We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect Honeymoon at Sugar Beach!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sugar Beach, A Viceroy Resort
Ranked #6 of 11 Hotels in Soufriere
Certificate of Excellence
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
28 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Perfect Honeymoon at Sugar Beach!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 2, 2013

We just returned from our 7 night honeymoon at Sugar Beach and were absolutely blown away by the island of St. Lucia, the people, and especially this BEAUTIFUL resort!!! There were a few minor bumps but altogether it was the most perfect honeymoon spot we ever could have imagined.


BEST of this resort:
The Jalousie/Sugar beach is the BEST beach on the entire island and the view from the resort is INCREDIBLE...second only to the view from the top of Jade Mountain. The white sand beach here coupled with the blue/green caribbean water is heavenly; all other beaches have the dark volcanic sand, which is cool, but just not as beautiful.


The location is simply amazing; not only are you in between the 2 magnificent pitons, you are also super close to other awesome hotels/resorts (Jade Mountain, Ladera, Hotel Chocolat, etc). We even rented a catamaran one day and sailed to Anse Cochon and Marigot Bay (a MUST see).

The hotel grounds are impeccable; the view from breakfast is insane, pool is the most beautiful pool I've ever seen, the Great Room is a beautiful restaurant, and the Cane Bar is also very cool. Not to mention the private villas, we were amazing by the beauty of our villa and the privacy of our plunge pool- which was heated- so awesome!

Food was delicious. Bayside has an awesome menu and beautiful view and the dinner menu changes daily at the Great Room so you don't get sick of the food. Room service was pretty good also, and breakfast was fabulous (included with our stay, so that was nice).

The spa- amaaaazinggggg. It is literally in the rainforest and they offer all kinds of different massages, facials, etc.

Most of the beach activities were free! Free snorkel gear and the snorkeling right off the beach is awesome; kayaks, paddleboarding, windsurfing etc. It was nice to just walk up and borrow the stuff without having to worry about money, time, etc.

WORST of this resort:
Not much!!! However, the service was a bit spotty at times. One night they told us we had dinner reservations and Jade Mountain and when we got there- we had no reservation!! Maybe once or twice on the beach they didn't bring us the smoothies or waters we had ordered, but there were staff everywhere so we just asked a new person and it was brought right away.

The bugs were moderate, they were more annoying on the first day than any other. We realized that if we left all the lights off at night while we went to dinner and turned on the ceiling fans and closed the windows then there were barely any bugs.

The drive from the airport is not bad but I could see how some people would consider it a "con." It's about 45 minutes, very small roads, but I am prone to carsickness and I was totally fine; the view is so pretty that we hardly noticed the 45 minute travel time.

If you don't order off the breakfast menu there is an open breakfast bar with fruit, bagels, etc. but there are many fruit flies. I didn't touch it all week, kind of a bummer because it looked delicious.

THINGS YOU HAVE TO DO IN ST LUCIA-
Visit Jade Mountain, for dinner or lunch. You won't regret it, it was the most beautiful thing we had ever seen!
Go on a boat trip around the island; you can see Marigot Bay which is phenomenal, Anse Cochon has the best snorkeling, and the view of the Pitons from the ocean is unmatched.
Dasheene at Ladera is a great restaurant, and Hotel Chocolat is cool for some dessert or a drink, we didn't love the food there but it's a nice experience.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank snoflake117
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ABoersma, General Manager at Sugar Beach, A Viceroy Resort, responded to this review, February 13, 2013
Good day,
Thank you for sharing your comments and feedback about your honeymoon experience at Sugar Beach, A Viceroy Resort. I am sure other Trip Advisor readers will find your extensive review useful and informative.
We are happy to note that your positive comments far out-weighted the negative and that you had a wonderful stay with us. Our location it indeed world class and we are working hard to ensure the accommodations, service and food and beverage offerings are equal to the view.
I am happy you had the opportunity to experience our stunning Rainforest Spa for yourself. We have some of the very best treatments available delivered by highly qualified and professional therapists.
I would like to apologize for the lapse in service that you experience regarding your dinner reservations at Jade Mountain and having to place the same smoothie order twice. We obviously have some additional training to do in these areas to ensure such lapses do not happen again.
Thank you once again for your great comments and business. We would welcome the opportunity to serve you again.
Regards,

André Boersma
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,192 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    890
    197
    60
    28
    17
See reviews for
219
815
7
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (432)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sanremo, Italy
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 1, 2013

Marcus ( our great wedding planner ) from Sugar beach, in 2011 it was known as the Jalousy Plantation, made all the arrangements for our wedding which was just what we wanted: very private (no guests), very intimate. I do not think commenting on the hotel would add value to it, you have got to go there and see it with your own eyes. Words do falter at times when confronted by the beauty of nature. Butlers not always at hand. Overall staff professional. Food was dull with little change in menu.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank claude020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ABoersma, General Manager at Sugar Beach, A Viceroy Resort, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
Good day,
Thank you for taking the time to post this review about your wedding experience at Sugar Beach, A Viceroy Resort.
We are happy to hear that you were well pampered by our wedding coordinator and that we managed to exceed expectations in planning your special day.
I am sorry that you found our butler service inconsistent and the food choices on our menus limited at the time of your stay.
A great deal has changed in the last 18 months and I am confident that you would see real improvements should you decide to return. We rebranded and re-launched at the end of November 2012 and have spent a great deal of time on training our team members and improving service across the board as Sugar Beach, A Viceroy Resort.
Our menus also change daily and I am sure you would see improvements not only in the number of choices available, but also in the quality of what is served.
Once again, thank you for your business, and your feedback. We look forward to your return visit, perhaps for your second wedding anniversary.
Regards,

André Boersma
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grenada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 31, 2013

Three strikes ... You're OUT
We often sail between the Pitons to take in in the magestic enchantement of the place. Sugar Beach (aka Jalousie Plantation Hotel) is a truly magnificient hotel. The walk in their 'Rainforest Trail' takes you to an imaginary land. The staff are all friendly and helpfull... But there stops the magic of the place...
Although the setting is supperb, the food at the Bay Side restaurant is of poor value.
The dishes are uneven... and wimsical. What do you call a goat cheese salad with strawberies and balsamic dressing when the cheese, strawberries and balsamic taste are all missing... When we pointed this out, one dried toast with goat cheese spread was brought to the table... What about the fruits & dressing?? The tuna & avocado on a craker was good.
At $44 US a naked & frozen (i.e. tough) NY steak add $6 for a side of potates.... Verry dear for what it was... The pizza on a thin over cooked crust was all salt and little on the tomato flavor.
The pasta was mushy (over cooked) with a tapestry glue sauce... It will stick to your ribs.
Saving grace: the creme brulé was fresh, warm and creamy with a lovely thin carmelized sugar crust.

Go for sunset cocktails at the beach bar... Ask for your martini with ice on the side ... If you like it dry.
Go to "Jalousie" / Sugar Beach for the place and the view , NOT for the food!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michel V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ABoersma, General Manager at Sugar Beach, A Viceroy Resort, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
Good day,
Thank you for your comments about your recent visit to Sugar Beach.
I am sorry that you did not enjoy the food at the Bayside Restaurant and that you had a number of dissatisfactions in that area. Our culinary team works hard to please our guests in every possible way. It is unfortunate that the dishes that they prepared for you did not meet your expectations. Had you made us aware of how you felt, I am confident that our executive chef would have been delighted to assist in preparing dishes to your satisfaction. We would like to apologize for the inconvenience caused.
You may wish to be aware that since the time of your visit we have introduced a fresh salad bar where guests are able to create their own salads from a range of cheeses, meats, smoked salmon, shrimp, organic greens, tomatoes, and vegetables. This has proved very popular with both our resident and non-resident guests.
Thank you once again for your comments and business. We look forward to welcoming you back so that we can share the improvements we have made in light of your concerns.
Regards,

André Boersma
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jersey City, New Jersey
Level Contributor
430 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 146 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 30, 2013

St. Lucia is a mountainous, beautiful, island, and any complaints about the necessity of being shuttled down to the beach, and recommendations to go, instead, to a flat, desert, Caribbean island, are from travelers who didn't do their homework, and who have missed the whole point of being on a volcanic island. My wife and I stayed at a resort further up the mountain, in the rain forest -- with no beach at all. We took a hotel-provided taxi three times to spend the day at Sugar Beach. No charge at all for guests, unless you want to spend $20 per cushioned chaise, instead of taking the free vinyl chaises under the mangrove trees, right at water's edge. Walk 50 feet to the beachside restaurant, where the drinks are fabulous (try the Fresh Ginger Caipirinha!), the thin-crust pizza is New York City quality, and the salad bar is literally a tropical paradise. The white sand beach itself has a quarter-mile stretch with a very gradual dropoff, perfect for swimming, as well as a roped-off section near the free chaises where tropical fish abound right up to the water's edge, and corals 50 feet out. It's so amazing that boats come at hourly intervals dropping off guests from other resorts looking for decent snorkeling. More than one guest told me that the snorkeling was the best on the island. Save your receipt from lunch and get a golf cart to bring you back up to the cab dropoff/parking lot -- the walk is steep. All in all, we had no inclination to stay at the resort, but were very happy to use the beach, three days out of seven.

Room Tip: Even if you're not staying here, the beach is a must!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Andrew K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ABoersma, General Manager at Sugar Beach, A Viceroy Resort, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
Good day,
Thank you for taking the time to post your comments about your visit to Sugar Beach, A Viceroy Resort.
We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed our facilities and everything we offer. Once again, thank you for your business and comments and we look forward to serving you again, maybe as a resident guest in the future.
Regards,

André Boersma
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Celebration, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 29, 2013

We just returned from a 5 night stay at Sugar Beach. The resort is nestled between the Pitons in St. Lucia and is about an hours’ drive from the airport. This resort is for those who want to relax as there is nothing outside of the resort. The beach is fair but the pool is very attractive and inviting. Our villa was at the highest point in the resort and having to be shuttled up and down the mountain was a pain. The villa itself was beautiful with spectacular views of the Pitons and the rainforest. We had a very clean room and our own private pool. A butler is provided, and he is useless. I think I saw him twice during our stay - once when we first arrived and another time to refill our coffee. We had a wonderful young man by the name of Gideon who made us feel welcome - he was in maintenance. He was very friendly and extremely helpful during our entire stay. Overall the staff was very friendly and welling to help. The food was mediocre at best with little change to the daily menu. Overall it was a great experience but we wouldn't make an effort to return. If you are looking for a beautiful beach vacation with villas with great ocean views, choose Jumby Bay in Antigua. It was amazing!

Room Tip: If you want a quiet room with beautiful views, choose 809.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Sherry H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ABoersma, General Manager at Sugar Beach, A Viceroy Resort, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
Good day,
Thank you for taking the time to share your comments about your stay at Sugar Beach, A viceroy Resort.
We are particularly glad that you enjoyed your accommodation and the beautiful setting of the resort.
I am disappointed that your butler failed to enhance your stay and that the best possible level of service was not provided from this particular team. We are continuing to review our service standards with our butlers to ensure that they provide our guests with the best possible service at all times.
On a positive note, it is great to hear that Gideon stepped up and provided the special touches that made you feel welcome and appreciated. I will certainly commend him for a job well done.
Regarding your comments about the food, I am sorry that our dishes did not suit your palate. If you, had you made us aware of how you felt, I am sure our executive chef would have been more than happy to prepare dishes to your satisfaction.
We hope the issues you experienced have not left an indelible mark and that you will consider a return visit at some point in the future.
Regards,

André Boersma
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 28, 2013

My family and I are currently staying in one of the private residences at Sugar Beach that is managed by the resort. While I'll write a more detailed review at the end on our trip, I did want to flag anybody thinking of staying at a private residence to be aware that you will be in the midst of a construction zone. They are building a lot of additional private residences, and they do not alert you to that fact when you are booking. So as I type this, there is some very loud construction going on literally 50 odd feet from our patio as an excavator is moving large bolders around. While the view is idyllic, the construction noise totally ruins it.

Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
7 Thank SohoJohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ABoersma, General Manager at Sugar Beach, A Viceroy Resort, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
Good day,
We see that you have posted a second review about your stay praising our team for turning around your vacation experience.
I know members of the management and butler teams met with you while you were on property so that we could ensure the remainder of your stay was as comfortable and peaceful as possible. From your subsequent review, it seems we were very successful in this regard.
My response to your later review covers the points raised in this review.
Once again, thank you for your comments and I am happy that you will be returning to stay with us again soon...next time in one of our Grand Luxury Villas.
Regards,

André Boersma
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warlingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
242 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 26, 2013

We have just spent 9 days at Sugar Beach and we had a fantastic time. When we arrived we were driven by our (pre-booked private) taxi directly to our room where staff were waiting for us with a cocktail. This was strange - I have never been able to avoid that queuing up at reception to check in before but it was amazing. However if, like us, you arrive in the afternoon, I would encourage you to don swimming things and go straight down to the beach. We crashed out and didn't see the resort in the light until the following morning! By the end of the holiday every day seems more precious!
From one window in our large multi-roomed accommodation we had a view of the Petit Piton and from our balcony (with plunge pool) we could see the sea.
The restaurants were good, although as I am not a fish eater I think I might have found the menu a bit limiting if I had stayed much longer. However, my husband eats fish and relished their menus which offered lots of variety!
We had not a single exception to the staff being extremely friendly and as interested in us as we encouraged them to be but not nosey.
Free wifi everywhere as you would expect from an American-influenced hotel.
The gym wasn't amazing but was certainly more than adequate as it wasn't used that much - I never had to queue for a machine and wasn't limited in the length of time I could stay on any machine. The fitness instructors were friendly and offered yoga and fitness classes and an hour's accompanied walk up a steep hill towards the Gros Piton on Monday morning (recommended).
I also recommend the night snorkelling trip where you are accompanied and they provide you with torches - you see quite different sea-life from a daytime snorkel.
Make sure you have supper in the "Great Room" on a Sunday because there is a fantastic singing couple that evening who will take requests. Thursday night at the Cane Bar was great fun too.
I don't recommend this hotel for teenagers. We went during term time so there were none but I don't really see how ours would have found much to do. When we were there there were pre-schoolers and the parents seemed extremely happy with the childcare provided by the hotel.
Mineral water and most soft drinks in your mini bar are free, as are (local) "Piton" Beer and Nespresso Coffee Pods!. If you have a favourite spirit I recommend buying it duty free and taking it with you to add to the mixers provided.
We only did one excursion, which I would recommend, to the Hotel Chocolat (see separate review).
All in all a great holiday and, if there weren't so many other places in the World that we have not yet seen, we would go back there like a shot!

Room Tip: The rooms are in clusters - 300s, 500s, 700s, 800s, 900s We had a room on the hillside (in the 700s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Jo T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ABoersma, General Manager at Sugar Beach, A Viceroy Resort, responded to this review, January 31, 2013
Good day,
Thank you for taking the time and making the effort to write this review about your recent stay at Sugar Beach, A Viceroy Resort.
I am pleased to know that you were satisfied with everything you experienced.
Our team members are highly trained professionals and aim to consistently deliver excellent service. They will be pleased to hear that they contributed in a positive way to your vacation.
Our younger guests are very important to us, including those in their teens and tweens. We have developed the Spice Club for them where they can play table tennis, billiards, board games and have time to mix and mingle. I am sure your teens would find plenty to do should you decide to return with them at some point. Once again, thank you for your comments and business. We look forward to seeing you again in the not too distant future.
Regards,

André Boersma
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Soufriere
2.7 mi away
Jade Mountain Resort
Jade Mountain Resort
#1 of 11 in Soufriere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 906 reviews
0.7 mi away
Ladera Resort
Ladera Resort
#2 of 11 in Soufriere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,222 reviews
9.8 mi away
Capella Marigot Bay Resort and Marina
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Anse Chastanet
Anse Chastanet
#5 of 11 in Soufriere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,132 reviews
20.2 mi away
Cap Maison
Cap Maison
#2 of 4 in Cap Estate
4.5 of 5 bubbles 725 reviews
19.3 mi away
The Landings St. Lucia
The Landings St. Lucia
#2 of 13 in Gros Islet
4.5 of 5 bubbles 855 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sugar Beach, A Viceroy Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sugar Beach, A Viceroy Resort

Property: Sugar Beach, A Viceroy Resort
Address: Sugar Beach, Val des Pitons, Soufriere, St. Lucia
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > St. Lucia > Soufriere Quarter > Soufriere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Soufriere
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Soufriere
#4 Spa Hotel in Soufriere
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Soufriere
#4 Romantic Hotel in Soufriere
#5 Luxury Hotel in Soufriere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sugar Beach, A Viceroy Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sugar Beach, A Viceroy Resort is set amidst more than 100 acres of tropical rainforest on the island's scenic Caribbean coast. Embraced by St Lucia's majestic World Heritage-listed Pitons, the resort's 78 Luxury Sugar Mill Rooms, Villas and Luxury Beachfront Bungalows boast elegant styling, private plunge pool, four poster bed, luxurious Egyptian cotton linens, every possible modern amenity, and personalised butler service. A stunning white sand beach, beautiful Rainforest Spa with tree house treatment rooms, full PADI dive facility, and superb waterfront dining ensure the ultimate vacation experience with space enough for honeymooners and families alike. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, West Indies, Expedia, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sugar Beach, A Viceroy Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jalousie Plantation Hotel Soufrière
Jalousie Plantation Soufrière
Jalousie Plantation St Lucia
Jalousie Hilton
Sugar Beach, A Viceroy Resort St. Lucia/Soufriere

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing