel unwelcome. We are continuing to review our service standards to ensure what you have described does not happen again.

We would welcome the opportunity to serve you once again to so you can see firsthand the improvements made in light of your concerns.

Regards,
André Boersma
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 22, 2013

We have just returned from Sugar Beach in Feb 2013 and found it fabulous. Wonderful setting, lovely pool and gardens, fantastic beach, great, safe swimming and snorkelling. We stayed in a Sugar Mill villa which was ideal and handy for all restaurants and beach on foot. I would not have wanted a villa where I had to get a buggy all the time. I am shocked with reviews regarding poor service. We found it extremely good in all the restaurants with a very high staff to guest ratio. All the staff were cheerful, smiling and efficient. Very friendly especially if you took an interest in them.
The rainforest spa was very good in a brilliant setting and a superb couples massage finished off with a soak in an outside thermal pool. There were very few children when we were there and the few were no problem at all. Obviously the plan must be to avoid school holidays.
It is luxurious and as such quite expensive, with minimum bottle of wine costing upwards of US$ 55. Extensive wine list with bottles up to $ 4,500 but the waiter said the most expensive he had ever sold was $900.
We loved it all and would certainly go back.

Room Tip: Sugar Mill with balcony is perfect and avoids a buggy ride everywhere.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Antony2611
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ABoersma, General Manager at Sugar Beach, A Viceroy Resort, responded to this reviewResponded March 3, 2013

Good day,
Thank you for sharing your comments regarding your stay at Sugar Beach, A Viceroy Resort.
Our aim is to ensure that our guests have the best possible experience and we are pleased to learn that you were satisfied with our services, amenities, activities and everything else that we offered.
Our highly trained and professional staff knows how to deliver exceptional service and I am happy to know that you share the same sentiments.
Once again, thank you for your comments and thank you for considering a return visit to Sugar Beach.
Regards,
André Boersma
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2013

I need to address the review by PBH37611. To even suggest, in such a derogatory tone, that this place compares to a Disney kid resort is reckless at best. Contrary to the image of a noisy Disney resort overrun with snotty, whining kids, our experience has been dicidedly relaxing in one of the most beautiful natural places on Earth. There is a nice balance between couples and families, and the families have made our stay all the more enjoyable. The many families we observed on our stay here displayed nothing but the best of human bonding and priceless memories being made. Everything about the resort was spectacular...the natural surrounds, the accommodations, the food, and most of all the supremely pleasant and friendly staff. The only place that comes close to comparing to Sugar Beach for us is Caneel Bay in St. John, and I think Sugar Beach gets the nod in nearly all respects except in the category of beaches where Caneel wins with 7 pristine beaches to choose from as compared to Sugar Beach's one wonderful beach. We will be back to Sugar Beach. Book your trip here...you'll be glad you did.

Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
3  Thank John L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ABoersma, General Manager at Sugar Beach, A Viceroy Resort, responded to this reviewResponded March 3, 2013

Good day,
Thank you for your wonderful comments and for defending our integrity.
Sugar Beach is a world-class resort with the best quality amenities, service, accommodation, activities and facilities. We have facilities and accommodations to accommodate all kinds of travelers: from families to honeymooners or friends just wanting a relaxing escape. The resort facilities and accommodations are spread out over more than hundred acres, which means our guests can move around freely and find quiet spots that afford a great deal of privacy.
Thank you once again for your review and for vacationing at our resort. We look forward to your return visit.
Regards,
André Boersma
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Soufriere
2.7 mi away
Jade Mountain Resort
Jade Mountain Resort
#1 of 11 in Soufriere
987 reviews
0.7 mi away
Ladera Resort
Ladera Resort
#2 of 11 in Soufriere
1,316 reviews
2.8 mi away
Anse Chastanet
Anse Chastanet
#5 of 11 in Soufriere
1,224 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.8 mi away
Marigot Bay Resort and Marina by Capella
1.2 mi away
Stonefield Villa Resort
Stonefield Villa Resort
#6 of 11 in Soufriere
761 reviews
20.2 mi away
Cap Maison
Cap Maison
#2 of 5 in Cap Estate
783 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sugar Beach, A Viceroy Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sugar Beach, A Viceroy Resort

Address: Sugar Beach, Val des Pitons, Soufriere, St. Lucia
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > St. Lucia > Soufriere Quarter > Soufriere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Soufriere
#2 Family Hotel in Soufriere
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Soufriere
#3 Luxury Hotel in Soufriere
#3 Spa Hotel in Soufriere
#4 Romantic Hotel in Soufriere
Price Range: $490 - $3,395 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Sugar Beach, A Viceroy Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sugar Beach, A Viceroy Resort is set amidst more than 100 acres of tropical rainforest on the island's scenic Caribbean coast. Embraced by St Lucia's majestic World Heritage-listed Pitons, the resort's 96 Luxury Sugar Mill Rooms, Cottages, Villas and Luxury Beachfront Bungalows boast elegant styling, private plunge pool, four poster bed, luxurious Egyptian cotton linens, every possible modern amenity, and personalised butler service. Two stunning white sand beaches, beautiful Rainforest Spa with tree house treatment rooms, full PADI dive facility, and superb waterfront dining ensure the ultimate vacation experience with space enough for honeymooners and families alike. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, getaroom.com, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Sugar Beach, A Viceroy Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jalousie Plantation Hotel Soufrière
Jalousie Plantation Soufrière
Jalousie Plantation St Lucia
Jalousie Hilton
Sugar Beach, A Viceroy Resort St. Lucia/Soufriere

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing